Lukey McGuane! [2012 Thread]

agree! it is just that when luke does turn it over it looks bloody terrible- and he has a mate in jakcson. for mine I would have lukey but we cant afford to have jackson in there......
Would not waste time with McGuane, however, you are correct Jackson is worse! I have never seen a player turn over so much football as this guy. Unbelievable that we are persisting with him. Richmond have advanced fantastically in the last 3 years. I used to think half our list were like these blokes. Now Jacko, McGuane and White are the last of these types and each of them will be lucky to survive beyond 2013. PS We may have added another in A.Edwards who just doe not contribute enough IMO.

To be fair to AEdwards its early days yet...new club...players...coaches...structures...it may take a little time to adjust...but he does need to get a wriggle on..
Our forward delivery yesterday was bad...so was the kicking for goal...makes McGuane's effort even more commendable...
Whitey is a club stalwart...maybe his last year but that is the club's call...
And as for Jacko....its still preseason...may need to be constantly hammered in these NAB games to acquire some sort of form...like a lump of steel at a blacksmiths...

Good game by Lukey. All the whingeing on here about goalkicking and yet LM just bangs em straight over the goal umpires hat! Strong overhead, agile, puts great pressure on...very good yesterday.
Got into trouble a couple of times, and he always seems to make it look worse. Just can't escape. Makes mistakes, but JR made three times as many yesterday.
But has the third tall spot to lose from here. There's no one else.

To play finals this year we need the forward line to consistently be the following

Petterd Vickery Mcguane

A. Edwards Reiwoldt S. Edwards

That's just how I see it at the moment, Mcguane is part of it!!!

To play finals this year we need the forward line to consistently be the following

Petterd Vickery Mcguane

problem is that fella aint doing anything onfield. nothing vs the all stars, nothing first round of nab dropped or time managed for the second nab. fact is atm the spot is luke's going on form and set up....

......interesting set up. i cant see us playing reiwoldt, goose, A.edwards and vickery in the same line up its too tall. i also don't think the defensive pressure would be that great. its got too much marking power which will make us one dimensional i think sure our i50's might work better but when we dont mark it the ball wont stay in our 50 as long (something we were pretty good at last year). pettered has looked good down back too so he'll only play stints up forward to mix it up but is earmarked for hbf/ defensive forward.

Petterd Vickery Mcguane

Well NBT you've got a Jake King, Robbie Nahas, Chris Knights, Dusty/Lids problem right there.

Petterds playing back flank and Azza aint playing at all, and if he does it won't be in a forward line that contains McG, Vick and JR.

Did I have to mention obvious rotations?

Lets just say that's the best set up in my mind from the bounce!

Did I have to mention obvious rotations?

Lets just say that's the best set up in my mind from the bounce!

It's not about rotations. Those four can't play, let alone start, in the same forward line.
What's most likely to happen is Dusty starts deep, Nahas high half forward with McG at CHF, and Edwards near JR and TV. Petterd can't start forward, and why would he when he's played half back all preseason. Leaves no room for A Edwards, on structure (and form).

Petterd Vickery Mcguane

I'd go;

S.Edwards - Vickery - Nahas

Martin/Cotch/Deledio - Riewoldt - McGuane

King starting on the bench.
Petterd can be a swing man but will play more time across half back.
And swap McGuane with Stephenson/Maric if we opt for two genuine ruckman.
AEdwards doesn't get a spot in my side.

It's called a bench. Those are clearly Richmond's best six forwards. And I think someone like Knights would expose the third tall more than McGuane, who is a liability.

You might be right but there's nothing clear to me on Knights at the minute. Couldn't get a game last year and shown nothing so far in the pre season. McGuane has been giving a very strong contest, marking well and kicking straight. **** ups are also his stock in trade but so far, on what we've seen, he's well ahead.

Played one of his better games.

Gee he's hanging on for grim death, not going to give up his career easily. Kudos.

Who was his opponent BTW?

Liked th way vickery played... If he can hit his strides he might be able to draw the best defender each week. Mcguane was alright, as a third tall he could have a very effective year, his def pressure and competivness in the air are underrated IMO

Dad and I went to the superstore today to renew our memberships and said g'day to Lukey and Ricky Pettard who were leaving the gym. Good to see the boys in there working on their day off while its stinking hot outside. :footy::thumbsu:

I'd go;

S.Edwards - Vickery - Nahas

Martin/Cotch/Deledio - Riewoldt - McGuane

King starting on the bench.
Petterd can be a swing man but will play more time across half back.
And swap McGuane with Stephenson/Maric if we opt for two genuine ruckman.
AEdwards doesn't get a spot in my side.

With the new interchange rule you cannot play 2 ruckman IMO and be competitive!!

Griffiths should be a selection certainty