Laura Kane - Does Not Impress Me At All !!

Then they don't need to be there.

Well, in the case of women in the boxes, they do need to be there.

In some cases it was because it was people were there to do their jobs. GWS had women in the box on their recruiting team. Collingwood had women in the box on their media team.

In other cases it was because the AFL mandated it.

And let’s face it, if a club has a woman in their box serving no purpose other than being a token woman among a dozen crusty old men then that’s on the club. Don’t blame Laura Kane or the AFL for that.

Rubbish.

There are accepted examples all around our society of people being provided with exposure and opportunities to things that aren’t based on merit. Kids doing work experience. People getting access through an apprenticeship. Parents taking their kids to work. Med students observing autopsies. There was a time not long ago that expectant fathers didn’t belong in the delivery room but that’s now clearly changed.

When you see a 300 game player photographed on the MCG with their wife and kids, do you point out that the wife and kids don’t belong on the MCG because they didn’t get there on merit?

I’ve been inside the cockpit of a flying 747, inside an operational nuclear power plant, an operational coal fired power plant, and an operational steel mill. Was I visiting any of those environments based on merit? Absolutely not. But I was given as much control of those environments as any unqualified person in a draft ‘war room’ box on draft night.
Great examples of a point no one is making. I didn't watch the draft coverage but I assume that Laura Kane asked for women - employed by clubs - to be in the rooms, I doubt she meant for recruiters to bring their wives, daughters or tinder dates in the room for a bit of diversity. So this isn't the case of "letting someone have a tour" is it?

Yes. The whole wokeness of the AFL bothers me. This is just a small example of it. Hell, we can't even know the players weights now? What an absolute joke!

Well remember Richard Goyder overlooked Brendan Gale and Andrew Dillon initially because he wanted a woman CEO, which he has done as chairman of all his companies. Thank god the clubs kicked up a stink before it was announced, otherwise we'd have the game being run by Kylie Watson Wheeler. Thanks again Goyder you incompetent muppet.

As weird as it is if that was something Laura Kane was pushing for, I wouldn't have blinked twice if I saw Daisy Pearce in our war room because it's Daisy 🤷‍♂️

We noticed Ellie McKenzie in the Richmond room, only because she used to compete against my daughter in athletics, and speculated why she would be in there. I thought being a previous #1 AFLW draftee for Richmond, she may be there to present the new #1 Richmond draftee with a jumper or something.
Now I realise she was there because of Kane's mandate

Well remember Richard Goyder overlooked Brendan Gale and Andrew Dillon initially because he wanted a woman CEO, which he has done as chairman of all his companies. Thank god the clubs kicked up a stink before it was announced, otherwise we'd have the game being run by Kylie Watson Wheeler.
Her hubby just announced on LinkedIn he's the new CEO of Sandringham

Yes. The whole wokeness of the AFL bothers me. This is just a small example of it. Hell, we can't even know the players weights now? What an absolute joke!
The only thing that really bothers me these days, is the chronic whinging.

My god it's unbearable.

The Right is the new Left.

Great examples of a point no one is making. I didn't watch the draft coverage but I assume that Laura Kane asked for women - employed by clubs - to be in the rooms, I doubt she meant for recruiters to bring their wives, daughters or tinder dates in the room for a bit of diversity. So this isn't the case of "letting someone have a tour" is it?
So you didn't even watch it, yet your whinging about it?

Fair dinkum.

The proudest I’ve ever been of our game was when I took a European girlfriend to watch a game of AFL. She really didn’t want to go, and it was difficult to convince her. But when she got there she was stunned. She didn’t expect the crowd was roughly 50:50, and that families were there, and girls were having girls’ night out there. She had a blast. Where she was from football games were a thing that was purely for middle aged men to go to.

And we should be rightfully proud that everybody can now comfortable going to the footy.

But it wasn’t always that way. And we didn’t get to the way things are today without doing things that would be considered “woke”, and upsetting some conservatives along the way.

Maybe Laura should investigate and outlay the general board room chat and what goes on at their Chrissy dos? have a feeling that wouldn't be especially in line with the league's image and relationship with women.

Really though, just still want to know how she got this position?

Appointed at 33, she studied law at Vic Uni which whatever most unis are useless these days but it doesn't especially borrow to heavy connections. she worked at an average level solicitor job straight out of law school and got into a sort of nothing, entry level corporate role at NMFC. fair enough she worked her way up.

But she was head of football operations, no one really knows what that entails because it could be massively influential or a token board job, but she did this at the age of 27.

She essentially has no working experience. it's not dexterous, it's not at a high level, and she seemingly has no real familial ties to big level business or sport.

Dillon seems like some dummy who gets reeled out for important announcements. he honestly seems a bit simple. sort of bloke who would think his kid was 'a bit happy' when they came home at 7am after 'playing xbox at a mate's place.' Kane is ostensibly running the show.

How is she in this position? it's completely wild. if she was a nepotism get or came from old money or went to Melbourne Uni and had a cushy spot at a PwC or something you'd understand. but she just seems like a run of the mill overachieving chubby chick who wasn't in the popular hot chick group at school and wanted a career to prove how relevant she is.

