• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Sanders is a top player if sound could kick 80 plus goals no worries. I was talking to tatch the other day and he said that he still thinks Cass is a chance to play up forward for them. Apparently thomson doesn't rate him at maryborough.

I cannot see Cass playing for Brook at this stage of the year. Would take him half the season to get a clearance.

The MCDFL is known as a joke competition and it is largely due to the massive gap between the good and the bad teams. The more bad teams that leave the better the competition becomes and IMO that is a positive.

In your case i ask why aren't you playing at dunolly this year afterall it is a hell of a lot further from ballarat where your currently playing ;)

I just think there are to many clubs metaphoically drinking watered down cordial, its time to reduce the amount of cups and increse the quality of what everyone's drinking!

haha gee didnt know u knew so much about me!!

And yes it is a very weak comp...no offence to any one..and i can see your reasoning behind what u are sayin about gettin the weak teams out to raise the standard. but i guess all i'm trying to say is that its not such an easy thing for people who really love their club to simple let it fold..this is why clubs go on for so long struggling. :thumbsu:

Creek are gone make no mistake about that..... They will never reform IMO that is why its so sad..... But life goes on.

The more i think about it the more Harcourt must front up against Talbot this weekend.... Its the only fair thing to do. League must enforce it.

I think Talbot should just be happy with the points. If Harcourt front up they won't get any.

The MCDFL is known as a joke competition and it is largely due to the massive gap between the good and the bad teams. The more bad teams that leave the better the competition becomes and IMO that is a positive.

The MCDFL missed the boat with getting on board with the Ballarat Football League. It's not a strong enough comp like the CHFL. At the end of last season there were 3 teams that could well have folded and you don't have enough teams to let that happen.

I think the Lexton League should have merged with the MCDFL all those years back. Maybe with the exception of Marnoo.

Cassidy was playing two's at borough 4 or 5 years ago and from what i have seen he is no wine!

Sanders is the best player in the MCDFL and its a bit sad seeing him wasted playing out there. If Jamie Elliot could kick a 100 on one leg, Sanders if fit and keen would kick 125 + easily

Cass would walk into any side in the district league

I think Talbot should just be happy with the points. If Harcourt front up they won't get any.

there is no point denying that getting a give me 4 points against harcourt would def be a gift, but personally and in the opinion of alot of others around the club, we would much prefer to play and earn the points, it has been a long preseason and we just want to get out there and hit the ground running........obviously it will be a big ask but we feel it is prob the best time to get them, and will b a great first round hit out to find out where we are....if as u say harcourt are certainties it will not come easy to them..we will make them earn it.

I have heard this too. Ran into a few guys in Ballarat and the list of names is pretty impressive and would give finals a shake if they all came back. Jason and Mark Hutchins are two big names thrown around but a few of the others are just pipe dreams IMO and will never leave their current clubs.

yeah they may be pretty comitted to there current clubs but theres alot of ppl out there with a fair soft spot for dunolly and wouldnt suprise me if they came back for one last crack

I have heard this too. Ran into a few guys in Ballarat and the list of names is pretty impressive and would give finals a shake if they all came back. Jason and Mark Hutchins are two big names thrown around but a few of the others are just pipe dreams IMO and will never leave their current clubs.

Mark Hutchins would be an interesting recruit. Hasnt played for about 10 years( back when he had hair), and would say that years of carpet laying have taken a fair toll on the back and put paid to any comeback for the mighty eagles.

It doesn't look very promising that the Talbot V Harcourt game will go ahead this weekend. Harcourt is saying that it has players with prior commitments, registrations to complete and players to be cleared as per the previous time line.
Talbot is saying that the season has started and that Harcourt should have had an inkling that Creek could fall over and should have been ready to play.
The league has directed that the season start as per the revised draw and if the impasse can't be broken prior to Saturday the league will have to decide a course of action at its next meeting which is to be held in 2 weeks time.
One alternative would be to play the game on the long weekend - a scenario that Talbot aren't to keen on at this point of time.
If the game was held that weekend or even under lights on the Friday night of the long weekend it could be a blockbuster as both Talbot and Harcourt could be sitting at the top of the table at that time. Also it would be the only game of football being held in the district that weekend.
It could be a boost in the arm financially for the home club Talbot.
I couldn't imagine it would do the Carisbrook v Avoca gate any harm if the Talbot v Harcourt game doesn't eventuate this weekend as scheduled.
Other people's thoughts??

