Let's still get Rawlings...for FREE!

well if this plan works we would get rawling without paying anything (in the way of draft picks for him).......... somebody should really talk to the club about this.

if we did follow this line of thinking, would that reduce us to the level of the doggies and the dawks?

Originally posted by ajackett110
It would be good for us if Jade had a press conference or made an announcement that he does not want to play for any club at all costs and that his heart will not be in it if he gets

I think if you nominate for the draft you can't go saying "I won't play for Team X or Y". Players got fined over something similar years ago. (Robert Pyman was one of them).

Originally posted by magoo
well if this plan works we would get rawling without paying anything (in the way of draft picks for him).......... somebody should really talk to the club about this.

I've already done it. See the original post in this thread and also the title of this thread.

Harrington knows about this idea

Originally posted by tashibatts
So Jade would nominate at say.. 500k for one year - which other clubs would be unlikely to pay him.. and then we could pick him up (unless someone was that desperate for him) and he would then renegotiate with the Roos for a 2 year contract after his 1 year contract ends (to create 3 years) for a lesser price (200k a year, still works out at 900k over 3 years)

Am I on the right track here?

Go Roos
I wish Jade would speak out as well, would love to know what the bloke is thinking.

Lets just call it a "front loaded" contract...............

Can Jade stand out of the PSD, and we then pick him up in the Rookie draft, and promote him onto our list??

Originally posted by Royal Blue And White
Wow...good thinking....if that is true I think it is pure genious!!!!!

My only problem would be is there a Rookie draft, which means other club get at him before us, and would he qualify?

Originally posted by 1jasonoz
My only problem would be is there a Rookie draft, which means other club get at him before us, and would he qualify?

Jade's too old and has played too many games to be in the Rookie Draft.

I like the way you think though!

Well I don't know if the plan being talked about here will work but one thing's for sure Jade,who originally left the Hawks because he wanted the security of a long term contract,can now really set himself up. You can nominate your terms in the psd so he should go for it big time,4 year contract at $400k per year,ah what the hell make it 5 years! He can screw the Doggies big time,provided he has the fail safe of the Cats or us agreeing to his terms of course!

Surprised no-one's come up with the suggestion that we "tank" next year, win 2 or 3 games, Jade nominates a 1-year deal. we get him in 2005 for nothin'.

Not that we'd do that of course - too much pride in our club.

All of this just proves to me that there is an "upside" to having a terrible year.
Sends a pretty ordinary message I think

People.

How about we move on?

Lets think about this for a minute. Were we excited about getting Rawlings, or excited about landing a big name player?

In reality, Rawlings has been an AFL player for 9 years. He has played 1 really good season and 2 other 'consistent' seasons. Does this constitute a million dollar contract? Not for mine, although I know many will disagree.

I say we go to the draft with a view for more youth, and perhaps also grab a mid range experienced player in the pre season draft.

We have the talent to be a good footy side - we just need time. We also now have McKernan back to help the development of Hale/McIntosh, and with Petrie, Brown, Watt etc, I think we can hold down the key positions over the coming years.

:)

Originally posted by brew
yas wernt sooking when yas offered pick# 9 and S. Rocca for Jade

deserved getting *** all

We never offered 9+ Rocca.

It was picks 9+24,
then 24+Baird+Morrell,
then it was 9+Corey Jones.

I got a better idea, which is some modification of the idea proposed here. Since we don't know what cap rooms other clubs have, so if we ask Jade to nominate 600K 1 year, Dogs might still get him. How about Jade nominate 800k each year for 4 years, surely dogs and other teams won't pick him up. Once we picked him up, and next year, we will have our usual trick - the pay cut!! cutt his salary to 100K a year. Someone might send this idea to Harrington.. any thoughts?

Originally posted by zoomzoom
I got a better idea, which is some modification of the idea proposed here. Since we don't know what cap rooms other clubs have, so if we ask Jade to nominate 600K 1 year, Dogs might still get him. How about Jade nominate 800k each year for 4 years, surely dogs and other teams won't pick him up. Once we picked him up, and next year, we will have our usual trick - the pay cut!! cutt his salary to 100K a year. Someone might send this idea to Harrington.. any thoughts?

While that would work in theory we would still have to carry the $800k on our salary cap for the 4 years (irrespective of how much we actually pay him) and that would be very limiting on how we operate and recruit so won't happen.

Originally posted by Groucho
While that would work in theory we would still have to carry the $800k on our salary cap for the 4 years (irrespective of how much we actually pay him) and that would be very limiting on how we operate and recruit so won't happen.

After pay cut, the old contract still count towards the salary cap, not the new one?

If that's the case Groucho, how come Carlton, for example, desperately worked to cut salaries to be under this year's salary cap?

I like the general idea of this, but the risk is that Jade could stick with the contract, then we'd be buggered.

Also, the "back up" idea I like is, that he puts a very high price on his head which makes the Bullies consider the error of their ways! ;)

Sure, the other Dogs players have to take cuts, there's heaps of unnecessary paperwork, and the guy signs a one-year deal, meaning they're no certainties to have him in 2005. Also, they'll be sweating, all the way to the pre-season draft, wondering what the Roos and Rawlings might be up to.

Oh, beeehaaaaavee... LOL

Let's still get Rawlings...for FREE!