Malthouse Megathread

absolutely he loved collingwood more than life it's self can't see why you bag him given sacked him as coach
If you love the club then the club is bigger than you. Ratten was all class today and refused to buy into the MM situation. He truly loves the club because he would not go public with the extent of his disappointment. He didn't deserve the axe.
Malthouse open discussed his limited tenure, mentioned Ed in his GF speech, went on TFS etc. True love for the club gets tested in times like these. Ratts passed with flying colors, MM failed dismally.

The press hate Mick,and he treats them with absolute disdain when he is coaching

if he slips up just one bit next year,they will be beyond ruthless

0653_homer-eating-popcorn-small-c78.jpg

Eddie gave him full control but the Blues are still stuck in the 80's run by blokes with deep pockets who Sticks has to answer to for financial reasons.

When the Blues sack MM he'll realise what a favour Eddie did him. Gave him an extra 2 years to taste the ultimate success. Could have gone out on a high but a junkie doesn't know how to stop.

How long before Carlton sacks him? 3yrs if they don't make a GF or win one? They've won 1 final in 4yrs against the team that finished 8th. They still have a fair bit to learn, by the time they do Judd will be passed it.

Then they bring in someone else to do a rebuild?

Mick was a hack coach, good riddance and how appropriate he ends up with the scum.
Cost us a premiership last year with his immature unprofessional games with the media whining about losing his job.
Derek Hine was the one that got us 2010 and mick was lucky to be there and his shit round the boundary game plan only succeeded because of the talent in the team. Doesn't stand a chance.

How about the difference between Ratten's departure from Carlton and the way Mick carried on with us. Ratten was treated far worse, being sacked mid contract.

Should be funny to watch when Carlton eventually sack him and the tantrum Mick will throw, most immature 60yr old you will ever see, no class.

Notice Mick has told Carlton this morning on 3aw he wants a job and that his mate Barrett has gone onto the AFL website saying he wants to coach. Massive coincidence he decides to tell the footy world this jsut after Carlton get belted by Suns. But of course he isnt for being involved in a 'play' on another coach or trying to stir the pot. He must thing we are all dills if he isnt sending Carlton a message "i want to coach again".

Anyway I reckon he will go as can absolutely see Carlton knifing Ratts which i think is a real shame given how well he has done lately.

For what its worth I am increasingly of the view Cloke is gone.

Don't care much about Sticks and blues.
Don't care bout the type of lube they use.
Don't care a hoot about where Mick goes.
Only know that Cartoon blows.

But I do care, Mick won us a cup,
and if he gets a chance to **** Carton up,

What a wonderful world this would be.

Apologies to Sam Cook, Copyright Pie eyed.:D

If you love the club then the club is bigger than you. Ratten was all class today and refused to buy into the MM situation. He truly loves the club because he would not go public with the extent of his disappointment. He didn't deserve the axe.
Malthouse open discussed his limited tenure, mentioned Ed in his GF speech, went on TFS etc. True love for the club gets tested in times like these. Ratts passed with flying colors, MM failed dismally.
Well said. I honestly hope we don't sign Malthouse as coach he's a bitter, twisted individual.
If someone like Roos can't be wooed, I'd rather we go after a respected Assistant.

Well said. I honestly hope we don't sign Malthouse as coach he's a bitter, twisted individual.
If someone like Roos can't be wooed, I'd rather we go after a respected Assistant.
Malthouse is the best available coach out there.
That said if cartoon want another decade in the wilderness, I'm happy.

I would suggest that Malthouse going to the scum would decrease the likleyhood of Cloke moving there also.
He would want time to examine their list in detail, develope a gameplan, and then add the players to cover the deficiencies as HE sees fit.
The recruiting of Cloke, added to Judd with their grossly inflated pay demads would severley hamstring his ability to work the list in the future by placing too many eggs in too few baskets.
Mick ,as most would recall, dosen't operate like this.Collingwood supporters cried for years about our inability to secure big name recruits and it wasn't until the puzzle was almost complete that Jolly and Ball were taken.
So I see this move by Carlton as doing us a huge favour in our endevours to keep our Cloke at the pies. I believe that Carlton as a whole would be dumb enough to offer Cloke 1mill over 5 years but the old fox is too shrewed to make a mistake like that before he has set foot in the door.

I hate saying it mate but he'll most likely do good things at Carlton. You'll play finals, fitness permitting but he'll bring in the members and dollars. The only down side is that Carlton works differently to Collingwood and I can't see the powerbrokers and Carlton giving him absolute power. That's when he starts showing his fangs and looking for scalps. After the flag, his attitude towards Buckley got worse.

