Magpies 30 grounds

Jan 5, 2004
collingwood vfl
Article on news.com website today says our game in Tassie will be the 31st ground Collingwood have played at, but doesn't name them.
Like to see if we can name them and anyone been to any of the stranger ones.
Ones I've seen the pies at:
1 Victoria park 2 MCG 3 Etihad 4 Kardinia park 5 VFL park 6 Princes park 7 Windy hill 8 Moorabbin 9 Western oval 10 Arden street 11 Junction oval 12 Cararra/Metricon 13 Gabba
Others:
14 SCG 15 Olympic stadium 16 Canberra 17 Football park 18 Adelaide oval 19 Subiaco 20 Perth stadium 21 WACA 22 Punt road 23 Glenferrie oval 24 Brunswick street 25 Corio oval
Then it gets hard.
North played a season at Coburg or something?
East Melbourne cricket ground?

Article on news.com website today says our game in Tassie will be the 31st ground Collingwood have played at, but doesn't name them.
1 Victoria park 2 MCG 3 Etihad 4 Kardinia park 5 VFL park 6 Princes park 7 Windy hill 8 Moorabbin 9 Western oval 10 Arden street 11 Junction oval 12 Cararra/Metricon 13 Gabba
Others:
14 SCG 15 Olympic stadium 16 Canberra 17 Football park 18 Adelaide oval 19 Subiaco 20 Perth stadium 21 WACA 22 Punt road 23 Glenferrie oval 24 Brunswick street 25 Corio oval
Then it gets hard.

I watched them play an exhibition at the Oval, London in 2003...

foreign soil count?

Others:
Then it gets hard.
Was there an East Melb or railyards back at the turn of last century? University's home ground perhaps?

Others:
Then it gets hard.

Lakeside Oval - old South Melb footy ground?

Others:
Then it gets hard.

Sydney Showgrounds

Toorak Park

East Melbourne

Lakeside Oval

Coburg Oval

Others:
Then it gets hard.
Maybe contact the author and ask for clarification?

Was there an East Melb or railyards back at the turn of last century? University's home ground perhaps?

There was a cricket/footy ground in East Melbourne (long gone) and it hosted footy games well into the 20th century. Pies probably played there, against tenant clubs including Essendon and North Melbourne (for a time).

Full list of stadiums we've played for premiership points.
  1. Victoria Park (1897-1999) = 863
  2. MCG (1897-Present) = 651
  3. Waverley Park (1970-1999) = 126
  4. Princes Park (1897-2000) = 104
  5. Marvel Stadium (2000-Present) = 91
  6. Junction Oval (1897-1983) = 72
  7. Lakeside Oval (1897-1980) = 71
  8. Brunswick St Oval (1897-1966) = 68
  9. Windy Hill (1922-1988) = 58
  10. Punt Road Oval (1908-1964) = 56
  11. Western Oval (1925-1994) = 53
  12. Corio Oval (1897-1940) = 44
  13. Arden Street (1926-1982) = 44
  14. Glenferrie Oval (1925-1973) = 43
  15. Kardinia Park (1941-1999) = 41
  16. Gabba (1993-Present) = 29
  17. East Melbourne Cricket Ground (1897-1921) = 28
  18. Football Park (1992-2013) = 28
  19. SCG (1903, 1952, 1981-Present) = 26
  20. Subiaco Oval (1987-2017) = 26
  21. Moorabbin Oval (1965-1991) = 19
  22. Stadium Australia (2003-2014) = 13
  23. Metricon Stadium (1987-1992; 2011-Present) = 11 (formerly known as Carrara Oval)
  24. Adelaide Oval (2014-Present) = 8
  25. Optus Stadium (2018-Present) = 8
  26. Giants Stadium (2012-Present) = 7
  27. WACA (1991-1999) = 4
  28. Toorak Park (1942) = 1
  29. Coburg Oval (1965) = 1
  30. Manuka Oval (2001) = 1

