Newstead $5
Carisbrook $8
Rovers $11
Talbot $21
Avoca, Maldon $31
Cambells Creek, Dunolly $101
Trentham $501

il have $50 on Trentham cranksta...
quality recruits and the hopes of a nation behind them, the feel good story of the year :thumbsu:

Interesting for me to see the odds chart for this year.
the league sure has changed a bit since i was there.
i played with rovers in 73 and 74 under coach kirk but have been in WA ever since and lost contact with the league decades ago.
primrose,chewton,royal park and a team from up near bendigo that i cant recall the name of(was it kangaroo flat?) seem to have gone and new teams taken their spots.
is the league stronger for those changes?

Interesting for me to see the odds chart for this year.
the league sure has changed a bit since i was there.
i played with rovers in 73 and 74 under coach kirk but have been in WA ever since and lost contact with the league decades ago.
primrose,chewton,royal park and a team from up near bendigo that i cant recall the name of(was it kangaroo flat?) seem to have gone and new teams taken their spots.
is the league stronger for those changes?

Royal Park is still there mate they were just missed in those odds but they will be middle of the road. THere are 11 teams in the comp. League is better for it I think. More people involved and the league has a larger following perhaps now. Standard has been up and down for a few years now but was fairly solid last year.

The thing i remember most about the time i was there was the comaraderie between players and supporters.

Every sunday morning before the sun got up a bloke named father ryan would set up in the park with a few cartons of beer and set fire to the 44 gallon rubbish bins for warmth,and one by one the team and supporters would roll up for sunday morning beer and brekky ,used to get quite a roll up.

ive never encountered that sort of day after a game mateship in any other league ive been involved in.

of course that was over 30 yrs ago and todays game is so different,as are the laws.

but i must say it was a pleasure to be involved in

The thing i remember most about the time i was there was the comaraderie between players and supporters.

Every sunday morning before the sun got up a bloke named father ryan would set up in the park with a few cartons of beer and set fire to the 44 gallon rubbish bins for warmth,and one by one the team and supporters would roll up for sunday morning beer and brekky ,used to get quite a roll up.

ive never encountered that sort of day after a game mateship in any other league ive been involved in.

of course that was over 30 yrs ago and todays game is so different,as are the laws.

but i must say it was a pleasure to be involved in

Most teams I would say are still pretty tight with many loyal supporters. From Talbots perspective players and supporters are very tight! Good to hear from you Snappy Tom anyway, any chance you'll catch a game this year?

Guy on Central Murray board just said that Sellars to Nyah is signed, sealed and delivered!

Most teams I would say are still pretty tight with many loyal supporters. From Talbots perspective players and supporters are very tight! Good to hear from you Snappy Tom anyway, any chance you'll catch a game this year?

In my time at Harcourt alot of the boys and supporters would rock up to the waddingtons on a sunday with a couple of boxes and help cart 2 truckloads of wood.

its amazing the places ppl will go for money......but as they say money makes the world go round.

New job, new location and some cold hard cash to go with it. A paying footy career only lasts 10-15 years at best so why not make the most of it.

You're a long time retired and $200-300 (example only) for 2 hours of footy beats half of most people's weekly pay check in Australia.

New job, new location and some cold hard cash to go with it. A paying footy career only lasts 10-15 years at best so why not make the most of it.

You're a long time retired and $200-300 (example only) for 2 hours of footy beats half of most people's weekly pay check in Australia.

Be $300 easily I would think to make the move IMO.

Who do you follow just out of interest Thoroughbred?

Be $300 easily I would think to make the move IMO.

Who do you follow just out of interest Thoroughbred?

Well that is serious money when the average Australian earns around $500 for a 40 hour week. Making $300 for a non coaching role is good money.

I might just keep my allegance out of this thread for the time being. Within 60 minutes travel of Maryborough is the only clue I'll give.

Well that is serious money when the average Australian earns around $500 for a 40 hour week. Making $300 for a non coaching role is good money.

There would be a few in this league on that coin I would think plus there is a bit more money up the Murray way.

I might just keep my allegance out of this thread for the time being. Within 60 minutes travel of Maryborough is the only clue I'll give.

Fair enough too.

your right it is easy money.....and quite frankly when u way up the options it is hard to resist because there is no better feeling than being financially stable and a good paying footy gig definately helps, i mean he will prob make $450-500 dollars a week out of his job and lets say $300 on top of that which makes around $800 a week, thats some seriously good money right there. personally wouldnt be big on travellling 2-3 times a week but if located up there definately another plus

Heard a whisper it was around the 400 dollar mark.

Thoroughbred i'll guess ballarat way over bendigo just a guess though.

I'm thinking Ballarat too Crank.

$400 a game is very tough to say no to. That plus a job to move 2 hours away is not too bad at all.

Hopefully he plays well for Nyah and earns the cash, I'm sure he'll go alright.

Fom the Avoca FC website. Lets hope the continual changes at the Bulldogs slow down for a while.

Tony Bellenger appointed Avoca Coach.

The Avoca FNC is extremely pleased to announce the appointment of Tony Bellenger (pictured right) to the position of Senior Coach for the 2007 season.

Tony is a hard at it on-baller and comes to the club with a wealth of experience, having accumulated six Senior Grade Best & Fairest awards during his 13 year senior football career.

He first played senior football for Newbridge as a 15 year old and after progressing through the ranks with that club, he then moved to Inglewood as Assistant coach for three years.

He coached Dunolly for two years and then headed to Wandella in the Golden Rivers FL where he coached a Runners Up team. Last season Tony was Assistant Coach to Brent Dyer at Newbridge which finished third in the LVFL and he is now looking forward to the challenge of leading Avoca back into the finals.

The netball team will also be happy as Tony's wife Brooke will also be joining him and donning the netball skirt for the reigning premiers.

A formal meet the coach day will be held on Sunday January 21st commencing with a training run at 11pm. All club supporters and current and new players are invited to attend.

Guy on Central Murray board just said that Sellars to Nyah is signed, sealed and delivered!
Job he has got is something to do with selling Windows.
If he moves up, which by the sounds of thing's he is, it will be very interesting to see if he can break from the appron strings of his mother. Bigger $$$ than $400 "Sherman" I hear. His Ute is why he needs to head off, needs the coin to pay for it.

There would be a few in this league on that coin I would think plus there is a bit more money up the Murray way.

$300 is pretty small change for most decent clubs around the state which is a sad thing to say. In district style footy I would only pay that sort of money to proven higher standard footballers though.

What do you reckon the highest paid player gets in our league?