Mark Dawson wants to be President - Be warned

Maybe these are the guys talking with Eddie about the Tassie plan?
It seems that way.

But ... it could be someone else. Just cos something seems obvious from one POV ... doesn't mean it always is. Most of the time it probably is but its always worth being extra paranoid vigilant about stuff like this.

Personally I think its sus as.

But that's an obvious bias I have and it might stop me seeing something else.

I’ll say it again, there’s no possible chance North are going to Tasmania or anywhere else for that matter.

There has been a lot of conjecture about what happened when these blokes were on the board, I’d say the main thing that happened was that we won 2 flags during the 90’s without any AFL special distribution funding or state government funding to rebuild Arden St.

The main question here is not whether the current administration can balance the books with a stack of financial benefits that we didn’t have in the 90’s, it’s whether they can assemble an off field football administration and culture that achieves the ultimate success which is measured in Premierships.

To my eye we’ve got a stack of talent on the list and if we don’t get a solid foundation of football management around it we will soon be wasting talent or watching it walk out the door. If the current board can’t deliver that, then they should move on and we find people that can, regardless of whether it’s Mark, Francis, or new blood, we need people who understand football club culture to start delivering now.

I’ll say it again, there’s no possible chance North are going to Tasmania or anywhere else for that matter.

There has been a lot of conjecture about what happened when these blokes were on the board, I’d say the main thing that happened was that we won 2 flags during the 90’s without any AFL special distribution funding or state government funding to rebuild Arden St.

The main question here is not whether the current administration can balance the books with a stack of financial benefits that we didn’t have in the 90’s, it’s whether they can assemble an off field football administration and culture that achieves the ultimate success which is measured in Premierships.

To my eye we’ve got a stack of talent on the list and if we don’t get a solid foundation of football management around it we will soon be wasting talent or watching it walk out the door. If the current board can’t deliver that, then they should move on and we find people that can, regardless of whether it’s Mark, Francis, or new blood, we need people who understand football club culture to start delivering now.
This all sounds very good and I agree in principle. My question would be, is Dawson et al looking to work with the current board and compliment what strengths it has or against it by insisting on a majority of seats?

Turn it up Handsomes.

If it was up to your old man and his mates, our club wouldn’t currently exist and we wouldn’t have the opportunity to even try and achieve the ultimate football success.

And while you’re at dismissing the current boards financial achievements due to “financial benefits”, they are trying to win flags without the same on-field and recruiting benefits that assisted the 90’s admin.

Just admit it, your old man sold his business and now has so much spare time, he’s annoying the hell out of you, dropping by uninvited to discuss last night episode of Masterchef and tell you how his tomato plants are growing. That’s no reason to foist him back onto the club, just book him a ticket to Manila.

Turn it up Handsomes.

If it was up to your old man and his mates, our club wouldn’t currently exist and we wouldn’t have the opportunity to even try and achieve the ultimate football success.

And while you’re at dismissing the current boards financial achievements due to “financial benefits”, they are trying to win flags without the same on-field and recruiting benefits that assisted the 90’s admin.

Just admit it, your old man sold his business and now has so much spare time, he’s annoying the hell out of you, dropping by uninvited to discuss last night episode of Masterchef and tell you how his tomato plants are growing. That’s no reason to foist him back onto the club, just book him a ticket to Manila.

As I said in an earlier post, we can continue to hang people who have kept this club afloat and supported co-location but that is a very long list of influential people who still have plenty to offer. James Brayshaw himself offered us up for 8 home games in Tasmania only 3 years after Dallas Brooks Hall, Bob Ansett's first move was to close the doors on the place before the Patrons bought it back from Tricontinental. Notably, Brayshaw and Ansett never achieved a Premiership while serving at the club, either way they should still be welcomed back and celebrated.

I did not mean to dismiss the financial achievements of the club administrations of the past 10-15 years, my intention was to highlight that the club was run on the smell of an oily rag for much of its history. To say that the club was left in a poor financial state after our dominance in the 90's is disingenuous, we didn't have the benefits of equalisation and state government backing to lean on, what we did have was the best club culture in Australian sport.

The rest of the post is not far off....

