Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2015 Draft Almanac

Knight treloar isn't playing much midfield time at GWS! Do you reckon we will get him?

Treloar is a key player for GWS, so he is not being underutilised and has long played substantial midfield minutes.

Recent media rumours suggest he will stay, and Treloar shot down a rumour about getting a large contract offer from Collingwood. So I expect he stays.

Knightmare..
Any elite 2 way runners with good skill in the brad hill/Billy Hartung mould?

Darcy Tucker is the top of mind player. Has that excellent pace/endurance combination and has the skills to go with it.

When's the next update Knightmare?

A chance late this week, but most likely next week I'll get stuck into the draft profiles again.

Have just posted my yearly Collingwood Almanac so my night-time focus when not watching match replays (which is most of the time) will be back onto getting some more draft profiles up and updating my draft and power rankings.

Connor West (GCS academy) a late/rookie chance? Great kid.

Yet to see him play so cannot comment.

Will if he plays well likely have something to say after I see him play for QLD through the u18 champs though.

Knightmare can Jordan Harper from Ainslie do a Vanderberg and get drafted this year? Avg some high numbers for them this year after coming across from Belconnen. Not as tall as Vanderberg but just a talented. Cheers mate.

The success of Zorko and this year as you mentioned Vandenberg will help Harper's case.

I'm yet to see Ainslie, having watching mostly GWS and Sydney games in the NEAFL, and both GWS v Sydney games for that matter.

That 41 disposal, 2 goal effort v Eastlakes will help his case.

He'll be one clubs will watch with interest, particularly with more strong games and further improvement.

Terrible to hear about Sam skinner doing his acl. How do you rate him? I'm hoping port look at him , although we have a big list of young talls in butch , harvey , shaw , douggal , clurey and Austin , I'm still very keen on port bringing in some good talls if they are promising. Burton and skinner could be good pick ups available at ports picks that we otherwise wouldn't have had shots on.

Skinner was one I had in my maybe box and I had that down to his development over the second half of the season. Had a good game v Western up forward and can take a grab and hit the scoreboard. Can play as a key defender. Nice height and size. Good endurance athlete for a tall. So there is enough to him that suggests he is draftable.

I'm not convinced beyond doubt, so he isn't going early draft. But anywhere between mid draft and rookie draft he has the opportunity to be drafted and may be one worth looking at.

If Port finish mid table Burton is a real possibility as he probably goes mid-late first round I'd guess at this stage, and Skinner should in all likelihood be there if not in the third round then I'd imagine almost beyond doubt the second round given the ACL.

How has Keays fared so far this season in your eyes? Do you still rate him as highly as you did?

Also do Tassie/NT have any draftable talent whatsoever at this point in time?

Cheers.

Hey KM

How do you rate Greg Clark's talent overall ?
Is he a contested ball/clearance player and Is he a good kick ?

How has Keays fared so far this season in your eyes? Do you still rate him as highly as you did?

Cheers.
Lovell, Sushames, Dodge, Hayden and Reynolds all draftable talents from Tasmania.

Hagan and Rioli could get drafted for NT.

Cheers.

Keays is still performing strongly and on performance still is one of those very best midfielders in this draft class.

Some others may be improving marginally quicker, with a few having sudden growth spurts or adding something to their games that previously wasn't there or suddenly really amping up their numbers from now such incredible numbers before.

But Keays is tracking strongly still for me and still looks like a top 10 quality selection in my books.

Tassie have numerous draftable options. Nick Dodge has performed strongly so far this season and Sushames is generally seen as Tasmania's best player. Lovell, Hayden and Reynolds can all play.

This years NT talent I'm not familiar with so I'll hold off on commenting on the NT talent till after the u18 champs. But if there is a name or two drafted, that would be considered a great outcome for NT. So they're not going to be winning games v QLD/NSW/TAS I can't imagine, with those three Div 2 sides all very strong this season.

Hey KM

How do you rate Greg Clark's talent overall ?
Is he a contested ball/clearance player and Is he a good kick ?

I had assumed and wrongly that Clark as a tall mid was or should be better suited as an inside player. But he at this point is instead much more outside as a high production tall outside mid who uses it well. Efficient ball user and efficient by foot. Moves well.
At this stage not much of a contested ball winner, though able to win some contested ball.

Clark probably I'd have going around the 2nd round mark at this point. Still early days.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-06-03/afl-media-to-broadcast-six-under18-games-live

Should be some good news for most on here! Just not sure if you have to be an AFL Live subscriber to access it.

Sounds like I'll have to cancel my Saturday plans and tune into AFL.com.au

Well done to AFL.com.au to recognise the demand to give people such as myself the opportunity to watch all these games. It will only help me make my product bigger and better and more interesting to the public, particularly with my assessments of those talents from outside Victoria. So way to step up AFL.com.au!

Very pleased.

