• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Agreed Bluey! Perhaps each club could forward an info sheet to the league on a weekly basis re the goings on at their club? then this could obviously go a long way to a more accurate coverage.

It's like most things in country footy. It relies on volunteers and it's hard to knock those doing the work. Perhaps this could be a league initiative and I'm sure most coaches could do a Shane Fisher style "Coaches comments" that we see in every Tuesday's paper. Less than 100 words and it would go a long way.

I'll use the LPFL, CHFL, & BFL for an example. The Courier used to have segments on the games in both Friday and Saturday's papers. I used to buy both. Now they only have it in the Friday paper, I only buy that one. I think the Addy would benefit from a better coverage of the MCDFL as it should create more sales.

Dunolly leapt out of the blocks yesterday kicking 8 goals to 2 in the opening term. They managed another 13 in the final 3 quarters although creek lifted somewhat in the 2nd half. Stiles and Perry were good focal points up forward for the eagles while T Ronke was a winner at full back. Brady, Bell and Bilton all linked up well throughout the day and J Thompson did some good tough in and under work. A couple of selfish incidents in the second half where a couple of eagles chose to take on creek players rather than give to a better option cost Dunolly probably kicking more goals. Creek's midfielders started to fire more after half time and they got it to Noble who did manage a few classy goals. This fella has a nice kicking action and a solid build however he was noted to be abusing some of his team mates and coach on a few occasions. If he can get this out of his game and concentrate fully IMO would be a 40% better player.

Dunolly leapt out of the blocks yesterday kicking 8 goals to 2 in the opening term. They managed another 13 in the final 3 quarters although creek lifted somewhat in the 2nd half. Stiles and Perry were good focal points up forward for the eagles while T Ronke was a winner at full back. Brady, Bell and Bilton all linked up well throughout the day and J Thompson did some good tough in and under work. A couple of selfish incidents in the second half where a couple of eagles chose to take on creek players rather than give to a better option cost Dunolly probably kicking more goals.

Lets not forget C. Burns putting his hand up once again and bagging 5 goals for the victors. Solid effort i thought... Agree with comments bluey49 about the likes of bilton putting his snout over the prune and consistently moving the footy quickly into the forwards.

Things seem to be going in the right direction for the DFC. Lets hope the year can get finished off in good fashion from everyone involved and with a view to improve again next year.

With a big list of recruits lined up for '09 and some purpose in the phone calls, DFC should realistically look to orcastrate a finals side by being able to release the runner and deliver via foot or hand to many leading options. Razza Dazza

Lets not forget C. Burns putting his hand up once again and bagging 5 goals for the victors. Solid effort i thought... Agree with comments bluey49 about the likes of bilton putting his snout over the prune and consistently moving the footy quickly into the forwards.

Things seem to be going in the right direction for the DFC. Lets hope the year can get finished off in good fashion from everyone involved and with a view to improve again next year.

With a big list of recruits lined up for '09 and some purpose in the phone calls, DFC should realistically look to orcastrate a finals side by being able to release the runner and deliver via foot or hand to many leading options. Razza Dazza

Garbage post Bucket. I think the real C. Burn will be handing out a few fines at training this week.

Any thoughts on 5th & 6th spot?

Does it all hinge on this weekends game? And could Harcourt be brought into the 6th place mix?

Talbot's run home
Rovers
Avoca
Newstead
@ Harcourt
Trentham
@ Royal Park
Bye
Dunolly

Plenty of home games thanks to a unsuitable ground earlier in the season. 3 teams above them, 4 below them and the bye.

Rovers run home
@ Talbot
Dunolly
@ Brook
Creek
@ Maldon
Bye
Avoca
@Newstead

3 home, 3 away, and the bye.

I think Talbot have the more favourable run home but a win for Rovers this weekend would give them some breathing room in the 5.

Yes this weekends game between Talbot & rovers is looking like
an elimination final a win to rovers would give them a 2 games
on talbot which would be very hard to get back and if talbot can get over the line then they have the better drew
but i am hearing that rovers are back to full strength now but are still
a little weak across half forword
And talbot has been playing some very patch footy since there game
with brook IMO. I think that they were very lucky to only lose to maldon
by 6 gaol it looked like malden had another gear
But at home maybe Talbot lets hope that we get some rain this week
talbots ground is getting very hard :cool:

G'day Guys
Although I'm not associated with any MCDFL Club I take an interest in the Castlemaine District Clubs and how they are travelling.