It doesn't look very promising that the Talbot V Harcourt game will go ahead this weekend. Harcourt is saying that it has players with prior commitments, registrations to complete and players to be cleared as per the previous time line.
Talbot is saying that the season has started and that Harcourt should have had an inkling that Creek could fall over and should have been ready to play.
The league has directed that the season start as per the revised draw and if the impasse can't be broken prior to Saturday the league will have to decide a course of action at its next meeting which is to be held in 2 weeks time.
One alternative would be to play the game on the long weekend - a scenario that Talbot aren't to keen on at this point of time.
If the game was held that weekend or even under lights on the Friday night of the long weekend it could be a blockbuster as both Talbot and Harcourt could be sitting at the top of the table at that time. Also it would be the only game of football being held in the district that weekend.
It could be a boost in the arm financially for the home club Talbot.
I couldn't imagine it would do the Carisbrook v Avoca gate any harm if the Talbot v Harcourt game doesn't eventuate this weekend as scheduled.
Other people's thoughts??

Thank you Wonker, great sense in your response.

Everyone is bagging Harcourt about this issue, but don't forget if it was your club in Harcourt's position?

I spoke to Max Martin yesterday and beleive a stand alone Sunday game at Princes Park on the long weekend would be perfect.

Castlemaine FC have the week off due to their Anzac clash, Maryborough play away on the Saturday. And the Bendigo Bombers play in Bendigo on the Monday. No Sunday games at all.

Through this method the gate would be a sharp increase for Talbot, both gate and catering. Also it would give the league an opening to contact the Fresh 895 to broadcast this particular match.

And I agree that both sides would be travelling pretty well when this game comes around, and it really could be a huge windfall for the league.

Alternatively - Harcourt turns up underdone and short of numbers to Talbot - the gate and catering is not as big because stuff all players and supporters will be there - and the match would not nearly be as good a spectacle as later in the year.

I don't think it matters who wins or takes 4 points if they play on Saturday or the Queens Birthday, because I think both sides will be well entrnched in finals football.

Thank you Wonker, great sense in your response.

Everyone is bagging Harcourt about this issue, but don't forget if it was your club in Harcourt's position?

I spoke to Max Martin yesterday and beleive a stand alone Sunday game at Princes Park on the long weekend would be perfect.

Castlemaine FC have the week off due to their Anzac clash, Maryborough play away on the Saturday. And the Bendigo Bombers play in Bendigo on the Monday. No Sunday games at all.

Through this method the gate would be a sharp increase for Talbot, both gate and catering. Also it would give the league an opening to contact the Fresh 895 to broadcast this particular match.

And I agree that both sides would be travelling pretty well when this game comes around, and it really could be a huge windfall for the league.

Alternatively - Harcourt turns up underdone and short of numbers to Talbot - the gate and catering is not as big because stuff all players and supporters will be there - and the match would not nearly be as good a spectacle as later in the year.

I don't think it matters who wins or takes 4 points if they play on Saturday or the Queens Birthday, because I think both sides will be well entrnched in finals football.

well as fair as i have been told, harcourt were given a weeks notice that they would have to play this weekend, harcourt have begged us to play on queens birthday, but we are not happy with that solution, as it is the only weekend we have off for the season now, and lots of ppl generally go away, which would put us in a similar position to them ATM, the league has enforced them to play and so has the vcfl, if the league does a back flip on this it will be very very disappointing. we have already had to wait long enough harcourt should be ready to go.

Carisbrook did well to finish third then with a few handy players and alot of strugglers.

Throw Newstead into 5th minimum.

Thats what i mean about the league rojer, it is a joke you blokes finished 3rd last year.

Butler rucking was a joke, tatchell is hopeless he spends more time getting rub downs and faking for free kicks then worrying about the footy. Sheep at full back too slow and not a senior footballer in a good side, Megs was too fat last year and could hardly get a kick, the list goes on and these guys are aparently some of your better players!

Having said that i will admit that you guys were light years in front of Royal Park they honestly were pathetic.

Originally Posted by KingRich
Get your facts straight Iron Beast. I think you will fine that the league has changed their quarter length in line with the AFL now.
:thumbsu: Good to see they are 'moving with the times' so to speak!

Thats what i mean about the league rojer, it is a joke you blokes finished 3rd last year.

Butler rucking was a joke, tatchell is hopeless he spends more time getting rub downs and faking for free kicks then worrying about the footy. Sheep at full back too slow and not a senior footballer in a good side,Megs was too fat last year and could hardly get a kick, the list goes on and these guys are aparently some of your better players!

Having said that i will admit that you guys were light years in front of Royal Park they honestly were pathetic.

wow beastie boy, tell us what you really think! you've certainly pulled no punches, u'd wana b a pretty super footballer the way you've gone out and bagged everyone else for having a go!! either way, you have no credibility for your lack of research and ill-informed statements on this thread, everything you say is derogatory to someone else, get off your high horse

That game was possibly the worst example of district league footy I have ever seen. (Minus Dunolly, Trentham and Creek's performances). For a final it was a little embarrassing.

As for the 3 players singled out. Tatchell has games where he is on, but playing for frees seems to have crept into his game. Megs has lost around 20kg since last season so fat might have been a fair call. From memory though, it was Megs rucking for the most part.

