Past Kurt Tippett - retired 2018

I have uni at 9 am tomorrow if you wanna do the first 4 of 13 hours for me?

Yep any time
You get here at 6 20 though to get eldest ready for kinder though

She needs the clothes laid out

I don't like flying. Plus I feel like you should take the boat to Tassie instead of a plane. Like taking the train to the footy instead of driving.

The boat is a bitch. Unless you want to bring your car

Fair enough, I'll just go quietly. Should have known early on it was a nerd uni student swans wank fest than a real swans footy brains thread.

jeez mate have a ****ing whinge. You've offered 2/3rds of sweet **** all in this thread yourself aside from asking questions you refuse to answer yourself, and objectively ridiculous opinions like Longmire is the worst tactical coach in the league and deserves to be sacked. Run that opinion by any board in the league and see how you go.

Tippett's numbers over the past two seasons have been very, very good. He's kicked lots of goals per game, and last year he managed to kick lots of goals while in the same team as the Coleman medalist. Clearly Longmire has an idea of how to use him effectively.
He's been a bit ordinary for the past month or two, but he's still managed to snag some goals and so has Franklin, and the team is still winning, including against the Hawks, so I don't reckon it's panic stations yet, hey?

What would you do with Tippett? Not play him in the ruck at all? Who becomes our second ruckman, then? Reid? He's been in career best form, particularly in our games against Freo and the Hawks. Does someone come out of the team so we can bring in Nankervis or Naismith? Who? Do we lose a small? Does someone like Rohan get pushed out? What do you reckon? Do you have anything to offer yourself apart from an ability to make bedford seem down with the kids?

Maybe Tippett is being asked to do a perfectly reasonable job for a player of his type, and he's underperforming because he's personally out of form, and needs to lift himself.

jeez mate have a ******* whinge. You've offered 2/3rds of sweet **** all in this thread yourself aside from questions you refuse to answer yourself, and objectively ridiculous opinions like Longmire is the worst tactical coach in the league and deserves to be sacked.

Tippett's numbers over the past two seasons have been very, very good. He's kicked lots of goals per game, and last year he managed to kick lots of goals while in the same team as the Coleman medalist. He's been a bit ordinary for the past month or two, but he's still managed to snag some goals and so has Franklin, and the team is still winning, including against the Hawks, so I don't reckon it's panic stations yet, hey?

What would you do with Tippett? Not play him in the ruck at all? Who becomes our second ruckman, then? Reid? He's been in career best form, particularly in our games against Freo and the Hawks. Does someone come out of the team so we can bring in Nankervis or Naismith? Who? Do we lose a small? Does someone like Rohan get pushed out? What do you reckon? Do you have anything to offer yourself.

Maybe Tippett is being asked to do a perfectly reasonable job for a player of his type, and he's underperforming because he's personally out of form, and needs to lift himself.
Out of form and needs to shed a few kgs and improve the tank a bit. Is doing a lot more work around the ground

Rucking hurt Reid last year imo

I don't like flying. Plus I feel like you should take the boat to Tassie instead of a plane. Like taking the train to the footy instead of driving.
One of my girlfriends friends' is from tassie and we're chatting away and she says she's from tassie and I'm like 'oh really is that so' and she says she's heard every tassie joke there is. Still managed to surprise her with my refuge inference joke.

I reckon it's also worth pointing out that no one really thinks Tippett is worth his current salary with Franklin in the team. But when we made the offer to him, we didn't have Franklin in the team. We had Jesse White and LRT. Would we have thrown Tippett a 4-year, $3mil deal at the end of 2014? Clearly not.

I don't think it's worth judging Tippett's output according to what a player on his money "should" be producing. Rather, you'd want to look at what's a reasonable return for a good 2nd KPF/2nd ruck playing alongside one of the best forwards in the comp.

I reckon it's also worth pointing out that no one really thinks Tippett is worth his current salary with Franklin in the team. But when we made the offer to him, we didn't have Franklin in the team. We had Jesse White and LRT. Would we have thrown Tippett a 4-year, $3mil deal at the end of 2014? Clearly not.

I don't think it's worth judging Tippett's output according to what a player on his money "should" be producing. Rather, you'd want to look at what's a reasonable return for a good 2nd KPF/2nd ruck playing alongside one of the best forwards in the comp.

And i think he is performing admirably

Dunno if I'd go that far. He's off the boil a bit this season.

Last year, I think what you'd want out of Kurt is something approaching one of Roughead's really good years alongside Franklin, which he got very, very close to, at least in raw numbers.

Now he's moved into second ruck, it's a bit harder to judge. TBH I'm not really sure what's reasonable to look at.

Dunno if I'd go that far. He's off the boil a bit this season.

Last year, I think what you'd want out of Kurt is something approaching one of Roughead's really good years alongside Franklin, which he got very, very close to, at least in raw numbers.

Now he's moved into second ruck, it's a bit harder to judge. TBH I'm not really sure what's reasonable to look at.
Funnily enough, I've never thought Roughead was all that good (I know you're not making the comparison, it just got me thinking). He gets silver service from the Hawks mids, and should be killing it, but he goes missing and gets shut down a lot. I think if he was in a middle-of-the-road team, he'd be a middle-of-the-road forward. Great at times, poor at others. I always thought he was about the same as Petrie, and a bit of a downhill skier.