Full list of stadiums we've played for premiership points.
  8. Brunswick St Oval (1897-1966) = 68
  9. Windy Hill (1922-1988) = 58
  10. Punt Road Oval (1908-1964) = 56
  11. Western Oval (1925-1994) = 53
  12. Corio Oval (1897-1940) = 44
  13. Arden Street (1926-1982) = 44
  14. Glenferrie Oval (1925-1973) = 43
  15. Kardinia Park (1941-1999) = 41
  16. Gabba (1993-Present) = 29
  17. East Melbourne Cricket Ground (1897-1921) = 28
  18. Football Park (1992-2013) = 28
  19. SCG (1903, 1952, 1981-Present) = 26
  20. Subiaco Oval (1987-2017) = 26
  21. Moorabbin Oval (1965-1991) = 19
  22. Stadium Australia (2003-2014) = 13
  23. Metricon Stadium (1987-1992; 2011-Present) = 11 (formerly known as Carrara Oval)
  24. Adelaide Oval (2014-Present) = 8
  25. Optus Stadium (2018-Present) = 8
  26. Giants Stadium (2012-Present) = 7
  27. WACA (1991-1999) = 4
  28. Toorak Park (1942) = 1
  29. Coburg Oval (1965) = 1
  30. Manuka Oval (2001) = 1

Well done Ponsford, brilliant.
How did i forget Giants stadium!
I wonder why we played at Toorak park.

Thanks PonsfordMagpie for the list.

From that list I’ve been to 7 of the grounds.

MCG, Docklands, Victoria Park, Waverley, Kardinia Park, Princes Park & Stadium Australia.

Three of them were our last games at those grounds. Not bad considering my age and that I only started going to the footy in the late 90’s. got lucky with my timing for just over half those grounds.

Thanks PonsfordMagpie for the list.

From that list I’ve been to 7 of the grounds.

MCG, Docklands, Victoria Park, Waverley, Kardinia Park, Princes Park & Stadium Australia.

Three of them were our last games at those grounds.
I’ve been to 14 of the grounds.
Doubt anyone has been to all 30.

Now that’s impressive!!

had it not been for covid and poor health the last two years I’d have been to an interstate game or two as well. Oh well plenty of time for that.

Well done Ponsford, brilliant.
How did i forget Giants stadium!
I wonder why we played at Toorak park.

Toorak Park was used as home ground by St Kilda briefly in WW2.

A lot of parks and grounds were used by armed forces of aus and the usa during ww2 Junction oval might have been out of action for a bit.

Mcg and lakeside were both used as camps for example and billeted us marines. Plus Macarthur's HQ was activated in Melbourne just up the road in St Kilda Rd.

Now that’s impressive!!

had it not been for covid and poor health the last two years I’d have been to an interstate game or two as well. Oh well plenty of time for that.
Attending VFL games in the 70’s & 80’s (suburban footy) led me to most of them.
Having friends in Queensland brought me to the Gabba & Metricon.
Never been to Footy in Perth, Adelaide or Sydney.

6. Western Oval (1925-1994) = 53
  7. Kardinia Park (1941-1999) = 41
  8. Gabba (1993-Present) = 29
  9. Football Park (1992-2013) = 28
  10. SCG (1903, 1952, 1981-Present) = 26
  11. Subiaco Oval (1987-2017) = 26
  12. Moorabbin Oval (1965-1991) = 19
  13. Stadium Australia (2003-2014) = 13
  14. Metricon Stadium (1987-1992; 2011-Present) = 11 (formerly known as Carrara Oval)
  15. Adelaide Oval (2014-Present) = 8
  16. Optus Stadium (2018-Present) = 8
  17. Giants Stadium (2012-Present) = 7

Been to all these at least once. I reckon Windy Hill is the only one I could reasonably have been able to go to but didn't (and even then I was only 10 when we played our last game there and 13 when Essendon finished).