There probably is a better way of putting it though than what Iron beast did.

Originally Posted by KingRich
Get your facts straight Iron Beast. I think you will fine that the league has changed their quarter length in line with the AFL now.
:thumbsu: Good to see they are 'moving with the times' so to speak!

My comments have been correct to date, the 25 mins + time on has always occured in the past and has apparently only just been changed so hats off to the guys who made that call. It was stupid having the extra long quarters as it only aided teams to kick bigger scores and win by bigger margins. Correct me if i am wrong but i would rather see close games of footy rather then blow outs. One round last year i noted the closest margin in the MCDFL was approximately 10 goals... Thats a flogging and it was the closest, just portrays a poor image on the league.

To be honest my footballing days have long past me by but i hate the way the leagues are all going at the moment. There is too much money and too many people that think they are better then they are (that goes for teams too).

If anyone can tell me Royal Park were honestly a good side last year you have no concept of what the game is about. They were Slow, poorly skilled, had no structure and no one even had a crack. PATHETIC SIDE!

My comments on Carisbrook players were fairly accurate i would think.
Butler is too old to play in the Ruck (Too physically demanding)
Megs was too Fat (Lost 20 odd Kg's and is now back on track)
Tatchell is skilled but is slow, soft and a whining sook (no cure)
Shamus is too heavy, poor skills and desire is his only key feature (needs to get fit)

On the other side of the coin i am happy to admit.
Sanders is a champion player, has the works!
Luke Robinson goes well
Nathan Wright has ability and is creative
Nick McKinely is a very serviceable player
Young centerman will be a very good player in a year a two

Not too sure on who else is in the side but if anyone feels the need to list them i will elaborate on there pro's and con's in a fair manner as above.

The truth is the trend of the quality of the MCDFL is sadly getting worse an the alarming thing is i bet teams are increasing paying more money as years go on.

Crankingbet!

Round One.

Maldon $1.65 v Rovers $2.30
Carisbrook $1.60 v Avoca $2.25
Dunolly $8 v Newstead $1.08
Talbot $3 v Harcourt $1.30
Trentham $1.90 v Royal Park $1.90

Crank's Best Bet-Maldon in the wet conditions.
Be wary of the Carisbrook v Avoca game it is the match of the round.

Private Message your application for an account with Crankingbet.

Butler rucking was a joke, tatchell is hopeless he spends more time getting rub downs and faking for free kicks then worrying about the footy. Sheep at full back too slow and not a senior footballer in a good side, Megs was too fat last year and could hardly get a kick, the list goes on and these guys are aparently some of your better players!

Yeah you certainly dont mind speaking your mind Beast do you!!

Butler whether he is too old or not has always been a servicable ruckman and more than a handy change ruckman I must add as I think you will find the big fat fella played in the ruck for the majority of the season!!

As for Megs being too fat and hardly getting a kick........well tell me a club that wouldn't have him at that playing weight if he's gunna kick ya 90 odd goals for the season!! If he only had 90 kicks for the season and kicked 90 goals then I think he has well and truly done his job, and mainly from rucking isn't too bad of an effort I would have thought!!

Tatchell, haven't seen him play for years but know that he is a handy footballer and always has been. Slow or not, gives 110% week in week out and very servicable at that!!

To be honest my footballing days have long past me by but i hate the way the leagues are all going at the moment. There is too much money and too many people that think they are better then they are (that goes for teams too).

As for this comment about there being too much money in football nowadays, u r right, but that is football now(its business like) and that there r too many people and teams thinking that they are better than they are............well this has always been the case and always will be, so do yaself a favour and build a bridge!! :p

well as fair as i have been told, harcourt were given a weeks notice that they would have to play this weekend, harcourt have begged us to play on queens birthday, but we are not happy with that solution, as it is the only weekend we have off for the season now, and lots of ppl generally go away, which would put us in a similar position to them ATM, the league has enforced them to play and so has the vcfl, if the league does a back flip on this it will be very very disappointing. we have already had to wait long enough harcourt should be ready to go.

Harcourt was informed on Tuesday night after training that they would be required to play - obviously after Campbell Creek's demise.

Harcourt will play on Saturday, but will investigate this further with the VCFL.

However, there will be no excuses from the two Lion's teams that take to the park.

Megs kick the majority of his big bags against the weak sides in the comp and there is no glory in that.

I am merely stating what i thought of the players judged by the game against Royal Park (1st Final) and a few others i saw throughout the year.

Megs needed to lose the weight if he was ever gonna be any good again and its a credit it to him that he has and i will back him in for a big year!

Tatchell can give 110% but it only adds up to about 50% of what a good footballer can give a side. Hate the way he acts for free then sooks when he doesn't get them and if he does get them there the only kicks he gets for the game.