Manikato Stakes - 25/9

Thought Danleigh had some hope @ $21,has form around & a weight turnaround on Nicconi from the Autumn,
unbeaten on the slow & nice draw.
Lovely horse Nicconi but $4 when he's never seen the wet?
Its pouring here & more forecast.

seth

Just had a look at centrebet Lucky Secret was 5.50 and 2.20 could not resist those odds with the rain tumbling down - see tab hasn't opened up there odds yet I would say he will be shorter than that.

I'll be taking Lucky Secret. Also going with Carerra doubled into Jolie Shinju.

As i said in the Makybe Diva Stakes thread I still have a huge knock on the singapore mare. That race done nothing to deny or confirm my thoughts at all. Sure she ran 3rd but she was entitled to after they walked through the first 1000m virtually making it impossible for horses 3 lengths from her at the 600 to make ground.
They have said they will take her back to her usual habit of rolling along in front at a good tempo but unlike in Singapore where they let her go I think Mac O'Reilly and Renewable will push forward. And if the pace is slow I think something will go around them and won't alow a slow pace.
The 2 I don't mind here are Young Centaur who stormed home off slow pace behind Speed Gifted last time and went past Red Lord in that race so his form should stack up. The other one I like is Britomart - has a wide gate but loves soft ground is very good at the valley and went ok last week in unsuitable race with big weight.
I hope Jolies Shinju can run a big race and live up to the hype but the $ 2.25 on offer is way too short for me. All the best

really warming to Red Collosus - can handle the wet and imo had no luck last start

Got her @9 and pritty happy with that , has the upside to win the race

It's times like these, that I love being a Bombers supporter. Dempsey (R3 Geelong) has paid for my play this weekend haha.

I've gotta admit, when acceptances came out for this, it looked tough.
The forecast made it look tougher.
And now it looks just about impossible to be overly confident with anything - not sure how much rain there has been, but considering the history of this night, plus the moisture, I don't like it :/ lol
Sooo, I think I've had (wasted) a grand total of 5 minutes looking at the form for tonight's meet (which might be a good thing! lol) - it's the Grand Final tomorrow, priorities!! haha.

Just a few interest muliple bets..
Main bet for the night each-way on Red Colossus :) As I outlined earlier in the week, I'm really not super keen on him for a number of reasons, but I do think he's more than talented enough if he puts it together and I'd be kicking myself if he got up and I wasn't on! haha.
Sparkling Satine and (if it's not a complete bog) Avenue go close and probably my next best two top picks.

Would really like to see Jolie's Shinju just free roll in front and destroy these. But no bets :|

Good luck!

The more it rains the more i think Phelan Ready is a big chance.

Won't be backing it straight out, wont be backing anything straight out the way the weather is, but he'll be in my quaddie.

Actually i reckon this might be the quaddie i go with.

1,4,6/1,5,6,7,11,12/1,7,8,9/2,3,6,10,13,14

Bloody tough one tonight

Should be a good nights punting, couple of beers and yelling at the tv, looking forward to a weekend of yelling at the tv :)

Cheers dr,he copped a great ride & had some luck.
You have to love Spring racing,good horses starting at silly prices.
Figured he was around a $10 chance so $21 was a bit too good to refuse

seth

Great advice by the wise heads round here.

Danleigh - well done seth.

Notice how the three well performed soft trackers from the Autumn in Sydney ran 1-2-3!

Also frontrunners were the go...or those who could come hard and hold on.

Only got Carrara tonight but a good result all the same.

Nice pick up seth! :) I didn't like the race to single one out but on the run in the Galaxy + the wet track, Danleigh was overs, especially considering the form the stable has been in.

Happy with my night. Red Colossus was disappointing considering the run in transit, but the result didn't surprise me at all and not sacking on that effort. No doubt this prep though (as suspected) that he's not close to top class for the age group. Extra Zero is looking good for his Derby prep.. had a little interest in and was alive in the quaddie (80%) with Jolies Shinju, Shocking and Miss Darcey, disappointed, but eh.

Avenue (gave her a big wrap earlier in the week) and Sparkling Satine both did the right thing to ensure a tidy night :) Meat Loaf did say 2 out of 3 ain't bad... good night in the end! Restaurant, races, few drinks, getting home in the pouring rain lol, with the Grand Final 12ish hours away! Best pick up a slab, some kabana, cocktail franks, chips and dip in the morning haha.

Caulfield Sunday! :)

Had my normal look at Belmont, was going to run through with a preview, but cbf (lol) and I'll be more interested in the footy tomorrow :p But gotta have a goooo

R1: Nice little race. Morant to go forward/lead and be the one they have to get past.
R2: Fine Memories
R3: Likely soft tempo screws up what I want to happen in this. I want to see Need Luck run over the top of them..
R4: Meh. Cohort should win with Harvey on now. Couldn't back him at those odds though. Gunna this, gunna that, gunna win today, wouldn't surprise to see him get rolled.
R5: Meh. Nice horses. 1400m throws a huge spanner in the works. Do I have to pick one? lol. If I knew they'd run this at an average tempo, I'd been keen on Reflective Star, just worried they might go a little slow and he'll decide to be a sook.. it's happened before.
R6: If I have to pick just one, Vain Strike. Potentially a bit of a trap race. The 3 favourites look to have it between them though.
R7: Ma Chienne/Brave Knight
R8: 5/4 rock bottom value for Shock Value. Smart horse. Think he just wins this though. Looking forward to seeing the return of Mega Steel! Classy type.

Nice looking day in Sydney, will undoubtedly have a go there lol. Closer look in the morning, keen on a few at first glance.

Capecover is classes above these in the Ansett Classic at Mornington, I'd be sooo confident..... if it was a dry track. To some extent, forget his heavy record - all of those runs have been at a mile or under. I think he'll get through it - but it's a fair bit of weight to be giving away on a very wet track to some proven/pretty good in their own right gun wet stayers.

Manikato Stakes - 25/9