• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

what's the word on creek now rich ??
have they got enuf players to at least make a senior game against the brown and gold botters ??

They said they would have last week but I guess we ring them this week and find out.... We are raring to go whatever happens mate! We will go out there as if we are facing the top side we have waiting that long! The lads are very keen!

Creek are over they dont have enough players and wouldnt be supprised if they pull the pin on Tuesday.

How do we think the new coach of Trentham will go. Who is he. Has he played out there recently. How does he go on the field

The big show finally pulled his finger out yesty with the Western and got some goals on the board. He finished the day with 8.2 and was looking like the Megs of old!! :thumbsu:

The league will start on May 5th as planned. The draw will stay the same dropping off the first three rounds. Campells Creek has a struggle on its hands but intend to journey on at this stage. Dunolly will play its first home game against Newstead at Avoca unless substantial rain falls this weekend.

The rain has fallen, the Dunolly ground has passed the test allowing them to play Newstead at home as per the draw. How did the Hedges oval come up after the weekend down pour? Will Royal Park now be able to play at home or will they still need to reverse the draw and travel to Trentham as was the previous arrangement?

Good to hear Dunolly has passed. A bushy player today was faily adamant he thinks they are still heading to Trentham but will probably know more after training tomorrow night. I reckon with the amount of rain we have had a couple more showers during the week it may go close but think they might head to trentham anyway to give it every chance the following week against Talbot. I'd rather go there now than in the middle of winter anyway!

Good to hear Megs has kicked a few in that comp!

5 days to go lads and counting!

The big show finally pulled his finger out yesty with the Western and got some goals on the board. He finished the day with 8.2 and was looking like the Megs of old!! :thumbsu:

shane field is obviously a fair player..he will be missed out at carisbrook, particularly inside forward50..previous posts indicate they are again a genuine premiership contender, have they a full-forward in the wings to cover this loss or where will the goals come from? ive heard of a bloke sanders from last year, the games that he played were reportedly very good. will he be lining up again?

Good to hear Dunolly has passed. A bushy player today was faily adamant he thinks they are still heading to Trentham but will probably know more after training tomorrow night. I reckon with the amount of rain we have had a couple more showers during the week it may go close but think they might head to trentham anyway to give it every chance the following week against Talbot. I'd rather go there now than in the middle of winter anyway!

Good to hear Megs has kicked a few in that comp!

5 days to go lads and counting!

All grounds have passed. Big news is that Creek has folded, The preferred option at the moment is as follows - whoever has the bye will play where creek was listed. Apparently the Harcourt club is claiming that it will not be ready to play (Talbot) this Saturday as some players have already made other arrangements. I think an emergency meeting will be held - outcome unknown. At the moment is in secretary Max's competent hands. Sherman I just heard a thud. I hope it wasn't you fainting.

Massive news there wonker. That would be an easy way to restructure the draw. Don't think Harcourt should be too worried bout Talbot anyway hey sherman and as for the thud I think it was an angry punter who had a fair quid on a Creek outfit destined for finals.

A sad day indeed. I shall have (another) drink in memory of all the great people behind the club, in particular, the ledgendary late Noel Gaulton.

Sad to see a club fold but this is a good thing for the competition. Very poor form to pull the pin this late because surely they knew the writing was on the wall for a long time. Creek have been terrible for a long time now and IMO whats the point of continuing on when there is no light at the end of the tunnel.

The walk over sides Creek, Dunolly, Trentham etc are a joke in the MCDFL and purely stand for a chance for forwards to bump up there goal kicking tally's! I would like to see a few less sides and a lot stronger comp in years to come...

I know i will cop a bit of flack for this post but the truth is:

Less clubs = Less struggling clubs and overall better competition

Furthermore another thing that was brought to my attention was the quarter length in the MCDFL being 25 mins + time on. This is ridiculous as they should be 20mins + time on like the AFL and every other credible league around. It is effectively like playing an extra quarter in every game.

Changing to the conventional length quarters would reduce the amount of scores be kicked each week and would assist in seeing tighter games of football opposed to the blow out the MCDFL is known for!

Honestly who ever is running this competition should take a good hard look at the job they are doing! Get things in order and lift the professionalism

Dont think Talbot will be overly worried about playing Harcourt. We feel we can challenge most sides on our day and are keen to play this weekend. I believe Harcourt should be made to play as its extremely unfair to other sides if both are given 4 points. However in saying that... I'm not too unhappy about it!

Sad to see a club fold but this is a good thing for the competition. Very poor form to pull the pin this late because surely they knew the writing was on the wall for a long time. Creek have been terrible for a long time now and IMO whats the point of continuing on when there is no light at the end of the tunnel.

The walk over sides Creek, Dunolly, Trentham etc are a joke in the MCDFL and purely stand for a chance for forwards to bump up there goal kicking tally's! I would like to see a few less sides and a lot stronger comp in years to come...

Do you even play footy?? With a comment like that it would appear not...

People put their heart and souls into country footy clubs. Players, committee people, etc work tirelessly to provide a quality passtime for the community. To say that country clubs folding is a good thing for footy is bloody ludicrous. I feel sorry for all involved in the Campbells Creek FC as it is a blow for the league and the community to see them fold.

How would it be if your club folded Beast??

Furthermore another thing that was brought to my attention was the quarter length in the MCDFL being 25 mins + time on. This is ridiculous as they should be 20mins + time on like the AFL and every other credible league around. It is effectively like playing an extra quarter in every game.

Changing to the conventional length quarters would reduce the amount of scores be kicked each week and would assist in seeing tighter games of football opposed to the blow out the MCDFL is known for!

Honestly who ever is running this competition should take a good hard look at the job they are doing! Get things in order and lift the professionalism

Get your facts straight Iron Beast. I think you will fine that the league has changed their quarter length in line with the AFL now.