I read on here about info on Sam Noble form C/Creek. Well put it this way. He is in a different world. Also very much like that on the Cricket Field. Went and watched the Creek play a game an elthough he can play footy he undoes all heis good work by opening his mouth far too often. Whisper is he was going into Castlemaine but I'm fairly sure they wouldnt tolerate that in their.

About Castlemaine, been a supporter of them have any of you Maryborough boys got any latest on the Castlemaine vs Maryborough incident the other week involving James O'Brien and Matthew Brown. Personally I saw and thought it was a very disturbing incident and back maryborough and their appeal. Spoke to a couple of the Maine Players and they are certainly concerned about it. Just like to hear any news from Maryborough.

Just a quick one on the MCDFL. I think Maldon will win the flag. They have some quality players and you cannot go past Major League Football experience such as Lachie Brown, the Burchells which I think will hold them in good stead. Sounds like anyone in the top 4 can beat one another which makes it an exciting time for the MCDFL. cheere

Ok i admit maybe i know who started this joke but obviously someone has taken this a little too far. Hopefully it goes away.

On the football side of things i think talbot will slot into the top 5 regardless of this weeks result unless something out of the ordinary happens later on in the season, example: Rovers defeating Carisbrook.. Rovers must face brook and maldon again which has resulted in losses earlier in the year, and talbot dont.

Interesting to see young gun Lachlan Liddicoat from Dunolly go accross to Rokewood before the end of June. Would have thought he was one young bloke they would want to retain. Also Maldon looked to have recruited a couple of players from the BFL to stengthen their already impressive list. Young Daniel Wilson hasn't stuck it out with Rover for long either looking to move to Dunolly. Some very interesting moves prior to the end of June!!

now that weve hit july 2nd guys fill the rest of us forumers in on the latest mcdfl signing
maybe no one of the standings of willo williams at k. flat or gil mcadam at pyramid hill .... but did any of the clubs bring a late 1 or 2 players in2 the fold ??

Interesting to see young gun Lachlan Liddicoat from Dunolly go accross to Rokewood before the end of June. Would have thought he was one young bloke they would want to retain. Also Maldon looked to have recruited a couple of players from the BFL to stengthen their already impressive list. Young Daniel Wilson hasn't stuck it out with Rover for long either looking to move to Dunolly. Some very interesting moves prior to the end of June!!

well with the rokewood coach being the brother of the dunolly coach, i can assume that there'll be a deal somewhere with that. i mean lachy's is a great player and probably be better for playing in a top side. although i am sure dmac would still love to have him running around, makes a big difference to their side. good luck to him!

The deal is that Lachy has played less than game of footy this year. An opportunity came up for him to go to a club that will play finals and he could go there and feel that 2008 has not been a total loss for him. He's got a great future and needs to be under the Rebels noses. Dunolly v Trentham, Bushy and Talbot will hardly do that for him. Where going to Rokewood could possibly see him up on Austar arena if they have a good enough finals series. He'll be back at Dunolly in the near future and will be better for the experience.

ok who ever this goose is that likes 2 call themselves bucket in here, u r a real goose n if u r associated with the dunollyfc u will b getting a nasty fine 2 go towards their footy trip. i agree with ur comments johnny ppl will b getting fines concerning this site. bluey49 i couldnt agree more with ur words about the media coverage in the local papers. the amount of coverage n the quality of it has dropped quite considerablythis season. rod ward needs to start talking to a few more ppl within this league instead of reading stuff from match reports n getting his info from there

my tips for 2moro .... talbot to beat rovrs (give The Mod's team one last chance); brook comfortably over c creek; Maldon ovr dunoly at deledio park; barbr pole avoca boys over bushy; and newstead on basis of last round form vs. harcourt to get over trentham.

5th spot is looking like it may go down to the wire for Rovers and Talbot judging on their runs home. Massive game today to state the obvious. Are both sides at full strength? Where will this game be won or lost? Without having any inside word I reckon Talbot .... just. If Talbot can't get over the line today they may well rue just getting the 2 pts against Carisbrook. Not that the draw wasn't a good effort for them.

