Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

What's the deal with the GFL next year? Anyone know the official start date now? I just heard they had a meeting and it got put more but the season will definetly start. I heard april 28th? Is that right because the football geelong web site has it starting on april 21st

How good do u reckon steve shultz is? and will St. Marys miss him as much as likes of Frankey and other qualty players they have lost? and how do u reckon the marys will go this sesaon?

i would rate steve schultz's season (2006) top 5 in the GFL. he consistently tore opposition sides apart off half-back and was one of the few defenders able to shut down the likes of greaves, grgic etc. will be sorely missed. definitely a deeper loss than fopiani. marys should make the finals this year, they have recruited a lot of youngsters. will be interesting to see how they go

Sorry i must have missed your list. Why dont you have a go at one rather than critisising others.

I have seen Costello play at full back a number of times and he is rarely beaten. We are all entitled to an opinion.

No worries hulks.. i didnt say u werent entitled to an opinion.. i just didnt agree with it.

Heres my top 5 from each club with some help this is a two man operation.
Feel free to comment on it

best 5 from each team from 06

No particular order... in bold are guns!!
Angelsea - Robertson, eddy, t lynch, elliot, mccormack
Barwon Heads - Patrick, smith, o'brien, kershaw, plowman
O Grove - Dalton, Van Noordenberg, Perry, clark, rock
Ammos - Lindsay Smith, Jar Westwood, s clark, mountjoy, williams
Drysdale - Maher, Nelis, Gatgens, scott, holwell(just)
Newcomb - Bury, O'toole, bruhn, l morrison, drought & A Salts (hard to toss them)
Torquay - Wesley, Skrobalak, Briesch, Raidme, Kofoed
Modda - Hovey, Baars, Leslie, Allen, Carr
Queenscliff - Murphy makes up 4 of them, 'Bobby' dunno his name,
Port - Lynch, hicks, scott allen, davis, dewey

Best ground in league - Portarlington
Most uninspirational ground - Modewarre

good choice but make it more interesting...do a top 15 or 20 players in the gfl so people can express there thoughts because ur top 5 wood be most people's top 5

Very tough Salsa but had a go - missed some players I think but is a good debatable topic

1.T.Brown(leopold)
2.C.Jones(st.marys)
3.W.Knuckey(sth.barwon)
4.J.Cail(st.marys)
5.B.Nicholls - when fit(nth.shore)
6.M.Bucchannan(colac)
7.T.Hay(colac)
8.C.Wells(sth.barwon)
9.C.Bauer(st.josephs)
10.J.Carmody(colac)
11.B.Armstrong(bell park)
12.A.Greaves(st.josephs)
13.S.Chapman(newtown)
14.B.Grgic(bell park)
15.C.Biddiscombe(sth.barwon)

Very tough Salsa but had a go - missed some players I think but is a good debatable topic

1.T.Brown(leopold)
2.C.Jones(st.marys)
3.W.Knuckey(sth.barwon)
4.J.Cail(st.marys)
6.M.Bucchannan(colac)
7.T.Hay(colac)
8.C.Wells(sth.barwon)
9.C.Bauer(st.josephs)
10.J.Carmody(colac)
12.A.Greaves(st.josephs)
13.S.Chapman(newtown)
14.B.Grgic(bell park)

Good list Zoey. Talbot for Grigc though.

1.T.Brown(leopold)
2.C.Jones(st.marys)
3.W.Knuckey(sth.barwon)
4.J.Cail(st.marys)
6.M.Bucchannan(colac)
7.T.Hay(colac)
8.C.Wells(sth.barwon)
9.C.Bauer(st.josephs)
10.J.Carmody(colac)
12.A.Greaves(st.josephs)
13.S.Chapman(newtown)
14.B.Grgic(bell park)

so are drysdale on a winner with nicholls??

ive heard his name before, but didnt know how good he was?

Talking about Bell Park - how is the new coach going?? Any new players to top up a good list??

bell park have enquired about jason fastuca at werribee centrals and the word is he keen to listen as things at centrals arent that flash. he already knocked red west back and looks as though he has had a change in thinking...

