Lodden Valley Football League

At the start of the season there was a lot of hype around Newbridge. Looking at their list at the start of the season I noticed they had picked up some quality recruits. I know they don't have the depth that they require but word is they are trying to stick together as a long term project. I know that they got two things right at the start of the year by reappointing Brent Dyer as coach and getting rid of Paul Flanagan as captain. In fact I think Paul has only played 15 games after knocking out some of his own players in the 2000 premiership.

Frankenreiter said:
At the start of the season there was a lot of hype around Newbridge. Looking at their list at the start of the season I noticed they had picked up some quality recruits. I know they don't have the depth that they require but word is they are trying to stick together as a long term project. I know that they got two things right at the start of the year by reappointing Brent Dyer as coach and getting rid of Paul Flanagan as captain. In fact I think Paul has only played 15 games after knocking out some of his own players in the 2000 premiership.

Flanners broke his leg last season or late 2004 and has struggled a bit to get back to his old form.
May not be captain any more but he is a very good leader and was an integral part of that premiership team. And if the club didnt stuff and appoint Tully as coach they would have won a couple more flags.

Got some very good recruits but they do lack a lot of depth and this is shown with a couple of players named this week. One in particular who was a reserves player last year at Huntly and was no good there. The difference between Loddon Valley and Heathcote leagues is widening very quickly.

The premiership race is very wide open and I know a player well from Pyramid and to OTM I would not consider them the favourite at this stage things are not quite right at the club. Anyone could win which is a good sign in one way but in another it demonstrates the lack of quality in this league.

Frankenreiter said:
Have seen the best in the Loddon Valley 2's over the last six weeks. I have noticed that Damian Hecker and Paul Flanagan have both played twos games. Just wondering if anyone knows why these two senior premiership players have been playing seconds footy?

Heck has actually retired but plays a bit to help out his mate who is the coach.

Well it looks set to be a the tightest finals series in the L.V for a while.
Does any1 know where the finals are being held?

Newbridge and Serp should be a good one to start with in the elimination final.

What about medal tips?
McCormick and Ashman would have to poll a few for there big goals hauls.
Aaron Demeo often polls well
Robbie Bennett has been a hit in his first season with the Eagles.

Frankenreiter said:

Geez Mate, You have been a bit harsh on poor old Flanners. I have played a lot of footy against him over the years in the Loddon Valley. He was a great leader for Newbridge and by the sounds of things his body has given up on him. I'll admit he wasn't the quickest player I've ever played on but he all ways gave 100%. Heard on good authority he played out the 2000 premiership with a broken nose and a broken rib.

Who are you anyway "Frankenreiter". You seem to slag a few blokes where ever you go. I have seen your name elsewhere slagging blokes on other blogs. What are your claims to fame?

I think that newbridge are a really good chance to take out the flag with a solid performance on the weekend to take out an easy victory against YCW Very Talented and capable side on paper

What does every one else think about this :thumbsu: :) :cool: :D ;) :rolleyes:

The Mighty Maroons said:
I think that newbridge are a really good chance to take out the flag with a solid performance on the weekend to take out an easy victory against YCW Very Talented and capable side on paper

Yer looks like it should be a cracking finals series out there.
I was wondering whether you knew the finals venues for this weekends game Maroons man and also when the league medal count on for the LV.

Heard Luke Knight was in town on the weekend and could have been negotiating to be a playing Assistant Coach at the Superoos next season.
Imagine if they had him this year I'm tipping they wouldn't be focussed on footy trips just yet!!
I reckon if they get him they will re-open the Miti pub.

On The Money said:
I was wondering whether you knew the finals venues for this weekends game Maroons man and also when the league medal count on for the LV.

Heard Luke Knight was in town on the weekend and could have been negotiating to be a playing Assistant Coach at the Superoos next season.
Imagine if they had him this year I'm tipping they wouldn't be focussed on footy trips just yet!!

OTM,
Could you tell me (or anyone) if Buster Alford is still coaching. This may sound like a silly question for some, but I have been away for awhile and was wondering where he was.

Mappo said:
OTM,
Could you tell me (or anyone) if Buster Alford is still coaching. This may sound like a silly question for some, but I have been away for awhile and was wondering where he was.

Buster is coaching out at Pyrimid Hill, yes stupid question.

Warren said:
Buster is coaching out at Pyrimid Hill, yes stupid question.

