Kyabram DFL 2019

What works for Swan Hill and Tyntynder mate?

Tyntynder moved into Swan Hill many years ago. Karramomus CC are another to move into town and have longevity. I presume Shepparton Swans once played their games at Lemnos?

In recent times YCW in Bendigo struck up a partnership with Maiden Gully (a junior club?)

I have often thought how I would go about improving the fortunes of Ardmona and Longwood. My thoughts... and bound to draw some criticism, but far better than going under completely.

For Ardmona... purpose build a new social/changeroom at the Mooroopna Main Oval and improve the lighting at John Gray Oval for training arrangements. Fixtures would need to be collaborated between GV and KD but certainly possible. It then lays claim for Mooroopna Main to be THE marquee venue in the GV. It would take some good faith between Mooroopna and Ardmona for it to work. There was an attempt made to do this a number of years ago. For Mooroopna to come to the party it would require some benefit to the overall precinct.

For Longwood... I haven’t seen the plans for the Kialla Main Oval redevelopment, but it could certainly be a great place to start for training and some home games if suitable. Share the number of home games between Kialla & Longwood throughout the season. I am not sure of the proportion of Shepparton residents that currently commute to Longwood, but I’d imagine that it would be quite a large percentage. It seems to work for Tyntynder in Swan Hill.

Both these options allow the clubs to control their own futures and keep their name, colours and have a real chance of engaging with growth corridors in Greater Shepparton.

Who knows perhaps both clubs are on the cusp of turning it all around and can stick with Option 1. We certainly do not need to lose any more clubs.

What makes you think that moving closer to Shepparton /Mooroopna would improve a clubs fortunes ?
Ladders over the various competitions and past struggles for junior numbers would suggest being in or near Shepp creates plenty of challenges.

What makes you think that moving closer to Shepparton /Mooroopna would improve a clubs fortunes ?
Ladders over the various competitions and past struggles for junior numbers would suggest being in or near Shepp creates plenty of challenges.

True, it’s a struggle across the board.

Ideally clubs and their volunteers would love their clubs to stay in the existing communities.

We all know how tough the local sporting landscape is at the moment and the suggestion above is one to consider when the resources in said communities appear exhausted. Demographics state that there are a shortage of young people in various areas.

Many an argument is being had over GVL aligned junior clubs having multiple junior teams in an age group, this suggestion is a different take on that argument. Perhaps we can’t make kids and their families travel out to district clubs, why can’t we bring the district clubs closer to them?

Think differently...

Ideally clubs and their volunteers would love their clubs to stay in the existing communities.

We all know how tough the local sporting landscape is at the moment and the suggestion above is one to consider when the resources in said communities appear exhausted. Demographics state that there are a shortage of young people in various areas.

Many an argument is being had over GVL aligned junior clubs having multiple junior teams in an age group, this suggestion is a different take on that argument. Perhaps we can’t make kids and their families travel out to district clubs, why can’t we bring the district clubs closer to them?

Think differently...

I don't think recent history shows that being closer to Shepp or Mooroopna migitates the issues clubs as a whole are facing.
There is some really interesting research being done in at least one league, in regards to player and volunteer numbers and influencing factors.
It could be argued that being closer to Shepp / Mooroopna actually inflates issues.

Think differently...

YES! Think differently. We can all criticise the different ideas. However without vision there is no future. Either make a mistake trying or die keeping it the same.

How are the KDL progressing with plans on Under 14's, there are plenty of kids out there. Problem is they are tied up with the GVL clubs, Shepp, United, Swans, Mooroopna all have 2 Under 14's and Under 16 teams. It's time to challenge this format and attract kids to Club level and strengthen clubs again.

The problem I have with the SDJFL is that after Under 16's or arguably before with the Div 2 at Under 16 level kids get squeezed out as it is funnelled into one Under 18 side. The Junior Football review identified the drop off from participation is at the Under 16 mark, so what are we doing about it?

