• Pick 8 and 27 with 18 coming back

Votes: 41 25.3%
  • pick 8 with 18 coming back

Votes: 44 27.2%
  • 2nd round pick

Votes: 53 32.7%

I'm taking this chance to encourage everyone to vote in the two threads that are more important than spitballing about Neale

If you havent already please vote for the Board MVP and Post Of The year

Board MVP:

Post of the Year

If I change things up and pretend I'm a Brissie supporter, I am absolutely filthy with Neale.

I'd crack the shits and demand a bounty of draft picks or hope the club holds him to his contract.

There will be a lot of pressure on the Brisbane hierarchy and it will be fascinating to see how they respond over the next month or two.
But they won’t . He did it to Freo - swings and roundabouts.

Both Brisbane and Freo should be content with Neale retiring right now and moving back home to WA.

Once we are at peace with that, we can move forward but always having that to fall back on.

Two of the three parties lose something if that happens, neither is Fremantle.

Fremantle is the way for Brisbane to get something for Neale, Fremantle is the way for Neale to continue playing and being paid after his current contract ends.

Fremantle doesn't have an obligation to facilitate either, especially after Neale already left us.

Fremantle is the way.

The AFL and Mitch Cleary trying to stitch us up.

The Gibbs, Beams and Kelly trades are three of the worse trades in recent times but apparently they are the benchmarks.

the front ended contract stuff is actually bollocks according to Jonathan Brown who would know.

If I change things up and pretend I'm a Brissie supporter, I am absolutely filthy with Neale.

I'd crack the shits and demand a bounty of draft picks or hope the club holds him to his contract.

There will be a lot of pressure on the Brisbane hierarchy and it will be fascinating to see how they respond over the next month or two.
Nah. He's given them his three best years. More than any draftee could have given them in that time. He's been a vital cog in their rise to be a top four regular. It's worth the money and picks. Plus live by the sword, die by the sword.

You gotta love media pundits who are crying "poor Brissie" and saying they should hold him to his contract on principle...all the while forgetting Brisvegas went hard at luring him to break his previous contract to get him there in the first place.

The Lions have no moral superiority here at all.

Footnote : If Marcus Bontempelli or Cristian Petracca get 46 possessions does their side still lose?

considering your user name you should understand sometimes it doesn't matter how well you play, you can't drag your team over the line.

Fyfe had 33 and had 26 contested possessions - we got flogged by 77 points against Richmond a couple of years back. 3 Brownlow votes.

Neale did everything he could that night, it was the rest of his team that didn't stand up.

You gotta love media pundits who are crying "poor Brissie" and saying they should hold him to his contract on principle...all the while forgetting Brisvegas went hard at luring him to break his previous contract to get him there in the first place.

People forget when Neale left Freo he had a front loaded contract and skipped out on the last year.

I’d almost prefer not to pay the price for Neale this year. We have a plan and the player type we need are available this year. How many years do you get 4 good WA talls available to draft in our pick range.

Both Brisbane and Freo should be content with Neale retiring right now and moving back home to WA.

Once we are at peace with that, we can move forward but always having that to fall back on.

Two of the three parties lose something if that happens, neither is Fremantle.

Fremantle is the way for Brisbane to get something for Neale, Fremantle is the way for Neale to continue playing and being paid after his current contract ends.

Fremantle doesn't have an obligation to facilitate either, especially after Neale already left us.

Fremantle is the way.
Agree the unrealistic talk is frustrating, especially from the so called experts in the media.
Lachie has a contract just like Dayne Beams had.

Agree, I’ve not heard this mentioned once in the media.
What comes around.

We don't owe anything to Lockie or Brisbayne;
We don't need that type of player;
Our policy is DRAFT, not waste picks on brocken MESSIAHs looking to retire;
Jules is looking for some more money and retirement plan for themselves;
We should be very,very careful with this trade,IMO He is not worth more than secondraunder,
anything more than that We should walk away

It is a bit of a stitch-up. It also doesn't adequately acknowledge that your existing picks are both in the top 10.

They just say "two first-rounders" like 6 and 8 isn't massively more valuable than 18 and 21 going to Brisbane for Beams. That's night and day. But nah, "two first-rounders". And yeah, Beams and Gibbs were disastrous trades. Why would anyone willingly seek to replicate those?

