Lions Reserves 2013

Whispers at the moment suggest that the Neafl will go elite with the afl reserves teams and the wealthier Neafl clubs. A bigger salary cap, more football department spending ( full time coaches ) etc etc. But then you have the Morningside issue where you have the most successful club of the last decade but financially they can't compete with powerhouse clubs but culturally leave them all for dead

Where is the cash going to come from to fund this? It would seem cheaper for us to play in the VFL rather than place burden on a system that is already stretched. As a grass roots participant down south, the money only flows one way and that isn't down. I'm not sure what the answer is but making the NEAFL go elite doesn't seem viable without massive financial support.

A couple of facts to offer a different view to this rant.

1. Lions reserves lost today by 8 goals. Preaching that the comp isn't good enough on a day you have just been beaten is odd.

2. The NEAFL is set up so about half of the games are against AFL reserves teams (Suns Giants Swans)

3. Last week the Lions trailled all day and ended up narrowly defeating Southport (who butchered the game with ridiculous inaccuracy. Hardly a flogging. Two games against Morningside and Broadbeach were 80 odd but were competitive for large parts of the game often blowing out in the last 1/4 as professional fitness comes through.(The cats game featured Black Staker Polinghorne Yeo to name a few so what do you expect)

4. The biggest wins this year and last came against AFL reserves teams

5. 2 year ago the Lions reserves "won" the wooden spoon.

6 The Swans ressies face poorer opposition and that club seems to be going ok.

7. There are 50 odd QLDers on AFL lists- a result at least partially of a decent local comp- take the AFL ressies sides out and watch that number go down

OK my reply

Poin=t 1 --- with the amount of players out hardly surprising that the reserves lost . bit if a no brainer for me (therefore meaning the reserves had a less experienced line up against a club that has had so many concessions o,meara , martin and round one selections , why didn't brisnae bears get that amount of help etc ) PS I posted the comments before i knew the outcome of the game .Not great with computers had trouble so hense the time delay . the comments were well before the outcome was known .

Point 2 - spoke with players that continually play the same sides - it becomes predictable. We need more variety , playing half the games against the same sides to me is a waste of time . mix it up with VFL and interstate matches - all for it . the suggestion that brisabne lions can not meet the costs is correct , so help about Andrew demetriou putting some money into helping support the brisbane lions. i am not suggesting for one second that brisabne meet all the cost .If the afl can support GWS and Suns why not brisbane

Point 3 you backed up my argument "professional fitness comes through" lets play seasoned VFL sides they are in my view the real benchmark

POint 4 in case of GWS and the suns emgering talent , against our more seasoned players etc for yesterday when we had more aceademy players in . I think they did ok in view of the circumstances

Point 5 two years ago Brisbane seniors finished 3rd last . Michael Voss stated the lions were in a rebuilding phase , so if you don't bel;ieve me look at the players lost Brennan ,Risch, sherman ,selwood so not surprising brisbane reserves finshed last direct quote So, in late 2010 we sought a new direction for the Brisbane Lions – a sustainable future that would deliver long-term success

Point 6 - Look at the concessions Swans get compared to Brsiabne . Higher salary cap.therefore able to keep talent , get players like Kurt - want a level playing field Ask brisbane lions,would they love swans salary cap problems Afl seems to be looking after sydney better than Brisabne ."Brisbane Lions CEO Malcolm Holmes has called for AFL assistance to pay the full salary cap, claiming the gap in player wages between the rich and poor clubs is compromising the competition.

Read more: http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/brisbane-lions-ceo-malcolm-holmes-believes-the-gap-in-player-wages-is-compromising-the-competition/story-e6frf3e3-1226632741234#ixzz2V0pSVkxj

Point 7 - Over how long . I do not dispute there is talent , but is about increasing the talent base The brisbane lions have a target on queernsland based players , lets get there sooner rather than later .
NEAFL vs. SANFL match review lost by 82 points - and if you use the argument of the curtain raiser - NEAFL under 22 defeat safl under 20 but that it is like comparing apples and oranges - one team older more battle harden than there yopunger opponents

How did Callum Bartlett go today?

