This post isnt a conflict of interest is it fly? You'd be hoping they get a few wins so the club uses your services again old mateMaybe but still got some Wins ahead of them I think.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
This post isnt a conflict of interest is it fly? You'd be hoping they get a few wins so the club uses your services again old mateMaybe but still got some Wins ahead of them I think.
If they want an old bloke like me Trent they are in trouble! I must admit I was surprised how badly they got beat on the weekend bit still think they can get over Girgarre this weekend. Will be interesting to see how it pans out.This post isnt a conflict of interest is it fly? You'd be hoping they get a few wins so the club uses your services again old mate
Gee he's not even fully in the new job yet & he's already scarcely out of touch with the situation of country footy! If this was a relationship they'd call it gaslighting.....Interesting comment by AFL’s new CEO (Andrew Dillon) on last night’s AFL360: “Community football in great shape.”
Sorry to posters for repeating this who are involved in a number of threads on Bigfooty!
Hey smooth... i hear things got a bit feisty against your old mob Saturday.Gee he's not even fully in the new job yet & he's already scarcely out of touch with the situation of country footy! If this was a relationship they'd call it gaslighting.....
Hey smooth... i hear things got a bit feisty against your old mob Saturday.
Lancy played some ordinary footy for 3 quarters against a very ordinary Stanhope last week but boy if they bring their 8 goal last quarter effort they’ll get the job done interesting to see if Mills and Thompson playLanky by 20 , Loss will dint Murch's top 2 hopes
Merrigum by 40 , Stiles to kick double digits
Tally by 15+ Goals Clarkeys boys going alright , will keep an eye on their points and additions though
I have heard that April 1 points were lodged then adjusted by whoever does it for the KDL, however clubs could query if players were more then last year, there would always be human error involved unless all of vic worked in togetherWhat’s happening with player points in KDL ?
They are not being shown then being shown and it appears some players points have gone up since the start of the year and last year .
I was under the impression all players were checked last year and clubs had to supply well in advance this year so they could be checked .
Sounds like a cop out to me . Surely when reviewing points the person doing them would review what the player was on last year , remove a point if they played enough for last year to be a year of service or leave the same .I have heard that April 1 points were lodged then adjusted by whoever does it for the KDL, however clubs could query if players were more then last year, there would always be human error involved unless all of vic worked in together
Mate I agree with everything you are saying, they should show the numbers on Play HQ and then I’m sure we would be able to work out who is on too much or not enoughSounds like a cop out to me . Surely when reviewing points the person doing them would review what the player was on last year , remove a point if they played enough for last year to be a year of service or leave the same .
It doesn’t seem to make a lot of sense for them to rise , unless players are deemed to have meant to be on more last year ?
Also I notice picola league players that joined the Murray league are 1 point yet that isn’t the case in the KDL ?
Could make it even harder when recruiting with a seemingly moving point system .
They are now..... Been on there since the weekend.....Mate I agree with everything you are saying, they should show the numbers on Play HQ and then I’m sure we would be able to work out who is on too much or not enough
Murch-Tool 4 goalsLanky by 20 , Loss will dint Murch's top 2 hopes
Merrigum by 40 , Stiles to kick double digits
Tally by 15+ Goals Clarkeys boys going alright , will keep an eye on their points and additions though
Good win by Clarkey’s boys yesterday they were pretty smooth a big improvement on the Undera game when I last saw them They have beaten Avenel and they certainly looked better than Stanhope I know there’s a lot of footy to be played but they are in line for a top six spotI was wrong ! Unlike many blokes on this forum I’m happy to admit that
Merrigum won another game !
Exciting finished , heart in mouth type stuff for the locals . I popped in for a look on my way home from watching a family friend play reserves at Ky .
Excellent day of KD footy results wise
Close games great for the comp
VT did bring in those 6-7 Melbourne players I mentioned couple weeks ago
They all Played reserves in Melbourne- Bundoora , Spotswood & Williamstown VAFA
Hope they didn’t spend too much of they’re still 12 goals off the middle sides
Enjoy ya Saturday night blokes
Love your prediction with longwood making finals mate with maybe tally and not writing off Dookie with those 3 in the running obviously that would mean Avenel and Stanny missing out Very possible?? Crucial games coming up in the next 4 or so weeks for those sides we’ll know a lot more then*Not a fan of these split rounds
Shep East by 80 points - interesting to see Undera up against a contender.
Longwood are to win I'm going to say it now THEY WILL PLAY FINALS !
Nagambie by 40 Points - i reckon Dookie will have a Matchup for Dalton
Players or coaches receiving payment seems to cop a lot of attention and blame for where the game is at .Just found this on an old thread… (I was looking for another post!) shared by Jaxbac#13 in 2012.
This was circulated before I started in earnest as a footy administrator. His words do echo what I’ve experienced in the last decade in trying to ‘engage a community’.
The work load has only become more and not less since this article.
Player points, SportsTG and now PlayHQ issues, contract lodging… all these measures to provide us with some sort of sustainable competition. Are we any closer to achieving that? Have a read and tell me what you think.
This was in the Warnambool paper on Friday 2nd December 2011
Clubs and communities pay a high price for sporting success
JOHN PATTISON
02 Dec, 2011 04:00 AM
Why is football bad for a community when it was once seen as being central to a community’s well-being?
Let’s think about the basic objective of a football club: it is to provide a social outlet for people who enjoy the game, people who wish to participate and probably, in most cases, to be successful.
