Knights hits back at Lloyd.

great interview, thought Knights was forthright and honest and doing what everyone on here does, defend themselves against bullshit.

Yes Knights' because I'm sure Lloydy chose to write a book just to include a chapter that mentions your name for some extra cash. What about his journey which resulted in kicking 926 goals and being the seventh highest goal scorer in AFL/VFL history. More money, please....

Everyone knows that by the end there, Lloyd cared more about his individual glory than doing what was best for the team. It was written all over his face whenever he kicked another "Joe the Goose" goal during the last quarter of another heavy Essendon loss. He'd set his heart on kicking 1000 goals, but Knights had other plans. He wanted Lloyd to play more of a CHF role and use Neagle at FF.

No surprise really that Lloydie has an axe to grind, blames Knights for his sudden exit from the game and tips the bucket on his former coach. Lloyd is as crafty and calculating in his new role as media pundit as he was as Essendon's spearhead. He knows what sells. He knows he must be controversial and pot people if he's to make a name for himself and outlast the bland commentators like Tom Harley and Brad Johnson.

No surprise that Essendon fans on here would continue to bag Matthew Knights and defend their favourite son, Matthew Lloyd. It's ironic that both guys appear to be bitter about their closing days at Essendon. Knights was obviously impressed by Yabby Jeans. One of Jeany's favourite sayings was that football is mainly a series of kicks in the guts. He should keep that in mind.

Maybe Lloyd can offer Knights his shoulder to cry on this time around.

Well aren't the book publishers just rubbing their hands together right about now in glee... $$$... cannot dream of the publicity this will now create.

Both men are dominated by their own egos and this is only the beginning. This has the potential to snowball and get quite messy on both fronts and probably another distraction that Essendon doesn't really need at the moment.

I can totally understand where Matthew Knights is coming from and he completely deserves his right of reply. It would of been an interesting phone call last week when Lloyd called Knights about this book (as mentioned in the interview) - if things were really that strained to begin with, would a phone call have been made? I seem to think not.

I know for a fact select details have been omitted by choice from this book about the time before Knights, both on and off the field. The benefit of writing your own biography is you have complete ownership over what is put in it, even when very interesting personal information is conveniently left out.

Lloyd is on SEN 7.30am tomorrow morning and will no doubt be drilled about the Knights response and another can of worms to open.

Everyone knows that by the end there, Lloyd cared more about his individual glory than doing what was best for the team.

Yeah Lloydy only knocked out Sewell so he had something to put in his book rather than the team thing and making a stand, changing the game and putting our rivals out of the finals.

Selfish prick!!!1111

Knights was a miracle worker to get that list of Essendon's into the finals when he did.

I've read it all now! Knights has gone from being the worst coach in history according to all and sundry on BigFooty, to being a miracle worker. :eek:

Love how people re invent history! Surely someone can post one of the 15 times Knights went on record refusing to say he wanted lloyd at Essendon? Even when pressed by journo's he refused to give a straight answer.

It was blindingly obvious to every man and his dog that he clearly wanted Lloyd gone (and was subtly letting him know) without coming out and directly saying it, because he was a champion Essendon man and it would not go down well for Knights.

Lloyd knows that, Knights knows that, everyone at the club knew it, everyone on here knows it.

I think what Matthew Lloyd did was actually quite selfless. He gave up the huge contract because he knew he would be a liability to the team playing the role that Knights wanted him to play. Lloyd had lost the 'ping' in his legs after the hamstring tendon injury and wasn't capable of playing up the ground as per Knight's instructions. It wasn't because Lloydy is 'all about me' as Knights is trying to suggest.
This is not something I am pulling out of thin air either, Lloydy said this when he retired. I have met Knights before and he is great bloke, but that interview was all about dragging Lloydy's name through the mud.:(

Reasonable post. What Knights labels a lack of courage might've been a lack of confidence in his body on Lloyd's part, though the awareness that the club would be better served by pushing Lloyd up the ground pre-dated Knights by several years.

