Lance Franklin

Daytripper said:
Well done Hawks. Looks like you've picked up a player there.

Admire the way you've drafted for the long term. Essendon drafted around Lloyd and Lucas and I reckon Hawthorn are going down the same path.

You'll end up having the last laugh on those Richmond fans when looking back on the 04 draft.
We probably could have gotten back on track quicker if it wasn't for Sheedy and his deals. ;)

Thanks to all the supporters from other teams for the updates.

The player Franklin most reminds me of is Scott Lucas: both of them play like midfielders rather then KPPs. Neither is a great contested mark and both are very left-sided. On the positive side there both booming LF kicks, quick and with really good endurance.

I reckon Franklin's best position may well turn out not to be a KPP but rather a wing. A tall winger who can bring his height to the wing and still match it with the skills required of that position.

The club can always pick up more KPPs in next season's draft, which from all reports the most highly rated players are KPPs.

Vandenbergfan said:
The player Franklin most reminds me of is Scott Lucas: both of them play like midfielders rather then KPPs. Neither is a great contested mark and both are very left-sided. On the positive side there both booming LF kicks, quick and with really good endurance.

I reckon Franklin's best position may well turn out not to be a KPP but rather a wing. A tall winger who can bring his height to the wing and still match it with the skills required of that position.

The club can always pick up more KPPs in next season's draft, which from all reports the most highly rated players are KPPs.

HUge call mate

But i reckon hel be better than Lucas

Mr Wong said:
I feel sick opposition supporters being nice :D
Just dont go to a game over there with Vic plates youll find out how nice they are
Remember Tony Hall when he was playing for the crows and had his car trashed because he hadnt changed the plates

Vandenbergfan said:

I sincerely hope that Franklin does NOT become a long-term wing option :(

He'd be wasted out there, for sure.

If he doesn't develop in a strict kpp sense, I would rather see him used as a 3rd choice forward tall in a floating HFF cum mobile second choice ruckman role.

Something like Goodes, effectively.

Its also too early to be thinking about this year's draft. While I'm expecting us to finish bottom four, there are few certainties given the unpredictable nature of a number of sides.

Daytripper said:
Well done Hawks. Looks like you've picked up a player there.

Admire the way you've drafted for the long term. Essendon drafted around Lloyd and Lucas and I reckon Hawthorn are going down the same path.

You'll end up having the last laugh on those Richmond fans when looking back on the 04 draft.

Big call at this point.

Franklin appears to be progressing nicely (and possibly even ahead of schedule), but he still has plenty of work to do, and Roughhead has more to do still.

Given that both Deledio & Tambling look to be very likely lads, I think there's still a way to go before either side can claim "the last laugh", assuming that either sidecan be seen to come out of it clearly ahead.

buddy can play. best footy ive seen him play was 3rd fwd tall and 2nd up in ruck contests. not a screw case just had things easy in a weak school comp so is on good terms with himself as a youngster (quinten lynch / daniel kerr syndrome).

this kid is going to be the real deal if coached well, get on board the fan club now

hardway said:
This is going to be a huge call, but so what, nobody can hunt me down if im wrong.. This Boy is goign to be to football what Jordan was to basketball... Do you think he wants the 23 becasue he loved derm as a kid, Dont think so.

So we have drafted the futures greatest footballer of all time?? fantastic if true, i just hope we that he lays out Deledio or Tambling in RD2 that would be a dream :D .

hardway said:
This Boy is goign to be to football what Jordan was to basketball...

Where's the 'slap head' emoticon on this site??!!

Can we leave these types of OTT statements for the Bentleighs of this world and leave promising youngsters to develop at their own pace and unhindered by largely unrealistic expectations?

Well, can we?!

franklin has talent and will be a good player..
dig up this thread in ten years but im not sure he'll be a carey...
not that i wouldnt mind it if he was..( as long as he's still with the hawks )..
also , the debate about who did better , the tiges with deledio and tambling or us with buddy and roughy is so stupid..can only be compared if these boys play for 10yrs with the club who drafted them and in this day and age is probably very unlikely...its also stupid because playing lists change so much in general..

was at the port-hawks trial (don't ask me why! lol) and franklin super impressive, got big wraps from clarkson post-match, in 2-3 yrs he looks like he'll be a gun...thurgood also impressive, smart player and gotta admire a young bloke who stood up to tredrea behind play on the outer wing, showed a bit of ticker

Fred Phillis said:
was at the port-hawks trial (don't ask me why! lol) and franklin super impressive, got big wraps from clarkson post-match, in 2-3 yrs he looks like he'll be a gun...thurgood also impressive, smart player and gotta admire a young bloke who stood up to tredrea behind play on the outer wing, showed a bit of ticker

Thanks for this report, Fred.

We'll gladly take any positive comments we can get right now. :)

Very pleased about Thurgood.

Good reports there from opposition supporters, thanks. Who said Port and Richmond supporters didn't have a brain between 'em. Just joking.

Love the look of Franklin, very impressive. Just hope he doesn't get homesickness in a year or two and farts off back to WA.

Anyway, footy's back and that's all that matters. I'm gettin' sick of all these weekend home duties/shopping with the missus. Honestly, there's only so much a man can take!

Lance Franklin

Write your reply...