KM whats your thoughts on Greg Clarke, just watched the clip on Afl.com, looks to be a great size, elite skills and with Pendlebury like poise.

Just saw the video also.

I still need to see more of WA and Clarke. But he looks good and liked the look from the footage.

He seems more outside at this point from what I can gather, but with his work by hand and as a taller type he should be able to play more inside.

He moves well and has the endurance. Skillset looks good and very efficient. Production excellent.

Probably not freakish evasive as Pendlebury but few are.

Overall lots of things to like about him that suggest he goes if I had to pick today probably early second round, perhaps pushing towards the first round. Perhaps earlier again with continued strong form/improvement. I'll have to wait and see over the coming rounds of the u18 champs where he fits big picture and just how good he looks like he can become.

Skinner was one I had in my maybe box and I had that down to his development over the second half of the season. Had a good game v Western up forward and can take a grab and hit the scoreboard. Can play as a key defender. Nice height and size. Good endurance athlete for a tall. So there is enough to him that suggests he is draftable.

I'm not convinced beyond doubt, so he isn't going early draft. But anywhere between mid draft and rookie draft he has the opportunity to be drafted and may be one worth looking at.

If Port finish mid table Burton is a real possibility as he probably goes mid-late first round I'd guess at this stage, and Skinner should in all likelihood be there if not in the third round then I'd imagine almost beyond doubt the second round given the ACL.

So you still think Skinner will be drafted KM ? Whats the history of similar situations , player being drafted after doing their knee? What would he be a Rookie chance now?

Ben Brown (North Melbourne) is a recent example of someone who sat in probably a similar position, big picture, at a similar height.

Brown for those few years was overlooked eventually finding his way into the AFL system later on.

So there are no guarantees and it's going to come down to previous evaluations of Skinner and hopefully not too much being held against him with the ACL.

But I'd like to see Skinner get selected with the nature of talls being that they take time anyway. With some luck with Skinner, AFL clubs have learnt that talent with talls is good enough to overcome an ACL.

Skinner's draft range is completely open. He could go mid draft. He could get overlooked completely. It's just such an unknown due mostly to his circumstance and whether clubs are willing to live with it.

Ben Brown (North Melbourne) is a recent example of someone who sat in probably a similar position, big picture, at a similar height.

Brown for those few years was overlooked eventually finding his way into the AFL system later on.

So there are no guarantees and it's going to come down to previous evaluations of Skinner and hopefully not too much being held against him with the ACL.

But I'd like to see Skinner get selected with the nature of talls being that they take time anyway. With some luck with Skinner, AFL clubs have learnt that talent with talls is good enough to overcome an ACL.

Skinner's draft range is completely open. He could go mid draft. He could get overlooked completely. It's just such an unknown due mostly to his circumstance and whether clubs are willing to live with it.
Adelaide are willing to take risks. Well take Burton and Skinner thank you very much.

Also knightmare, my friends close with Weideman and has told me that his preferred draft destination is Adelaide. With our need for tall we might take a punt in the second or even first round.

Adelaide are willing to take risks. Well take Burton and Skinner thank you very much.

Also knightmare, my friends close with Weideman and has told me that his preferred draft destination is Adelaide. With our need for tall we might take a punt in the second or even first round.

Adelaide have a great history of developing talls, so any tall should be happy to get drafted by Adelaide.

I wouldn't be inclined to say Weideman is so necessary in Adelaide's situation. Taylor Walker is a best few in the competition key forward. Then Josh Jenkins is also very good. Weideman could be brought in as that eventual successor to say Jenkins for a key forward post once he gets four years of development into him.

But I'm seeing a number of other clubs who more urgently require a good young key forward and a few more pressing needs for Adelaide.

Then again if Weideman is deemed best available at whatever pick Adelaide are picking with, then no reason not to take him.

Adelaide have a great history of developing talls, so any tall should be happy to get drafted by Adelaide.

I wouldn't be inclined to say Weideman is so necessary in Adelaide's situation. Taylor Walker is a best few in the competition key forward. Then Josh Jenkins is also very good. Weideman could be brought in as that eventual successor to say Jenkins for a key forward post once he gets four years of development into him.

But I'm seeing a number of other clubs who more urgently require a good young key forward and a few more pressing needs for Adelaide.

Then again if Weideman is deemed best available at whatever pick Adelaide are picking with, then no reason not to take him.

Jenkins is our Jesse White. Most supporters want him out of the side - so many joe the goose goals inflate his numbers. Essentially a 197cm small forward with how he plays, stays out of packs to look for crumbs, avoids any physical contact, never crashes a pack.

I do suspect we will be looking to replace him and sooner rather than later, he's frustrating and overrated.

Though I have no idea why Weideman would want to come to adelaide lol. He's be the first Victorian junior to have any interest in jumping across, just wouldn't make sense.