League attendences comparisons

Aug 24, 2003
Everton FC, Parra Eels
Here's a website which provides information for attendences in Serie A, B, C1 and C2: http://digilander.libero.it/stadiapostcardsdgl/

Taking from the stats provided, a look at Italian league attendences for 2004/05 reveals the following averages:

Serie A: 26,098. Six clubs out of 20 averaged over 30k, and even Messina outpulled Juventus.
Serie B: 6,359. Only three clubs out of 22 average over 10k with Genoa getting nearly 21k per game.
Serie C1: 1,970 for C1/A and 4,843 for C1/B. Napoli averages 37k and C1/B has had some pretty good crowds.
Serie C2: 749 for C2/A, 732 for C2/B and 1,600 for C2/C.

To compare crowds with the top four levels of English football (taken from soccernet.com statistics):
Premier League: 33,893 with 11 clubs out of 20 averaging over 30k.
Championship: 17,526 with 8 clubs out of 24 averaging over 20k.
League One: 7,856 with 4 clubs out of 24 averaging over 10k.
League Two: 4,539 with 9 clubs out of 24 averaging over 5k.

And from the other leagues:
Spain: 28,361 with 7 clubs out of 20 averaging over 30k.
Germany: 37,932 with 11 clubs out of 18 averaging over 30k.
France: 21,936 with 6 clubs out of 20 averaging over 30k.

Interesting, thanks for that.

It just goes to show how the Italian support drops off after the top level.... everyone from Italy I've ever met supports Juve, Milan or Inter.

Though maybe thats the norm in Europe and England is the exception... getting 4.5k in division four is pretty healthy.

I think the reason is because these lower division clubs in Italy are generally small-market clubs, akin to country footy clubs in Australia. A lot of the clubs which fell into the lower divisions have since returned to Serie A and B, e.g. Palermo, Messina, Catania, Cesena, Ternana, Catanzaro, all of whom can command substantial support. In C1 you have clubs like Pisa, Reggiana, Avellino, Foggia, Sambenedettese and of course Napoli who were once higher up the league, who can also bring out the crowds. Hell, Taranto got a good crowd for a relegation play-off in C2.

Not everyone in Italy supports Milan, Juve or Inter. Remember that the Rome clubs (Lazio and Roma), Genoa clubs (Genoa and Sampdoria), plus Fiorentina, Napoli and the bigger provincial sides also command big followings both at home and in the diaspora.

But I think it's that football in England is far more of an all-consuming "religion" than anywhere else and/or that English fans are less fickle and will willingly go to games regardless of their clubs' fortunes. Spain is a unique case because of its very strong regional loyalties.

David Votoupal said:
Here's a website which provides information for attendences in Serie A, B, C1 and C2: http://digilander.libero.it/stadiapostcardsdgl/

Taking from the stats provided, a look at Italian league attendences for 2004/05 reveals the following averages:

Serie A: 26,098. Six clubs out of 20 averaged over 30k, and even Messina outpulled Juventus.
Serie B: 6,359. Only three clubs out of 22 average over 10k with Genoa getting nearly 21k per game.
Serie C1: 1,970 for C1/A and 4,843 for C1/B. Napoli averages 37k and C1/B has had some pretty good crowds.
Serie C2: 749 for C2/A, 732 for C2/B and 1,600 for C2/C.

To compare crowds with the top four levels of English football (taken from soccernet.com statistics):
Premier League: 33,893 with 11 clubs out of 20 averaging over 30k.
Championship: 17,526 with 8 clubs out of 24 averaging over 20k.
League One: 7,856 with 4 clubs out of 24 averaging over 10k.
League Two: 4,539 with 9 clubs out of 24 averaging over 5k.

And from the other leagues:
Spain: 28,361 with 7 clubs out of 20 averaging over 30k.
Germany: 37,932 with 11 clubs out of 18 averaging over 30k.
France: 21,936 with 6 clubs out of 20 averaging over 30k.
AFL in Melbourne puts them all to shame !!

David Votoupal said:
I think the reason is because these lower division clubs in Italy are generally small-market clubs, akin to country footy clubs in Australia.

Italy is not really heavily urbanised, not with the large cities anyway.

Rome, Milan and Naples are the only three over a million. Then Turin, Palermo and Genoa over 500,000. That is pretty much like us.

After than though there are heaps and heaps and heaps of cities with between 60,000 and 200,000 (about 130 cities of that size).

The Premier League will go up even more once Ashburton Grove and Stanley Park are completed. :)

Only in one of them, we're a London team ;)

The Serie C1/A promotion play-off between Napoli and Avellino drew around 70,000 :eek: It was a southern derby so perhaps no surprise at the huge crowd, with the game ending 0-0 giving Avellino a slight edge in the return.