I would suggest that Malthouse going to the scum would decrease the likleyhood of Cloke moving there also.
He would want time to examine their list in detail, develope a gameplan, and then add the players to cover the deficiencies as HE sees fit.
The recruiting of Cloke, added to Judd with their grossly inflated pay demads would severley hamstring his ability to work the list in the future by placing too many eggs in too few baskets.
Mick ,as most would recall, dosen't operate like this.Collingwood supporters cried for years about our inability to secure big name recruits and it wasn't until the puzzle was almost complete that Jolly and Ball were taken.
So I see this move by Carlton as doing us a huge favour in our endevours to keep our Cloke at the pies. I believe that Carlton as a whole would be dumb enough to offer Cloke 1mill over 5 years but the old fox is too shrewed to make a mistake like that before he has set foot in the door.

He'll take Cloke in a heart beat because at 60, he doesn't have 5 or 6 years to tinker with the list and avoid big names. I've seen it in many people over 60. The physical decline comes faster than ever before unless you're a freak like Tommy Hafey. Tommy has however not been in coaching for upwards of 25 years so he hasn't felt the impact that stress has on the body.

Sorry for intrusion....

If Mick were to go, I seriously can not wait for the Collingwood V Carlton game next year... would be epic! The rivalry would go mental, which would be great for footy.

Best of luck for finals... and for your sakes, I hope if Malthouse is to go to Carlton, that he signs soon without much more fanfare and Collingwood prodding, distractions are a bitch as I know, and I'm sure you all know.

He'll take Cloke in a heart beat because at 60, he doesn't have 5 or 6 years to tinker with the list and avoid big names. I've seen it in many people over 60. The physical decline comes faster than ever before unless you're a freak like Tommy Hafey. Tommy has however not been in coaching for upwards of 25 years so he hasn't felt the impact that stress has on the body.
No doubt he would love Cloke in his squad,but to have 2 players taking up 1/4 of your cap would surley make him think twice,especially before he has had a chance to see what is at his disposal first hand.
Carlton have some good young talls in their ranks and Cloke may not be the answer to their flag aspirations.Mick strikes me as one who will want to make the call on what is needed and won't want to jeoperdise his ability to chase what he sees as being needed by paying overs to gain Cloke.
Seriously,does anyone believe that Cloke would transform that rable from a team outside the eight to a flag contender?

No doubt he would love Cloke in his squad,but to have 2 players taking up 1/4 of your cap would surley make him think twice,especially before he has had a chance to see what is at his disposal first hand.
Carlton have some good young talls in their ranks and Cloke may not be the answer to their flag aspirations.Mick strikes me as one who will want to make the call on what is needed and won't want to jeoperdise his ability to chase what he sees as being needed by paying overs to gain Cloke.
Seriously,does anyone believe that Cloke would transform that rable from a team outside the eight to a flag contender?

Good points, Outlaw but if the presence of Cloke in their forward line means more groundball for their chipscabs, another tall target besides airhead Waite, then yes, it'll help them heaps. Pturrrrrrrr, I hate saying that.

No doubt about that,however my point is that with Rats at the helm, knowing his time is running out ,the quest for Cloke may have had more urgency.Malthouse is under less time pressure,most likley even with the current list he will improve their standing,simply due to the fact that they have had an injury ravaged season.Think he will be a bit more frugal at the start of his tenure,assess for himself,probably realise that he has made a huge mistake and has no hope transforming a rotting culture in his limited lifespan, and then go gangbusters to try and buy another flag.Upon failing he will retire due to health reasons. leaving the club almost broke and on another rebuild phase.

Fine but people shouldn't attack him personally or his character. He bled for the club before he was pushed.

There is no place for personal attacks, I agree. He will always have a special place in our history however if he chooses to coach Carlton he should be prepared for his legacy at Collingwood to be tarnished. Like or not he will be the enemy.

How about the difference between Ratten's departure from Carlton and the way Mick carried on with us. Ratten was treated far worse, being sacked mid contract.

Should be funny to watch when Carlton eventually sack him and the tantrum Mick will throw, most immature 60yr old you will ever see, no class.

I'm sure if Ratten had just delivered Carlton their 2nd Premiership in 50 odd years ... He would have had a bit more to say?.

MM has peaked as a coach. Even though he is an improvement over Ratten, he won't be taking them to the promised land in his tenure. You could see the stress on his face in his last year at Collingwood. What's it going to be like next year when the pressure is on as Carlton is fighting for a place in the 8?

Will be interesting to see how they play his slow boundary style gameplan combined with their mosquito sized forward line.

Malthouse Megathread