A side like Ardy could benefit from luring kids from Mooroopna.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

YES! Think differently. We can all criticise the different ideas. However without vision there is no future. Either make a mistake trying or die keeping it the same.

Why ignore history and statistical evidence that suggests taking certain action is going to make the situation worse ?

How are the KDL progressing with plans on Under 14's, there are plenty of kids out there. Problem is they are tied up with the GVL clubs, Shepp, United, Swans, Mooroopna all have 2 Under 14's and Under 16 teams. It's time to challenge this format and attract kids to Club level and strengthen clubs again.

The problem I have with the SDJFL is that after Under 16's or arguably before with the Div 2 at Under 16 level kids get squeezed out as it is funnelled into one Under 18 side. The Junior Football review identified the drop off from participation is at the Under 16 mark, so what are we doing about it?

A side like Ardy could benefit from luring kids from Mooroopna.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Is likely to further widen the gap between clubs , whilst simply starting an opposing comp to challenge the sdjfl brand based on the following factors will prove harder than what many think.
* feeder clubs to the premier comp in the area.
* Latte parents , Drop off and Pick up Culture , trainings and game day.
* Sunday games with low travel.

Reality is many parents now don't want to engage in their childs football club and see the footy club , similar to taking their kids to the movies.
There is some data being discovered which may give some further insight on why this is occuring .

IMO Tally , Murch , Shepp East and Dookie are probably the only KDFL clubs who could field u14's without being to the severe detriment of fellow KDFNL clubs, but for them to even make it work they'd need to be in a comp of close proximity.

I ask this question without ever going to a KDFNL match

How many people attend Ardmona home games ?

I read a comment about bringing the struggling clubs closer to Shep-Mooroopna. In some ways those areas have clubs that aren’t flying at the moment either. Would that just effect other clubs numbers too ?

The way I see it instead of having div 2 teams have one division clubs are allowed one team and the kids get dual permits in which they ARE allowed to play finals for the KD clubs if they qualify

Is likely to further widen the gap between clubs , whilst simply starting an opposing comp to challenge the sdjfl brand based on the following factors will prove harder than what many think.
* feeder clubs to the premier comp in the area.
* Latte parents , Drop off and Pick up Culture , trainings and game day.
* Sunday games with low travel.

Reality is many parents now don't want to engage in their childs football club and see the footy club , similar to taking their kids to the movies.
There is some data being discovered which may give some further insight on why this is occuring .

IMO Tally , Murch , Shepp East and Dookie are probably the only KDFL clubs who could field u14's without being to the severe detriment of fellow KDFNL clubs, but for them to even make it work they'd need to be in a comp of close proximity.

That is not my experience the club I’m currently involved with has significant parent support I’ve also been affiliated with Shepparton East and have travelled to Thornton, Alex, and Yea in Under 14s.

The way I see it instead of having div 2 teams have one division clubs are allowed one team and the kids get dual permits in which they ARE allowed to play finals for the KD clubs if they qualify

So the kids amd parents dont buy into clubs , further inflating the issues :
** all kids wanting to play at the club that looks like winning the flag
*** parents not wanting to support the club.

Thought
GV goes to senior and u19 ( no two's footy) , each GV club ( seniors and u19) have a list of 40 , if your not picked you go back to your 2nd or home club , this may help with numbers in general.

Good idea; a few of us at Undera Saturday we’re talking about the same concept. However if you are a GV club I would imagine there is no way you would think this is good for your own club. Lost support base and volunteers. Generally the players who put in the most around a club are the reserve players. (Well there would be a much higher ratio).
Decision would need to come from above for this to happen, doubt it will though.

Your right Bootz after reading what you said maybe the only way it might work is if say Mooroopna and Undera merge , become one club regarding management with maybe
GV seniors
KD seniors ( which includes the guys who missed a game in the GV ones still get to play 2pm)
KD twos
GV U19
KD U18 ( kids who miss a GV game at least get to play KD , as long as you have enough.)

