Legends/Club 5 Members - 2018 GF seat category

What category seat were you given for the 2018 Grand Final?

I am somewhat resigned to this outrage now after reading about those poor West Coast members who got charged for their tickets via the ballot only to find there’s no goddamn flights available the entire week, unless they want to spend 3 days travelling and ridiculous expense from Perth to Melbourne via New Zealand or something outrageous.
Honestly this is a national disgrace what’s gone on here. #AFLGrandFail. There needs to be a royal commission into the systemic failures of providers in the industry and their fees for no service price gouging and orchestrated racketeering
If I was living in Perth and thinking I want to come to Melb for a GF I wont be surprised to find a few days out that all the seats are gone on flights. Not sure you can blame ticketek or the AFL for that.

Lol I’m not blaming them, I was raging against the whole farcical situation of this Finals series and everything causing inconvenience and hindering fans basic wish for quiet enjoyment watching their team play in the GF instead of being gouged and swindled silly at every turn. But I’m over it now LOL

No worries. A lot of it is a farce.

First world problem thread.
That it may be, when you have paid a premium for something is it really that bad to want that something to be a little better than for those than haven’t paid that premium? You certainly don’t expect that what you actually got is a lot WORSE than those who didn’t pay the premium, sure first world problem but people work hard for their money and when they hand it over it shouldn’t be taken for granted

I understand.
But I would ask you this, 6 months ago did you think that Premium was going to give you access to anything?

Hahaha oh my, are we going to get a petition going? My mum has just rang every legends member she knows to gather data on what they got, seems a similar story all very unhappy with the seats they’ve got shoved in vs the amount they got charged, and even more unhappy when they see lower tier members paying less for M33 where our normal reserved seats are.
Lol if we do gather some hard (if not anecdotal!) evidence mum is going specifically in to training tomorrow to tell Eddie how appalling it is and how about instead of worrying about getting Victorians to join the magpie army how about he spends some time making sure those who are already IN the bloody army get what they pay for?
I was a legends member for years but got an extremely shit seat for the 2011 GF.
Not a Legends member anymore.

Well Collingwood emailed me back - with a lot of stuff and nonsense blaming the AFL and Ticketek and other infuriating twaddle I am not going to repost here as it will just infuriate people - but I posted the results of this poll plus the one on Nick’s and took a couple off the top of each categories sum totals (to account for there being some crossover of votes) and then drew them a nice histogram of the results showing the spread of seat allocation amongst their priority 1 members, and added even for those “category 3” seats they are all the way on the top level of the Olympic or Southern Stands and not what any reasonable person would consider worth $370 each in light of what we pay during the season. Anyway even though no doubt they already have this data they disputed my unabashedly anecdotal evidence with admission disclaimer as such and said no priority 1 member would have been allocated categories 4-7 seats and said my forum poll is incorrect and misleading and if they have been allocated such seats then they’d like to see their membership numbers and what seats they got so they can “go back to Ticketek and the AFL and show them the ballot system has failed Collingwood members”

Which to me came across (admittedly hard to tell via email so there is a good deal of confirmation bias going on here) as if they were challenging that there is no evidence of us being given crap seats and I’m just complaining and to shut me up they’re like “well put your money where your mouth is”, in not so many words.

So PM me unhappy BF legends with what seat u got allocated and your member number and I’ll be very happy to provide them with more anecdotal evidence since they don’t want to believe the word of one person, I have 22 so far. Repost at nicks on that thread if you want I don’t have a login for that forum

I understand.
But I would ask you this, 6 months ago did you think that Premium was going to give you access to anything?
That is not the point, you don’t purchase home & contents insurance and then sit there and hope and pray that your house and everything in it burns down do you??! It is much the same concept

2 Legends memberships. Given cat 2. Cant believe cat 2. Is on top deck. Given Q50 row H. At $400. Glad to be there would rather be in the Ponsford.

That is not the point, you don’t purchase home & contents insurance and then sit there and hope and pray that your house and everything in it burns down do you??! It is much the same concept
Nah, not anywhere near the same concept.
You signed up for something that guarantees you a one in one hundred thousand seat, which has been supplied.
Insurance for house destruction comes with all kinds of caveats and exclusions that may see you only get 50 to 80% of what you think you are owed. If anything at all.
You’ve got 100% of your contracted benefit.
Be thankful your not sitting on a half a seat. Such could be an insurance company outcome.
And remember, it’s not the club that allocates the seats.
The best tickets for Collingwood fc are distributed by Collingwood fc. Each player, each coach, each official gets 10 tickets. I’m interested to see the locations of those tickets.

Legend member for 10+ years

Got dicked and was row MM, top deck last week whilst this week I'm Q14 Row S...

Yeah I'm grateful for being there, but geez you'd think we would be looked after.

Anyway even though no doubt they already have this data they disputed my unabashedly anecdotal evidence with admission disclaimer as such and said no priority 1 member would have been allocated categories 4-7 seats and said my forum poll is incorrect and misleading and if they have been allocated such seats then they’d like to see their membership numbers and what seats they got so they can “go back to Ticketek and the AFL and show them the ballot system has failed Collingwood members”

Wouldn’t they have simply seen from your own example (Priority 1 member, Cat 5 seats) that the system is broken?

