Maryborough Castlemaine District FL (Part 2)

Grand finalists: Newstead v Avoca
Premiers: Avoca
Best on: Julian Field
League B&F: McNamee/Matt Smith tie
Biggest Disappoinment: Talbot - I honestly expected much bigger things from them and for whatever reason they were not able to produce. Close second would be the interleague performance. As close to embarrasing as it gets.

With the important end of the season upon us would anyone like to share their views on who they think will be the following...

Grand Finalists: Newstead v ??
Premiers??
Best on in GF??
League B&F??
Biggest dissapointment for 2009, why?

Just throwing it out there...
Newstead Vs Avoca
Newstead
Lache Ford
James Macnamee
Rovers- once again not much improvement, been sitting 6th or 7th for a few years now.

Seeing as there are a few active Newstead posters on this forum i'd like to ask a fairly probing question. As a player, spectator (or comittee member) of your club, which team would Newstead be barracking for to win this saturday? Whould they rather play Avoca or Dunolly?

Having not seen a single game this year it's difficult for me to comment. But judging by results it looks like Dunolly are a fairly inconsistent side, and perhaps more dangerous. Their best is very good but they seem to go missing in patches of games.

Seeing as there are a few active Newstead posters on this forum i'd like to ask a fairly probing question. As a player, spectator (or comittee member) of your club, which team would Newstead be barracking for to win this saturday? Whould they rather play Avoca or Dunolly?
I think that the top 3 sides have been even all year with some pretty tight games between them and i would think Newstead would be happy to have made Grand Final and know job is ahead of them with no real preference who they play. Avoca or Dunolly will provide a good opponent on their day.
As to the biggest dissapointment it would have to be Talbot given all the hype at the start of the year as it seemed like they never clicked and didnt play as a team.
B & F should be James McNamee who has been outstanding.
Newstead would be favourites for flag with Oxley or Lachy Ford Potential Best Players on the day.
Should be a great game this week and it is hard to pick a winner, again fitness comes into it and if Dunollys guns are fit i think they might just sneak home.

Grand finalists: Newstead v Avoca
Premiers: Avoca
Best on: Julian Field
League B&F: McNamee/Matt Smith tie
Biggest Disappoinment: Talbot - I honestly expected much bigger things from them and for whatever reason they were not able to produce. Close second would be the interleague performance. As close to embarrasing as it gets.

Grand finalists: Newstead v Dunolly
Premiers: Newstead
Best on: Mark Ramsey
League B&F: McNamee or Ford
Biggest Disappoinment: Talbot - We had High hopes at the start of the year but just never put it together. Interleague was also another lowlight, personally it was quiet embarrasing being part of it and the effort we put up.

I think Dunolly will play newstead because they will be too quick and move the footy too well for Avoca, so for that reason I reckon Newstead would prefer to play Avoca, as they showed them up last week with there smooth use of the footy and leg speed.

Avoca are more than capable of winning however, they just need to be able to close the game down and use there bigger bodies to win the contested footy, they do have some good runners in the team so it is important they are able to open up the wings and use them as an outlet and attacking option. Dunolly like to do this too and kick the ball out into space so whoever can win the stoppages and control the footy will win this game IMO

Unless Saunders fires I think Avoca will get over the line against Dunnolly. McNamee will carve it up as he has done all year and Motlop is a burst player. If Saunders dominates I don't know if Avoca have the ability to cover him. Avocas midfield is stronger and they have a more even contribution from their players. They also play a more physical game and with Dunnolly having played 3 taxing games in a row may start to feel the effects of this.

The interleague team did not stand a chance from the first training session. I can't believe the ignorance of the selectors
in choosing such a top heavy side when the game was to
be played in Ballarat! I wouldn't say it was as dissapointing as it was stupid

With the important end of the season upon us would anyone like to share their views on who they think will be the following...

Grand Finalists: Newstead v ??
Premiers??
Best on in GF??
League B&F??
Biggest dissapointment for 2009, why?