Dawson has already shown that he doesn't have any ties with North Melbourne remaining in North Melbourne with the GC relocation attempt.
Anyone that has ever entertained that thought is never going to feel that North is always tied to North Melbourne.
It may not be Tassie but if another team is introduced to balance the comp to 20 teams, North may be tossed up again and you don't want these snakes on the board.

As I said in an earlier post, we can continue to hang people who have kept this club afloat and supported co-location but that is a very long list of influential people who still have plenty to offer. James Brayshaw himself offered us up for 8 home games in Tasmania only 3 years after Dallas Brooks Hall, Bob Ansett's first move was to close the doors on the place before the Patrons bought it back from Tricontinental. Notably, Brayshaw and Ansett never achieved a Premiership while serving at the club, either way they should still be welcomed back and celebrated.

I did not mean to dismiss the financial achievements of the club administrations of the past 10-15 years, my intention was to highlight that the club was run on the smell of an oily rag for much of its history. To say that the club was left in a poor financial state after our dominance in the 90's is disingenuous, we didn't have the benefits of equalisation and state government backing to lean on, what we did have was the best club culture in Australian sport.

The rest of the post is not far off....
You can’t say there wouldn’t be concerns.

Eddie might be full of shit but his claim that “former north powerbrokers see merit” in his ****ing bullshit idea then whispers of a former pro relocation board member wanting on the board with his people might be concerning to the rank and file.

If you were totally independent would you be happy with that development or at least not a bit wary

You can’t say there wouldn’t be concerns.

Eddie might be full of s*t but his claim that “former north powerbrokers see merit” in his ****** bullshit idea then whispers of a former pro relocation board member wanting on the board with his people might be concerning to the rank and file.

If you were totally independent would you be happy with that development or at least not a bit wary

I'll admit that I purposely avoid watching Classified but I have seen a Twitter post of McGuire talking about 11 in Tassie/11 in Melbourne, if I am remembering correctly he claimed that he had floated it to powerbrokers within the AFL. Don't recall him claiming that anyone current or past in the North hierarchy had taken it seriously, in fact I remember him throwing the toys out of the cot and demanding to know why no one is taking his 11 & 11 plan seriously while banging the table, red as a beetroot.

Regardless, we are headed for 11 home games in Melbourne.

Record membership is off of about 6-8K members in Tas. If they get there own team we not only lose revenue we will look terrible in the membership stakes. We need to do everything to incentivize these people to move to the mainland and be in it for the long haul. Winning a Premiership will help.
Interestingly, lots of kids at our Auskick are all Dees supporters now. I literally don't know one person who actively wanted to be a Dees supporter until recently.

Shows what a premiership can do!

I'll admit that I purposely avoid watching Classified but I have seen a Twitter post of McGuire talking about 11 in Tassie/11 in Melbourne, if I am remembering correctly he claimed that he had floated it to powerbrokers within the AFL. Don't recall him claiming that anyone current or past in the North hierarchy had taken it seriously, in fact I remember him throwing the toys out of the cot and demanding to know why no one is taking his 11 & 11 plan seriously while banging the table, red as a beetroot.

Regardless, we are headed for 11 home games in Melbourne.
As in that deal or generally ?

Again, I don’t need to do the bidding for my father or Francis, they will either be nominated by the board or they won’t, but whatever happens I know they will continue to support the club forever.
Now, are you sure about that Handsomes? In that you don't need to be doing the bidding on behalf of your Dad? Because days on "here ye" you are still bidding away. I suggest the feedback you give your Dad is to not bother with this Board Nonsense. There are plenty of us who do not forget what your Old Man's Collective put our club through. You can attempt to polish their turd 10 ways to Sunday but the bottom line is that they ran our club into Millions of Dollars in Debt. Fact! And lets not forget that Stephen "Fricking" Heads who is part of your Old Man's Collective voted for us to be shipped off to the GC. Now why would we want their presence back onto our Board? :stern look

Zondor, you’re four of my favourite posters on BigFooty but if I have an opinion I’m going to post it, that’s what this site is about.

You can keep going on about me doing the bidding for my old man but the truth is the board will make their own decision, it doesn’t matter what I say here.