What happened at Dunolly yesterday Bluey? Got a match report?:)

Dunolly started real well actually and had a 3 goal lead during the 1st quarter. Maldon were too tall overall to match up on and their midfield dominated although Hicks was winning alot of his own footy for the Eagles. The Dons were delivering well to Lea and he didn't let them down. Dunolly FB T Ronke going down with a dislocated kneecap in the 2nd didn't help the Eagles cause. In fact Dunolly had no bench from early in the 3rd quarter due to injuries. Maldon were too good on Saturday Snippers and the last quarter blow-out was dissapointing for the Eagles however the coaching staff were very limited in what they could do to stem the flow. Hats off to Maldon - a very classy side. Best _ Maldon Carroll Stewart Lea. Dunolly Hicks T Collins M Gale

Great summary Bluey 49 . Having watched a number of Dunolly matches this year, I would have to say that Maldon are a very impressive unit, they have talented talls, a good defence and a very strong mid field. In fact they looked a far bit stronger than when Dunolly played them in Round 1 and Lachy Brown didn't play on Saturday. On Dunolly clearly they have improved. However for the first time in years, there are 6 quality top sides fighting for 5 spots and the likes of Trentham, Newstead and Dunolly have improved but the top 6 have improved more. The teams that finish fourth and fifth will still think they have a legitimate chance to win the GF.

Next week Carisbrook v Maldon will give a few pointers to the finals and Dunolly just has to keep taking up the challenge to the better sides.

Great summary Bluey 49 . Having watched a number of Dunolly matches this year, I would have to say that Maldon are a very impressive unit, they have talented talls, a good defence and a very strong mid field. In fact they looked a far bit stronger than when Dunolly played them in Round 1 and Lachy Brown didn't play on Saturday. On Dunolly clearly they have improved. However for the first time in years, there are 6 quality top sides fighting for 5 spots and the likes of Trentham, Newstead and Dunolly have improved but the top 6 have improved more. The teams that finish fourth and fifth will still think they have a legitimate chance to win the GF.

Next week Carisbrook v Maldon will give a few pointers to the finals and Dunolly just has to keep taking up the challenge to the better sides.

I agree and I would love to see Crank give some odds on the flag because there would be a fair bit of interest in all the top 5. One would say Rovers finals hopes are now looking slim.

Maldon have probably got the best talls and their on ballers are very hard to stop. It will be an interesting September.

Thanks Bluey.
Heard that Craig Burn was also injured? Any truth to that?

Also hear on the grapevine that a Talbot Player may be under investigation for an incident on the weekend against Rovers that saw Mark “Freak” Allen leave the field with a fractured cheekbone. Only a rumour, but came from a good source.

Thanks Bluey.

Also hear on the grapevine that a Talbot Player may be under investigation for an incident on the weekend against Rovers that saw Mark “Freak” Allen leave the field with a fractured cheekbone. Only a rumour, but came from a good source.

Craig sustained a slight knock and he has been in best & fairest winning form, so I would expect him to front up and play like he has all year and kick a bag for the Eagles.

All year we had reports on this site on how good Trentham and Dunolly were this year and yet on Sat Dunolly got flogged by a Maldon side missing 6 top line players and Trentham were insipid against Newstead despite a rave review in the record pointing to a comfortable victory. Signs are not great for rest of season for either of these clubs and more time should be spent discussing final sides and the other improvers.
Talbot too me will fill 5th spot comfortably and will cause some anxt in finals.

All year we had reports on this site on how good Trentham and Dunolly were this year and yet on Sat Dunolly got flogged by a Maldon side missing 6 top line players and Trentham were insipid against Newstead despite a rave review in the record pointing to a comfortable victory. Signs are not great for rest of season for either of these clubs and more time should be spent discussing final sides and the other improvers.
Talbot too me will fill 5th spot comfortably and will cause some anxt in finals.

Nobody has talked Dunolly up at any stage this year except when they played Creek and Royal Park which are games they won. No talk of finals, knocking top teams off or anything. I think you're a little off your mark for that comment.

A few have said they deserve more respect like Bluey49 and another couple but they are hardly touting the Eagles as world beaters.

You'll find Dunolly has been tipped once in the Addy this year and have had 4 wins. Absolutely nothing to write home about by most teams standards but it is as many wins as they have had in the last 4 years. The signs are fine for Dunolly. They play 2 teams they beat earlier in the year and 3 teams in the top 5 but miss out on Carisbrook for a second time. Personally I think to come out of this year 5-6 wins 12 losses would be seen as some progress. If things keep progressing, next year it might be 8-10 wins which could see a sneak into the 5. It's a long road for Dunolly and nobody is making any outrageous claims. You'll find people were talking Trentham as a possible finals team though.

If you want to talk improvers, then lets do it. Carisbrook, Maldon, Dunolly & Trentham. Everyone else has either maintained or dropped on ladder position.

Thanks Bluey.

From my vantage point it looked like Allan banged his head on the hard Talbot surface causing his cheekbone to fracture. I was a long way away tho.....