Just throwing it out there...

Grand Finalists: Newstead v Avoca
Premiers Newstead
Best on in GF Ethan Ford
League B&F McNamee or Oxley, dark horse, Fields
Biggest dissapointment for 2009 Judd not accepting the tribunals decision

I dont think it would worry Newstead who we play in the Grand Final as during the season against both sides its one win apiece. There isnt a lot between the 3 teams who all have different strengths and weaknesses.
Newstead has Oxley and a very good backline, Avoca has Fields and Bellenger and rely on opening the game up and moving the ball sideways then forward.
Dunolly have McNamee and a very good full back, Saunders is their X factor, Karpenny is the other one that could have a big influence if not controlled.
A lot will depend on how sore the bodies of the Avoca and Dunolly players are this week and what injuries come out of this weekends games.
Whoever goes through it promises to be a good Grand Final

I dont think it would worry Newstead who we play in the Grand Final as during the season against both sides its one win apiece. There isnt a lot between the 3 teams who all have different strengths and weaknesses.
Newstead has Oxley and a very good backline, Avoca has Fields and Bellenger and rely on opening the game up and moving the ball sideways then forward.
Dunolly have McNamee and a very good full back, Saunders is their X factor, Karpenny is the other one that could have a big influence if not controlled.
A lot will depend on how sore the bodies of the Avoca and Dunolly players are this week and what injuries come out of this weekends games.
Whoever goes through it promises to be a good Grand Final
Fair Call. Dissapointing to hear today that the MCDFL umpires group have pulled the pin due to being replaced for this weeks finals in what seems to be a classic case of mismanagement on both sides. Apparently Ballarat Umpires group have waved the stick saying their umpires will do senior games in Prelim and Grand Final but now will have to cover all games. We are not going to get the best of the ballarat umpires either with but those left over after other finals. Yes some of our umpires have their faults but they have put up with our sniping and whingeing all year and to be off loaded in the middle of finals would be dissapointing to say the least. It is not what league needs and better communication and structure prior to finals could have helped this situation. Hope we have sufficent quality umpires/boundaries for all games this week and next.

I was of the understanding that they stepped aside and advised that they would not be umpiring the games and asked the ballarat ones to do it...

Why would they burn the local umpires for the last couple of finals of the season?? Noone is perfect and they make mistakes just like the players, but there have been no blatant biased or absolute shockers really so why wouldn't they give them the opportunity to ply their trade in the biggest games of the year?

Fingers crossed there is a big crowd on board tomorrow to see two pretty good sides battle it out for a spot in the granny. Avoca seem very even across the field and have the guns in Field, Bellenger and Pilgrim; but Dunolly have more of an x factor with the threat of McNamee, Sanders and Motlop.

I find it hard to split the two, but just going on gut feel think Dunolly may just run over the top of them in the last quarter.

Also good luck to the Newstead reserves and 17s in their respective matches, it would be great to see them play well!!!

I was of the understanding that they stepped aside and advised that they would not be umpiring the games and asked the ballarat ones to do it...

Its a disagreement between ballarat and maryborough over who is control of rostering. Maryborough wanted their umps to do the Prelim & GF while the Ballarat Group which does the rostering said they would appoint the best available umps to the seniors and the Maryborough umps would be in the ressies and 3rds if they werent considered to be the best available. The 2 groups needed to work it out and when Ballarat umps were rostered the Maryborough group withdrew their services.
Makes it hard for all concerned when the ump are arguing between themselves. As much as we all like to bag them we cant play without them and there is a shortage of them as well, so hopeflly they get themselves organised. It wasnt a league issue as the umpire groups are independant from the league and the Maryborough umpires had gone under the ballarat group this year.

