Macca's Remarkable Year 2012

Why this excites me is because we have never had it in my memory. Every time we have made an assault on the flag from 1985, 1992, 1997-1999, 2008-2010 we have always had serious structural deficiencies. Remember the lack of height we had under Eade. Well, there were similar problems during the Wallace era.

BMac's contribution means that with or without him, if this side can launch a serious assault it won't have those glaring deficiencies and it should be able to cover the inevitable injuries which will occur during every season.
As i said last season, i'm hoping our forward line starts to become a WCE forward line (talls)

If that is the long-term plan then perhaps that's why Macca isn't too concerned about the entry into the 50 - if we tower over the defenders then chances are we'll be able to mark the ball or at least take it to ground no matter where the ball is placed. With lead-up forwards you need to be precise and read the play exceptionally well.

another glowing endorsement for Mccartney, surprised he was the only assistant coach mentioned when Geelong had the likes of Sanderson and Hinkley.
They have all made an impact on me as a player. I would like to give particular thanks to Chris Scott, Mark Thompson and Brendan McCartney for what they have done for me and the club during their time here. They were the most influential coaches in my career and I will always be grateful for that.
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/geelongnews/newsarticle/tabid/3933/newsid/147585/default.aspx

If that is the long-term plan then perhaps that's why Macca isn't too concerned about the entry into the 50 - if we tower over the defenders then chances are we'll be able to mark the ball or at least take it to ground no matter where the ball is placed. With lead-up forwards you need to be precise and read the play exceptionally well.
I would imagine he's very concerned with delivery inside 50 and will make every effort to address that in this year's draft and trading and perhaps next year's midfield and ruck structure.

Oh I don't deny that, I just meant why he doesn't seem to be right now. We didn't make much improvement in that department this year so you have to assume that it wasn't the focus.

Maybe, but I don't think too many thought it would be quite as horrendous as it turned out to be since we were somewhat competitive early in the year.
That being said Macca would have been a little hamstrung from above with regards to final ladder position and draft positioning considering the compo picks this year. Just my opinion of course:)
(attempted quote fix)

But this is what people always say every year... kids can't run out seasons. At any club.
They tire, they fall away, and if they're sent out there again and again they'll often end up not giving much of a yelp = floggings.

Dunno if there's a heap to say about the coach, after a year like this.

Ticked just about all the boxes, but impossible to see what the puddin' will look like at this stage let alone what it'll taste like.
With the amount of kids they're putting out there every week, what they're aiming for & what they can realistically achieve are just poles apart.
Probably takes a year for any list to learn a new game plan. Probably takes two years for most kids to get up to speed.
Add both = blegh form.

And I think at times a lot of decisions were made with a longer-term picture in view. Nothing wrong with that really, either.

Scartleett add to the list

another player who reckon BM is a great coach

Did he coach you in 1 AFL game Matthew

Answer no

Here is my logo for next year

If I hear one more Geelong player say Brendan Mcartney is a great coach I will spew up

Answer no

If I hear one more Geelong player say Brendan Mcartney is a great coach I will spew up
Uh, he coached him for years. That's a lot more than 1 game.

Answer no

brokenrecord.jpg

No wrong
He was a assistant coach not there coach
Thats a big difference
He was the defensive coach at Geelong for years. That means he was directly coaching Scarlett. Why can't you accept the fact people think he's a good coach?

. Why can't you accept the fact people think he's a good coach

Because he has never coached a AFL club on his own before

Let the Bulldogs judge in a few years not listen to the ex Geelong playing group

Also it is a broken record because we must deal with the facts and truths not just what comes out of peoples mouths

Here is my logo for 2013

If I see another person cut and paste an image into a post when something like that was really cool im 1997 I will spew up :)

who did you want us to take instead of McCartney that was available at the time then?

Its not about that guys it just that I am sick and tired of hearing how good a coach he was when he wasnt a head coach

Do I think he will teach our kids the right things about playing football YES Will he teach them about what it takes to play hard football YES But he sat behind Mark Thompson who I think will go down as one of the greatest coaches and a great club with lots of resources and a great team of coaches same with Essendon Thats not like us a cash strapped club and assistant coaches in the like of Shannon Grant

. Why can't you accept the fact people think he's a good coach

Because he has never coached a AFL club on his own before

Let the Bulldogs judge in a few years not listen to the ex Geelong playing group

Also it is a broken record because we must deal with the facts and truths not just what comes out of peoples mouths

Here is my logo for 2013

If I see another person cut and paste an image into a post when something like that was really cool im 1997 I will spew up :)

If you made a worthwhile contribution I would be cut by your remarks Fred - but you're someone who can't stand it when others won't bow to your negative, irrational diatribe. I know every club has 'supporters' like you - I just wish you weren't ours.

Yep and people like you clap our side off when we lose and sit on the fence until something happens

I have been on this board and have a right to have a view and if you are cut about the 1997 comment at least you could have inserted a Abba or Barry Manilow record that would have been cool :)

It's all good to argue guys, but make sure to leave personal abuse out.

I'm sick of people that come on this forum and bag pretty much everyone who holds any position in the club. They hide behind an anonymous internet persona but get precious when someone has a crack at them. Personal abuse is what Fred heaps on club officials who can't come on here to defend themselves - so bugger it, I'll defend them. Fred has named and bagged almost everyone in the club that I respect and I'm not going to sit back and say nothing in response. If that's not ok then I'll piss off and won't come back.

You can challenge him on that, of course, and defend them all you like. I agree with you. I'm not the kind of supporter to heap crap on everyone at the club, but there are people like that. The optimists and the pessimists will often clash, but it is a forum for everyone, so it's all part of it.
My point is just leave out words like flog, etc. They're not needed.

You can challenge him on that, of course, and defend them all you like. I agree with you. I'm not the kind of supporter to heap crap on everyone at the club, but there are people like that. The optimists and the pessimists will often clash, but it is a forum for everyone, so it's all part of it.
My point is just leave out words like flog, etc. They're not needed.

OK. Point taken. Can I say he's a ? :p

Macca's Remarkable Year 2012