I agree with some points and disagree with others. I dont think less clubs is necessarily a good thing. We need to maintain our link with Bendigo or our league will fall away dramatically. Look at leagues like North Central and Lexton Plains. If they lose another club they will be forced to restructure the league, we dont want to be in that position.

I agree it will be good to have less "whipping boys" in the comp this year with only Dunolly appearing like they will struggle... However to say that its a good thing that a club folds is pretty dumb IMO. Pretty much as Shamui said, you hate to see it happen as once clubs go that is it! I would have liked to see them stay on as Trentham did last year..

People put their heart and souls into country footy clubs. Players, committee people, etc work tirelessly to provide a quality passtime for the community. To say that country clubs folding is a good thing for footy is bloody ludicrous. I feel sorry for all involved in the Campbells Creek FC as it is a blow for the league and the community to see them fold.

Talking to somebody who knows stuff about the whole situation and he said that the Creek had money but they weren't going to shell out for just anybody.

Not having a senior coach by Christmas is a cardinal sin in football. If a club is serious about getting somewhere they shouldn't be waiting till March to fill the position. See Trentham as an example of a proactive football club. Their results were a disgrace last year and they should win games this year and possibly claim some big scalps.

Both Creek and Trentham had hopeless seasons last year. They took different approaches to get out of their situation and only one is still standing.

I could see people getting annoyed by the late withdrawel. Surely nothing has changed between 2 weeks ago and yesterday. If they didn't have a team 2 weeks ago, they sure as hell wouldn't have one now.

It's a sad state for those that put the effort in, but in a club that folds, it is generally only a handful that are putting the effort in and that is why it folds.

Better now than in round 5 or 6. Very sad though for the few that were putting in the work.

Well, every team I barrack for seems to fold or merge (Fitzroy, Marnoo, Oakleigh, West Torrens, Coburg-Fitzroy, St Kevins Ormond ... that's just some of them)

It can be an insensitive approach to suggest that a club which doesn't seem to be able to be competitive, should take a bullet for the sake of the competition. It can be a painful comment to witness, but to be fair, Iron Beast did admit he was likely to take flak for it, he seems aware that its a pretty cold call to make.

Unfortunately the time of clubs languishing down the bottom for seasons on end, then finally getting moving on up the ladder, seems to have passed. The attrition rate in country footy is getting worse, not better. Once you end up down the bottom, the chances of rising again seem to be lower than they once were even 15 years ago! This is horrible, horrific and depressing.

But did sticking around help Campbells Creek? The cold fact is, no, it didn't. They folded anyway. On the other hand. Trentham apparently are a little better off this year (?). Dunolly might be pretty shoddy, but nearly as rough as they were when in the LVFL. Avoca were copping canings before they moved to the MCDFL.

My personal opinion is so divided you couldn't crash two trucks on it. On one hand reality is reality. on the other, if a club wants to fight down to the last breath, what right have I to gainsay them?

The one thing I will say is this: I don't believe one should be embarassed about dying. (This next bit is from memory of buddhist origin) Don't be sad because its over. Be happy that it ever happened.

Well, they won't be forgotten, they still have that record!

Cheers to the Creek.

Well, every team I barrack for seems to fold or merge (Fitzroy, Marnoo, Oakleigh, West Torrens, Coburg-Fitzroy, St Kevins Ormond ... that's just some of them)

It can be an insensitive approach to suggest that a club which doesn't seem to be able to be competitive, should take a bullet for the sake of the competition. It can be a painful comment to witness, but to be fair, Iron Beast did admit he was likely to take flak for it, he seems aware that its a pretty cold call to make.

Unfortunately the time of clubs languishing down the bottom for seasons on end, then finally getting moving on up the ladder, seems to have passed. The attrition rate in country footy is getting worse, not better. Once you end up down the bottom, the chances of rising again seem to be lower than they once were even 15 years ago! This is horrible, horrific and depressing.

But did sticking around help Campbells Creek? The cold fact is, no, it didn't. They folded anyway. On the other hand. Trentham apparently are a little better off this year (?). Dunolly might be pretty shoddy, but nearly as rough as they were when in the LVFL. Avoca were copping canings before they moved to the MCDFL.

My personal opinion is so divided you couldn't crash two trucks on it. On one hand reality is reality. on the other, if a club wants to fight down to the last breath, what right have I to gainsay them?

The one thing I will say is this: I don't believe one should be embarassed about dying. (This next bit is from memory of buddhist origin) Don't be sad because its over. Be happy that it ever happened.

Well, they won't be forgotten, they still have that record!

Cheers to the Creek.

I look at the MCDFL, CHFL and LPFL and wonder how these teams will cope over the next ten years. Some people will claim that the big paying clubs are killing the comps. I think that is partly to blame but there is a bigger concern to country footy.

There are too many other sports and other entertainment for kids these days. IE Soccer, XBox, Playstation and etc. 20+ years ago, every kid played footy in the winter. Junior participation is declining every year and that means less senior footballers will be around in the next 5-10 years.

My view is that getting a list of 50+ adults to give up a Saturday and travel with high petrol prices is a big ask and will continue to get harder year by year.

I think in 10 years, there will be a few more clubs in those 3 mentioned leagues that have folded and a few major league teams playing in those leagues.

I have played my fair share of footy and i have an in depth understanding on how footy clubs operate and the benefits for the community etc. But...

I am not saying that it isn't sad for the people involved but lets be honest if your not going to be even close to competitive and you become the joke of the MCDFL year in year out it bocomes very embarrising.

IMO if my club couldn't get within 20 goals of most side i wouldn't be opposed to them folding because watching it at that stage becomes a joke. Once clubs are gone there are gone, there is no use rellying on a flickering candle for light!