Mallee Football League

How is the depth for sides going at J/R see they have a few juniors up in the seniors are they genuine senior players or are you light on for numbers

depth better than last year, putting in solid performances particularly good first halves tapering off a bit as the match wears on but have definitely been in the games so far..couple of juniors have made step up, although injury has affected the starting line up..these kids will improve the depth of the team as the season progresses..

Im not real sure I'm not there anymore just have an interest in them nowadays and seen them play in the first round. I think they are all seniors, had a few juniors play last year.
hi leighharding, just wondering if u can put a few clues out to who u are and how u know jr, im from their myself so we may know each other..

depth better than last year, putting in solid performances particularly good first halves tapering off a bit as the match wears on but have definitely been in the games so far..couple of juniors have made step up, although injury has affected the starting line up..these kids will improve the depth of the team as the season progresses..
good to see that they are getting a go. as u say they may run out of legs as game goes on but the experience will be ten fold in 8 or so games. nearly went to the lakers a few years back. do you think they will remain in the mfl for many more years

im pretty sure that this will be on of J/R's last years in the mallee league. been a bit of talk about moving to horsham district over the last few years and they may follow edenhopes lead and see if they can get into that league.

Hopefully there fitness progresses also. Cant expect to win a game of footy if ya dont run out a whole game with the way footy is played these day

Injuries arent helping that cause, we havent had a bench in the 2nd half of the last 2 games.. A bit of match fitness now hasnt hurt should be rite from now on hopefully..

im pretty sure that this will be on of J/R's last years in the mallee league. been a bit of talk about moving to horsham district over the last few years and they may follow edenhopes lead and see if they can get into that league.
so the J/R merger was only a bandaid on cancer on the long run. Why cant thry continue should be able to get heaps of players i would have thought?. If they go HDFL way why would they be better off?

I don't know a lot about the specific circumstance of J/R, but i think i could see alot of benefit in them joining Horsham..
Many of the ppl involved in the Mallee league continually discuss its future and where teams will go when it folds etc etc so moving to a strong stable comp that already has 11 teams would provide some stability for the future and it could be done on the clubs own terms, not forced into it..
While onfield it doesn't gaurantee recruits, but im sure it would make it much easier to get Horsham area players as they wouldn't have to travel every week as they would in the Mallee

I don't know a lot about the specific circumstance of J/R, but i think i could see alot of benefit in them joining Horsham..
Many of the ppl involved in the Mallee league continually discuss its future and where teams will go when it folds etc etc so moving to a strong stable comp that already has 11 teams would provide some stability for the future and it could be done on the clubs own terms, not forced into it..
While onfield it doesn't gaurantee recruits, but im sure it would make it much easier to get Horsham area players as they wouldn't have to travel every week as they would in the Mallee
Well with one more team gone out of the league then the show is over. But I can see what u are saying. The area in general is dying and so is the quality of the footy. The only thing on the way up is the dollars being paid to get players and this is screwing the whole show. Any thoughts?

Think you are quite right cracker.. Money is a cancer that is causing country footy to die a slow death.

How is the depth for sides going at J/R see they have a few juniors up in the seniors are they genuine senior players or are you light on for numbers

Candy Man has it pretty well spot on Cracker. seems as though J/R are some what stronger than previous years. With a couple of returners, a couple of newcomers and the handfull of youngsters which got a taste last year they should fair well. I guess time will tell.

I dont think that there is one ultimate answer to the problem of success around the club however i do think moving into a more stable league may promote a healthier club. Recruting players is an option in an area with a continually diminishing population, at the moment it is unrealistic to expect players to travel large distances for home games let alone journeys for away games ie. W/U. If/when the move occurs i predict the club will return to some on feild success.

Has anyone heard the rumour of Harold Pratt returning to the Mallee League as a full time commentator? His eyebrows are also rumoured to be doubling as a twin microphone.

