Lexton Plains Football League Part 2

Correct!

Ins: Ross Waters, two blokes from Kalkee, one being Tom Magee, couple of Uni students and the big biscuit, Elliott Yovich, is back after playing in the 2008 reserves premiership side.

Outs: Travis Grigg, Jake Pring, Jason Hill, Jade Keam, Malcom Niblett, Matt Stasse, Rob Mosby, Ben Johnson, Robbie Greenbank (retired), Jarrod Burt (retired) and Ray Field (retired).

Ross Waters??? Carngham Linton have done a really good job in recent years by getting rid of the blokes who give them a bad name for being dirty on the field and if this is true they are going in the wrong direction...again!

Watts staying in Melbourne, but have signed 3 more players from Strathmore (Div 1 EDFL), Daniel Parkin from Stawell, young gun from St Arnaud and 3-4 other players likely to sign.

Lacked depth in reserves and bottom players in seniors. Had some in seniors that are really reserves players.

But a great job by Navarre and Natte (couple prelims and grand finalist) to be so resourceful and competitive, full credit to them.

Tough task to catch Skipton this year, best run and most discipline club in LPFL.

Prediction (without knowing much about how Eagles, Natte and other clubs are really traveling):

Clearly best side
1. Skipton

Any order:
2. Rokewood
3. Navarre
4. C/L

Fight it out for finals:
5. Lexton
6. Ararat

7. Natte
8. Illabrook

Mate i dont know why you would think of putting Natte down so low, we will be awesome, heaps of recruits this season! i think my order would be;
1-Rokewod
2-Skipton
3-Natte
4-Navarre

who cares about the rest

Ladder only based on 2nd hand info. A lot of water to go under the bridge. Hope you do have lots of recuits and finish 3rd. Think Natte and Navarre do a super job!

could someone give me some info on luke garth? he played at ararat eagles last year and is moving to birchip to live. has signed up, looks ok at training just wondering how he goes on the ground. cheers

Mate i dont know why you would think of putting Natte down so low, we will be awesome, heaps of recruits this season! i think my order would be;
1-Rokewod
2-Skipton
3-Natte
4-Navarre

who cares about the rest
Do you Guys have a prac match with Royal Park coming up and are you any closer to signing Jermery Sanders

Interesting looking at the clearances so far, with Begbie having his clearance to Ballan denied.

Round 1 matches
Skipton vs Natte
Lexton vs Rokewood
CL vs Ararat
Navarre vs Illabarook

what are everyones thoughts..

also what are the ground conditions like at each club?

Hey can anyone tell me how the big elliot yovich goes on the footy field ? can he play?

The big fella goes alright when everything around him is going alright... Where is he heading too ? Not your ideal pick up for a major league ! He would be more suited to a division 5 senior side i would say. :thumbsu:

So will he be playin seniors at carmenlinton?Does he do much around the ground how would he go in the central highlands comp?

any results from praccy matches yesterday?

also, havnt heard much from ararat, Navarre, Natte and Illabarook in a while..
how are they looking..

also is Beacham heading to Skipton?

1-Rokewod
2-Skipton
3-Natte
4-Navarre

who cares about the rest

Realise not all clearances have been lodged, but I would like to see a little more on the Natte front before they jump to 3rd!

Illabrook not gaining many, but losing plenty.

Would like to see Ararat improve on last year, but only loses at this stage. Not sure why players always head off to Taty or Moyston. I guess they want an easier kick and a little more success. Would be nice to see them stick around and build some success in a decent comp.

Beacham twins to play for Skipton. They will be better than last year!

Lexton beat Creswick by 10 goals in prac match. This happens most years!

C/L will still end-up putting a decent side on the park.

Give Nav at decent coach and they'll win the 2010 cup !!!!!!