How is Laura Kane running the biggest sports, and one of the biggest in general, organisations in Australia?

The proudest I’ve ever been of our game was when I took a European girlfriend to watch a game of AFL. She really didn’t want to go, and it was difficult to convince her. But when she got there she was stunned. She didn’t expect the crowd was roughly 50:50, and that families were there, and girls were having girls’ night out there. She had a blast. But where she was from sport was a thing that was purely a thing for middle aged men.

And we should be rightfully proud that everybody can now comfortable going to the footy.

But it wasn’t always that way. And we didn’t get to the way things are today without doing things that would be considered “woke” today,and upsetting some people along the way.
The footy sucks now, the only people allowed to raise their voice are women who say nonsensical shit in a high range pitch. you criticise a shit player giving off a shit handball and you're evicted with a venue ban hanging over your head.

Dunno, feel like maybe a sport invented by men, played by men, historically supported by men should yknow... be for men.

When I went to games as a kid at Subi you'd hear all sorts and I was never offended or scared, it was exciting and fun and actually quite bonding. these days people clap points. there's nothing wrong with having spaces that aren't appropriate for everyone. this idea we're all entitled to have a boring, sanitised experience that caters to some family who spend half the time lining up for pies and chips is bewildering. I went to games expecting to hear swearing and slurs (nothing racist; nothing over the top) and that was part of the footy experience. it made your testosterone spike and the feeling was ****ing electric.

But of course white, working to middle class men are like totally evil and toxic and can't have their own things.

There's definitely a problem with Laura using her role to provide the direction for clubs to include at least one female in the war rooms.

But the broader problem is that clubs were open to accepting that direction.

People in society have to stand up to this BS, and ensure people are called out on their ludicrous demands of this nature.

What if a club responded with 'Sorry, we're yet to determine who will be in the war room, and if we determine a female is amongst the most appropriate people to be in the room and in the discussion, there will be one'.

What does Laura do with that? Fine the club for rejecting her ridiculous request?

Your point was that only people should be present based on merit. Which is clearly not the case and there are a tonne of precedents.

If people are getting their knickers in a twist in 2024 because somebody is mandating that at least one person of around a dozen people needs to be from a cohort that represents over half the population, then that seems a bit silly, doesn’t it?

Your point was that only people should be present based on merit. Which is clearly not the case and there are a tonne of precedents.

If people are getting their knickers in a twist in 2024 because somebody is mandating that at least one person of around a dozen people needs to be from a cohort that represents over half the population, then that seems a bit silly, doesn’t it?
No.

There are two silly components to it:

1. Someone feels the need to 'mandate' in the first place, and
2. Clubs accept the 'mandate'.

There's definitely a problem with Laura using her role to provide the direction for clubs to include at least one female in the war rooms.

But the broader problem is that clubs were open to accepting that direction.

People in society have to stand up to this BS, and ensure people are called out on their ludicrous demands of this nature.

What if a club responded with 'Sorry, we're yet to determine who will be in the war room, and if we determine a female is amongst the most appropriate people to be in the room and in the discussion, there will be one'.

What does Laura do with that? Fine the club for rejecting her ridiculous request?

Sure, Clubs shouldn’t have to kowtow to the AFL’s GM of football …

… but they absolutely should pick their battles. And of all the battles that clubs could have with the AFL, I wouldn’t have thought this would be one that is worth fighting?

Sure, Clubs shouldn’t have to kowtow to the AFL’s GM of football …

… but they absolutely should pick their battles. And of all the battles that clubs could have with the AFL, I wouldn’t have thought this would be one that is worth fighting?
It's only a matter of time before society identifies these as battles that are worth fighting, and the pendulum starts to swing back the other way.

No.

There are two silly components to it:

1. Someone feels the need to 'mandate' in the first place, and
2. Clubs accept the 'mandate'.

Sure, nobody should feel the need to mandate it.

And nobody would feel the need to mandate it if there were more than just a few women amongst the 200 or so dudes that would be there otherwise.

For all we know the AFL may well have received consistent feedback from the few women who are in the recruiting industry that “As women, we don’t feel like we’re being taken very seriously by our opposition counterparts who we need to negotiate trades with.”

It's like how Brendan Gale turned Richmond around but they always banged on about Peggy O'Neill but... from everything I've heard, she didn't really do much at all?

It's total horseshit.

The funniest thing is the most toxic people in workplaces are women on women, all they do is undermine and bicker and carry on. had a great episode the other day about oat milk and the booking process for the board rooms. passive aggressive shit.

It's only a matter of time before society identifies these as battles that are worth fighting, and the pendulum starts to swing back the other way.

Absolutely! I often make that very point myself.

But if there is outrage at the governing body asking to ensure that at least 1 person out of a dozen is female, then I don’t think we’re quite at the pendulum swinging back just yet.

Compare it to boards for example, they are not eligible for Government funding (read: taxpayer funding which people like you and I effectively pay for and vote for) unless women have 40% board presence.

Laura Kane - Does Not Impress Me At All !!