Toast Kyle Chalmers - Port Adelaide Ambassador

Chalmers relationship was never confirmed with Mckeon it was just speculated by the media. I don’t get his fascination with older women, both Wilson and Mckeon both several years older.

The media love for Simpson has been sickening. Simpson finished 3rd and only top 2 go to World’s. If you are an Olympic champion you have every right to change your mind, as initially he didn’t think his training base or form was sufficient to be competitive at worlds. Chalmers always intended to swim at comm games.

Oh and don’t get me started on Jack. She is a cheater and it is embarrassing how the media is behaving, particularly when concerning Australia’s stance on swimmers from other nations who have failed drug tests in the past 🤦🏼‍♀️.
They are 3 years older than him. he's not dating 50 year old MILFs.

Is it time to consider him an option for the national draft this year? Didn't realise he is only 23, surely as an elite athlete already, he has time on his side to hone his skills and give AFL football a shot. It is a low risk, high reward situation for us I reckon if we pick him up. Can he nominate as a category B rookie and not go through the draft too?

On the weekend he was seen 'making disposals' for Ellison which begs the question, is he testing out his shoulder in clashes with the opposition in the hope of a spot on our list next year?
Screenshot_20220606-204519_Facebook.jpg

Now that Chalmers has played for Elliston is he eligible as a Cat B rookie? I assume he would have to be a registered player to have been eligible to play in that game.

Not if they played him under another name.

Adelaide Uni footy club had J.T. Goose registered as a player for about 25 years before the SAAFL picked up he had played 5 games in one Saturday arvo. When uni holidays were on and kids went back to the country, middle of winter, injuries, always had to rope in ex players to fill spots in the bottom 3 or 4 sides when the club had 7 or 8 teams. Easier to play them under that name that have to register them, pay subs etc.

If Kyle committed himself to AFL footy PAFC would benefit incredibly. Bloke doesn't even drink. Complete professional

Adelaide Uni footy club had J.T. Goose registered as a player for about 25 years before the SAAFL picked up he had played 5 games in one Saturday arvo. When uni holidays were on and kids went back to the country, middle of winter, injuries, always had to rope in ex players to fill spots in the bottom 3 or 4 sides when the club had 7 or 8 teams. Easier to play them under that name that have to register them, pay subs etc.
Stevie Lawlor Jr has played about 3000 games in the CAFL over the past 40 years!

Ironically when I played country footy we had a bogus player registered as Ian Chalmers. He was leading the voting in the medal until the league president tipped off our club president. I've posted that particular anecdote previously.

Bit difficult to pass off someone as well known as Kyle as a ring in. Given how a lot of country teams are struggling for players, especially in the B Grade, they would have some form of dispensation for the occasional one off player. A relative of mine played in that game with Kyle so I'll asked how it worked next time I speak to his father.

How is Tumby Bay playing against Elliston? They've got the Port Lincoln comp to the south and Eastern Eyre comp to the north but play against clubs on/near the west coast.
Tumby were in the Port Lincoln league until around early 80s when they left for Great Flinders (Mallee Park took their spot in PLFL) - It was much easier for Tumby to contend for a premiership each year in GFFL compared to PLFL.

I think the league that Ellison played in folded when covid hit. Long term Great Flinders FL was probably their best option because it was likely to stay feasible into the future (close enough to Lincoln and Cummins for the league to draw players from).

Elliston probably wouldn't want to have joined the PLFL because it was that much further away, and it would have been very difficult for them to remain competitive

Elliston sports people are probably used to travelling for sport (they travelled to the Lock area for tennis, at least they did in the 80s when I lived on Eyre Peninsula).

How is Tumby Bay playing against Elliston? They've got the Port Lincoln comp to the south and Eastern Eyre comp to the north but play against clubs on/near the west coast.
Eastern Eyre now includes Central Eyre United, a merger of Central Eyre and Wudinna United.

5 teams in total Cowell, Eastern Ranges (Cleve and Rudall), Kimba Districts and Ports

Coming from 6th when he jumped in for the final leg and ended up winning the silver. Big FU to the Australian media.
maybe he should regularly play a competitive game of footy before a big meet.

Kyle loves mowing them down in the relays. He just needs help from team mates not to leave him a second or two behind the lead or a medal position. Before this event on Saturday night he had 4 of the fastest 25 relay times with a flying start in history. This was 46.60 so it slots in at equal 7th.

This one took Oz in Tokyo from 6th to Bronze and just 0.11 short of silver in 4 x 100m Freestyle relay.

546.44Kyle ChalmersUSUNAUS2020 Olympic Games7/26/2021Tokyo

Took Oz from last to 5th in the 4 x 100m Medley relay
746.60Kyle ChalmersUSUNAUS2019 World Champs7/28/2019Gwangju

Yesterday's 46.60 at 2022 world champs took Oz from 6th to silver in 4x100m Freestyle relay

A heat swim for 4x100m Freestyle relay to make sure Oz qualified for final and ended up with a middle lane after starting 4th on his leg
946.63Kyle ChalmersUSUNAUS2020 Olympic Games7/25/2021Tokyo

Took Oz from 5th to Bronze in Rio in 4x100m Medley relay. This was a big swim not just because it was after his gold in individual 100m Freestyle, but it was the 3rd fastest split in relay without using a super suit, at the time. It was shades of Pieter Van Den Hoogenband who did a 46.79 in Athens 2004 and took Netherlands from 7th to Silver knocking out yanks to bronze in 4 x 100m Freestyle relay on the first night and killed off Phelps 8 golds dream until Beijing 4 years later.
1646.72Kyle ChalmersUSUNAUS2016 Olympic Games8/13/2016Rio de Janeiro

I used to swim competitevly when I was a younster back in the 80's
Made a few state finals
Sub 1 minute 100 fly and around 57 for the 100 free

That’s a pretty small subset. Depending on age, it’s likely we know of each other.

Payneham Chrysler
My peak (if you can call it that) was around 1986 / 87 when I was around 16
My last name is Brown
Guys I used to train / race with from Payneham
Coach Bob Ross
Phil Lee - breaststroke
Ken ? - backstroke
Steve S - free
Struggling to remember names !

Payneham Chrysler
My peak (if you can call it that) was around 1986 / 87 when I was around 16
My last name is Brown
Guys I used to train / race with from Payneham
Coach Bob Ross
Phil Lee - breaststroke
Ken ? - backstroke
Steve S - free
Struggling to remember names !

I knew an Andrew Brown but he was older than me and from Burnside I think.
I remember Phil Lee.
I used to swim against a guy called Peter Farrow from Payneham. Breaststroker IIRC.

Club was Reynella
Last name Eldridge.
My peak was around 84/85 at the same age so I'm a couple of years older.

Coach was Geoff Ledger
Trained with
Paul Ramsden - breaststroker
Greg Atkin - freestyle sprinter would have been around your age I reckon. He was a bit of a late bloomer and had some level of national success in his early 20s.

My biggest swim was at the Texas High School State Championship in Austin in 1987 where I placed 26th I think

Not bad for a state with a bigger population than Aus

I was living in Texas as an Exchange Student

Still hold the school record there for the 100 Fly
Was it confusing that all of the locals had the nickname "Tex"?

Toast Kyle Chalmers - Port Adelaide Ambassador