That said, in some of those trades, it's misleading to say a club gave up two first-rounders. They offered one first-rounder and then a series of downgrades. Like for Gibbs, Carlton gave up pick 10, and then downgraded 16 to 24, 33 to 44 and 70 to 77. Still massive overs for what he delivered but saying Carlton "gave up two first-rounders" doesn't really describe the fact 16 became 24.

Equally, if Freo get a first-rounder coming back the other way from Brisbane, is it really a case of "giving up two first-rounders"? If you gave up up 6 and 8 but got 14 in return, it's not really "giving up two first-rounders", so much as giving up one and downgrading another. I don't imagine Freo would want to pay that much but you'd still have a first-rounder.

I know people regard the points system with scepticism but I reckon any pick exchange that values Neale as a pick in the bottom half of the top 10 or just outside is probably about right. I reckon Freo's existing first-rounder in a straight swap is pretty close to the mark, setting aside more complicated swaps of later picks.

Picks 6, 8 and 27 for Neale, 14, 18 and 47 would value him at pick 9. That drops to maybe pick 12 if you assume those picks all get shuffled back a few spots.

The trade that sent him to Brisbane valued him at pick 3. How much do you reckon that value has dropped in 3 years?

Jeesh, Beams and Kelly were 25 when traded and everyone still thought Collingwood and West Coast overpaid. Look at what these trades has done to their list management. These clubs are in dire straits. No thanks. We have spent the last few years drafting to fill the hole left by Lachie in the middle. Now that we have a stacked midfield and are looking to draft KPFs they expect us to mortgage the family farm to bring him home? He made his bed. If we can get him for a song, we will. Otherwise, no.

If Neale does end up coming back, Brissy should be angry at us for the next 20 years.

We don't owe anything to Lockie or Brisbayne;
We don't need that type of player;
Our policy is DRAFT, not waste picks on brocken MESSIAHs looking to retire;
Jules is looking for some more money and retirement plan for themselves;
We should be very,very careful with this trade,IMO He is not worth more than secondraunder,
anything more than that We should walk away
She is pregnant and alone. She probably hasn't seen her family in 2 years. I don't begrudge her wanting to come back, but we should be using this as the mother of all crowbars to get him home for nothing. If we pay more than next years second, we have failed.

It is a bit of a stitch-up. It also doesn't adequately acknowledge that your existing picks are both in the top 10.

They just say "two first-rounders" like 6 and 8 isn't massively more valuable than 18 and 21 going to Brisbane for Beams. That's night and day. but nah, "two first-rounders".

That said, in some of those trades, it's misleading to say a club gave up two first-rounders. They offered one first-rounder and then a series of downgrades. Like for Gibbs, Carlton gave up pick 10, and then downgraded 16 to 24, 33 to 44 and 70 to 77. Still massive overs for what he delivered but saying Carlton "gave up two first-rounders" doesn't really describe the fact 16 became 24.

Equally, if Freo get a first-rounder coming back the other way from Brisbane, is it really a case of "giving up two first-rounders"? If you gave up up 6 and 8 but got 14 in return, it's not really "giving up two first-rounders", so much as giving up one and downgrading another. I don't imagine Freo would want to pay that much but you'd still have a first-rounder.

I know people regard the points system with scepticism but I reckon any pick exchange that values Neale as a pick in the bottom half of the top 10 or just outside is probably about right. I reckon Freo's existing first-rounder in a straight swap is pretty close to the mark, setting aside more complicated swaps of later picks.

Picks 6, 8 and 27 for Neale, 14, 18 and 47 would value him at pick 9. That drops to maybe pick 12 if you assume those picks all get shuffled back a few spots.
I agree with basically everything you've said, well conceived.

Even allowing for that I still wouldn't do the deal. Tall and short players with forward craft, speed on the outside and they have to be 26 or younger. Anything else and we are just repeating the same mistakes over and over.

Who cares what the idiotic media is saying? Every trade period they crap on with hypothetical trades (just like we do on BigFooty) and then act shocked when the trade ends up nothing like what they predicted. In many ways we are encouraging them to be idiots by getting outraged/annoyed by their suggestions and in so doing making their opinions more relevant than they really are.

Lachie Neale wants to come home to fremantle [or does he?!?]