Lodden Valley Football League Part 2

You're starting to struggle now.

You bag Filo as the coach when his teams lose a GF but then say coaches are over rated and give the players the credit for winning a GF in Calivils case. So teams that win the GF its the players that caused it and ones that the lose its the coaches fault?

It's players and people like you that make some footy clubs toxic.

I never directly bagged Filo as a coach and most coaches are over rated.
As good as a coach may be he aint gunna turn pig shit into jam so if a team has good enough players the coach will have minimal impact except for on Grand Final day where Filo's record speaks for itself.
A mate of mine bumped into local legend Dennis Grinton recently and he shared the same view.

I think we have done the Filo thing to death boys.

Has anyone seen these new recruits he has landed at Pyramid? Anyone wish to comment on how they have played for their new club? Will they make Pyramid a contender?
yeah watched them the other day, ones bit better than the other but both very good players. might be a few more blokes heading back to the hill ,both seniors and good 2s players that have played there in the last few years,

I never directly bagged Filo as a coach and most coaches are over rated.
As good as a coach may be he aint gunna turn pig shit into jam so if a team has good enough players the coach will have minimal impact except for on Grand Final day where Filo's record speaks for itself.
A mate of mine bumped into local legend Dennis Grinton recently and he shared the same view.

Dennis Grinton local legend, come on.

yeah watched them the other day, ones bit better than the other but both very good players. might be a few more blokes heading back to the hill ,both seniors and good 2s players that have played there in the last few years,

Could be a few more additions to strengthen an improving line up. Contrary to Ablett and his wealth of knowledge :confused:, if you bother to go through the side he would in fact find that the majority are locals, either through having lived or living in the town, links through family and girlfriends and having previously played at the club. What side doesn't have a few recruits?!

Just on FILO, only open check book was at Balranald, last year at Kerang they had a crack and fell over at the last hurdle. Kerang for the past 4 years has predominantly played locals and utilised the abundance of good local kids, perhaps the only down side was that the younger/smaller bodies weren't up to the last day of the season. Credit to the bloke, i lost one once and almost couldn't stand another crack at it, he's got a fair bit of ticker :thumbsu:, lesser men have tried and not got back up!

Big game, Miti and the Dogs, fingers crossed with the weather. Thoughts on the big game?

Could be a few more additions to strengthen an improving line up. Contrary to Ablett and his wealth of knowledge :confused:, if you bother to go through the side he would in fact find that the majority are locals, either through having lived or living in the town, links through family and girlfriends and having previously played at the club. What side doesn't have a few recruits?!

Just on FILO, only open check book was at Balranald, last year at Kerang they had a crack and fell over at the last hurdle. Kerang for the past 4 years has predominantly played locals and utilised the abundance of good local kids, perhaps the only down side was that the younger/smaller bodies weren't up to the last day of the season. Credit to the bloke, i lost one once and almost couldn't stand another crack at it, he's got a fair bit of ticker :thumbsu:, lesser men have tried and not got back up!

Your kidding aren't you, Kerang have spent $150K for past 5-6 years bar last year, if that aint an open cheque book then i dont know what is. The only reason Filo started playing locals is because he couldnt lure any more recruits with the incentive to play in a runners up!

I hope P/Hill win the flag this year because like i posted earlier there's alot of hard working people around the club that deserve to be apart of 1.

Hill must have no chance according to Ablett, got Filo! Perhaps he deserves it to! No open cheque book at kerang, club not that lucky, we werent balranald, but again a lot of very good people working hard for the big prize. You cant seriously believe that kerang had that much money, and contrary to popular reports still financial, more imports there this year thatn the last 4! But still predominantly locals. You have ya point of view, fair enough, your perogative. Where ever the bloke goes people want him be cause he brings success, fact! Not always governed by a premiership, but shit they are nice to have. cheers

Round 9:
My Tips
Seniors:
Pyramid Hill vs Mitiamo: Im tipping the hill at home to win this one. Easily game of the round and with there 2 new recruits and the big ground i think the hill will get up. Also if fev plays well which i think will will get them over the line: 23 points
YCW vs Bridgewater: Bridgewater coming off a bye should be looking for a big win and some momentum taking on the hill next week. 59 points.
Inglewood vs Calivil United: Calivil should continue there good form and smash inglewood followed up by another big win next week against serp. 89 points.
Marong vs Newbridge: Newbridge should finally win a game against Marong and break that 4 game win streak marong has over them. Good to see Marong playing some of their 17s i think other clubs like serp and ycw should do the same. 71 points.

2's
Pyramid Hill vs Mitiamo: 43 points
YCW vs Bridgewater: 13 points
Inglewood vs Calivil United: 37 points.
Marong vs Newbridge: 21 points

3rds
Pyramid Hill vs Mitiamo: 39 points
YCW vs Bridgewater: 31 points
Inglewood vs Calivil United: 79 points
Marong vs Newbridge: 101 points

The word is that the locals at newbridge are not happy because all the new kangaroo flat boys are getting a game in front of them.Well what part of you are not good enough do you not understand:mad:

Dennis Grinton local legend, come on.

Grinton is a premiership player at Mt.Pleasant & Stanhope & had a run at Hunlty & Inglewood im pretty sure.
Probably one of the toughest onballers going a round in his day.
I think he's got a connection with Nth Bendigo the last couple of years as an assistant but not 100% sure.

Well, the Pyramid boys must have turned it on yesterday. Not good signs for Mitiamo. Now there are three contenders this year and it shapes to be a very interesting second half of the year.

Hats of the YCW yesterday, Bridgy found it difficult to shake them all day and when they finally got hold of YC in the last quarter to get out to a lead of 45 odd points, YC came back at them again.

