• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Any info on this Sam Noble? His last 3 weeks for Creek have been 9,6 and 10 goals. 10 from 11 in a losing team is a massive effort.

Someone said that he works on the railroads. Not sure that he will be playing too many more games for them. Certainly a talent. Big fella, covered in tattoos and loves the physical stuff. Takes a nice grab and rarely misses his set shots. Hopefully Creek can hang on to him.

Sammy Noble is just a young guy (early 20's), played a bit of footy in the Eastern Football League.

Good bloke, just lets his emotions get the best of him on the field and has a tendancy to get sent off a lot, but when he is on his game could match it with the best forwards in MCDFL without any trouble...

Sammy Noble is just a young guy (early 20's), played a bit of footy in the Eastern Football League.

Good bloke, just lets his emotions get the best of him on the field and has a tendancy to get sent off a lot, but when he is on his game could match it with the best forwards in MCDFL without any trouble...

I'd agree with that as he did manage to get away with throwing about 4 haymakers on the weekend when he should have been sent off...he def showed some talent though and certainly had the kicking boots on, was kicking them from everywhere.

Trenthams Rory Healy came back from his broken ankle on the weekend booting 4 goals playing in the centre in the teams loss to marybourough rovers. good to see him back and good to see trentham gain some strength.

Do you reckon that loss has ended Trentham's season?

I don't think that they have much hope now rovers are the only
team out side the 5 that can get in but don't know who out of
harcout, maldon, and talbot is going to lose there spot on form
maybe talbot on there first half on saturday :(

I don't think that they have much hope now rovers are the only
team out side the 5 that can get in but don't know who out of
harcout, maldon, and talbot is going to lose there spot on form
maybe talbot on there first half on saturday :(
Was it talbot just playing bad footy or was creek showing some good form???

Talbot was a man down with M bond being off but i don't think that
they had the wright mind set in the first half but after a spray
from the coach did play some good footy in the second half and should
off won by more but for some bad kicking for goal
But i remember last year loses to bushy and rovers cost they when the
final came around

Was having a look at the draw and the match between talbot and rovers will be basically a final to see who finishes 5th imo. Both teams have similiar draws and it will come down to this match. Interesting one...
Well mate what you say may well be true but can talbot beat maldon
this weekend don't forget they play them at talbot and they do
play so good footy at home:confused:

Agree the Rovers game is a must win for both clubs but I believe we are more than capable of upsetting a few teams above us in the run home as well.

I dont wanna shoot rovers down too much cos i'm sure they'll beat us comfortably this week, but if they dont make the finals i think it will be a hard pill for them to swallow with the apparent big $$$ they threw around this year. and especially after a lot of them were trapping off about noone being able to get near em after preseason. even recruiting to win a juniors flag is gonna come to nothing, cos really, carisbrook are gonna be there year in year out with their setup. dunno if anyone agrees with any of that, but i think this year was a year rovers were making a serious tilt at the flag and they're gonna be walking away with their tails between their legs, sadly!

They're not the first team to do it and they wont be the last. That's football.

If they have payed out big $$$ for the plays that they got this year then
im with you i have only seen rovers play 3 games but clarky is the only one that putts his hand up (bad luck he left talbot) they should have spent $$$ on a forward?
anyway if not this year then there is always next year as they say :confused:

RICH, shermy, u. johnnie and guys .... how many players will head back to strathfieldsaye from ur league should the new club gain a berth in the bendy f. l. :confused:
i have a feeling that the numbers mightnt be 2 great but there could be an 'x' factor with some youngr guys wanting to have a crack at major league footie

RICH, shermy, u. johnnie and guys .... how many players will head back to strathfieldsaye from ur league should the new club gain a berth in the bendy f. l. :confused:
i have a feeling that the numbers mightnt be 2 great but there could be an 'x' factor with some youngr guys wanting to have a crack at major league footie

I've got a feeling that you may be suprised by the amount of players leaving this league and making strathfieldsaye there new side!!! I believe about half a dozen from Maldon at least should be moving on!:cool:

i doubt many from the maryborough area would go there. if they were gonna play BFL they'd go to Burra. maybe some from Harcourt or Maldon would go, but i don't really thing Strath would attract many from here.

Yeah not many if any from the Maryborough area although maybe avoca?? But yeah its Maldon where most will be coming from

just a short note to the esteemed Maryborough Advertiser sports department. Do you actually speak to anyone from any clubs or is it a case of tipping the same clubs week in week out year after year after year. I write this because despite the fact that Dunolly comprehensively flogged C Creek the first round and again today the M.A tipped Creek to win. Whoever is the chimpanzee with a cigar who sits in the M.A office punching out the same stories involving the same players again and again you are cordially invited to the DFC to discuss journalism,football and eveything in between. Sure, Dunolly will not play finals this year however they have improved +++++ and IMHO deserve a little more respect. The DFC has increased their effort football wise immensley and I only hope the M.A. can do the same with their sports journalism. I dont know if any other clubs feel the same but the level of reporting on the MCDFL must improve. C'mon M.A. it's not hard to get a coaches mobile no. and give them a call once a week.

Fact: Recent form

Dunolly lost Round 11 to Brook by over 10 goals.
Dunolly lost Round 9 to Talbot by 25 goals.

Creek lost Round 11 to Talbot by 10 goals but pushed them till half time.
Creek Def R/Park in Round 10 by 4 goals.

Recent form suggested that Creek were travelling better than Dunolly, especially since the appointment of their new coach. This would indicate that Creek were a chance to topple Dunolly on both clubs recent form.
So that form would suggest that the bloke was right to tip Creek.

But Honestly! Who really cares what team some scribe tips. It is just an opinion and that opinion is not always going to be the same as everyone else’s.

With regards to the chimpanzee sitting in the M.A office. This has already been discussed in previous posts (P286) and it was pointed out that it is not a qualified journo doing the job. It is a volunteer helping out the MCDFNL and that he is more than willing to hand over at any time. Give Rod Ward a ring Bluey and put your hand up. Perhaps you could do a report on Dunolly’s game each week and forward it to the league??:)

I know this issue has been discussed before and that it is also a rather boring one bucko. I was just frustrated that despite improvements at DFC the reporting seems to have them in the same basket as previous years. Prehaps we do all need to get more involved to improve the accurate coverage of the league. Over and out.

Agreed Bluey! Perhaps each club could forward an info sheet to the league on a weekly basis re the goings on at their club? then this could obviously go a long way to a more accurate coverage.

Will discuss this at the club this week. Looks like Maldon were too strong at home for Talbot. Any match reports? Makes for a great clash Talbot V Rovers next round. Does 2 pts separate these two teams or am I still confused this Sunday morning ?