Read your comments about Dayle Garlett . Fantastic , totally agree , best talent outside the afl exactly what brisbane need skill and speed--
GOALS: 6 D.Garlett, 2 M.Rogers, B.Robinson, A.Elari, T.Notte, 1 M.Riggio, K.Ugle=== 01.06.2013
BEST: W.Lammie, A.Elari, T.Roach, M.Riggio, D.Garlett

The game was a shocker just like the Footscray game i went to . What this game highlights to me is the following - what i really want is the afl to get brisbane lions reserves to play in the vfl . ATM we are playing a reserves side in i feel a second rate competition . This leads to inflated egos.they think they are better than what they really are , OK to beat queensland teams by 100 points or so every week. I realy want to test where our list is at against good/better competition. reason when they get the chance in teh seniors they seem to struggle Secondly the afl should allow ( i will stand corrected if i am wrong) the older academy boys into TAC cup comp for next year a Brisbane lions /sun team in the TAC to help anaylse the strenghts and weaknesses in the kids .Lets test them to see if they aare up to aafl standard or not. This would i feel be a tremendous help in developing the BRAND in Queensland. Several of the players on list should simply be either traded or cut . I said it before and i will say it again we desparatley need to draft SKILL and SPEED into the team and let VOSS go WE MUST TRADE TO GET EARLY PICKS AND PICK UP SKIL
What a load of crook. Our Reserves got beaten simply by a better team. They were better stronger and more skilled.

Not sure the need to examine the strength of the NEAFL competition after we got beaten! For months we have been lauding how strong our Reserves have been. Sooking after a loss seems hardly dignified. We lost because our resources were drained..just like NEAFL Clubs are due to injury, suspension, unvailability, etc. A few weeks ago we had Black, Staker, Polkingorne, etc play against local NEAFL clubs, but some now bemoan the fact that Bock played for Suns....toughen up lads.

The fact that we can play in the NEAFL with 18 players is a fantastic opportunity for us. AFL clubs in SANFL & WAFL farm their players out to local pubs with no control on where they play, don't participate in team game plans etc.

As a local footy supporter and a proud Lion fan, it's about time we acknowledged that we are fortunate to have this structure to play in. Their comp has been turned on its head and they are now expected to compete with us and Suns who have a full time professionals...it's essentially become our training comp. The AFL will never start a national reserves comp due to cost. We need to get over it unless we are prepared to fund sending our reserves ourselves to join the VFL, and start treating the NEAFL, and it's participants. With the respect that they deserve.

I don't think our current system is all that bad. A lot of the other clubs have said how much they would prefer our set up with a dedicated reserves team where they can play the players in the positions they want them to play and play the systems they will have to play at AFL level. Many other club supporters think our development program has a big advantage over what they have to put up with.

agree...but it is just the standard of competition that is concerning. The crows and Power will likely soon be getting stand alone teams in the SANFL which is awesome for them. Its just a difficult situation for us as it is great for us to help develop the game in QLD in the reserve leagues but we dont wont too inhibit player development too much

As player talent is spread further and further, player development is/will be crucial to onfield success. Muck this up (ie. Melbourne) and you can look forward to decades of pain and a terminal tailspin. Clubs that don't have a) the resources b) the right coaches or c) an appropriate testing and trialling environment will never get out of the bottom six.

As player talent is spread further and further, player development is/will be crucial to onfield success. Muck this up (ie. Melbourne) and you have can look forward to decades of pain and a terminal tailspin. Clubs that don't have a) the resources b) the right coaches or c) an appropriate testing and trialling environment will never get out of the bottom six.

Agree...really the QLD and Sydney teams should be pushing the AFL to do something about. I think the Foxtel cup should be scratched and a national ressies comp should be launched

I haven't really got an opinion on the standard of the NEAFL as I don't really get to watch many reserves games. However I would be interested to hear why there isn't money to fund a national reserves competition? The NRL have a national under 23's (from memory) comp that runs in conjunction with the main games (eg the exact same schedule at the same venues). Surely purely from a funding point of view the AFL should in theory be able to do the same? I admit I have no idea how the u23 comp is funded.

Now there are a number of other issues I can see aside from funding. A few are below but I'm sure there would be more.

List sizes and who you can play if you have injuries that would result in not fielding a full 22 players in the reserves.
Grounds to play on (they wouldn't be able to play on many of the AFL grounds, especially in Melbourne - maybe the training ground of the home team if its up to standard)

those are the ones that hit the top of my mind.