Talking about Bell Park - how is the new coach going?? Any new players to top up a good list??

coach has settled in very very well. has the respect of the whole playing group and things are looking up at hamlyn park. not sure they need too many more players just need to get their whole list fit and ready to go. glen talarico has come out of retirement and will play in a forward flank/pocket role thats about all theyve got so far...

How does Jordan Burke go from Bells Park? Im from horsham where he lived when he was young and everybody was talking about how good he was gunna be when he was older? Whats he go like?

Don't know if this is true or not but a mate of mine was at Falls Festival and apparently Michael Bright from Newtown landed awkardly while crowd surfing to the Hilltop Hoods. My mate reckons that he was in agony but saw him later in the "doof" tent moving ok? I've heard that he's having scans this week? Has anyone else heard this?

Jason Fastuca will not leave the centrals, apparently he was keen to head to red west but they decided to recruit other midfielders. Have played against him numerous times and would be very handy recruit if still on the market.

bell park have enquired about jason fastuca at werribee centrals and the word is he keen to listen as things at centrals arent that flash. he already knocked red west back and looks as though he has had a change in thinking...
Cannot see this happening at all. Fastuca has already committed to the assistant coaching role at centrals and he his good mates with cori wallace who is coach, so it would be a real kick in the teeth for both wallace and centrals if fastuca decided to leave at this time of the year. in saying that though, things aren't looking to flash at centrals so it would be a perfect time for fastuca who has just turned 30 to make his move. he still would be very very good player at gfl level.

well to be honest i dont think gdfl will play so he might go to a gfl club...ive had a look and asked sum ppl of all the grounds and they are all in very bad condition...winchelsea are getting water on theres but evry other ground is shoking so i doubt theyll even play at all
werribee centrals ground is in beautiful condition.

Cannot see this happening at all. Fastuca has already committed to the assistant coaching role at centrals and he his good mates with cori wallace who is coach, so it would be a real kick in the teeth for both wallace and centrals if fastuca decided to leave at this time of the year. in saying that though, things aren't looking to flash at centrals so it would be a perfect time for fastuca who has just turned 30 to make his move. he still would be very very good player at gfl level.
i understand where you are coming from kooley, and if you read back on this thread i also said there was no chance of him leaving at this stage of his career to go to a gfl club when red west were talking about getting him. but since then a few issues look to have swayed him into rethinking, one of them being the considerable length of time after gilham resigned that centrals took to appoint a new coach which has lead to a number of players being snapped up by other clubs. going so long without a coach also swayed prepestive recruits to other clubs. this combined with a lack of numbers and quality on the track have left him a little unenthused.

i have heard the other day the season could be in trouble through insurance problems, insurance companies not wanting to deal with the grounds in bad conditions and all the injuries that can happen with bad surfaces

Don't know if this is true or not but a mate of mine was at Falls Festival and apparently Michael Bright from Newtown landed awkardly while crowd surfing to the Hilltop Hoods. My mate reckons that he was in agony but saw him later in the "doof" tent moving ok? I've heard that he's having scans this week? Has anyone else heard this?

i too heard this wildjohn. a mate of mine was working security at the festival and apparently bright sustained the injury when trying to leap from crowd surfing on to the stage to sing "nosebleed section" with the boys from the hoods. the rupture was apparently identical to the one he sustained in a practice match against newcomb last year. fortunately for michael he bumped into an off duty pharmacist who was able to fix him up with some medication for the evening that made all the pain go away. from all reports he woke up feeling very sore and sorry for himself, supertown would know more than me tho...

Anyone have info on the GFL looks like we should get a start on April 21 even if we are all over the place.

Someone in the know could you please fill everyone in on the major comings and goings in our league, have read about some clubs on this thread but not much on others maybe you guys like whispers, supertown and so on could compile a list and people can add some so everyones up to speed wiht things in what looks like being a very good and even season of GFL footy.

Cheers

does anyone care?

gdfl thiiis...

good comment idiot, another GFL or BFL person rating there comp like its the AFL, mate comments like this are not needed many players come from the gdfl and do well in both those comps and other big names from these comps sometime struggle in the gdfl when they stroll in and think they will dominate. The GFL is a great comp no doubt about it, the bfl and gdfl i wouldnt think there would be a massive difference, anyway just post something constructive instead of sh*t like that.