No doubt there's a bit of spin coming from both sides.

Knights: "Matthew, here's a great contract, you'll still be our highest paid player."

Lloyd: "The contract Essendon offered wasn't as good as my previous one, but it was still a fair income."

---

Lloyd: "I just want to know whether you want me here as well....If you don't want me to play on, just tell me. He said he would tell me if that was the case, but he never told me he wanted me to play on, either.
I couldn't get a clear answer from him."

Hamilton: "Matthew Lloyd is a club champion and deserves to know the expectations the club has of him. He knows there is a place for him in 2010 if he can physically and mentally commit to another season."

Lloyd and Knights Rif

Lloyd is an absolute joke as a "professional" footballer.

Lloyd speaking out about inside stuff is worst to me then what Shaw and Maxwell had done, 10 times worst. If he has a love for the club and game like he thinks and says he does why doesn't he just shut his mouth.

Lloyd claims he is all about Essendon but i agree with Knights, he is all about Essendon and Lloyd, not Essendon as a team.

I never liked him as a player because he went about it so poorly. Knights has been royally screwed around, its a classic example of an "outsider" coming into a rival/opposition club. Knights was a superb footballer in a poorly performing team. End of the day Lloyd's opinions are so biased.

Like his opinions on Fletcher being the best defender ever...sure Fletcher has been a superb football player, not doubt about it, but how often did he play on the key defender? watch the Gary Ablett 1 special season dvd and ablett i recall kicks 14 goals on him...Last year when Lecras kicked 10 , Fletcher played on him for 8 minutes and kicked 4 of his goals....I hope im not coming across as a Fletcher hater because that is not the case, just Lloyds crappy biased opinions.

Sure Lloyd kicked alot of goals, but he isn't one of the best forwards of all time, in fact not even close. He played the bulk of his games in door and in a gun side. He didnt do a Ablett Snr or a Dunstall , Lockett, or Carey who would play on mud fields, with the same football being used all game, and when we played in a era when arm choping and jumper holding was not covered by the umpires.Jumper holding is why key defenders and arm chopping were so good, look at all the photos of the gun forwards i just mentioned and count how many times they were arm chopping or jumper holding. Also he didn't go get his own footy like those guys did, in ridicules contested conditions while playing 1-2 or at times 1-3 and still kick goals.

Please people tell me it is not just me who doesn't like the guy? Why is he a commentator when as a player no one likes him, and i don't recall people liking him now.

Re: Lloyd and Knights Rif

Absolutely agreed. Actually beginning to feel a little sorry for Knights, he'll cope but still.

Lloyd is an absolute joke as a "professional" footballer.

Lloyd speaking out about inside stuff is worst to me then what Shaw and Maxwell had done, 10 times worst. If he has a love for the club and game like he thinks and says he does why doesn't he just shut his mouth.

Lloyd claims he is all about Essendon but i agree with Knights, he is all about Essendon and Lloyd, not Essendon as a team.

I never liked him as a player because he went about it so poorly. Knights has been royally screwed around, its a classic example of an "outsider" coming into a rival/opposition club. Knights was a superb footballer in a poorly performing team. End of the day Lloyd's opinions are so biased.

Like his opinions on Fletcher being the best defender ever...sure Fletcher has been a superb football player, not doubt about it, but how often did he play on the key defender? watch the Gary Ablett 1 special season dvd and ablett i recall kicks 14 goals on him...Last year when Lecras kicked 10 , Fletcher played on him for 8 minutes and kicked 4 of his goals....I hope im not coming across as a Fletcher hater because that is not the case, just Lloyds crappy biased opinions.