Maybe a ressies comp made up of the two's from all AFL interstate clubs (i know SA and WA don't currently have designated teams), would make 8 teams, plus 2 senior teams more form SA, two more form WA, 1 from Darwin, 1 from Tassie, 1 more form Qld and 1 from NSW. That might be able to work - the AFL would need to chuck in the cash to make it happen though.

From what I've seen on the videos the standard of the NEAFL varies but can reach quite reasonable levels but the pace, intensity (and for non-AFL teams the fitness levels) are what is lacking. That seems to get borne out by the number of times our better performed reserves players come into the seniors yet don't manage to make the transition.

NEAFL Round 11 Review
3 June 2013
Sam Canavan

Brisbane Lions vs. Gold Coast Suns

The Brisbane Lions reserves were dealt their first loss in more than eight months by the Gold Coast at Coorparoo on Saturday, the Suns booting 13 of the 18 majors registered after quarter-time to win by 47 points.
Five goals to former high-jumper Josh Hall, as well as star turns by Jack Hutchins and Jack Martin, was the catalyst for the Suns’ 17.15.117 to 10.10.70 victory.
The icing on Gold Coast’s cake was the encouraging return of former Adelaide star Nathan Bock, who played the entire second half and kicked four goals, in his first match since injuring his knee almost 18 months ago.
The eye-catching displays of Alex Sexton, Andrew Boston and Maverick Weller were other positives for Shaun Hart’s side, who turned the tables on a Brisbane team which had beaten them twice previously in 2013.
Under blue skies at Coorparoo, the sides played out arguably the highest-quality opening quarter of the year on Saturday, with Brisbane kicking five goals straight to 4.1 to hold a slender lead at the first break.
But from that point forward Gold Coast asserted themselves on the contest, with the visitors’ higher number of listed players ultimately proving too classy for a Lions side stacked with teenagers from the club’s youth academy.
Despite fielding their most depleted team of the year, Brisbane would have been disappointed with the result, with quality players such as Jordan Lisle, Aaron Cornelius, and Josh Green failing to impact the contest; kicking just three goals between them.
Lion’s coach Leigh Harding acknowledged his senior players could have done more, but was quick to pay tribute to Brisbane’s youngsters.
“We had some guys with high credentials who were well held, which definitely contributed to the result, but the performances of the likes of Isaac Conway, Daniel Day and Darcy Cameron-Reeves were very good.
“We made 11 changes from the team that beat Southport, so there was a lot of responsibility placed on the top-ups, and I thought they performed admirably.”
Suns mentor Shaun Hart is pleased with the way his side’s season is building, with the Gold Coast now in fourth spot courtesy of four straight impressive wins: over Southport, Morningside, UWS, and the Lions.
“We are travelling really well at the moment; we’re really clicking as a team, and a lot of the guys are putting their hand up for senor selection, which is great,” Hart enthused.
“The best aspect of our last month has been our defensive pressure across the board, and if we can maintain that I think we’ll continue to get really good results.”

A severely undermanned Brisbane Lions Reserves suffered their first loss of the 2013 NEAFL season against a superior Gold Coast outfit at Coorparoo last Saturday.

The Lions’ side boasted just 10 listed players – their lowest number of the season – after being forced to make 11 changes to the team that defeated Southport the previous week.

The Lions matched the Suns for three quarters, but were left ruing a poor second term which ultimately proved the difference in the 47-point defeat.

Reserves Coach Leigh Harding said he was particularly pleased with how his young troops came out in the opening term.

“We were terrific in the first quarter. We cracked in at the contest probably the best we have all season – particularly considering the amount of Hyundai Lions Academy kids we had in the side,” Harding told
lions.com.au

“But we really let ourselves down in the second quarter. Our defensive stuff dropped off significantly and the Suns kicked five goals to nil, which ended up being pretty much the final margin.

“I know they kicked a few goals late in the game to extend the margin out to eight goals, but the second quarter was where the game was really determined.”

One of the real positives for the Lions was the continued improvement of draftee Michael Close, who was among the team’s better players in a permanent forward role.

“Closey’s gone forward in the last couple of weeks after playing down back for a few,” Harding said.

“He seems to have settled well up there, and probably played his best game for the year on Saturday. He presented well and gave us a strong target. Hopefully that’s the standard he now brings every week.

“He has a very good running ability, leads to the right spots, and is also quite strong and aggressive for a young bloke. They are all good traits to have as a forward.”

“The forward line had a bit of a different look to it last week, with Close and (Hyundai Lions Academy prospect) Jono Freeman working together as the tall forwards,” Harding said.

