Maryborough Castlemaine District FL (Part 2)

I do agree with you there mate, it would be pretty boring on the old forum if we all agreed on everything...

I am interested to hear why you think Newstead will slide so far that they will miss the top 5? Reasons??

How are your boys going to go this weekend v Maldon, got a full side to pick from?

No real reason for Newstead call, they just wouldn't be the first club to drop away after a flag.

Very patchy squad for this week's game, been difficult getting a side together at this time of year. Lot of weddings, cricket commitments etc... taking a lot of guys out.

Brook seem to be building nicely at the minute - Will the arrival of Ahmat, Sanders, Dingo etc offset the losses to Maryborough and improve them?

What is going on at Dunolly? Did they exhaust the cheque book in trying to win with the side last season, or does everyone have legit reasons for leaving?

Is it looking like a 3 horse race between Avoca, Newstead and Carisbrook leading in to 2010?

Dunolly posted its best yearly profit in the past 5 years in the 2009 season so that comment is off the mark. In relation to players leaving, I think there are legit reasons why guys won't be at the club in 2010. Some guys we would have loved to have back if circumstances were different, but at the same time some players were let go.

It sounds as everyone expects Dunolly to be the walk over team of old this year and I would be very surprised if thats the case. From all reports Stewi has all the guys fit and firing and they won't be far off the mark.

I do agree though that Newstead, Avoca and Carisbrook are the teams to beat at this stage. I certainly wouldn't call it a three horse race though.

Dunolly posted its best yearly profit in the past 5 years in the 2009 season so that comment is off the mark. In relation to players leaving, I think there are legit reasons why guys won't be at the club in 2010. Some guys we would have loved to have back if circumstances were different, but at the same time some players were let go.

It sounds as everyone expects Dunolly to be the walk over team of old this year and I would be very surprised if thats the case. From all reports Stewi has all the guys fit and firing and they won't be far off the mark.

I do agree though that Newstead, Avoca and Carisbrook are the teams to beat at this stage. I certainly wouldn't call it a three horse race though.

If you check the previous post, the question mark at the end of the sentnece would suggest that it was a "question" rather than a comment there JD...

I'm not thinking that Dunolly will be a push over by any means, but the calibre of player that you are loosing (2 ex AFL, 1 NTFL B&F, 1 MCDFL League B&F, and a 2 or 3 time Premiership key forward in Sanders) are not just waiting around to be recruited, they are hard players to find!!!

Its Scott Carter from Macedon and he will be a goal kicking winner. Watched him at Macedon last year and can kick them from anywhere and tough as nails

If you're banking on scotty carter kicking bagloads for ya ,you're in deep poo poo. scott on his day is a handy 2s player at best. yes he can kick a goal, but bagloads ,very unlikely ,unless the mcdfl has gone that far backwards ,which i know it hasn't.. he'll do ok against the lower sides. he's not a bad kid ,i've played in sides with him and watched him play at macedon ,both at junior and open age level, just don't expect him to be a superstar cause you'll be very disappointed. definately not worth the coin that he's rumoured to be on. good luck to him ,i hope he proves me wrong.

Your kidding if Trentham are going to be wooden spooners - reruited at least 10 new players. New signing this week full forward Scott Clayton ex Macedon , turned downed bigger money at Riddell for Trentham according to sources in RDFL. Could be a potential goal kicking winner

your sources are miss informed. riddell would definately not chase him unless they were short in the 2s

Haha sounds like typical Trentham talking up their new players who are grossly overated. Great that they are getting better numbers but I wish they would give a realistic account of what calibre of player they are picking up

Trentham had a practice match against Woodend Hesket today and while the result went as you would expect in a comfortable win to the Hawks, the Saints showed glimpses of good footy and with several of their key prospects still to show their wares things are definitely brighter for 2010.
Those that did play today will benefit from the hit out against a fairly polished unit.
I wont be like other pundits on this forum and predict big things from Trentham this year, however I will say that there will be much needed improvement in competitiveness and desire and that at the very least we will have a team on the track that commands respect and will fight all the way.
Small steps can still take you a long way and we have been waiting a long time to begin taking those steps

Apparently Maldon had a very tight practice match against Castlemaine yesterday, with Castlemaine missing a number of key players, Maldon outscored Castlemaine on each of the last 4 quarters (6 quarter game), as mentioned earlier Castlemaine were without alot of players, but depth of a Major league side should still be enough to account for a district team.

Any other practice matches on the weekend?

Apparently Maldon had a very tight practice match against Castlemaine yesterday, with Castlemaine missing a number of key players, Maldon outscored Castlemaine on each of the last 4 quarters (6 quarter game), as mentioned earlier Castlemaine were without alot of players, but depth of a Major league side should still be enough to account for a district team.

Any other practice matches on the weekend?

