Magnificent footy karma - Schneider

Agreed, it's one of the interpretations that really frustrates me atm.

When a good player receives a handpass, and he sees that the tackler is close enough, he will always attempt to break the tackle before disposing of the ball, and is almost never pinged.

I don't know if umpires are taught to count to 1 or 2 or whatever, but if you choose to duck or stick out an arm or whatever else, and then drop the ball, you should be penalised, no matter how quickly the whole sequence happened.

Another strange interpretation, when the player supposedly has no prior;
- If you "attempt" a handball and the ball drops straight down, it's play on.
- If you "attempt" a handball and the ball actually flies to a team-mate, it's a throw.

Now, the strange thing is, it's natural to move the guiding hand towards the target when handballing, so surely the throw is more likely to be a genuine attempt than the drop.

I agree mdc. This has always a mystery to me. If you attempt and you bloke gets it on the full the call it a throw when it may have been just knocked lose. At least they are consistent on it though.

It just seems they don't know the rules half the time.

More like they don't know the 'interpretation' flavour of the month. Most of the fundamental rules haven't changed.

The one that staggers me is a player handing the ball to a team-mate. You know the one, the player gets tackled and while grappling over the ball a team-mate comes in and takes the ball out of his hands. Ablett did a classic example of this on Friday night.

As far as I'm concerned it's the easiest rule in the book for an umpire to call but they rarely do. Same as when a player tackles the bloke doing the tackling. IMO it's pretty simple to figure you're tackling a player that doesn't have the ball.

Personally I find it hard to believe they can be that incompetent. I believe they are being instructed to ignore some rules and over-umpire on others. The result IMO creates the environment where umpires can subjectively apply rules and provides the perfect opportunity for them to participate in what I reckon they particpate in.

How else could you justify what the umpire said to Richo a year or two back when he was shooting for goal? Yet another espisode I can't believe was passed off as 'banter' between an umpire and a player.

Well if you know it all why post... waaa waaa waaa but he dropped it cry cry cry

Heh, nice one.

Another strange interpretation, when the player supposedly has no prior;
- If you "attempt" a handball and the ball drops straight down, it's play on.

Not if you were playing for Geelong on Friday night. Seems it's a better idea to just drop it cold than attempt a handball with an arm pinged. Umps must be on the take.

Ask them.

Think you'll find too that I have been critical of the officials in most of those wins - including some where we were given an armchair ride.

What annoys me more than the officials from the Australian Farcical League is supporters who defend this tripe for no other reason than club bias. I'm sure had North lost, the very people defending this incompetence would be the first here whinging about it.

The AFL have turned the competition into football's version of the WWF.

The umpiring is always crap mate. Every year.

More like they don't know the 'interpretation' flavour of the month. Most of the fundamental rules haven't changed.

The one that staggers me is a player handing the ball to a team-mate. You know the one, the player gets tackled and while grappling over the ball a team-mate comes in and takes the ball out of his hands. Ablett did a classic example of this on Friday night.

As far as I'm concerned it's the easiest rule in the book for an umpire to call but they rarely do. Same as when a player tackles the bloke doing the tackling. IMO it's pretty simple to figure you're tackling a player that doesn't have the ball.

Certainly those situations are both poorly adjudicated. I also hate the fact that they come out and say they are going to ping defenders for unnecessary contact off the play, ie the niggle. Yet forwards continue to get away with setting up screens for team mates 60, 70 even 100 metres off the ball. A screen is a shepherd mostly resulting in contact and it is illegal but is never punished. If a defender is not allowed to niggle, then a forward should not even be allowed to push off an opponent before commencing a lead. It has to work both ways.

Great umpiring? You obviously didn't watch the same game as me.

Both sides supporters have said it was one of the worst displays of umpiring they have seen.

Sorry for your comprehension problems ...i'll type slower so as you can keep up ..this thread is about one particular free kick that was paid against Schneider, that is what i commented on ...but yes you are right the umpiring all night was pretty ordinary ..but then again it's always ordinary ...the mark not paid to Petrie in the forwad line was an atrocious decision .

Players clapping sarcastically at umpires deserve to be penalised IMO. Unfortunate that the rest of the team has to suffer along with them but hey, it is a team sport now isn't it?

And whilst he may very well of been on the receiving end of a dodgy decision (Sucked in for being a smart ass twat), I'd suggest that StKilda kicking 8 goals 11 as opposed to 10 goals 4 had more of an influence on the result than Schneider and/or the umpires.

And we have a winner folks :thumbsu: Spot on. 59 F50 entries for 8 goals is abysmal, no matter the opposition. We dominated the game from 1/4 time yet couldn't kick a winning score. Entirely our fault for the loss.

And while the Schneider holding-the-ball decision was a crock (both high and in the back IMO) the clapping of the umpires previously was self-indulgent clap-trap that should have had Ross Lyon kick his arse so hard he was wearing it for a collar.

Umpires make many mistakes in every game; it's an extremely difficult game to control. Players make more. That's footy.

Interesting to see Schneider carry on like that, but I don't think you'll see to much more of it from him.

Will hopefully be a bit smarter than Barry Hall, who carried on like a tool every week towards umps and hence got nothing from them... and Hall is STILL wondering why he got such a hard time :cool:

Just on conspiracy theories, can someone explain why Montagna wasn't cited for the 'trip'?

The most obvious trip I've seen in a long time and he's let off!

Quite staggering if looked at from the perspective of consistency.

Anyone care to explain that one to me? :confused:

This thread really, really concerns me.

Are footy fans seriously applauding the fact that an umpire cheated during a game to protect his own ego?

Are footy fans so eaily led and brainwashed by the AFL that we now commend this sort of thing from our officials?

Not good.

PS - Schneider's efforts were shiithouse, don't get me wrong. But the day an umpire is allowed to cheat because he feels offended is the day that footy died.......again.

This thread really, really concerns me.

Are footy fans seriously applauding the fact that an umpire cheated during a game to protect his own ego?

Are footy fans so eaily led and brainwashed by the AFL that we now commend this sort of thing from our officials?

Not good.

PS - Schneider's efforts were shiithouse, don't get me wrong. But the day an umpire is allowed to cheat because he feels offended is the day that footy died.......again.

When are you going to change your supported team back to St Kilda? We all know it, unlisted is weak.

I watched the last ten minutes of the game again and there quite a few let go from both sides. Petrie could easily have had an earlier pack mark and a free for holding in front, neither of which were paid, just as the most obvious ones that would have helped North, but there quite a few others that could have been paid as highs or holds around the packs, as well as the Montagna trip on Swallow.

I think the umpires were letting the game flow all over the ground, for both teams, like we always say we want them to - and we're only talking about this one because it was Schneider, and because he let himself down again with dissent to give away the 50. I seriously doubt they had time to register who the player was involved before blowing the whistle/not blowing it for a high tackle/ducked head.

Just on conspiracy theories, can someone explain why Montagna wasn't cited for the 'trip'?

The most obvious trip I've seen in a long time and he's let off!

Quite staggering if looked at from the perspective of consistency.

Anyone care to explain that one to me? :confused:
Agreed!! Most obvious trip all year and no action.

I think it would have been idiotic if action was taken, it's just there is no consistency from the tribunal.

Magnificent footy karma - Schneider