Anyway even though no doubt they already have this data they disputed my unabashedly anecdotal evidence with admission disclaimer as such and said no priority 1 member would have been allocated categories 4-7 seats and said my forum poll is incorrect and misleading and if they have been allocated such seats then they’d like to see their membership numbers and what seats they got so they can “go back to Ticketek and the AFL and show them the ballot system has failed Collingwood members”
I haven't read of any priority one members getting category 6 or 7, my guess is in the excitement priority two/three are answering the poll. A lot seem to have gotten category 4 though.

Perhaps the bigger issue seems to be what tickets are in what categories and it does seem hit and miss. As a priority two member my category 5 ticket is just 5 rows from the front in the top deck, while the next bay over (closer to the wing) in the same position is category 4. Having ground level next the cheer squads as category 7 is another example, albeit somewhat "explainable" by the occasionally restricted view, but offset by only one side of the cheer squad being reduced in category.

Not sure what the solution is though. What one person considers a good seat (top deck or Southern/Olympic) others consider poor if their preference is Ponsford in the lower decks. Individual preferences could be suggested, but in a ballot that would create difficulties around what section to draw first and it could lead to people getting their third or fourth preference and worst seats. Letting priority one pick their seats is probably the only option and aside from the ticketek website coping the only issue is the small window between the preliminary final and ballot which would still need to be conducted for priority two/three.

I was complaining about my AFL Gold membership earlier in the year but listening to all the stories in this thread and a couple people I know you Legends members seriously got screwed.

Disgraceful you can pay $800 a year then $360 for ticket on the top deck without any choice.

Ohhh $180 for prelim tickets like wtf.

I'm a Club 5 member

Got P3 Row A. (category 4)

.. would have thought that the Ponsford end would have been first filled for the Priority One holders. Maybe it was... idk...

We have 2 club 5 memberships and 7 legends and we are in Q50 row JJ for 5 of us and Q54 row H for 4. Will have to take binoculars. Support the club for a lifetime and get absolutely no priority. Cannot believe it. To make matters worse my elderly father has had surgery on his back and has to go up to the nosebleeds. Why would we not dump all our memberships and take out AFL memberships to get better seats. Feel completely taken for granted.

It appears the club don't believe FrakturedHalo.
My suggestion is for everyone to email the club next week and tell them their individual circumstances.
Quote your membership number and allocated seat.

It’s a difficult subject.

Anybody who has been to AGM’s and membership forums will have seen that the club get hammered about membership privileges that range from the reasonable to the ridiculous. And as to which end of the spectrum your request is probably depends on your point of view.

Some examples that come to mind from the events I’ve been to ...

(1) One member used his question at the AGM to complain the way the veteran members are listed in the club periodical in alphabetical order rather than chronological order. Who even reads that thing any more? Seems ridiculously petty to me, but who knows, when I’m getting old and silly and people are dropping off around me like flies, if I chose to use some list in a yearbook from a footy club I pay 5% of my pension to to measure the constitution of my genes, then why the heck not give me that small mercy?

(2) An issue that is very close to the heart of one of our regular posters here ... at one recent function a member asked when they’re going to get a proper social club bar where they can sit down and have a quiet full strength beer at the bar. Ed was incredulous at that one - WTF, we’ve just spent $25 million on a brand new facility. Fair point Ed. But from the member’s point of view, they probably didn’t care that the carpet was new, and that the building was achitectually designed, they just wanted a modest bar they could sit at like the good old days - and it probably seems insanely stupid to them that you would spend $25 million of members and taxpayers money and not even provide that.

(3) At one event in the last 3 or 4 years, a member complained about having to sit on uncomfortable wooden benches. They were serious. That had Ed and everyone else scratching their head about where at the MCG anybody sits on wooden benches these days ... but, well, there you go.

There are heaps of them. Sometimes they get batted away for being ridiculous. Sometimes Ed points out that’s why we have members forums to get this feedback from members so they can do something about them, and he asks for the membership officer to follow it up.

This is a tricky one.

On one level you have a club who have clearly busted their backside internally, made some hard decisions, finally had some luck fall their way, and are now feeling rightfully chuffed about having got to a Grand Final to play in front of their adoring fans despite all expectations to the contrary, and feeling that the membership base should be damn proud of them and expecting a bit of love... only to find a bunch of top tier supporters are upset about their $400 seats ... in a market where $1000 can’t even buy you a standing ticket... and the club probably feels like it’s got nothing to do with them anyway, it’s those buffoons over at Ticketek who always stuff things up.

On another level, you have members who make financial sacrifices to support the club they love year after year after year of poor form and poor results, and so now they finally get to enjoy the successes, they feel like it’s a bit of a slap in the face when they find themselves sitting behind someone who hasn’t made the same sacrifices along the journey.

Legends/Club 5 Members - 2018 GF seat category