List Mgmt. List Management Discussion for 2022

Gunston is only 30 so it's a little surprising seeing him so cooked, when in the modern era of preparation and sports science lots of players play top footy well into their 30s. That Back must be ******* rooted. Also his kicking, 15.16 for the year is pathetic for a player that used to be such a reliable kick.

We need to add so many things, like a quality ruck, key defender, several midfielders with poise and class. We also need small pressure forwards that don't let the ball exit our forward half so easily.

I'm calm though, I knew with the mess Clarkson left behind and all the poor choices since our 3peat it was likely it would take until 2025/2026 for us to be featuring in September again.

That’s where I’m at. The practice matches this year set my expectations fairly low and a lower finish but higher draft pick. A top 5 pick and possible further refreshing of the list now that clubs have a better grasp of their caps is exciting. Today was annoying to watch but it’s not as if we are contending this year so it’s all about development.

Gunston is only 30 so it's a little surprising seeing him so cooked, when in the modern era of preparation and sports science lots of players play top footy well into their 30s. That Back must be ******* rooted. Also his kicking, 15.16 for the year is pathetic for a player that used to be such a reliable kick.

We need to add so many things, like a quality ruck, key defender, several midfielders with poise and class. We also need small pressure forwards that don't let the ball exit our forward half so easily.

I'm calm though, I knew with the mess Clarkson left behind and all the poor choices since our 3peat it was likely it would take until 2025/2026 for us to be featuring in September again.
Not really tbh unfortunately .
Given his injury there was always a realistic chance if he came he would be the same .
That type of injury normally ends careers , he has done well to be playing again

Problem I don’t see Callow or Jeka making it. Callow is very limited and for all the talent Jeka has, he just doesn’t want it anywhere near bad enough. Gives no effort while out there.

Serong looks good so far but will need to put on size to even stand a chance at the top level.

A big problem with our list is that we just don’t have anywhere near enough great younger players coming through.
Realistically we are 20-40 games from knowing just how good Ward/Butler/Mac and the like will be .

So we may have them but its speculative now , although early signs are good .

Agree with Jeka/Callow

Youre missing the point. Pick in the 50's is useless we wont use it so why would we care if he walks to the pre season draft if it's the same result.

Their list is the worst in the league they really have no youth, no longer will they have the luxury of just drafting mainly WA talent and good luck keeping a hold of all the interstate talent when theyre bottom 4 for years. Brockman is not the type of player you burn bridges on.

They can give a third round pick or we leave.
We have some handy players in our team that were picks 44, 52, 56, 74, 76 & a rookie upgrade that goes ok.
So I don’t really see pic 50’s as useless or un-useable

As for 3rd round pick or we leave
We don’t need to play hardball with any club or player.
That’s just immature.

Gunston will find another club. Bookmark it. Gold Coast will take him for 2 years and he will be rejuvenated .

If they take him on a 2-3 year decent money deal so we get a compensation pick at the end of it they can be my guest. Love Gunner but it’s really time to concentrate on our next premiership players.

We have some handy players in our team that were picks 44, 52, 56, 74, 76 & a rookie upgrade that goes ok.

That’s just immature.

You’re on a hiding to nothing with this one. When I pointed out that we used a pick in the 50s on Jai Serong last year I just got a laugh reaction in response ¯\(ツ)/¯.

To use their line

I’m right, prove me wrong 😜

Gunston will find another club. Bookmark it. Gold Coast will take him for 2 years and he will be rejuvenated .
Spending three-four years at the Suns will probably net him another premiership with how they're looking.
Kinder climate, playing second/third fiddle to King with Chol he'd be a serious threat for them.

Just got to hope that any off-field movement from him can somehow be extra beneficial for us.

I think Richmond staying there abouts and finishing in the 6-10 range could lead to them wanting another senior established mid to push for a tilt, could be a handy way to have Titch move on amicably.

Spending three-four years at the Suns will probably net him another premiership with how they're looking.
Kinder climate, playing second/third fiddle to King with Chol he'd be a serious threat for them.

Just got to hope that any off-field movement from him can somehow be extra beneficial for us.

