Leon Davis (p.s i am not a troll, just raising a discussion)

Leon hasn't played out of the centre square for 2 months, he's injured and his work rate during matches has dropped away because of it.
Name any forward pocket player who has done anything in any final so far this year - none. It's dead man's position in finals.
Our forward line delivery has been earth shattering horrible. Our midfield has dropped away to nothing in the last month and that's where all our problems are. No Pendlebury = No Collingwood

Dead Eye, who exactly did shine. On that basis most of our players are in trouble..... Leon's had a good year and went missing at the end... as did swan.... as did didak.... as did our entire forward line....

The only player that may have helped his reputation would be Thomas.

Not talking only ths final series, Leon hasn't fired a shot in any final series. I am a Leon fan, but his reputation as a big game player has been severley dented this finals series.

he has to be injured. did not put any pressure on geelong backline when they where running it out of defence

I know he is a gun play, but as a neutral supporter, i reckon ( i know my opinion doesnt count for much) that leon davis will never have a premiership medallion around his neck
That is a ridiculous sentence, and besides, you aren't a neutral supporter. You're a Carlton supporter. The best of Collingwood is in the years ahead, and there is no doubt that Davis can play a role in a premiership in that time. He was carrying an injury in the last month, and I don't think he should spend as much time in the midfield next season.
the same applies with travis cloke by the way
Cloke has had a poor season. There is no doubt that the New Years incident, and the death that followed to his attacker, and then the shots fired into the family home when he was home alone had an effect oh him. He is 22 though and is a Copeland Trophy winner, and I feel quite sure that he will be an extremely damaging player for Collingwood in the years ahead.
I am trying to put my hatred of collingwood behind me in my opinion
Oh come off it. Your opinion is obviously based on your self-confessed biased feelings toward Collingwood, and that is the reason that you're not credible and off the mark.

Well if Collingwood ever considered trading him, now's the time, still got a few years left in the legs and has an "AA" season behind him. Given that this is the last uncompromised draft I'm not sure what his value would be on the marketplace nor which/how many clubs would be interested.

Cloke should stay until the Pies pluck out their next potential KP forward. He still receives the attention of a key defender, which is important.

I don't think Davis is crook. He just thinks his role is to contribute to highlights packages.

He led away from the bread and butter leads. Always put himself slightly over a kick out of the play hoping that a bomb would come in and he could go the speccie.

He had one that went his way and he ****en dropped it. That was deep in the 50. He was even hoping for this when out HBF rebounder had zero players working hard to support. Leon was basically baiting highly contested 1 on 1 situations to add to his highlight reel. Unacceptable!

When he was at his best mid-season, he was a proactive outside midfielder. Ran hard to space and tackled the inside ball player hard. The highlight moments presented themselves in due course.

Since he had a bit of praise, he has become a lairising twat again. He has chronic issues suppressing his ego and working tirelessly. Blokes like Ablett Junior and Chapman have equally good highlight reels, but are respected in perpetuity due to their workrate.

Leon deserves to be ridiculed due to this and other finals campaigns. He can turn it around. I am sceptical he will.

Capt inconsistancy is playing for is career whereever he plays next year. Football teams are developed to win premierships.

From Rounds 1-22, there is always next week. If you play well one week, good, a poor one the next there is always next week.

But Leon struggles when the heat is on, when he's targeted. Through home and away it's about consistancy and gathering enough points to make the finals. In finals, its about survival.

Watching his second efforts over the past 3 weeks has been a real concern. Someone made the point earlier about delivery into Collingwoods forward 50 and the lack of advantage we kick too, completely true. But when the footy hits the ground, he doesn't look dangerous during finals, and there were times last night he jogged to contests when Geelong were moving it out of the forwardline....no pressure what so ever. He wasn't on his own, but he's an experienced player and knows better.

I just dont know if playing in a premiership is that important to him.

Of course many teams would trade for Leon. he is an A-grader and an AA footballer. These types do not grow on trees.

He is clearly carrying an injury which explains his permanent spell in the forward line and lack-of explosiveness (like his first half of the season).

As for the suggestion that he won't ever have a premiership medallion around his neck, Fev won't have one either, and he is the Carlton cake too. Do you trade him because he won't ever win one? Please.

This thread is full of trolls.

Mods should close.

I know he is a gun play, but as a neutral supporter, i reckon ( i know my opinion doesnt count for much) that leon davis will never have a premiership medallion around his neck. Football is all about premierships, and although he was a major contributor in getting collingwood there, he will never lead you or win you a win on the big stage. The best move in my opinion would be to trade him for, say a 1st and 2nd rounder and a gun players. I am trying to put my hatred of collingwood behind me in my opinion, and i am sure i am way off, but just an opinion (the same applies with travis cloke by the way)

anyways im back to my own territory

I agree with you 100% buddy, and the sooner some of my fellow supporters see this the better. Leon Davis does not perform in finals footy when it counts most. Granted that the midfield supply wasnt there last night, however Leons work ethic of pushing further up the ground to help out in defence or the midfiield was lacking. Looked lazy IMO and he needs to get his head straight for finals footy. Didak was also below par throughout the finals series. Like mick said, too many seniot players were passengers.

