• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Kdfl Sept 05-April 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

nice holiday, time to get back into the swing of things.
heard over the break that kyabram may be losing as many as 6 players out to lancaster. they have yet to get cleared of course. cosby?

merrigum look like they might get a couple of midfielders to cross from the wombats with the new coach as well.

rushworth are supposed to have signed a gun chf from over s.a way, not too sure whether this is ben parker or someone else. t.perry?

subtle hustle said:
nice holiday, time to get back into the swing of things.
heard over the break that kyabram may be losing as many as 6 players out to lancaster. they have yet to get cleared of course. cosby?

merrigum look like they might get a couple of midfielders to cross from the wombats with the new coach as well.

rushworth are supposed to have signed a gun chf from over s.a way, not too sure whether this is ben parker or someone else. t.perry?

Couldn't imagine Lancy's midfielders crossing to Merrigum when they are looking the goods to be very strong in 2006. Ky must hate having Lancaster so close - every second or third year they lose quality senior players to them, which would make it hard for the bombers when recruiting each year - they'd never be 100% on which players are staying and which are going to the wombats..

Do you have a name on who this gun CHF is? No doubt the club has been talking to some quality recruits, but until the season starts you can be sure that we're gonna be pretty tight-lipped about it...No point skiting in Jan if they don't make it onto the park in april...

T.Perry said:
Couldn't imagine Lancy's midfielders crossing to Merrigum when they are looking the goods to be very strong in 2006. Ky must hate having Lancaster so close - every second or third year they lose quality senior players to them, which would make it hard for the bombers when recruiting each year - they'd never be 100% on which players are staying and which are going to the wombats.
it cuts both ways, lancaster have cleared a lot of blokes into ky in the last few years, it's a common theme that there's either a few goin in or a few goin out each year. last year i think lanky cleared about 5 or 6 blokes in to ky and as such our reserves coach was still ringing blokes on some sat'd mornings to get players.
stuff that.

it's not hard to think of two younger players from lanky who might be the ones you're talking about, subtel. i don't think they'll leave their mates, but i understand that they've been offered a little carrot to tempt them.

havent picked up the bat since i played against broadford ive had major
dramas with my back as much as i hate to say it i wont be playing cricket
for a long time what about you doona getting a couple?

gazza12 said:
havent picked up the bat since i played against broadford ive had major xmas with my back as much as i hate to say it i wont be playing cricket for a long time what about you doona getting a couple?

Played me first A-grade game in nearly 2 seasons in the heat on Satdy. First over went for 13 and I thought the comeback would be over as quick as it began. Ended with 3-30 but have a long way to go

Girgaree's big "comeback" season has hit another snag. Apparently Troy Snelson has said that he isn't going to be playing at the club this year, in what would be a big blow for the roos.

Most people would think that it's likely he'll play at Rushy again, but from what I've heard, although we're still in the hunt, there are 2 GV clubs courting the tough on-baller..

This probably does not surprise too many people. I think it has been said on here before, last season Snels was going to be playing with tonny. From Tonny's point of view, he was over the line. It then dawned upon him that the blues were not going to be as competitive as he initially thought, so he jumped ship.

The two GV clubs would be rochy and Kyabram i would have thought.

wheelbarrow said:
Doona is Groover coaching the magoos at Yea.?

Not to my knowledge, but I shall head over to his department on me way to lunch and ask him. Message me after lunch and I shall let you know.

wheelbarrow said:
Doona is Groover coaching the magoos at Yea.?

Groove has just had a knee operation and 2006 is out of the equation as far as playing goes. He did coach St. Mary's juniors this year and I think he's committed there again, but he did admit he's been asked by a few around the traps if the rumour is true.
No doubt Avenel would be nervous if this did eventuate, because Groove has a good following and he'd get a few to go wherever he went Id reckon. Would really make round 1 interesting in both grades - if Avenel are out to get Dipper & Tez as suggested, throw in Clears & a few others and it will be $7 well spent.

re. snels.
are tat still interested?
i would've thought snels would be a fair chance to go into ky and play with walshy.

if snels does in fact leave gig i'm just wondering if any of the posters on here are going to abuse him like some did brendan white for doin the same thing?

