• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

I hear that rovers stayed with them till the last qtr then run out off leg and that D clark didn't play
and at talbot how many times do you get a drew in both res and seniors martin must be close to the best play in the league after the way he played to day and with tim bright in the N bond talbot looked good and the young kid that kicked the goal in the last min for talbot is he clarkys brother?
he lookeds ok

Richie Clark is David Clarks brother. First year out of under 17s and has played some good footy this year.

Two great games of footy on Saturday at Talbot with a big crowd there to watch. Country footy is alive and well!

I hear that rovers stayed with them till the last qtr then run out off leg and that D clark didn't play
and at talbot how many times do you get a drew in both res and seniors martin must be close to the best play in the league after the way he played to day and with tim bright in the N bond talbot looked good and the young kid that kicked the goal in the last min for talbot is he clarkys brother?
he lookeds ok

Thats a massive statement to throw out, Best in the league, I don't think i would go that far!

Well mate i think that Martin hade a slow start to the year but
IMA his hardness at the ball work rate and skill i would like to know who
in our league would cut him out off a game IMA he had the better off Harris on saturday

Well mate i think that Martin hade a slow start to the year but
IMA his hardness at the ball work rate and skill i would like know how
in our league would take cut out off a game IMA he had the better off Harris on saturday

i totally agree..he would definately be in the top 3...his workrate and leadership is simply outstanding..

Richie Clark is David Clarks brother. First year out of under 17s and has played some good footy this year.

Two great games of footy on Saturday at Talbot with a big crowd there to watch. Country footy is alive and well!
Thanks mate watched him play at Trentham and he looked good
and i thought he went ok against brook who are the bench mark team
from my side off the fence bad luck that saturday was the only time the sides will meet before finals.
lets hope that he stays and don't finish up at rovers too

agree with mod rich and others amazing scenario to have draws in both ones and the magoos cant have happened that many times b4 but having sed that bound to be plenty of smartees who can post chapter and verse about that very matter
:)on the prickles martin issue i would agree with those trumpetng his skills and abilities cant be too many others in mcdfl ranks with similar skills, let alone better ones:thumbsu:

I heard along the grapevine that the Sunday grand final was voted in last night for this year so it doesn't clash with other leagues. In my opinion it is not a bad idea and shows some great forward thinking from the league and Saxon House.

Disclaimer
Any views or information posted by Johnny Drama should only be read as hearsay and should not be taken as fact. Any further use of this information is at the users risk. In no event shall Johnny Drama be held liable for damages whatsoever arising out of or in connection with the use or spread of this information.

I heard along the grapevine that the Sunday grand final was voted in last night for this year so it doesn't clash with other leagues. In my opinion it is not a bad idea and shows some great forward thinking from the league and Saxon House.

Disclaimer
Any views or information posted by Johnny Drama should only be read as hearsay and should not be taken as fact. Any further use of this information is at the users risk. In no event shall Johnny Drama be held liable for damages whatsoever arising out of or in connection with the use or spread of this information.

Disappointing from a players point of view if that's the case. Players dont like Sunday footy and makes it difficult for players to celebrate and commiserate as not everyone can get Monday off work. It was only a clash with Bendigo and Ballarat leagues which I think hardly effects our crowd to be honest.

My opinion is that the league just didn't want two grand finals that they administer on the same day as it was too hard for them. I'd be surprised if the clubs voted this in..... not many players would have been "for" it IMO and it's the players that should have been asked. Talbot voted No as far as I know.

Disappointing from a players point of view if that's the case. Players dont like Sunday footy and makes it difficult for players to celebrate and commiserate as not everyone can get Monday off work. It was only a clash with Bendigo and Ballarat leagues which I think hardly effects our crowd to be honest.

My opinion is that the league just didn't want two grand finals that they administer on the same day as it was too hard for them. I'd be surprised if the clubs voted this in..... not many players would have been "for" it IMO and it's the players that should have been asked. Talbot voted No as far as I know.