I dont think that there is one ultimate answer to the problem of success around the club however i do think moving into a more stable league may promote a healthier club. Recruting players is an option in an area with a continually diminishing population, at the moment it is unrealistic to expect players to travel large distances for home games let alone journeys for away games ie. W/U. If/when the move occurs i predict the club will return to some on feild success.
J/R has a great group of people on charge of the club and a great best 6 or so, with Clugston, Werner, Tough, the new recruits and the under-rated Brett Fisher, amonst the best in the league, but a clubs success depends on their last 6, which is something they are lacking, but with juniors getting a touch will become stronger and stronger. The trouble with J/R and alot of country clubs is that they juniors that are developing into great footballers move away to Horsham, Ballarat and Bendigo for jobs or uni. The best solution is for J/R to move into the district league, which is indeed a strong league and to keep the kids that move away after school. Because lets face it, who as a 18 or 19 year old on their P's who lives in Horsham wants to drive to ouyen for a game of footy and either get drunk and get a lift back to Rainbow (boring!) or stay sober and drive back to Horsham (also boring!) (Msg to the Rainbow people that are thinking of the town missing out on some money from the Saturday nights, whats a town without a football/netball club? Nothing, and thats the future if you don't pull your heads in and think of the future..)

Well said COUNTYRYBOY Spoton.
Don't knock the players that stay or the ones that need to move because there are no jobs...The ones that stay are your backbone and its great that they stay, and down the track become successful for the club.
On that though, don't knock a club ie. W/U for recruiting 2 extra players and a coach from their last years side who so far this year are showing some success. ( where the hell else do you look. We are all small coommunities. ) Every other club has recriuted the same and its not won yet, its still early.

J/R has a great group of people on charge of the club and a great best 6 or so, with Clugston, Werner, Tough, the new recruits and the under-rated Brett Fisher, amonst the best in the league, but a clubs success depends on their last 6, which is something they are lacking, but with juniors getting a touch will become stronger and stronger. The trouble with J/R and alot of country clubs is that they juniors that are developing into great footballers move away to Horsham, Ballarat and Bendigo for jobs or uni. The best solution is for J/R to move into the district league, which is indeed a strong league and to keep the kids that move away after school. Because lets face it, who as a 18 or 19 year old on their P's who lives in Horsham wants to drive to ouyen for a game of footy and either get drunk and get a lift back to Rainbow (boring!) or stay sober and drive back to Horsham (also boring!) (Msg to the Rainbow people that are thinking of the town missing out on some money from the Saturday nights, whats a town without a football/netball club? Nothing, and thats the future if you don't pull your heads in and think of the future..)

Mate saying brett fisher is under rated and is one of the best in the league, is like saying bruce landrigan only eats lettuce, :eek:

how many does every think sonny will kick this week against the tigers. he hasnt had the best start to the year. also a few changes in the tigers team this week.

Well said COUNTYRYBOY Spoton.
Don't knock the players that stay or the ones that need to move because there are no jobs...The ones that stay are your backbone and its great that they stay, and down the track become successful for the club.
On that though, don't knock a club ie. W/U for recruiting 2 extra players and a coach from their last years side who so far this year are showing some success. ( where the hell else do you look. We are all small coommunities. ) Every other club has recriuted the same and its not won yet, its still early.

I think there is a massive misconception about W/U and their recruiting.. They got a coach and 2 new players from last years list, and they were injury ravaged throughout 2006, they also only fell 2 games short of O/U for finals and played W/L and Beulah 3 times, while Ouyen feasted on J/r and hopetoun in their last two games... Definately no suprise to me they are the benchmark

And who is Brett Fisher?

I think there is a massive misconception about W/U and their recruiting.. They got a coach and 2 new players from last years list, and they were injury ravaged throughout 2006, they also only fell 2 games short of O/U for finals and played W/L and Beulah 3 times, while Ouyen feasted on J/r and hopetoun in their last two games... Definately no suprise to me they are the benchmark

And who is Brett Fisher?

he plays for the lakers number 12 i think....

See Liam Price from Hopetoun is the only under 18 player from the whole league in he pioneers squad.. good work old c o c k. can anyone tell me why corey gregg wouldnt have made it? matt elliott also? Also see mass exits at sea lake and woomelang, probably the two sides fighting for wooden spoon i'd imagine. whats the mail on ouyen's new players? Hopetoun also look to have two castleman's who will add some much needed size and toughness.

Those castleman's definatley added size there is no doubt about that, lauldeng...