Doona2 said:
Groove has just had a knee operation and 2006 is out of the equation as far as playing goes. He did coach St. Mary's juniors this year and I think he's committed there again, but he did admit he's been asked by a few around the traps if the rumour is true.
No doubt Avenel would be nervous if this did eventuate, because Groove has a good following and he'd get a few to go wherever he went Id reckon. Would really make round 1 interesting in both grades - if Avenel are out to get Dipper & Tez as suggested, throw in Clears & a few others and it will be $7 well spent.

The Dipper thing is way off the mark from my sources. They all say hes a good bloke.

Other good judges tell me not too many would be concerned if Cleary copped one.

cosby said:
re. snels.
are tat still interested?
i would've thought snels would be a fair chance to go into ky and play with walshy.

if snels does in fact leave gig i'm just wondering if any of the posters on here are going to abuse him like some did brendan white for doin the same thing?

Lets not get carried away with performing well in the KD boys, Snelsons days of good GV footy are well and truly gone..

Bit of an update that u posted on the BFL site Doona.

In regards to Salakowski and Harrop to the Flat.

Harrop 100% starter with Avenel and Salakowski is yet to sign anything at the Flat.

Rattray not signed at the Flat as yet either.

From what i've heard he gets enjoyment out of filling blokes full of BS.

Been on the sauce too, in for a shock when the knees right in regards to what fitness levels will be required for that standard of footy.

wheelbarrow said:
The Dipper thing is way off the mark from my sources. They all say hes a good bloke. Other good judges tell me not too many would be concerned if Cleary copped one.

And who might these good judges be? I might have to get meself fit and look after me little mate like in the Broadford 3rds all them years ago!!!

Doona2 said:
And who might these good judges be? I might have to get meself fit and look after me little mate like in the Broadford 3rds all them years ago!!!

The season finishes in August mate..

wheelbarrow said:
Bit of an update that u posted on the BFL site Doona.
In regards to Salakowski and Harrop to the Flat.
Harrop 100% starter with Avenel and Salakowski is yet to sign anything at the Flat. Rattray not signed at the Flat as yet either. From what i've heard he gets enjoyment out of filling blokes full of BS. Been on the sauce too, in for a shock when the knees right in regards to what fitness levels will be required for that standard of footy.

Adam is a good young fella, I would love to see him have a good (injury free) year at a district level club before he tackles the majors. Someone at the Flat must be spruiking to get Sala's name in the Addy over in Bendigo hey. Nothing would surprise me with Patty - he makes me laugh whenever we catch up, such a carefree fella, love it!!! Still remember at a club function the year I was at Avenel, a young Patty was ejected 3 times for playing up - vintage Rattray!!!

Doona2 said:
Adam is a good young fella, I would love to see him have a good (injury free) year at a district level club before he tackles the majors. Someone at the Flat must be spruiking to get Sala's name in the Addy over in Bendigo hey. Nothing would surprise me with Patty - he makes me laugh whenever we catch up, such a carefree fella, love it!!! Still remember at a club function the year I was at Avenel, a young Patty was ejected 3 times for playing up - vintage Rattray!!!

I heard it was Dickens with foot in mouth desease..

wheelbarrow said:
The season finishes in August mate..

So you are fully aware of my limited ability and know damn well it would take me 10 years to get fit enough to play footy again!!! All said I cant wait to get back to Avenel Round 1 coz if the hype this far out continues it will be a cracker of a day out.

wheelbarrow said:
I heard it was Dickens with foot in mouth desease..

Surely not, you never gob off until the deal is signed on paper, maybe it was a Flat committee person over excited???

Doona2 said:

Pat Rattray - will play at Wedderburne

Ben Hutton is playing at Wedderburn, that is where the connection is. Can tell you though that he's at the Bombers and that's it. he's gotta get his knee right firstly....