It will be an interesting one if true. I repeat this is only down the line information but I was told by a netball coach in the MCDFL and she advised me that this vote happened last night and the Sunday game won the vote. I'm sure we will all know a little more when we turn up to our respective training sessions tonight.

I could see the frustration from a players/coachin point of view. Training would have to be changed and routines broken. All we have to do is give it a go and see whether it works. Who knows? It could be a great move.

Word has it that Bendigo is also running their GF on the Sunday after the AFL Grand Final.

Disclaimer

Word has it that Bendigo is also running their GF on the Sunday after the AFL Grand Final.

yes this isnt the first time bendigo have had sunday GF tho, works well for them

So why change the MCDFL Grand Final if it doesn't clash with anything???Surely people will come to a Saturday Footy game before a Sunday footy game.

I think it would clash with Bendigo finals that are played on a Saturday not the grand final. LPFL, CHFL and BFL grand finals are all spaced 1 week apart and gate takings are massive. I imagine the premise is that some of these supporters would make the trip over. Plenty of leagues do it with great success so it's worth a shot.

Disclaimer

I think it would clash with Bendigo finals that are played on a Saturday not the grand final. LPFL, CHFL and BFL grand finals are all spaced 1 week apart and gate takings are massive. I imagine the premise is that some of these supporters would make the trip over. Plenty of leagues do it with great success so it's worth a shot.

Disclaimer
I thing that you have it in one there JD its all about the gate
not the players that have to put on the game if the league
are after more dallors then y not try more friday night games
and leave the GF were it belongs

The following is a press release from the MCDFNL regarding the Sunday Grand Final..

At a meeting of league Delegates last night, the Maryborough Castlemaine DFNL has elected to trial a Sunday Grand Final for 2008.

As a result, the 2008 MCDFNL Grand Final will now be held on SUNDAY 21st September.

The advantage of a Sunday Grand Final will mean that the MCDFNL Grand Final will no longer clash with many of the other VCFL Grand Finals scheduled for the Saturday - the Hampden FL, Ballarat FL, Bendigo FL, Wimmera FL, Geelong FL Grand Finals, etc.

This will allow local football followers who wish to attend these major league Grand Finals on the Saturday to do so without having to “make a choice” between Grand Finals, and then see the league hold a “stand alone” Grand Final the following day.

Under this proposal the league would not be sharing the “football spotlight” on the Sunday with any other leagues, and the focus of footy followers in the region is purely on the MCDFNL and we would hope to attract football followers from around the region. The advantage of an increased crowd and gate will see any additional revenue from the gate shared amongst the member clubs of the MCDFNL thereby easing the burden on volunteers to raise such funds in 2009.

IMO- Great to see some forward thinking. The players will still get their day off on the Monday King, they always do! And the beer will still taste the same on a Sunday as it does on a Saturday!

Disclaimer

I play at a club out of the finals race so a Sunday GF makes little difference to me this year ha ha. As a supporter of the league I reckon the idea is worth a try with the proviso that if there isn't a dramatic increase in the crowd and the gate in the next couple of years then we ought to seriously consider rescheduling back to the Saturday to look after the leauges own players and supporters interests eg work(Monday) and family . As I stated earlier it is worth a try IMO but it remains to be seen how many supporters who have a big day at a VCFL Sat GF will then front up again on the Sunday. If it's a marked increase then the idea will be proven to be a winner.

This idea is an absolute joke to be honest, i know for one that our club was 100% against it, the players want nothing to do with it. The sad thing is that most of the clubs that will not even participate in the finals got to vote on it and all voted for the sunday final. Why not let the top 6 teams vote that will be involved.

