List Management | End of year discussion

If we're trading Hill to Fremantle, should we try take Litherland with him too? He's a west Australian and he's got potential. I actually rate him but he hasn't had enough opportunities at hawthorn. How much would this affect the deal? Would we get much of a better draft pick that we can use for TOM or JOM?

Has anyone heard even a shred of a rumour about Kaiden Brand? So weird that his name hasn't come up. You would think if he was seeking a trade that there would be some rumours around about it. I truly hope he has re-signed and we are awaiting the end of the season to announce it.

And we may end up trading a brilliant small forward with at least 5 years worth of playing left in him for someone who may or may not turn in to a footballer.

The value people place on draft picks really baffles me sometimes.

Brad Hill is a good example of this. Commentators are debating if he is worth a late first rounder or early second when if you actually look at the history of the drafts Hill would probably be better (more valuable) than half the top 10 picks taken in any given draft and 3/4 of top 20. I don't understand on what basis a crap shoot on a late first rounder who you have to develop for 2-3yrs can be compared to a proven performer in his prime. Genuinely baffling.

Its probably why the trades which actually take place almost never are anything like the guesses people make.

Lots of potential arrivals this offseason. No departures as of yet.

Whose out?

We are a chance to get in quite a few:
Possible:
Trengove - Port have apparently floated his name around as they are VERY short on picks and with Hammer now more likely to stay
Rumored:
Barrett - Apparently we have enquired and are seeing what can be done
Harry Dear - We are apparently trying to work something there late in the draft
EMac - Not likely anymore
Likely:
Mitchell - Will be announced today
O'Meara - Nominated and Wrighty confident it will get done
Vickery - Done and dusted - Find out when Richmond say no to matching at 3pm this arvo

There are plenty I would say we are a chance of losing:
Possible:
Willsmore - Delisted
JML - Delisted
Rumored:
Puopolo - To GC as part of the GCS trade for O'Meara
McEvoy - Retirement
Brand - Return to SA
Sicily - To GC as part of the GCS trade for O'Meara
Langford - As part of the Mitchell deal
Likely:
Hill - To Freo
Spangher - To retirement

These are just opinion and rumored moves. There could be something completely out of the blue. Considering the fact that we haven't openly chased a replacement first ruck, I would think that the McEvoy rumor is not happening. Brand is apparently now likely to stay with us. I think JML is done, Willsmore is the other Rookie that is at risk as many believe he went backwards this year. Poppy has been quite heavily linked to the GCS trade, rightly or wrongly. Wrighty said no to getting rid of Sicily but stranger things have happened. Langers has been thrown around as part of the GCS and Sydney trade. Hill is gone and many think Spangh will retire.

Who knows really but we will likely need to lose a best 22 to facilitate what we need to get in

Has anyone heard even a shred of a rumour about Kaiden Brand? So weird that his name hasn't come up. You would think if he was seeking a trade that there would be some rumours around about it. I truly hope he has re-signed and we are awaiting the end of the season to announce it.

I have thinking the same thing 89. It is as though he has just disappeared, but this may be the lead up to a surprise announcement. Let's hope that's what happens.

I hadn't heard the rumour about Poppy to GC, so that is very interesting. I'd be torn between Bruest and Poppy, and would rather both stayed.

I guess with GW coming out this morning pretty strongly that Bruest isn't going anywhere (which I'll take him at his word on), then Poppy might be vulnerable. He wasn't the same when he came back from his Hip injury which slowed his explosiveness, but geez, nothing off season recovery wouldn't fix.

GW was very prominent on mentioning draft picks on Trade Radio that we have to play with, both this year and next year, so I believe that's Plan A for him, rather than top line players. But just because that's his plan, doesn't mean it will play out that way and maybe we do lose a best 22 player or 2.

If that happens, well so be it, as we are potentially bringing in 3 'best 22 players' anyway, so they can't all play (assuming JOM is good to go by round 3-6 next season, maybe earlier).

If he can get 'Plan A' over the line (draft picks and a Langford or the like for JOM, Tom, TV and Jarman with F/S selection), then they need to build him a statue at Glenferrie ;)

We are a chance to get in quite a few:
Possible:
Trengove - Port have apparently floated his name around as they are VERY short on picks and with Hammer now more likely to stay
Rumored:
Barrett - Apparently we have enquired and are seeing what can be done
Harry Dear - We are apparently trying to work something there late in the draft
EMac - Not likely anymore
Likely:
Mitchell - Will be announced today
O'Meara - Nominated and Wrighty confident it will get done
Vickery - Done and dusted - Find out when Richmond say no to matching at 3pm this arvo