I like most on here have followed GV ,KD and MFL all my life I'm just thinking outside the square , maybe get people thinking to try new things .
Using the above concept how would a SEYMOUR/AVENEL VS EUROA/NAGAMBIE day at kings park using both ovals be , l reckon it would be a huge day.
And yes there will be people who will say it will or wont work , its not so much about doing it , its about thinking about change , and change big or small can be scary and may or may not work but lets give it a go.

Your right Bootz after reading what you said maybe the only way it might work is if say Mooroopna and Undera merge , become one club regarding management with maybe
GV seniors
KD seniors ( which includes the guys who missed a game in the GV ones still get to play 2pm)
KD twos
GV U19
KD U18 ( kids who miss a GV game at least get to play KD , as long as you have enough.)

I like most on here have followed GV ,KD and MFL all my life I'm just thinking outside the square , maybe get people thinking to try new things .
Using the above concept how would a SEYMOUR/AVENEL VS EUROA/NAGAMBIE day at kings park using both ovals be , l reckon it would be a huge day.
And yes there will be people who will say it will or wont work , its not so much about doing it , its about thinking about change , and change big or small can be scary and may or may not work but lets give it a go.
May work for Mooroopna and Undera but what about the affect on other clubs . It would most likely wipe out clubs , whilst one of the greatest issues facing football /netball clubs is the continual club hoping which is amplified by having varying junior age groups.

Roar, l am being very diplomatic with my ideas , but this is what l believe is happening , afl vic realise they have to many clubs and not enough players , they are sitting on there hands as they want clubs to fall over so they can have a massive restructure.
As for the juniors they would prefer all KD clubs to be U14 and U17 and GV U16 and U18 , U10 and U12 to be played Saturday morning with no Sunday football.
I have no inside knowledge this is just a guess that myself and a few guys who love country football have spoken about over a few beers.

GV seniors
KD twos
GV U19

Sounds a little like the Geelong West-St Peters (GFL) / Geelong West Cheetahs (GDFL) merger to become the Geelong West Giants after the 2016 season. The Giants have Seniors and Reserves in both the Geelong league and the Geelong & District league as well as two Under 19s and also junior teams (but then again they are drawing from a greater catchment area for players).

Their senior sides are mid-to-low on the GFL ladder (no discernable improvement in the two seasons since the merger) and hovering around the 'Five in the GDFL (GWCFC were usually bottom two in a 12-team league in its last few years as a stand-alone club).

As shown by the Giants, your suggestion has the potential to work well under a dual league structure. If numbers become a struggle, in your Seymour/Avenel example, you could have a GV Senior side and GV Under 19 (or 18), as well as KDL Seniors, Reserves and Under 18 (or 17). There are two problems with this though - the removal of the GVL Reserves (I am not sure how keen clubs are to do this) and also the age group for the unders - if there are enough 'dual' clubs, it is less of an issue but there could be problems with club preferences, e.g. U19 v U18 (GVL) and U18 v U17 (KDL).

I agree that it can be a scary proposition, but one worthy of thought.

Hello Everybody, as some of you may be aware, one of our nearest and dearest is going through an extremely rough time, Ash hurt himself while playing football at the inter league game in Shepparton on the 18th of May, in addition to that he was required to have shoulder surgery to repair the damage that was done, Ash had surgery on Friday, during surgery unfortunately he suffered a stroke, he has a long road ahead of him recovery wise & we are hoping to ease the financial burden on himself and his little family, so they can concentrate on getting Ash better without the stress of worrying about money. If everyone could please dig deep as Ash is one of the kindest most generous people we know & he deserves all the help we can give him.

Attachments

• 4A1533B9-D4B6-4C0B-BB91-7938D7C0346D.png
    4A1533B9-D4B6-4C0B-BB91-7938D7C0346D.png
    763.5 KB · Views: 297