I'd honestly prefer Tippett, even given his current output. What people forget is Tippet isn't just about his own performance. Watching Melbourne the other day, the commentators were all over Jesse Hogan saying "even if he doesn't mark it, he never gets out-marked". Tippett is the same, maybe more so. At the very worst, he'll bring it to ground, and generally cause a stoppage. When we get stoppages in the forward 50, we get to pressure the opposition, which leads to hacked kicks out of defence and turnovers. Having Tippett there gives as a 50/50 target. Either he'll mark it, or it'll spill for a stoppage and we get a good chance to get it back.

I think the only issue with Tippett is his current salary, as a forward/ruck his work in both areas stats wise stacks up against anyone in the league. We all agree, including Horse, that he could be holding a few more marks which would then make him really dangerous. Tippett is giving the side the structure that Horse wants.

His next contract will not be anywhere near his current one anyway, and don't forget we got him for free.

Funnily enough, I've never thought Roughead was all that good (I know you're not making the comparison, it just got me thinking). He gets silver service from the Hawks mids, and should be killing it, but he goes missing and gets shut down a lot. I think if he was in a middle-of-the-road team, he'd be a middle-of-the-road forward. Great at times, poor at others. I always thought he was about the same as Petrie, and a bit of a downhill skier..

He's had a couple of really, really exceptional years. He hasn't set the world on fire recently. But his best years alongside Buddy I think set a pretty decent benchmark of what a "good" performance in that role looks like.

Another fact people forget about Tippett and his contract is that his first two years were on $800,000 with the last two years dropping back to $600,000. So he has already become a cheaper player for us this year alone but people can't help forget the headline figure he put on himself to scare other clubs away from him to get here.

Yes his goals are down but that is more to do with his role as second ruck. Another fact is we have gone from near last in tapouts to advantage to 3rd this year one of the reasons why Longmire has given for playing him in the ruck. His last month has been poor without a doubt both as a ruckman and a forward, but its far too early to start throwing the toys out of the cot. Suspect his knee is playing up again which is effecting him up forward but we can't play two ruckmen and then Tippett also. The bye is coming at the right time I feel for him

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/2015-06-08/longmire-warns-against-tippett-critics

Sydney Swans coach John Longmire has warned critics to be wary of Kurt Tippett’s role in the side before being critical of the 203cm big man.

Tippett has kicked 19 goals from 10 games this season, playing a key role as back up ruckman to Mike Pyke.

Longmire said those being critical of Tippett had to ensure they were educated on the role he plays within the side.

"We don't take any notice of outside criticism,” Longmire said.

“If you look at the stat sheet only, he was the equal highest goalkicker on the ground and did some ruck work but we also know he can take a few more marks and get himself into positions to give himself even more opportunities.

“His contribution has been going ok without setting the world on fire but as with a number of players we know we can get better from the last few weekends.”
Just some of the article

I agree with the point made about freeing up Reid. I think rucking last year hurt him at times.

as the creator of the thread, i would stress there is no question on his spot for me.

The salary is what it is, as far as team selection goes who cares what they are paid, the list management is an off season issue.

i think the stats his first two years undersell his work, he was worth the money to me, i know some will say no way. But the issue was his availability.

This year i felt he has not capitalised on chances enough, but also our use of him by the mids is worse.

The weekend was actually a good start, not much of the ball, but he took his opportunities.

I still think he is the best ruckman at the club

I just want to see his form and use of his body and leading back to his best to create opportunities. id also like us to stop kicking at his toes or over his bloody head

as the creator of the thread, i would stress there is no question on his spot for me.

The salary is what it is, as far as team selection goes who cares what they are paid, the list management is an off season issue.

i think the stats his first two years undersell his work, he was worth the money to me, i know some will say no way. But the issue was his availability.

This year i felt he has not capitalised on chances enough, but also our use of him by the mids is worse.

The weekend was actually a good start, not much of the ball, but he took his opportunities.

I still think he is the best ruckman at the club

I just want to see his form and use of his body and leading back to his best to create opportunities. id also like us to stop kicking at his toes or over his bloody head

Yeah, I know you weren't questioning his spot. I still get the feeling he could be better used, and I don't think we've seen him at this best this year.

Part of me thinks the reason for his current role in the side is the bloody sub rule. Not doubting Tippett's rucking ability, but if it were up to me, I'd bring in Derickx to back up Pyke and leave Tippett and Buddy in the forward line. I know SF51 will call him a potato, but since we don't seem to care about winning the clearances, all he has to do is make a contest and be that extra midfielder at the stoppages that Mumford used to be, to counteract teams with big-bodied midfielders like Fyfe and Mundy. It worked in the first half of 2014. History shows you need two key forwards and two ruckmen to win a flag, 2005 we had Ball/Jolly and Hall/MO'L, even in 2012 we had Pyke/Mumford and Reid/LRT (don't laugh, it worked!). But it's a moot point, because we can't really play another ruckman with our current structure. If someone can think of a better way to do it let me know!

yup 4 on the bench with a resting ruck would free up Tippett, Make Pyke less tired and also give us the Pyke forward option we have been less able to utilise back if needed.

I suspect no sub with restricted interchange wont help this either.

An In form, confident Tippett makes Sydney the flag favorite IMO

Past Kurt Tippett - retired 2018