Kelli Underwood to commentate on Crows v Geelong - Best wishes

It's early days but she's OK I reckon

Because a female voice is so unfamiliar it stands out but she's no more "nasal" than Tim Lane

Once you stop listening so hard to her it starts to blend in OK

Give her a go

Why?

I mean did she get the gig because she is the next great commentator - a young Bruce or Dennis or Grybas???

Or did she get it because she was one of about 1 female commentators, so someone thought we should go there??

Totally agree. She sounds a bit nervous but she is following the play better than half the old guard does.

Thats just bollocks... with all due respect, at best she is average... she has fallen behind the play quite often, the voice is not great and her "stories" are from the play calling 101 school....

She is the Matt Priddis of callers at this stage. Trying hard, not completely out of place but clearly mediocre....

What has she done to get this gig?

Why?

I mean did she get the gig because she is the next great commentator - a young Bruce or Dennis or Grybas???

Or did she get it because she was one of about 1 female commentators, so someone thought we should go there??

On her potential to be a good commentator. Ch10 don't need to do a stunt to improve their ratings for AFL :eek:

She calls the game quite well. What's she doing any less then the other callers tonight?

If you're having an issue just because she's female then that's no different to what you allege Ch10 are doing.

Re: Kelli Underwood

a lack of voice inflection and excitement....about a kick behind the play...often commentating through goals well after the ball has passed the sticks...novelty value and nothing else. worth doing once a year but if she's commentating H&A matches i'm listening to the radio or going to the game.

Kiwi commentating footy? Oh dear...

She sounds behind the play. If women are going to be in footy, they should be boundary riding. No offense, but it's better having men commentating. Sounds like she's commentating for radio listeners.

On her potential to be a good commentator. Ch10 don't need to do a stunt to improve their ratings for AFL :eek:

She calls the game quite well. What's she doing any less then the other callers tonight?

If you're having an issue just because she's female then that's no different to what you allege Ch10 are doing.

Not at all.

There is a lot of "good on her" posting going on. I am simply asking why she has this gig?

You are telling me that she is "the next best AFL caller" not currently on a major network? This is the best thats out there?

Or have they just gone for someone average for a gimmick?

If you reckon she has the potential or anything in the same galaxy of the same universe of the potential of the 3 I mentioned then you are kidding yourself. To the extent that she is blocking the next one of them from getting a go, then I reckon this is a pointless exercise.

So, why do it??

Re: Kelli Underwood

Yeah she doesnt get excited enough about the game, and her commentary is monotone.

I feel like im watching the netball on ABC :eek:

It just doesnt feel right. Its like turning on the infomercials at 2am in the morning and watching Brian Taylor promoting skin moisturizers.

Thats just bollocks... with all due respect, at best she is average... she has fallen behind the play quite often, the voice is not great and her "stories" are from the play calling 101 school....

She is the Matt Priddis of callers at this stage. Trying hard, not completely out of place but clearly mediocre....

What has she done to get this gig?
Sorry mate but I disagree with your sentiment.. but it's an opinion. I really do not enjoy the fact that half today's commentators can barely get through a conherent sentence at worst, and at best are making up words. How did they get a gig?

She has fallen a bit behind at times - but not as bad as you are making out mate. For me her calling is refreshing.

Not at all.

There is a lot of "good on her" posting going on. I am simply asking why she has this gig?

You are telling me that she is "the next best AFL caller" not currently on a major network? This is the best thats out there?

If you reckon she has the potential or anything in the same galaxy of the same universe of the potential of the 3 I mentioned then you are kidding yourself. To the extent that she is blocking the next one of them from getting a go, then I reckon this is a pointless exercise.

So, why do it??

I don't know who else is out there any more than you do so I'm not "telling you" anything.

All I am saying is she's done a good job for a first up effort. She's done better than I could!

You still seem hung up on the gender issue that's why I say give her a go for a few games. If she's hopeless, they'll send her back to radio. She won't stay on just because she's a she.

Ch10 have a 24 hour sports channel coming up so Ch10 need to expand the talent pool who knows what longer term role she'll play, or the other 3 you know about will play.

Not at all.

So, why do it??
The most likely answer to your question is for channel 10 to gauge public opinion on it, because they are considering doing it (it = having a female commentator, doesn't have to be her) permenantly in future.

Sorry mate but I disagree with your sentiment.. but it's an opinion. I really do not enjoy the fact that half today's commentators can barely get through a conherent sentence at worst, and at best are making up words. How did they get a gig?

She has fallen a bit behind at times - but not as bad as you are making out mate. For me her calling is refreshing.

The incoherent ones are generally the colour guys who are in their gigs because they were once great players.

The play by play guys are generally completely coherent.

She is a play by play caller and she falls behind the game, has no pitch and a very nasal tone.

She clearly didnt get the gig because she is a stand out caller, so why did she?

Eagle87 you don' think some ex-players have got commentary gigs just because they are ex players?

If it was based purely on ability to commentate there'd be very few ex-players doing it I expect.

The Ox anyone? :eek: Is he more worthy than the other guys you know about? I could name some others .... couple of ex-Hawthorn players who I think are terrible at it ;)

The most likely answer to your question is for channel 10 to gauge public opinion on it, because they are considering doing it (it = having a female commentator, doesn't have to be her) permenantly in future.

Why would they be considering that?

I mean there has hardly been a public clamor for it. There is no precedent, that I am aware of, in any major sport here or overseas. She isnt that good.

I have no doubt that an increased number of play by play callers is needed. I mean most of the established ones are getting on.

But this just seems like a gimmick .....

She clearly didnt get the gig because she is a stand out caller, so why did she?

Because she was already employed by channel 10. They gave her and Rob Waters (also already employed by channel 10) a gig each in the NAB cup. They have a 24/7 sports channel starting soon so trialled out a couple of their employees already.

Why would they be considering that?

I mean there has hardly been a public clamor for it. There is no precedent, that I am aware of, in any major sport here or overseas. She isnt that good.

I have no doubt that an increased number of play by play callers is needed. I mean most of the established ones are getting on.

But this just seems like a gimmick .....
Ever heard of point of difference?
Marketing 101.

Kelli Underwood to commentate on Crows v Geelong - Best wishes