“It meant Jordan (Lisle) played a bit higher, and Ace Cornelius spent most of his time on the wing.”

Success building from below
5 June 2013
Sam Lord

American football legend Vince Lombardi was once famously quoted as saying “winning is a habit”. If that’s the case, then the efforts from the next generation of Brisbane Lions players in the NEAFL should give fans great hope for the future.

While the Lions’ senior team has struggled for wins over the past few seasons, a number of the younger developing players have tasted nothing but success in their short time at the Club. Admittedly there is a significant step-up from the NEAFL to playing senior AFL football, but the Lions Reserves’ winning form should not be understated.

Since claiming the State League wooden with just four wins from the 2011 NEAFL season, the Reserves have won 26 of their past 31 matches – including the aforementioned two premierships. They also enjoyed a 12-game winning streak from Round 21 of last season until only last Saturday when suffered defeat for the first time in 2013 at the hands of the Gold Coast Suns.

If winning is truly a habit, then the Lions’ NEAFL players are being bred for future success.

Clarke_Song-hero.jpg

Further to the conversation regarding clubs fielding their own stand alone reserves teams:

Crows reserves a must in 2014, says Adelaide coach Brenton Sanderson

BRENTON Sanderson says Adelaide must field a stand-alone reserves team next year or it will risk falling further behind the AFL's power clubs. "It's really important from my point of view as a senior coach," Sanderson said as the Crows joined hometown rival Port Adelaide in ramping up their push to field their own side in the SANFL.

"If we didn't get a reserves side up next year we would be, I think, the only team that doesn't send its players to one club. It's massive, it really is. "I've seen the Geelong model and the Geelong program works so successfully with the development of young players getting drafted and coming through their own system.

"I'm not sure where we're at with the negotiation phase of it, getting it up and running, but we'll almost certainly have our own team next year."

The Power wants its SANFL affiliate, the Port Magpies, to be its reserves side from next year.

But he said the main priority is just getting them to play together, even if it is in the reserves. Other options are the VFL and NEAFL competitions, which host Victorian and Sydney and Brisbane clubs respectively.

Whilst unlikely to happen, there are a lot of benefits to the NEAFL and its 4 AFL reserves teams if a NEAFL Super League of sorts was created with the inclusion of the Crows and Port reserves teams.

NEAFL Northern Mid-season Review
Beth Newman

Brisbane

Brisbane’s fate this season is largely dependent on the health of its list. With six players elevated to the seniors last week to cover injuries and suspensions, the NEAFL side fell to its first loss in almost eight months, against the Gold Coast Suns.

As players recover in the back end of the season, the reserves will most likely benefit and will continue in their successful vein. Two matches against the Sydney Swans reserves, as well as a trip to Darwin loom as the real danger games for the Lions as the season ticks on, as well as a potential blockbuster against the SUNS.

If they can stay healthy, there’s no reason the Lions won’t be challenging for back-to-back flags.

RUN HOME:

BYE
Labrador (A)
Aspley (H)
Sydney (A)
Gold Coast (H)
Redland (H)
NT (A)
BYE
Sydney (H)
Mt Gravatt (A)
UWS (H)

d942ffc3cc.jpg

Squad posted on the Lions Facebook.

Not directed at you jackess, but is there any reason why the club doesn't post this stuff on their actual website, so for those of us who don't use Facebook can actually be provided with this info?:rolleyes:

The decisions of this club just continue to stagger me.

Can someone who can be bothered and has Facebook please post the squad?:thumbsu:

Not directed at you jackess, but is there any reason why the club doesn't post this stuff on their actual website, so for those of us who don't use Facebook can actually be provided with this info?:rolleyes:

The decisions of this club just continue to stagger me.

Can someone who can be bothered and has Facebook please post the squad?:thumbsu:

I'm not one to derail a good rant but as far as I could see the Lions reserves squad hasn't been posted on the official Lions FB page.

It is up on the NEAFL site though - Polkinghorne and Longer both selected while Paparone isn't named. Maguire also named.

I'm not one to derail a good rant but as far as I could see the Lions reserves squad hasn't been posted on the official Lions FB page.

Yeah I'd quoted jackess post in this thread as opposed to derailing that thread, but he had posted the reserves squad was named on the Lions FB site, hence my rant/confusion here.;)

Lions Reserves 2013