I have been to York Park to see Hawthorn on many occasions (partner is a Hawks fan), but obviously not to see Collingwood yet.

I’ve been to 11 for Pies games, all in Victoria except for one. Some I remember more than most. And for some reason Moorabbin sticks in my mind (and the mud in the outer might have stuck to my feet).

Returned to quite a few - and to other grounds - in recent years to watch our VFL boys.

Love the old footy grounds (rose coloured glasses?), despite the hard wooden seats, poor sight lines, smelly toilets and yes - the mud.

I’ve been to 11 for Pies games, all in Victoria except for one. Some I remember more than most. And for some reason Moorabbin sticks in my mind (and the mud in the outer might have stuck to my feet).

Returned to quite a few - and to other grounds - in recent years to watch our VFL boys.

Love the old footy grounds (rose coloured glasses?), despite the hard wooden seats, poor sight lines, smelly toilets and yes - the mud.
I had a friend who was a St Kilda social club member, so I always joined him as a guest.
Was there when Jeff Fehring kicked that goal from a centre free kick.
Loved the Saints crowd. Always full of optimism before the game.
Saints players always came into the social club after the game…Trevor Barker was a hit with the ladies.

I have seen the pies at

8. Windy Hill (1922-1988) = 58

9. Western Oval (1925-1994) = 53

10. Arden Street (1926-1982) = 44
  11. Glenferrie Oval (1925-1973) = 43
  12. Kardinia Park (1941-1999) = 41

13. Football Park (1992-2013) = 28

14. Subiaco Oval (1987-2017) = 26
  15. Moorabbin Oval (1965-1991) = 19

16. Metricon Stadium (1987-1992; 2011-Present) = 11 (formerly known as Carrara Oval)

17. Optus Stadium (2018-Present) = 8

18. WACA (1991-1999) = 4
not really that sure about south melbourne or junction to see the pies, was a bit young and we just followed the pies every saturday. fitzroy was at the junction at some stage so am pretty sure i went there to see the pies.
can remember Glenferrie in 1970, Peter McKenna got his jumper torn off him and it was an absolute mud bath. hard to tell which team was which.

Having only really attended footy since the mid 2000s I've only attended 3 as AFL venues. I've managed to knock off four more seeing the twos though and there's another couple still in use as reserves venues that I'll get to.

I've been to these grounds... Junction oval was the first place i went in the opening round of 81... Lakeside i went to a few times to see the reserves play... does that count?
  1. Victoria Park (1897-1999) = 863 - The spiritual home... Victory Park... can still smell the joint
  2. MCG (1897-Present) = 651 - Nothing rocks like a full house
  3. Waverley Park (1970-1999) = 126 - The carpark.....
  4. Princes Park (1897-2000) = 104 - The home of the filth... Also the hawks... I saw Matthews kick about a lazy 8 from full forward in what was probably his last year... amazing
  5. Marvel Stadium (2000-Present) = 91 - vanilla
  6. Junction Oval (1897-1983) = 72 - The first place i went and also saw some great and violent VFA finals there as well.
  7. Lakeside Oval (1897-1980) = 71 - They used to play and televise a reserves game every Sunday for a while... i wasn't at the infamous game when that bloke went mad.

8. Windy Hill (1922-1988) = 58 - only went once and it was packed... 81 or 82..

9. Western Oval (1925-1994) = 53 - went a few times and was there the day Banks took that amazing mark and Gubby kicked across the goal

10. Arden Street (1926-1982) = 44 - Saw Daicos kick 4 or 5 in one quarter and the Krakour bros tearing it up... value for $$$

11. Kardinia Park (1941-1999) = 41 -only went once and ran into my grandpa in the outer!

12. Moorabbin Oval (1965-1991) = 19 - Went once. Jacko was playing for them. We were yelling at him over the fence (i was about 14) and he was putting on a great ratbag show... can't remember who won...

Magpies 30 grounds