Sure Lloyd kicked alot of goals, but he isn't one of the best forwards of all time, in fact not even close. He played the bulk of his games in door and in a gun side. He didnt do a Ablett Snr or a Dunstall , Lockett, or Carey who would play on mud fields, with the same football being used all game, and when we played in a era when arm choping and jumper holding was not covered by the umpires.Jumper holding is why key defenders and arm chopping were so good, look at all the photos of the gun forwards i just mentioned and count how many times they were arm chopping or jumper holding. Also he didn't go get his own footy like those guys did, in ridicules contested conditions while playing 1-2 or at times 1-3 and still kick goals.

Please people tell me it is not just me who doesn't like the guy? Why is he a commentator when as a player no one likes him, and i don't recall people liking him now.

Idiotic statement. Are you saying that after a player leaves a club that he is never allowed to speak about anything that isn't already public knowledge? Knights had been taking some subtle shots all year, Lloyd is just returning some.

Ah, that old chestnut. That argument is the most purile, repetitive one against Fletch that is about a decade old already. Some idiot came up with that a long time ago and folks who don't like Fletch and can't think of a reason just use it 'cause they think it sounds good. Fletch has played a number of different roles for the Bombers and at times wasn't required to play on "the best key forward" because of his versatility.

So a champion player that almost cracked the 1000 goal mark is not even close to being among the best forwards to ever play the game?:rolleyes:

Knights' midfield plan: Let Jobe feed it out to you.
Knights needed to go before Lloyd.
Lloyd deserved his 1k+ goals.

Lloyd got. Karma for being a petulanT bighead- dIdnt play 300 games and didn't kick 1000. You reap what you sow. 2ndly, for all the bomber Flogs telling us how great he was. Good. Not great.

Great = ablett snr, dunstall, lockett, modra, kernahan, Carey, Brereton

Lloyd isn't fit to Be mentioned in the same breath as any of them.

Poor bloke just continually contradicts himself. Came out at the start of the year claiming he had proof that he was shafted and was threatening to use it, now wants to have sook for being exposed as undermining the leadership group of his players. I can see Lloyd's point of view here about asking him do you want me to play, why couldnt Knight's just answer it, one word either way.

Are you thick or something?

Why would he be offered the highest earners' contract at the club if they didn't want him to play? Not to mention the fact he specifically explains how he saw Lloyd's role in the coming season.

Are you Matthew Lloyd?

Betcha Ablett Snr, Lockett and Modra would all switch places with Lloyd in a heartbeat.

Lloyd got. Karma for being a petulanT bighead- dIdnt play 300 games and didn't kick 1000. You reap what you sow. 2ndly, for all the bomber Flogs telling us how great he was. Good. Not great.

modra, bereton?

partial on carey and even more partial on kernahan

:eek:

I'm as big a Modra fan as anyone (I idolised the bloke when I was a kid, just like many other Adelaide youngsters did), and he was an absolute phenomenon here in Adelaide for a few years (in his own words, he couldn't even leave the house or answer the phone at one point, such was the hype and hysteria surrounding him), but IMO it's ridiculous to claim he was a better or more effective Full Forward than Lloyd:

Lloyd - Ten seasons of 50+ goals (four of which came before the age of 23, which is the age Modra made his AFL debut at in 1992), five seasons of 80+ goals, two centuries, three Coleman Medals, five All-Australian selections, seventh highest goalscorer in VFL/AFL history
Modra - Six seasons of 50+ goals, two seasons of 80+ goals, one century, one Coleman Medal, two All-Australian selections

I've even tempted to say that Brereton's legend exceeds his actual output, but seeing as I never saw him play regularly in his prime, he missed over 120 senior games in his career through injury or suspension, and retired just two weeks after his 31st birthday after seemingly having his last good season at age 26/27 (meaning that his best wasn't as consistently on display as it could have been over the course of his career), and he was a Centre Half Forward (and an undersized one at that, at 186cm and 89kg) rather than a Full Forward, I'm willing to let that one go.

To say he's "not fit to be mentioned in the same breath as any of them" is simply ludicrous.

Knights hits back at Lloyd.