Having said that though, even at our best Geelong still would have thrown us to the ground last night.

They were good!

Far from your worst for sure, but every team had their whipping boys.
Some players can just never do enough and get critisized for any reason whatsoever
Looks as though Davis has copped it this week.
I think you'll find Dale Thomas is the whipping boy of Collingwood for other sides, Carlton supporters specifically. Collingwood fans can actually see the work he does.

Far from your worst for sure, but every team had their whipping boys.
Some players can just never do enough and get critisized for any reason whatsoever
Looks as though Davis has copped it this week.
Davis hasn't played a good final in his life and tries to find dead pockets to avoid work.

Thomas hasn't done anything but run till vomit inducing exhaustion in every final he has played.

You see the difference??

Opposition supporters want to will Thomas to be a lazy freewheeling ********, when the inverse is the truth.

Davis hasn't played a good final in his life and tries to find dead pockets to avoid work.

Thomas hasn't done anything but run till vomit inducing exhaustion in every final he has played.

You see the difference??

Opposition supporters want to will Thomas to be a lazy freewheeling ********, when the inverse is the truth.

Not from this quarter.

I am a Carlton supporter but without quality players dispersed through all our clubs, a dull competition would ensue.

Thomas has although had more than his fair share of critics from many circles whether it be right or wrong.

Anyway, well done on even discussing this with me on a difficult day.
There seems to be plenty of Carlton supporters that enjoy seeing your team lose but the facts are you have last week to hang your hat on.
As bad as last night was, that comeback last week was brilliant.
Almost as good as Brisbanes against us :mad:

Of course many teams would trade for Leon. he is an A-grader and an AA footballer. These types do not grow on trees.

He is clearly carrying an injury which explains his permanent spell in the forward line and lack-of explosiveness (like his first half of the season).

As for the suggestion that he won't ever have a premiership medallion around his neck, Fev won't have one either, and he is the Carlton cake too. Do you trade him because he won't ever win one? Please.

This thread is full of trolls.

Mods should close.

Fair point about Fevola, and this has been discussed many times, the thing is that we need fevola due to lack of forward options, if he left, we would be done, completly screwed! Yet there are plenty of X factor players in collingwood,(none of the calibre of leon davis) yet swan is your only grunt miidfielder (am i right in saying o bree is almost at the end of his career, and beams will be a gun, just not big enough yet) and collingwood are lacking that number 1 forward that would make their forward line complete, trading leon could provide those things to make collingwoods team structure near perfect.

I was unaware of Leon's injury but that doesnt change his finals record. And of course my Carlton Bias will intervene in my opinion, but i am trying to avoid bias in my opinion

We lack clearance players, blokes able to read the taps and do the tough stuff.

It has been an issue that has needed rectifying for quite some time and an area that is always exposed by the better teams in the competition.

Players like Davis and Didak are infinitely better when they are being fed the ball. They're quality users of the footy but are outside receivers, nobody can possibly think otherwise.

On a side note i'm not a fan of trying to dismiss opposition supporters having views just because it is on the Collingwood board. I reckon it's pretty pathetic the way certain club boards are moderated on Bigfooty and I think the views of opposition fans on these issues make things a whole lot more interesting.

Fair point about Fevola, and this has been discussed many times, the thing is that we need fevola due to lack of forward options, if he left, we would be done, completly screwed! Yet there are plenty of X factor players in collingwood,(none of the calibre of leon davis) yet swan is your only grunt miidfielder (am i right in saying o bree is almost at the end of his career, and beams will be a gun, just not big enough yet) and collingwood are lacking that number 1 forward that would make their forward line complete, trading leon could provide those things to make collingwoods team structure near perfect.

I was unaware of Leon's injury but that doesnt change his finals record. And of course my Carlton Bias will intervene in my opinion, but i am trying to avoid bias in my opinion

Correct about O'Bree. We all know he is closer to the end of this career. Ditto on beams too.

As for our #1 forward, I've always believed we look a lot better when we play with a 3-tall attack. This is where Rusling would have been great. If we can get him on the park, I am almost certain he could provide 50 goals a season. Jack has kicked 50 goals this year in his second season, which is encouraging. He should be able to maintain and improve on that output.
Cloke's year has been wayward but if we can get 40+ goals out of him like we did in 2008, we basically have almost 150 goals between 3 tall forwards. If these guys can kick more than that, expectations will have exceeded.

We also have Dawes developing who has done quite well. With more time and experience he should begin to blossom too.

Trading Leon is simply not an option IMO. You can never have enough good players in the line-up, in particular, AA players.

Just take a look how long it has taken Geelong/St Kilda to get it right and mature. We need to keep this group together, which is what Mick indicated in the press that he would do.

I would trade Leon tomorrow for the right player. He is a huge disappointment and we need to recruit a ruckman or key forward with testicular fortitude and size. This is the year to take the plunge and trade for the future. If Leon has trade value then let's see what is on offer and cut our losses with him.

I unfortunately agree with this :( this will be the last draft for a while and we could get a decent draft pick and pick up a decent young KPP. I love leon but he has let us down time after time in the big games and from what everyone has seen it isn't gonna change.

Leon Davis (p.s i am not a troll, just raising a discussion)