Its a disagreement between ballarat and maryborough over who is control of rostering. Maryborough wanted their umps to do the Prelim & GF while the Ballarat Group which does the rostering said they would appoint the best available umps to the seniors and the Maryborough umps would be in the ressies and 3rds if they werent considered to be the best available. The 2 groups needed to work it out and when Ballarat umps were rostered the Maryborough group withdrew their services.
Makes it hard for all concerned when the ump are arguing between themselves. As much as we all like to bag them we cant play without them and there is a shortage of them as well, so hopeflly they get themselves organised. It wasnt a league issue as the umpire groups are independant from the league and the Maryborough umpires had gone under the ballarat group this year.
The league could have helped solve this problem by ensuring umpiring was worked out before finals. The MCDFL umpires were told they would not be getting seniors in Prelim or G/F and The theory of Best umpires will be testedas We will be getting what is left after other leagues under the Ballarat group are taken over. I for one believe that the umpires group have been shafted.
To the footy goodv luck to all

Surely the best way would have been to split each game. One Maryborough ump with a Ballarat ump for each final. Would have kept everyone happy I would have thought. The umpire roster system was being argued about 2 and a half years ago when they first took over and obviously still hasnt been adequately resolved.

Lets just hope they dont pull the pin altogether as we will be umpiring our own games otherwise. There is already a shortage of umpires for BFL and LPFL games and I imagine we would be the last to be filled.

Good luck to all teams this weekend!

My tips

Seniors - Avoca d Dunolly - 30 points
Reserves - Talbot d Newstead - 42 points
Under 17s - Newstead d Maldon - 18 points

just heard that pilgrim is not playing tomorrow,apparantly still no good from last weeks game if this is so then i think dunolly may get up in a close and firey contest.

Ripping game today!...Windery conditions were a headache but both teams gave it a fair old dinkum crack which is all u can ask for as a speactator/footballer...I thought Avoca did a fantastic job of winning the contested ball early but Dunolly were strong minded enough to stay in it and be positive.

Dunolly were very proactive with the wind on both occassions and set up extremely well. I personally thought that Dunolly set up the game in the 3rd quarter by leaving Jmac free in the backline and keeping there heads. In conditions like that u just had to play the line coming out and negate the opposition well done to Dunolly and a fantastic effort to make the GF.

Great effort by Avoca but unfortunately they fell short by a whisker. Proved in patches why they finished first but just werent consistent enough over 4 quarters.

Good to see the Talbot two's pulled there fingers out today and played up to the standard we have seen all year. Been alot of Carisbrook blokes who have let the wind catch their lips over the week and i think after Talbot's performance today they might just have had a little re-think..

It is very unusually quiet on here for this time of the season... Come on guys its GRAND FINAL WEEK!!! Even if your team is not in it you must have an opinion about it.

So many things to consider, can Dunolly stop Oxley in the ruck, how will Newstead lessen the impact McNamee is having against them of late (after all this will be 3 times in 5 weeks they will play one another), can Motlop have an impact, will Ahmatt play, will Newsteads on ballers in Starrit and the Ford boys take all before them as they have all season, can Sanders kick a bag?? All of these things are going to contribute to a massive match.

Who are most teams "wanting" to win, who they would like to see get up moreso than who they think will?

Are most guys going along to see the match?

I dont really mind who wins as both teams have not won a flag for a while and both are good clubs. Be good to see Newstead have win but not fussed either way!

Not much word from the Avoca followers after their defeat. All at that club must be bitterly disappointed after being on top all year and being flag favourites to go out in straight sets. Avoca desperately need to start winning in September as they have had a fair run of bitter finals defeats since joining the league. Will Field & Bellenger be staying around to have another go at the flag? Bellenger wouldn't consider his position completely safe would he?

Congrats to James and the other winners on the night!

Who was the drunkest table on the night?

Sherman you would have been sqwarking as per usual! :)
Agree well done to all winners. McNamee was well and truely a worthy winner with Ox next in line. Be a great contest this week to see which player shines.
McNamee has carried Dunolly into the Grand Final with his inspirational play and coaching in a great achievement for Dunolly.