• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Lodden Valley Football League Part 2

Congrats to me old mate Chalky and his lads, starting of twenty ten with a win :thumbsu:

Why would you say that

if you do a little research and read some of the posts, you will understand.

Roota said in his post that he heard griffin would be going to Elmore...a few days later this was confirmed in the paper, radio and tv. Hence, this is why I said spot on. Any other questions?

Any reports on the games from the weekend?

No real surprises for me apart from thinking Inglewood would be more competitive. Anyone go to this game? Was it a case of Inglewood being dissappointing or Newbridge looking the goods?

if you do a little research and read some of the posts, you will understand.

Roota said in his post that he heard griffin would be going to Elmore...a few days later this was confirmed in the paper, radio and tv. Hence, this is why I said spot on. Any other questions?

Any reports on the games from the weekend?

No real surprises for me apart from thinking Inglewood would be more competitive. Anyone go to this game? Was it a case of Inglewood being dissappointing or Newbridge looking the goods?

Bit of both mate, Newbridge were a lot better than I thought they would have been so a lot of credit must be given to them! However in saying that we were still absolutely disgraceful, I would only say that 2 players played well in Dennis Hickey & Timmy Kennedy. A few others played ok but the majority were horrible and they'll be the first to admit it, a bit of soul searching needs to be done this week especially with Miti coming up. I think a few of the boys might have thought we'd just click with the new recruits and were complacent...

See if we can regroup so we dont get absolutely wiped off the face of the earth this week, if we perform as we did on Saturday then Miti would be 100 plus winners. I am very confident that we will bounce back with a bit of pride and put in a competitive performance though.

A few boys to come back in this week too.

Bit of both mate, Newbridge were a lot better than I thought they would have been so a lot of credit must be given to them! However in saying that we were still absolutely disgraceful, I would only say that 2 players played well in Dennis Hickey & Timmy Kennedy. A few others played ok but the majority were horrible and they'll be the first to admit it, a bit of soul searching needs to be done this week especially with Miti coming up. I think a few of the boys might have thought we'd just click with the new recruits and were complacent...

See if we can regroup so we dont get absolutely wiped off the face of the earth this week, if we perform as we did on Saturday then Miti would be 100 plus winners. I am very confident that we will bounce back with a bit of pride and put in a competitive performance though.

A few boys to come back in this week too.

Heard Newbridge have a huge list to choose from... about 50-60 blokes trying to get a game so I think they will be pretty competitive this year. As for Inglewood, I know a few of their better players missed the first game but more also played so I'd be worried Clewy.

Im keen to see how YCW go this weekend. Are they just making up the numbers again... time will tell

Im keen to see how YCW go this weekend. Are they just making up the numbers again... time will tell[/QUOTE]

Pretty sure YCW are going to be alot more competitive this year with the blokes they have back. Time will tell but i reckon it will take 3-4 weeks for them to gel and play good footy but have the nucleus of players to surprise and get up the ladder from last few years.

johnny rock good start to the season for miti but don't you have a short memory it took miti 4 to 5 years to get to where they are now. Billy grant worked his butt off to get you there.;but not to long a go the commitee where going to give him the flick.So iwood who?? it dos'nt happen overnight you need to build a good group of players but this dos'nt mean throwing a buckett load of MONEY at average bendigo 2s players there is a reason they are playing there. ANSWER they are not good enough to play seniors at there club.So why paying them big sums of money changes this?

So who is the favourite to win in all areas of this league?

You would have to say Miti would have to be strong favorites at this very very early stage of the year.

In the two's, Bridgewater will have a lot of depth and talent in their team and should account for most teams.

Not sure about the thirds...

Still very early in the year. You only get a real indication after all teams have played each other once.

johnny rock good start to the season for miti but don't you have a short memory it took miti 4 to 5 years to get to where they are now. Billy grant worked his butt off to get you there.;but not to long a go the commitee where going to give him the flick.So iwood who?? it dos'nt happen overnight you need to build a good group of players but this dos'nt mean throwing a buckett load of MONEY at average bendigo 2s players there is a reason they are playing there. ANSWER they are not good enough to play seniors at there club.So why paying them big sums of money changes this?

So why is it assumed that every time a club recruits well that it must be because they are throwing a bucket load of MONEY?? If players are so called average bendigo 2s players then what club with a good commitee would throw such money at them? Perhaps they just did there home work and appointed a good coach and the rest takes care of itself. Just a thought.

LVFL are really committing to Interleague this year. The seniors will play the Ovens & King league on May 22nd..with Billy Grant as coach...Ovens and King could not field an Under 17 team for the day, so an Under 21 game will take it's place. I'd imagine LVFL will field a fairly strong Under 21 team, there's alot of good young players in the league. The Under 21 coach will be announced early next week. LVFL will still have an Under 17 team to play against Heathcote League later in the year.

so what is everyones tips for this round? As you can see I'm tipping YC to cause a few upsets this week and start their year off strong

Seniors
YCW by 23pts
Bridgy by 18pt
Mitiamo by 60pts
Newbridge by 30pts

Reserves
YCW by 45pts
Marong by 10pts
Mitiamo by 40pts
Newbridge by 30pts

U17
YCW by12pts
Marong by 24pts
Inglewood by 10pts
Newbridge by 20pts

so what is everyones tips for this round? As you can see I'm tipping YC to cause a few upsets this week and start their year off strong

Seniors
YCW by 23pts
Bridgy by 18pt
Mitiamo by 60pts
Newbridge by 30pts

Reserves
YCW by 45pts
Marong by 10pts
Mitiamo by 40pts
Newbridge by 30pts

U17
YCW by12pts
Marong by 24pts
Inglewood by 10pts
Newbridge by 20pts

I'd agree with most of that, except the YCW results, do you know something we don't? Anything to do with them having the worlds tallest wingman in Matty Hammond?

quote=Black ice;17431767]Can anyone tell me about a bloke from Miti by the name of Luke Mitchell, does he go alright?:)[/quote]

Geoes well, bit of a smokey for the league metal this year. Being from the Maryborough Castlemaine District FL[/COLOR] Black ice, looking at poaching him are you? I think he lives down your way somewhere.

News is that Pyramid are up and about for this weekends clash. Youngster Sam Kennedy is in great form, one would imagine he is a chance to get drafted. Great skills for a big lanky bloke, will grow into his tall skinny frame soon. Even though he has a light stature i hear he is quite a street fighter, some of the cohuna boys can second that, they know from first hand experience. Promising signs from a tall extremely lightly built youngster from Pyramid.

New to bigfooty Sam? Good luck on getting drafted mate, how old are you?