DB10 said:
The Premier League will go up even more once Ashburton Grove and Stanley Park are completed. :)

I know Liverpool are building a new one but which one is Ashburton Grove? Also do you have any capacity figures for the new stadia? cheers

David Votoupal said:
The Serie C1/A promotion play-off between Napoli and Avellino drew around 70,000

Yeah i heard Napoli sell 32,000 season tickets even in Serie C. And when they were higher in the league they get 120,000 applications for season tickets. Huge.

fashanu said:
I know Liverpool are building a new one but which one is Ashburton Grove? Also do you have any capacity figures for the new stadia? cheers

Ashburton Grove is Arsenal's new one, the much heralded "Emirates Stadium" that holds 60,000 seats.

DB10 said:
Ashburton Grove is Arsenal's new one, the much heralded "Emirates Stadium" that holds 60,000 seats.

Thanks.
wow, it actually has a 'real' name.... had only heard the 'Emirates' one before.

I'm going over at the end of the year. Chances of me catching a Liverpool game, EPL, are about as good as me getting to punch Peter Andre in the face. I was told that Carling Cup games are ok value.

What are the best teams in DIV 1 or 2 to watch? Not really interested in the quality of games, more the atmosphere.

M29 said:
I'm going over at the end of the year. Chances of me catching a Liverpool game, EPL, are about as good as me getting to punch Peter Andre in the face. I was told that Carling Cup games are ok value.

What are the best teams in DIV 1 or 2 to watch? Not really interested in the quality of games, more the atmosphere.

Northam Stand at St Mary's :(

Anyone got the stats for Germany? There average attendance is rising every year and is currently the highest in Europe if memory serves me correctly.

M29 said:

If you're around Liverpool, go to Prenton Park (Tranmere Rovers- "League 1")... the kop there can be great. Though I am a biased fan :)

M29 said:

If you are trying for a Premier League game Wigan could be your best bet given they dont have a lot of fans. In the Championship it's not overly hard to get tickets to watch the bigger clubs - Leeds, Sheffield Wednesday, Wolves, etc and the atmosphere is good.

M29 said:

Get on the unofficial supporters websites, a lot will have exchange boards where people will sell on tickets at face value, I would have thought for a home game there would always be tickets available.

Otherwise play the poor Aussie came over especially to see my team play. Write or email the club and see if they can sort anything out for you.

As for Div1 or 2, I wouldn't limit myself to that. Get to a conference or div 3 match, even try non-league. Stadiums full of character and the crowd normally get more involved than your average premier league prawn sandwich muncher.

M29 said:

You can get into any premier league game you want. There are dozens of ticket agencies that operate very openly and semi legally. They all advertise. The mark-up is not super-huge if it is one of those once in a lifetime things.

M29 said:

Leeds would probably be the pick of Div 1.

One other tip is to try and get in the away section. Nine out of 10 times you will experience a greater atmosphere.

Even if 20% of the home crowd is passionate there is every chance that they are spread out all over the place in these days of season tickets and all-seaters. The away fans are somewhat by definition the hard-core supporters. It basically compresses that noisy group into a small area.

I'd say at at least 50-60% of games the away section will outsing the home group.

Weaver said:
One other tip is to try and get in the away section. Nine out of 10 times you will experience a greater atmosphere.

I've done that for just the same reason.
But it didn't always work- Once I tried to get in with the Feyenoord supporters section when they were away to Bayern in the Champions Lge a few years ago. I hung around the stadium with them for 2 hours.... only to find out that 'away' entry was pre-paid ticket only!!

So I just sat with the boring home fans...

David Votoupal said:
But I think it's that football in England is far more of an all-consuming "religion" than anywhere else and/or that English fans are less fickle and will willingly go to games regardless of their clubs' fortunes. Spain is a unique case because of its very strong regional loyalties.

As much as I hate to admit it, you are dead right mate. I was on some Bayern fan websites when they were talking about the way the Nottingham Forest fans were reacting after Bayern had put 5 past them. Hardly anyone had left and even AFTER the match (remember, a 5-0 defeat) the whole stadium was singing "Nottingham, nottingham". They were saying that if that had been the case in Germany the ground would have been near empty by the end of the fact.

the emotional bond between one's team and its people just seems so much stronger in both England (and Scotland too). The fact that the support is still there despite the change to all-seater grounds is proof in itself. I as in Leeds and you just met people who just lived for their clubs as if it was the only thing in their lives that gave them any joy at all. :eek: Even I felt awestruck by them, and I thought I was as hard core as you get...

JF

League attendences comparisons