Trouble is, success is now measured, particularly by those who play it, on where you finish on the ladder and for many clubs the cyclical nature of on-field failures drowns them eventually.
So how does a football club run?
Effectively, a lot of people spend hours and hours as volunteers to raise sufficient funds to ensure they can buy a team of players each year (no matter how poor the standard of the league).
This approach means a coach who is employed for a significant amount as well is pressured to create performances, so they look at ways to do so.
The game itself demands fitness and as a result the coaches crawl further and further into summer existence with pre-season training. Examples of minor leagues training in November and December are widespread.
Thus football becomes a 10 months of the year sport at every level.
Because of the transient nature of senior footballers and the culture of having to pay players that have become established, these players contribute very little long-term to any of the communities they become attached to via the club and, apart from attending football club functions and other club-based commitments, they very rarely become involved at a real community level with other sports, clubs, schools etc. In other words, they are takers.
Due to the demands on volunteers simply to keep on affording to buy these players, the turnover is extreme and magnified even more by the fact those people (the good community people) are often then lost from other areas of the community as well due to burn-out etc.
Now think about football and the culture of many clubs where it is actually about football and not the magnificent and hard-working netballers who, for no pay, essentially keep football afloat in many areas. We are putting 10 months of the year into community resources and people power into a team of senior footballers.
No one can begrudge the footballers as this is the system it has created.
But look at the enormous number of cricket and tennis players who no longer play the game between 18 and 35 years of age and ask why?
Simple maths would say no wife or girlfriend who has had their partner away from home for 10 months playing football will want them to then say “right, it is cricket season now and away we go”.
To the players not impacted like this, why would you want to involve yourself in a summer club that also has some commitments when you are totally burnt-out with the last 10 months, compounded by how many years you have played?
The sting in the tail is that eventually football will shoot itself in the foot with this approach, as many community volunteers are just that — they volunteer for football, cricket, school, fire brigades etc.
If we continue to jeopardise those other sports and commitments by placing an even bigger demand on the volunteers who run football, we eventually won’t have any left.
So the golden game that is propped up by Auskick figures and magnificent gate and TV ratings will fail to exist in communities that have so passionately allowed it to thrive all this time.
Then we have destroyed community sport for good, as smaller centres race to the larger centres for any fix of sport still available.
And later, as those young men arrive at 35-plus and have children wanting to play cricket and footy locally, it won’t exist because football has killed the golden goose.
Yet we have an opportunity to change this.
Football leagues (apart from the national and state leagues) that are often run by very well-meaning volunteers could restrict clubs from pre-season training until the end of January (people can keep fit themselves). The thousands of people who chat each week about how hard it is to find volunteers, how little the AFL really contributes to small clubs and nervously consider the divide they are creating in the general community by further alienating those who enjoy summer sport and contribute to the whole community wellbeing, could make a stand and say we are no longer going to pay players and they would be more likely to stay loyal to their respective clubs.
Cricket and tennis could then also put a hand out and pull down the wall by beginning in November to give players, partners and families a break from the grind of continuous weekend sport.
Although it is great to be involved, a break is always appreciated.
The alternative is an end to community sport and the growth of middle-management dreaming up ways to save both games that are not sustainable.
- John Pattison is a Warrnambool cricket and Auskick coach, teacher and parent. INTERESTING, What do you think?
then sacked the coach,i thinkHad a quick look I think they last played finals in 2009……finished 4th only because Tatong were so putrid.
Blokes have been paid well to coach forever roar, you had many vfl leave to coach country clubs early because it was better financially, I'd think the reduction in salary is a good thing for communities, I do agree that AFL Vic should unsure every player thoughPlayers or coaches receiving payment seems to cop a lot of attention and blame for where the game is at .
It is correct that if look back in history when football was thriving, you will
Find that players weren’t paid , or to the level they are now . However if you dig a little deeper you’ll also find there was significant value for a person to be involved in football / netball clubs that doesn’t exit now .
Every local business was involved as much as possible with the local footy / netball club , because that involvement , although unwritten , was the gateway to work . The more involved they were with the club the more likely they were to get work.
The some applied with farming , if a farmer was involved in the local footy club a discount normally applied when purchasing in town or in need of labour .
Although not in terms of direct cash , there were significant financial benefits for being involved in the local football/ netball club .
If an injury occurred the player was looked after more than current ‘ insurance ‘ policies .
IMO Covid fast forwarded everything 5 + years in the above regard whilst the AFL in there wisdom mis-read the tea leaves by reducing salary caps when people were already considering the financial benefit of not playing . Keeping in mind footy clubs are more often than not now folding as a result of lack of players not $$$’s.
One thing that could be done and is no brainer IMO is to provide every person who participates in footy full insurance including full loss of income .
Don’t let the fear of getting hurt and not being able to provide for family be a deterrent from playing the game .
Trent the flight Steward inflation since 2017 has increased at 3.53% average per year or 23.14 % collective over that time .Blokes have been paid well to coach forever roar, you had many vfl leave to coach country clubs early because it was better financially, I'd think the reduction in salary is a good thing for communities, I do agree that AFL Vic should unsure every player though
So are you saying he is currently the best player in the comp at the moment ?Headed to the big celebrations @ Longwood great day for it great game..
Avenel wanted it more and deserved to win.
There are Couple notes for me. Avola is best player in comp. He is best and just a jet
Longwood got some good players 2. Think Shiner could’ve been handy in and made difference but nonetheless great game.
Look forward to rest of season thanks boys