I am not sure that is completely correct.

I wasn't keeping score but it seemed like a fairly comfortable win to Castlemaine against a fairly young Maldon side.

Not sure about being outscored in the last 4 quarters, but Castlemaine were certainly undermanned for a 6 quarter game and played accordingly in the later stages.

Overall a good, solid hitout for both sides and a game played in a pretty good spirit.

I am not sure that is completely correct.

I wasn't keeping score but it seemed like a fairly comfortable win to Castlemaine against a fairly young Maldon side.

Not sure about being outscored in the last 4 quarters, but Castlemaine were certainly undermanned for a 6 quarter game and played accordingly in the later stages.

Overall a good, solid hitout for both sides and a game played in a pretty good spirit.

Thats kinda funny.

Maldon didnt score a goal the first two quarters, while Castlemaine had 7 or so by then and when the Maldon 1's players they almost cut the deficit before the 4th quarter.

That said, it was played in a good spirit and had a nice local turnout. It was also good to see some people fill in for Castlemaine and keep things friendly.

Wondering if someone from each club can give some predictions as to what to expect from every team: eg
Best recruit:
Best young player:
Leading goal kicker:
B+F:
Best player lost:
Projected finish:

Wondering if someone from each club can give some predictions as to what to expect from every team: eg
Best recruit:
Best young player:
Leading goal kicker:
B+F:
Best player lost:
Projected finish:

Newstead:
Best recruit: Jay Guthrie
Best young player: Johnny Bastin
Leading goal kicker: Tom Reece
B+F: Ethan Ford
Best player lost: Lachy Ford
Projected finish: 1-3

The groins are loosening, the smell of linement is in the air, this could be the season where I, D.Cobden, make a long awaited come back.

Watch this space.

Newstead:
Best recruit: Jay Guthrie
Best young player: Johnny Bastin
Leading goal kicker: Tom Reece
B+F: Ethan Ford
Best player lost: Lachy Ford

Is Tom Reece even playing this season? From what i've been told he'll be taking up his cricket career.. Don't know the truth to it!

Tommy did look at going over to England to playing but has chosen not to do it this year and will definitely be playing for Newstead this season. Played well in a intraclub game at training tonight

Dunolly:
Best recruit: Too many to class them. If only D. Cobden would get on board geez.
Best young player: Kyle Lierich
Leading goal kicker: Tom Stiles
B+F: Lachlan Liddicoat
Best player lost: Was a tight tussle against S. Motlop but it has to be C.Burn without a doubt.

Just thought a break down of the teams INS and OUTs might give us a bit of a better understanding of who is going where in 2010!

Avoca IN: Anderson, Jake, Harrison, Benjamin, Hedger, Brendon, Houston, Paul, Ketchen, Beau, Stainton, Brody OUT: Miles, Damien, Hamilton, Paul, Adams, Paul, Orr, Shaun, Grant, Cameron

CREEK IN: Burzacott, Aaron, Cassidy, Gilboy, Mitchell, Mcdonald, Nicholas, Mcleod, Travis, Peake, Matthew, Robinson, Adam, OUT: Gray, Colin, Ford, Rhys, Johnson, Robert,

BROOK IN: Ahmat, Robert, Dingo, Keegan, Hamilton, Paul, Newman, Gary OUT: Boyd, Leigh, Carr, Aaron, Harnetty, Nicholas, Hooper, Jaxson, Mc Millan, Glenn, Mclean, Dylan, Treacy, Luke, Wright, Nathan, Robinson, Kerian, Bowen, Jackson

DUNOLLY IN: - OUT: Mcnamee, James, Chadwick, Joel, Burn, Craig, Lierich, Kyle, Mc Namee, Daniel, Motlop Shannon, Ahmat Robbie, Sanders Jeremy

HARCOURT IN: Archer, Jarred, Daffy, Joshua, Harris, Jarrod, Leech, Jhi, Wootton, Matthew OUT: Mcmurtrie, Jeffrey, Quinn, Nickolas, Smith, Joel, Huntly, Jake, Cassidy, Chris, Smith, Daniel, Fry, Corey, Folwell, Mark

MALDON IN: Fowler, Jack, Maw, Jordan, Burchell Wayne OUT: Campbell, Harrison, Burzacott, Aaron, Cummins, Patrick

ROVERS IN: Elliott, Jamie, Halliday, Tony, Hughes, Andrew, Mensfeld, James, Thomson, Jake, Sellars Scott OUT: Hedger, Brendon, Bandy, Cohen, Fary, Samuel, Hooper, Jayden, Hooper, Shaun, O'Shea, Ryan, Potter, Henry, Keating, Calvin, Monk, Trent, Monk, Brett, Raats, Adrian, Stephens, Adam

NEWSTEAD IN: Austerberry, Ryan, Guthrie, Jay, Minogue, Jarrod OUT: Webster Sean, Ford Lachlan

ROYAL PARK IN: Gorman, Jarrod, Raats, Adrian, Stephens, Adam, Thomas, Dale

TALBOT IN: Avery, Nicholas, Bux, Jorde, Bux, Tyler, Clifton, Luke, Gilmour, Boe, Gilmour, Junior OUT: Lohmann, James, Mcredmond, Brandon, Whiteman, Mathew, Bradley, Bailey, Williamson, Clint, Watson, Dean

TRENTHAM IN: About 20 unknowns...

