• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Mallee Football League

jimmyboy: Sounds like he must have improved a bit if he was playing for $60 last year and is worth $300 - $350 this year. Doesnt sound right to me.

i think its the fact that he went to them and they didnt try and recruit him that they just gave him the bare minimum... only one person on here has actually said that he is worth that, noone else mate and mick dedini is staying at woomelang this year...

I watched alot of mallee football last season and i must say the standard of football is pretty good. However, there have been rumours that many clubs have picked up which will be great for this league, this including Sea Lake who pretty much bought a whole new team. There must be alot of money floating around that town, especially to pick up Simon Prympke last season and Wes Lewis and Chris Wall this year. Now that I have that off my chest, I was wondering if anyone could give me a run down on who will be the team/teams up there this year? Is it true that Brad Morris is going to Woomelang? I have seen him play and he is a superstar.

IMPSTAR said:
I watched alot of mallee football last season and i must say the standard of football is pretty good. However, there have been rumours that many clubs have picked up which will be great for this league, this including Sea Lake who pretty much bought a whole new team. There must be alot of money floating around that town, especially to pick up Simon Prympke last season and Wes Lewis and Chris Wall this year. Now that I have that off my chest, I was wondering if anyone could give me a run down on who will be the team/teams up there this year? Is it true that Brad Morris is going to Woomelang? I have seen him play and he is a superstar.

Brad Morris is very injury prone...

IMPSTAR said:

Not really knowing the other teams but with two of the players mentioned above the talent is huge. I know that they are not as young as they once were but Chris Wall and Wes Lewis are two of the more talented players i have ever seen. At the very least the knowledge that these two can pass on to their team will lift the standard. Would the two still be included in the interleague side if so it would be worth travelling to see.

Your right these two players are absolute guns, and even though they are both nearly 40 will dominate this league, Lewis is still super fit and hard at it and will easily get 30+ every week in the midfield every week, and "chicken" Wall will mop up in the backline all day and set up play with his brilliant footskills, he is a surgeon with the footy! Also was told that Ex Sydney Swans Dale Lewis (Wes's brother) and Scotty Direen who are both living in Adelaide are going to travel back to Sea Lake to play the home games and then play the finals.

I think that Lewis does Radio in Adelaide so i doubt he would be heading back over here to play every week.
I know us ( warrack eagles ) are looking good this year. We have some solid recruits. I heard a rumour we might have been in the hunt for Kain Robins but he has signed at Bendigo. Does anyone know what the Liston brothers are doing this year?

Yeah he does breakfast radio over there, I didn't say he's heading back every week, just going to play most of their home games and then the finals....

Heard the same thing about Dale Lewis but not too sure if that is correct. He would need to play 12 games in order to qualify for finals anyway which in all honesty will be difficult for him. As for Direen my sources say he won't be playing.

Good to see some good players in the Mallee FL this year which will assist in continuing to improve the standard and hopefully ensure the vultures at the VCFL are kept away for a bit longer.

Perhaps someone can tell me how Ouyen and Walpeup/Underbool are looking for this year?

IMPSTAR said:

Just hearing of Which clubs have recruited well I'd have a guess and say it will between Beaulah (surprise surprise) Sea lake and woomelang Lascelles this year.
It looks as though Ouyen have lost quite a few players and may slip a bit on last year, While Hopetoun will probaly be the 4th team to make the finals and Walpy underbool and Jeparit Rainbow will make up the bottom 2 places on the ladder.

Well thats my tip for what its worth.........

localfootyguru said:
Heard the same thing about Dale Lewis but not too sure if that is correct. He would need to play 12 games in order to qualify for finals anyway which in all honesty will be difficult for him. As for Direen my sources say he won't be playing.

Good to see some good players in the Mallee FL this year which will assist in continuing to improve the standard and hopefully ensure the vultures at the VCFL are kept away for a bit longer.

Perhaps someone can tell me how Ouyen and Walpeup/Underbool are looking for this year?