There are plenty I would say we are a chance of losing:
Possible:
Willsmore - Delisted
JML - Delisted
Rumored:
Puopolo - To GC as part of the GCS trade for O'Meara
McEvoy - Retirement
Brand - Return to SA
Sicily - To GC as part of the GCS trade for O'Meara
Langford - As part of the Mitchell deal
Likely:
Hill - To Freo
Spangher - To retirement

These are just opinion and rumored moves. There could be something completely out of the blue. Considering the fact that we haven't openly chased a replacement first ruck, I would think that the McEvoy rumor is not happening. Brand is apparently now likely to stay with us. I think JML is done, Willsmore is the other Rookie that is at risk as many believe he went backwards this year. Poppy has been quite heavily linked to the GCS trade, rightly or wrongly. Wrighty said no to getting rid of Sicily but stranger things have happened. Langers has been thrown around as part of the GCS and Sydney trade. Hill is gone and many think Spangh will retire.

Who knows really but we will likely need to lose a best 22 to facilitate what we need to get in

Nice post. Good summary

I hadn't heard the rumour about Poppy to GC, so that is very interesting. I'd be torn between Bruest and Poppy, and would rather both stayed.

I guess with GW coming out this morning pretty strongly that Bruest isn't going anywhere (which I'll take him at his word on), then Poppy might be vulnerable. He wasn't the same when he came back from his Hip injury which slowed his explosiveness, but geez, nothing off season recovery wouldn't fix.

GW was very prominent on mentioning draft picks on Trade Radio that we have to play with, both this year and next year, so I believe that's Plan A for him, rather than top line players. But just because that's his plan, doesn't mean it will play out that way and maybe we do lose a best 22 player or 2.

If that happens, well so be it, as we are potentially bringing in 3 'best 22 players' anyway, so they can't all play (assuming JOM is good to go by round 3-6 next season, maybe earlier).

If he can get 'Plan A' over the line (draft picks and a Langford or the like for JOM, Tom, TV and Jarman with F/S selection), then they need to build him a statue at Glenferrie ;)
I am a massive Poppy fan, since his days in the back and forward pocket at Norwood. He is a true heart and soul footy man. However, the rumors were that GC had a fairly attractive offer on the table. We have cover in that area of the ground with Miles, Langford, Webster (Quads / hammies withstanding), Stewart, Hardwick all waiting in the wings. If the rumors are true, Poppy would almost get a Brown / Williams type of super fund

Im sure this wont happen but id be happy to see:

IN:
JoM
Tom
Ty
Barrett
Dear
Witts
Jarman
(Brand re-sign)

OUTS:
Hartung
Hill
Spangher
Webster
Willsmore
Litherland
#Another bordeline B22 player which may be a Fitzpatrick type if we get another ruck in.

*Initally would love to have seen Woody and Stewart upgraded but it may have to wait.

Part of our generational change is opening up opportunities for the young blokes, but so far we've opened up three spots in the 22 (Sammy, Jordan and Hill), but brought in three (TV, Titch and hopefully JOM).

I reckon we have a bunch of blokes in the 20-22 year range who are ready to challenge for an increased role in 2017 if there are opportunities there. By the same token, I reckon we have a bunch of blokes who have demonstrated they can be a roll player but are unlikely to improve beyond that.

If I was GW, I'd have a go at getting back into the second round of the draft.

Blokes that need more opportunity:
Brand
Lovell
Burton
JOR
Stewart
Willsmore
Miles
Pittonet
O'Brien
Webster

Blokes with potential currency but who are replaceable:
Langford
Shoenmakers
Hartung
Litherland
McEvoy (we'd need to trade in a cheap ruck option ala Fitzy)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Part of our generational change is opening up opportunities for the young blokes, but so far we've opened up three spots in the 22 (Sammy, Jordan and Hill), but brought in three (TV, Titch and hopefully JOM).

I reckon we have a bunch of blokes in the 20-22 year range who are ready to challenge for an increased role in 2017 if there are opportunities there. By the same token, I reckon we have a bunch of blokes who have demonstrated they can be a roll player but are unlikely to improve beyond that.

If I was GW, I'd have a go at getting back into the second round of the draft.

Blokes that need more opportunity:
Brand
Lovell
Burton
JOR
Stewart
Willsmore
Miles
Pittonet
O'Brien
Webster

Blokes with potential currency but who are replaceable:
Langford
Shoenmakers
Hartung
Litherland
McEvoy (we'd need to trade in a cheap ruck option ala Fitzy)

TOB got plenty of opportunity in the season just gone, he played 14 games or whatever just failed to have an impact.

I'd be keen to judge TOB after 50 games, given he's a tall. Shoey's played a hundred, he's a known quantity with potential currency (some one might offer a second for him). If some one offered us a second for TOB I'd jump at it, but that seems unlikely. May as well cross our fingers. Most likely scenario is we end up with a bloke around Shoey's output. Best case, TOB evolves into a Tom Lynch (Crows version).

List Management | End of year discussion