I’m not giving feedback to blokes who have put up their livelihoods to keep the doors open and delivered the ultimate success to this club. There’s a Denis Pagan quote about getting ambitions mixed up with capabilities that rings in my ears.

MR: There’s a group of old boys, I’ll call them Dads’ Army, former directors who are preparing to run against the board.

SH:
They are really passionate people, they have contributed a hell of a lot to our club over time, and there’s a lot of people in that bucket. Yeah, it’s a really tough one. I’m working as hard as I can to make sure the club doesn’t end up with the instability of a board challenge, partly because I think the board arguments are with the previous board, partly because the board is not our problem.

Zondor, you’re four of my favourite posters on BigFooty but if I have an opinion I’m going to post it, that’s what this site is about.

You can keep going on me doing the bidding for my old man but the truth is the board will make their own decision, it doesn’t matter what I say here.

I’m not giving feedback to blokes who have put up their livelihoods to keep the doors open and delivered the ultimate success to this club. There’s a Denis Pagan quote about getting ambitions mixed up with capabilities that rings in my ears.
Mate, well first things first, be upfront. You are doing the bidding of your Old Man on this forum. Because you know and I know that the only way your Dad and his Collective gets onto the Board is by spilling it. And by selling an alternative on Big Footy is a starting point. Gauging sentiment and that. :stern look

Look I get it. He is your Dad. You love him. But his past is his past. And some of that past aint great reading. You know it and I know it. And eventhough he tipped in his hard earnt into the club he eventually wasn't too fussed about seeing some of that hard earned recouped by selling the club up the river. :stern look

I was a firm "No" to a GC Relocation / Co-Location. I am to any relocation / co-location. I equally bagged Brayshaws for that Tasmanian co-location proposal. I can't sit here ye in my dungeon, in good conscience, and see a guy like your Dad, who soft cocked it when times got tough, to weasel his way back into power at the club. And I have no doubt many others see it my way. :stern look

You can keep going on about me doing the bidding for my old man but the truth is the board will make their own decision, it doesn’t matter what I say here.

Why am I not a favourite?

Handsomes, I notice again that you are carefully dovetailing around acknowledging Stephen Head as part of this possible future challenge and to be honest, I don't blame you. It has to be the worst misstep that Mark and Francis have made. Sure, you can whitewash Mark's support for Gold Coast relocation on the basis that he was so closely involved with the club's premiership success in the 70s and the 90s, and that he wasn't on the board when the Gold Coast relocation came to a head. Francis has his family history to speak for him, which is all good and well, but then again, we are not a peerage so we can't have people waltzing onto the board based on the efforts of their parents and grandparents. And as an aside, your dad certainly made his feelings clear to Denis Pagan when he tried to bequeath a North Melbourne career to his son. But regardless of all that, there is no tarting up Stephen Head's actions when he last held power. He's toxic to your father's ambitions, simple as that.

I can't speak for all of the members, obviously, but I think we all want to see the club contending for premierships and soon. I take it on face value that Mark feels the same and his sole motivation is to contribute to rebuilding the football department. So my question - why can't he do that without the baggage of people inextricably linked to relocation policy? And why can't he offer his services and experience to the football department without having to challenge or spill the board? It would certainly be a sign of good faith that his heart is in the right place if he jettisoned the numbers he needs to control the board and instead, rolled up his sleeves and got to work.

It's a tough time being Handsomes in this thread, in the same boat I'd just stick to other threads but appreciate your desire to want to clear the air on things.

For mine though, North would love to have the assistance of any important people around the club and that should be done by appropriate channels of engagement.

An attempt to spill the board at the end of the day, is also an attack on the club (and by this I mean it's stability and its members, hell it is a personal attack on me who has invested my time and finances into this club for more than half my life).

No-one is happy with where we are at, which is currently being resolved. List management is gone, the coach is gone, the assistants likely soon, and probably Amarfio also. There is no-one left to move on but Sonja and if that's the pain then those wanting the spill need to have a good, hard look in the mirror so see what they really are.

One last point, if we have chaos at board level, we can kiss goodbye to any potential coach that we are interested in and go back to scrapping the barrel on also-rans.

Mark Dawson wants to be President - Be warned