I think Richmond staying there abouts and finishing in the 6-10 range could lead to them wanting another senior established mid to push for a tilt, could be a handy way to have Titch move on amicably.
Mitchell to the Tiges makes a hell of a lot of sense.

Fills a glaring need in their list.

I’m not saying gunston should stay or go but I think we undersell his season. It’s not a disaster.

Today he was on a hiding to nothing - looked not quite right & abominable conditions.

He had 15.15 up to the point he got injured early in round 9. If he kicked 20.10 to that point we’d be marveling at his comeback.

Let’s see how he finishes the year.

I'm not sure Jack Gunston or Luke Bruest, Chad Wingard, etc, would want to leave Hawthorn... they'd undoubtedly have to accept a major paycut to play elsewhere; Hawthorn are one of a few clubs that can afford to pay him what he wants.

We have a plethora of unsigned players at the end of this year.
Would be interested to hear how long we would resign Day/Wingard if we had no intentions of trading the latter.
Morrison and T.Phillips too.

HEAPS of players out of contract at the end of the year by the looks of it.

McEvoy, Wingard, Downie, Howe, Jeka, Morrison, Gunston, Saunders, Blanck, Morris, Shiels, Ramsden, S.Mitchell, Phillips and Brockman.

Is that more than usual at this time of year?

Wingard, Morrison, Gunston the only real ones worth any trade currency. Howe and Brockman late picks if anything.

Praying we can squeeze another season out of Jack - we are bereft of leadership on field and by the sounds of it he marshals our youngish forwardline

Even if we get say 10 games out of him in 2023, I'd be happy with using a list spot on him for leadership, setting standards around the place and generally not doing a North

McEvoy, Wingard, Downie, Howe, Jeka, Morrison, Gunston, Saunders, Blanck, Morris, Shiels, Ramsden, S.Mitchell, Phillips and Brockman.

Wingard, Morrison, Gunston the only real ones worth any trade currency. Howe and Brockman late picks if anything.
99% sure rama and blanck have 18 month deals.

Both Ramsden and Blanck nominated for the MSD on 18 month terms, so we'll be seeing them again rain hail or shine in 2023

Current contract expiry by year:

Tyler Brockman, Jackson Callow (rookie), Connor Downie, Sam Frost, Jack Gunston, Kyle Hartigan, Daniel Howe, Emerson Jeka, Mitchell Lewis, Ned Long (2021 rookie draftee), Ben McEvoy, Seamus Mitchell, Harry Morrison, Conor Nash, Tom Philips, Jack Saunders (rookie), James Sicily, Chad Wingard

Lachie Bramble, Luke Breust, Sam Butler (2021 national draftee), Will Day, Jarman Impey, Jacob Koschitzke, Max Lynch (trade), Connor MacDonald (2021 national draftee), Finn Maginness, Tom Mitchell, Josh Morris, Jai Newcombe (2021 mid-season draft), Jaeger O'Meara, Ned Reeves, Jai Serong (2021 national draftee), Josh Ward (2021 national draftee), James Worpel

Denver Grainger-Barass, Blake Hardwick, Changkuoth Jiath, Jack Scrimshaw
Note the above is just the latest update on the contacts thread - obviously Nash, Sicily, Lewis, long and frost all have extended already since

That’s just immature.
This draft is shallow more than anything recent and we already have a pick in 50's

And we only have two picks before it as it stands and will likely turnover the list again at season's end. If we have two picks in the 50s we would absolutely be using them.

I'm not sure Jack Gunston or Luke Bruest, Chad Wingard, etc, would want to leave Hawthorn... they'd undoubtedly have to accept a major paycut to play elsewhere; Hawthorn are one of a few clubs that can afford to pay him what he wants.

Wingard?

Given his body and output, we'd be negligent offering him anything but a one year deal IMO. Regardless of how much room in the cap we have.

Has to be one year rolling contracts from here, and well below what he was previously on. Well below.

Despite a relatively long list none really seem critical to our future.

Morris/Ramsden/Blanck - contracted for next year

Possible retirees: BB, shiels

Will get extended: Morrison

May move on: Brockman, Gunston, wingard, howe?

Calls to be made: Phillips, downie, Seamus, Jeka, callow, Saunders (a lot prob saved by apparent lack of depth in draft)