Yes it may bring in a couple of extra people but i believe they would only come from the bendigo area and not the ballarat, who would really want to travel hungover for sunday football anyway. Just becuase our league may be off a lower standard to the others does not mean we should have to suffer and get shafted to suit them. The supporters that follow this league are just as passionate as those from others league why make them sufer. I believe that this should have been voted on by the players and not the delegates who i have been informed did not all follow the decision of there players anyway, if they even did get a say on the matter.

SUNDAY GRAND FINAL = :thumbsdown:

This idea is an absolute joke to be honest, i know for one that our club was 100% against it, the players want nothing to do with it. The sad thing is that most of the clubs that will not even participate in the finals got to vote on it and all voted for the sunday final. Why not let the top 6 teams vote that will be involved.

Yes it may bring in a couple of extra people but i believe they would only come from the bendigo area and not the ballarat, who would really want to travel hungover for sunday football anyway. Just becuase our league may be off a lower standard to the others does not mean we should have to suffer and get shafted to suit them. The supporters that follow this league are just as passionate as those from others league why make them sufer. I believe that this should have been voted on by the players and not the delegates who i have been informed did not all follow the decision of there players anyway, if they even did get a say on the matter.

Really i think there is a big fuss over this for nothing!! If any thing it gives players 1 more day to be right for the granny and give them a chance to play on a bigger stage! And really if i was playing in the granny the last thing i would care about would be the fact that its a sunday...some people never get the chance to even get to play in a granny at all!! Kick up all the fuss you want but really this is only as big an issue as people want to make it and is going to have no negative effect on any team!! The only possible way it could have an effect on the outcome is if a club lets it!!:thumbsu:

This will allow local football followers who wish to attend these major league Grand Finals on the Saturday to do so without having to “make a choice” between Grand Finals, and then see the league hold a “stand alone” Grand Final the following day.
I fully endorse the idea as a trial. I, like many who did not participate in the MCDFL GF last year, had the choice between the Ballarat Football League GF and the MCDFL. I'll always choose the local one as I imagine the Ballarat residents would. There is merit behind the idea and other leagues have gone with the Sunday GF for great results. Give it a go and if it doesn't work, go back to the Saturday. Thinking outside the square can be a great thing on occassions.

Really i think there is a big fuss over this for nothing!! If any thing it gives players 1 more day to be right for the granny and give them a chance to play on a bigger stage! And really if i was playing in the granny the last thing i would care about would be the fact that its a sunday...some people never get the chance to even get to play in a granny at all!! Kick up all the fuss you want but really this is only as big an issue as people want to make it and is going to have no negative effect on any team!! The only possible way it could have an effect on the outcome is if a club lets it!!:thumbsu:

Well it is the players who make up the club, without them there is no club. The players are the ones putting on the show so let them have there say.... I would hate to see players and supporters unable to fully enjoy the grand final festivities because they are obligated to attend work on monday, not all people have the luxury of calling in sick.

Fair enough you can trial it but i doubt it will prove a massive difference.

Well it is the players who make up the club, without them there is no club. The players are the ones putting on the show so let them have there say.... I would hate to see players and supporters unable to fully enjoy the grand final festivities because they are obligated to attend work on monday, not all people have the luxury of calling in sick.

Fair enough you can trial it but i doubt it will prove a massive difference.

You are probably right from a players perspective Sherman. Plenty of clubs have functions at their clubrooms after the Grand final and the money raised over the bar is a good start to the next year. Sunday nights are not going to do that any favours. It will get more people through the gate. I am sure of it.

I don’t know why you are so upset about it Sherman. You won’t be playing in it, so don’t worry about it.:)

when i was playing footy for rovers saturdays were for footy and sundays were for drinking in the park,
father ryan would set the alter and one by one the players and fans would turn up for sunday brekky in the park and then lunch if you felt like it.
pubs didnt open sundays back then in vic.

it was great

then i moved to WA and all country footy here is played on sunday then a piss up after the game

i got used to it but didnt enjoy working on the monday,if i turned up at all that is.

nowdays there are so many other things to do on saturdays,like work even that makes playing on sundays make sense.