Coaching would be a mostly thankless task. Unless people are willing to do it, don't think they should comment. Probably not the place cto comment anyway. Had plenty of Nav people sooking on here after 2008. Mostly because they couldn't get a consistent game in the 1s, so the moved on to G/W and the likes. Not sure if he can coach, but they should do well this year. Players are still responsible for their own game.

:thumbsu:Can anyone seriously see any team getting near Skipton this year.....?
Will be beter than last year, only lacking smalls.
but overall knowone will get within 5 goals of the emus.....
Thoughts anyone...:D

have a go at these questions.

Premiers: Skipton
Wooden Spooners: Eagles
League Medal: Kiernan Molloy
Biggest Improver from 09: Lexton should be with all their recruits
Biggest Slider from 09: Carngham Linton to many outs
Goal Kicker: Tom Mullane-Grant if fit
Most expensive team: Lexton
Most under-rated player: Hutchins Rokewood
Most over-rated player: Tim Mckay old & slow
Most loyal player in the league: Rod Kennedy Skipton
Toughest bloke in the league: Matt Stasse
Biggest Sook in the league: Karl Begbie

have a go at these questions.

Premiers: Skipton
Wooden Spooners: Eagles
League Medal: Kiernan Molloy
Biggest Improver from 09: Lexton should be with all their recruits
Biggest Slider from 09: Carngham Linton to many outs
Goal Kicker: Tom Mullane-Grant if fit
Most expensive team: Lexton
Most under-rated player: Hutchins Rokewood
Most over-rated player: Tim Mckay old & slow
Most loyal player in the league: Rod Kennedy Skipton
Toughest bloke in the league: Matt Stasse
Biggest Sook in the league: Karl Begbie

Bit harsh on McKay I think. 4x Premiership coach, League B&F, 50+ goals on one leg last year. A few fellas up at Navarre that travel from Melbourne each week might fall in to the overrated category. Stasse is not the toughest. Easy to act big and tough when you are the biggest bloke in the league but tough also means not dropping your head when the whips are cracking! Begbie has put in a clearance to Ballan so Stasse takes that one out. All the others are pretty spot on.

Again harsh on T Mack, age is not on his side anymore.
Also done his knee which he played on for the last part of the year.
Wooden Spoon= Natty
League Medal, G Lench...If he keeps his mouth shut.
Big Improver, i agree Lexton.
Slider, Hopefully the Saints but i doubt it.
Goal Kicker= J.Risk will not be stoped this year.
Skipton Back to Back!
Toughest bloke, L.Wilke

I agree that Tim McKay has a fantastic record but watched him play 4 times last year and age and injury have caught up with him. Molloy & Riske get the good backmen and Tim just stands in the goal square.

Has anyone else heard the latest that this could be the last year for the lexton plains?? my mail tells me that both lexton plains and marybourgh/castlemaine leagues and clubs have already been discussing the future of a combined 18 team competition for 2011!!

Sorry Whacker but it is true. There will be a report in the press this week about a merger between the 2 Leagues and a proposal as to where finals will be played etc.
This is the best thing to happen for years as ther are other Leagues in the area that have big problems but wont face them!!!!!

Does anyone know how did the practise matches went between Cargnham-Linton/Springbank and Rokewood/Learmonth on the weekend?

Some have tipped C/L not to make finals. They will definitely play finals. C/L have recruited well and will put together a quick side. May lack a big key forward and will miss Stasse, but will still have a very competitive side IMO.

Heard Eagles had great numbers a a recent training camp, 40 plus :). Haven't seen any new names coming in, only leaving :mad:.

Some have tipped C/L not to make finals. They will definitely play finals. C/L have recruited well and will put together a quick side. May lack a big key forward and will miss Stasse, but will still have a very competitive side IMO.

Heard Eagles had great numbers a a recent training camp, 40 plus :). Haven't seen any new names coming in, only leaving :mad:.

Anyone who thinks Cargnham won't make finals obviously have never taken any notice of the LPFL and would be foolish to write them off

Lexton Plains Football League Part 2