Warren,
The last time I played under Buster was 11 years ago, in the mean time I have lived in Wagga, Townsville and now Seymour, so to not know where he is at the moment is fair enough I would guess. But thank you for the Info.
Is there anyone on this thread from Pyrimid Hill that would be able to tell me his intentions for next year.

just wondering about a bloke named daniel smith from calivil... how does he go? i've heard big wraps on him and he looks like a solid guy. is he worth what we're willing to pay him?

On The Money said:

Yes i do know where the finals are for this Weekend

The Qualifiying Final is at Pyramid Hill
Where Newbridge Play Calival United

The Elimination Final is at Calival
Where YCW play BL/Serpentine

Not to sure about the league vote count will get back to you on that one

ok Catch ya later ' On the Money'

The Mighty Maroons said:

By moving into third they have certainly got a very good chance to go well into the finals with a double chance. They are inform and going well so anyhting could happen. The league is very open.

JGraf said:
By moving into third they have certainly got a very good chance to go well into the finals with a double chance. They are inform and going well so anyhting could happen. The league is very open.

Yes it was a very handy thing to happen for newbridge to slide into third spot and the final series is that close that it is anyones game. Who ever wants it has a very good chance to have it .

The Mighty Maroons said:
Yes it was a very handy thing to happen for newbridge to slide into third spot and the final series is that close that it is anyones game. Who ever wants it has a very good chance to have it .

Would love to see the 'Bridge win it but until any team beats Calivil when it counts in the finals they will remain the favourite to win.

JGraf said:
Would love to see the 'Bridge win it but until any team beats Calivil when it counts in the finals they will remain the favourite to win.

Anyone who beats Calivil in the finals won't be the only be favourites they'll most likely be the Premiers.

Y.C.W and Serp should be a cracker as both of those clubs had there sights set higher than elimination final finish.

On The Money said:
Anyone who beats Calivil in the finals won't be the only be the favourites they'll most likely be the Premiers.

Y.C.W and Serp should be a cracker as both of those clubs had there sights set higher than elimination final finish.

how good are the under 14's in the LVFL they couldn't front a team to play the GRFL this year and the GRFL thrashed them last yr who were the standouts for the GRFL last year?:thumbsu:

Straunchie59 said:
how good are the under 14's in the LVFL they couldn't front a team to play the GRFL this year and the GRFL thrashed them last yr who were the standouts for the GRFL last year?:thumbsu:

Don't think the Lodden Valley have an Under 14's comp pal so thats proberly why. they had teams in the Under 17 and Under 15 carnivals at Marong so they could be forgiven for giving hill billy Golden Rivers a miss I think. Well done on that win the other year though....

Here's hoping the Newbridge boys can get over the line and go all the way. They'll need to be on their toes as don't want to see a repeat of the last time they played Calivil when their key forward was taken out on the first bounce. Pyramid's ground will suite Calivil's game a lot better as they are use to a big ground. Heard whispers from Riverside that the boys are really coming together (as they should be) and have got a great game plan up their sleeve's. Brent Dyer has got the boys thinking again like he did back in 2000!

u must be a v. happy camper now maniac
the mighty maroons creamed calivil after a terrible 1st half but it seems they dominated the 2nd half was it true calivil kicked only 1 goal after 1/2 time :confused:
calivil boys will now have to regroup to play the winner of tomorrows knockout elimination

Newbridge had a goood win today and will really be fired up about next week so its not a bad idea to go and watch them play an experienced Pyramid hill @ YCW but remember last time newbridge ran out easy victors over them so it should be a great game. :rolleyes: :D ;) :p

Yes fifth quarter. Extremely happy for the boys! They played a great team game. Thought Calivil had them at 1/2 time but after some inspirational words from Brent Dyer the boys came out firing! Calivil didn't know what hit them and they just gave up in the end, so did their supporters as a few of them left before the end of the game. Also, think Busta is a bit worried about this Saturday's game as he snuck into the rooms at 1/2 time to listen in to the game plan! The boys really worked as a team and the likes of Scottie Baxter who is unstoppable!! The man can run! Nothing went through the strong hands of Chris Lakey (he really is 1 of the best backman in the league) and it was great to see young Justin McEwan have a great game adding many valuable goals to the board. Tony Bellenger was tough all day going in for the hard ball at every chance. What a great team effort.
There's 2 great games on this weekend as Newbridge might go all the way and Serp has a good chance if Calivil don't regroup. Pity about YCW, so much for McCormick kicking more than 100 goals, didn't help in the end!