What sort of a guru are you? play 12 games to qualify? mate its three I can assure you barring injury Dale Lewis and Direen will be in the yellow and black come finals time along with Rohan Warfe if all things fall into place!

I don't think there's much chance of Woomerlang grabbing any Irymple players. But you never know. Dedini will be an obvious temporary replacement for Irymples coach who has a broken hand and will miss a few early matches.
Is Tom Vadjla returning to Irymple they could do with another tall forward.

hey mallee people, can anyone tell me about the talent of stewart broussard of woomelang?or brendan and patrick caldwell boys?who are the other guns of the league other than them?

Stewart Brousard is a good player but he must work on being consistent! He is only a young fella and is still learning the game but if he is switched on he can play some good footy! The Caldwell brothers are very good players and are magnificent kicks for goal but pace is a very big question and fitness! Its a very big call to rate them the best in the league but good players though! Speaking of good players, I have spoken 2 very reliable sources around this league and I also had the pleasure of watching Dedini play for Irymple in the night series over the weekend and he is a brillant footballer! I got told he is the best in the mallee league by far! He is hot property in sunraysia and for our sake I do hope he stays at woomelang!

Hillite said:
I don't think there's much chance of Woomerlang grabbing any Irymple players. But you never know. Dedini will be an obvious temporary replacement for Irymples coach who has a broken hand and will miss a few early matches.
Mick Dedini is a absolute wizard. Are the two brothers staying at the Cats or have they been poached to the Central Murray?. Mick Dedini would be even better in a stronger leauge, a more flowing game would suit him.

dazza08 said:
hey mallee people, can anyone tell me about the talent of stewart broussard of woomelang?or brendan and patrick caldwell boys?who are the other guns of the league other than them?

Broussard is an absaloute hack:thumbsdown:

Hillite said:

Tommy Vadjla was quoted in the Sunraysia Daily as saying he was returning to Irymple this year. He reckons he'll start in the magoos and see what happens from there. Hasn't footy trained yet I think because of cricket commitments at Mildura East.

A very handy pick up because when he's match fit he'll do a fair bit of damage when he plays 1's. With Eagle and Simms in their forward line, Vadj will probably get the third best defender. His only weakness I reckon is his accuracy at goals from set shots.

Ball_Magnet said:
Broussard is an absaloute hack:thumbsdown:

I agree, you are never going to win a flag with Stuart Broussard in your team. Not even the mighty Brisbane of 01-03 could win with him on the bench

eat&sleep footy said:

I agree, you are never going to win a flag with Stuart Broussard in your team. Not even the mighty Brisbane of 01-03 could win with him on the bench

Apparently Ultima one one with him playing in the side, I think you blokes are seriously mistaken.

jimmyboy said:
Apparently Ultima one one with him playing in the side, I think you blokes are seriously mistaken.
He did'nt play in a flag, but he got his head in the team photo and partied like he did.

come on guys, thats a bit rough, broussards only a 19 year old kid, you cant expect that much from a kid of that age especially when he has always been far from a star footballer... good old fashion battler at best but at least he is having a crack... didnt play in the granny with ultima but played the majority of the year and missed the granny due to struggling to get a kick and partially injured. lets just hope he has a better year this year with ultima and can maybe prove a few people wrong.

roosta07 said:
come on guys, thats a bit rough, broussards only a 19 year old kid, you cant expect that much from a kid of that age especially when he has always been far from a star footballer... good old fashion battler at best but at least he is having a crack... didnt play in the granny with ultima but played the majority of the year and missed the granny due to struggling to get a kick and partially injured. lets just hope he has a better year this year with ultima and can maybe prove a few people wrong.
Spot on, i think big Stuey(ROOSTA) Brussard with have a great year!

FROGDOG17 said:
Spot on, i think big Stuey(ROOSTA) Brussard with have a great year!

oh come on mate, you know the rules, no name guessin.... stuey broussard isnt the sharpest tool in the shed but i doubt he'd be dumb enough to use his real nickname hey froggy...