Some teams have been very active, other have lost a few - should be very interesting!!

Just thought a break down of the teams INS and OUTs might give us a bit of a better understanding of who is going where in 2010!

Avoca IN: Anderson, Jake, Harrison, Benjamin, Hedger, Brendon, Houston, Paul, Ketchen, Beau, Stainton, Brody OUT: Miles, Damien, Hamilton, Paul, Adams, Paul, Orr, Shaun, Grant, Cameron

CREEK IN: Burzacott, Aaron, Cassidy, Gilboy, Mitchell, Mcdonald, Nicholas, Mcleod, Travis, Peake, Matthew, Robinson, Adam, OUT: Gray, Colin, Ford, Rhys, Johnson, Robert,

BROOK IN: Ahmat, Robert, Dingo, Keegan, Hamilton, Paul, Newman, Gary OUT: Boyd, Leigh, Carr, Aaron, Harnetty, Nicholas, Hooper, Jaxson, Mc Millan, Glenn, Mclean, Dylan, Treacy, Luke, Wright, Nathan, Robinson, Kerian, Bowen, Jackson

DUNOLLY IN: - OUT: Mcnamee, James, Chadwick, Joel, Burn, Craig, Lierich, Kyle, Mc Namee, Daniel, Motlop Shannon, Ahmat Robbie, Sanders Jeremy

HARCOURT IN: Archer, Jarred, Daffy, Joshua, Harris, Jarrod, Leech, Jhi, Wootton, Matthew OUT: Mcmurtrie, Jeffrey, Quinn, Nickolas, Smith, Joel, Huntly, Jake, Cassidy, Chris, Smith, Daniel, Fry, Corey, Folwell, Mark

MALDON IN: Fowler, Jack, Maw, Jordan, Burchell Wayne OUT: Campbell, Harrison, Burzacott, Aaron, Cummins, Patrick

ROVERS IN: Elliott, Jamie, Halliday, Tony, Hughes, Andrew, Mensfeld, James, Thomson, Jake, Sellars Scott OUT: Hedger, Brendon, Bandy, Cohen, Fary, Samuel, Hooper, Jayden, Hooper, Shaun, O'Shea, Ryan, Potter, Henry, Keating, Calvin, Monk, Trent, Monk, Brett, Raats, Adrian, Stephens, Adam

NEWSTEAD IN: Austerberry, Ryan, Guthrie, Jay, Minogue, Jarrod OUT: Webster Sean, Ford Lachlan

ROYAL PARK IN: Gorman, Jarrod, Raats, Adrian, Stephens, Adam, Thomas, Dale

TALBOT IN: Avery, Nicholas, Bux, Jorde, Bux, Tyler, Clifton, Luke, Gilmour, Boe, Gilmour, Junior OUT: Lohmann, James, Mcredmond, Brandon, Whiteman, Mathew, Bradley, Bailey, Williamson, Clint, Watson, Dean

TRENTHAM IN: About 20 unknowns...

Some teams have been very active, other have lost a few - should be very interesting!!
Just in the Dunollys out where is Lock Liddicoat was told today he might head to Natte can you shed some light on that,$$$$ true or untrue, and is Sanders gone for sure he might still be playin

Natte have pitched an offer to horse. Dont think you'll see a clearance anytime soon/at all, but has a bit in it for the kid to think about. Haven't heard for a fact of Jezza actually signing at Carisbrook but it would be a miracle for him to don the eagles sweater in 2010. :mad:

make that 24 unknowns for trentham with 4 more clearances on the system today - they haven't seem to lpst anybody though????

Good times down spud country!! Which players are guaranteed a spot from last years seniors?
I watched the boys train tonight and there were 50 something players I couldnt believe it!!

I couldnt believe it but im guessing there would be 17s in that also. Ill be watching the intraclub match this saturday aswell as the pre season cup to get an idea on how they go.
50+ at training but the pies arn't that good down there are they? but still a good turn out even for a pie night.

think it will be good to see how far Bushy can push Maryborough tonight in the praccy match at Hedges. If Maryborough are fair dinkum this year, one would think that anything under a 15 goal win wouldn't be good enough. Hope we can give em some competition though, I know the boys are looking forward to taking on the better opposition