YCWs strength in my opinion was their backline. Seem to get numbers back and really suffocate the opposition's attack. They showed this against Miti last week as well.

A massive game looms next weekend for Bridgy and Pyramid Hill. You would think if Bridgy can win this game, they will almost stitch up top spot because they will go two games clear.

Good signs also for Inglewood almost knocking off Calivil. Based on current form, I reckon Calivil will just scrape into the finals (i'm sure most clubs would prefer them in 6th place though!).

only seen the final scores n. & clew so dont know any details

but gomez abbott boys must have taken it right up to calivil demons

other explanatn. cood be that calivil have slipped a bit in '10

only seen the final scores n. & clew so dont know any details

but gomez abbott boys must have taken it right up to calivil demons

other explanatn. cood be that calivil have slipped a bit in '10

They'd probably think they didn't play well but our boys showed that we're not as bad as some people may think, it has taken awhile to click but it seems as though it is happening now! Will be interesting to see how we go against Newbridge though!

Marong have a new young bloke down in James Weaving. Having last played in the VAFA he is a relatively soft but highly skilled player off half back. Very dominant player when he's up and about though tends to wilt when put under physical pressure, look for a rapid rise up the grades into the ones in a few weeks time.

His off field performances are equalling as strong, with great form at the bar and a stunning sister.

Well, the Pyramid boys must have turned it on yesterday. Not good signs for Mitiamo. Now there are three contenders this year and it shapes to be a very interesting second half of the year.

Hats of the YCW yesterday, Bridgy found it difficult to shake them all day and when they finally got hold of YC in the last quarter to get out to a lead of 45 odd points, YC came back at them again.

YCWs strength in my opinion was their backline. Seem to get numbers back and really suffocate the opposition's attack. They showed this against Miti last week as well.

A massive game looms next weekend for Bridgy and Pyramid Hill. You would think if Bridgy can win this game, they will almost stitch up top spot because they will go two games clear.

Good signs also for Inglewood almost knocking off Calivil. Based on current form, I reckon Calivil will just scrape into the finals (i'm sure most clubs would prefer them in 6th place though!).

Hey B-Boy, what are the bad signs for Miti, I haven't heard any reports but thought you may have been there or heard about some issues!!
Perhaps having 10 in the interleague has backfired on Granty, either they are puffed or a few of them over rate themselves!!

Hey B-Boy, what are the bad signs for Miti, I haven't heard any reports but thought you may have been there or heard about some issues!!
Perhaps having 10 in the interleague has backfired on Granty, either they are puffed or a few of them over rate themselves!!

Sorry mate, wasn't at the game so I can't comment on where the game was won or lost. You wouldn't think the inter league would have any impact and I'd be very surprised if they were cocky since they lost only a couple of weeks prior.

Marong have a new young bloke down in James Weaving. Having last played in the VAFA he is a relatively soft but highly skilled player off half back. Very dominant player when he's up and about though tends to wilt when put under physical pressure, look for a rapid rise up the grades into the ones in a few weeks time.

His off field performances are equalling as strong, with great form at the bar and a stunning sister.

Look for Weaving to consolidate a spot in the seniors very shortly, extremely damaging off the back flank, however as von_wafer mentioned does not like it physical. The young lad loves a beer or 3 and is popular amongst the ladies. The marong netballers may need to be on the lookout.

Pyramid knock off Miti pretty easliy and no comments? How about this week, Bridgy and Pyramid at the "Hill". Are Miti and Bridgy a bit sus on bigger grounds, they dont exactly have a big paddock at home to run around on, thoughts??

Plenty of the boys from Bridgy came from South.... home ground = QEO... enough said

Grinton is a premiership player at Mt.Pleasant & Stanhope & had a run at Hunlty & Inglewood im pretty sure.
Probably one of the toughest onballers going a round in his day.
I think he's got a connection with Nth Bendigo the last couple of years as an assistant but not 100% sure.

i know your not a big fan of filo, but every club his been at is in major league,for grinton all leagues above all minor, and yes he did play at sandhurst, but filo is miles ahead in coaching ability, and as a player in there day, filo was awsome for castlemaine,ask anyone who watched back then. any way all said and done time to move on.

Not trying to compare apples and oranges but Grinton did win a B&F at Northern United when he was young (19-21?). I believe he also started his coaching career around the same age. Again not saying he's got more cred than Filo but still has an impressive record nevertheless.

My Tips
Seniors
Inglewood vs Newbridge: 97 points
Marong vs Mitiamo: 133 points
Calivil United vs BL Serpentine: 153 points
Pyramid Hill vs Bridgewater: 27 points

Reserves:
Inglewood vs Newbridge: 89 points
Marong vs Mitiamo: 13 points
Calivil United vs BL Serpentine: 122 points
Pyramid Hill vs Bridgewater: 91 points

U/17s
Inglewood vs Newbridge: 101 points
Marong vs Mitiamo: 123 points
Calivil United vs BL Serpentine: 5 points
Pyramid Hill vs Bridgewater: 119 points

My tips

Inglewood vs Newbridge: 25 points
Marong vs Mitiamo: 70 points
Calivil United vs BL Serpentine: 111 points
Pyramid Hill vs Bridgewater: 18 points

Not trying to compare apples and oranges but Grinton did win a B&F at Northern United when he was young (19-21?). I believe he also started his coaching career around the same age. Again not saying he's got more cred than Filo but still has an impressive record nevertheless.

Grints has done pretty well for a bloke thats hardly hit a target through out his career, but he nevers gives up i'll give him that.
There's no comparison between Filo and Grinton but there is one thing Filo and Grinton have in common, during a game they both sweet like a wild beast in a sauna!