• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Carisbrook v Maryborough Rovers 21 points
Harcourt v Trentham 50 goals
Talbot v Campbells Creek 12 goals
Maldon v Newstead 14 points
Dunolly v Royal Park 10 goals
Avoca v Bye
Don't be surprised if there's not a massive margin from Harcourt like everyone is expecting. Will still be a drumming though.

i heard from a mate that harcourt are resting a few main players but no doubht they will still win by about 50 goals.
i think newstead will win by 5 or 6 goals they are a good team and oliver will have a field day on maldon's ground if he plays much

Could this weekend be the final nail in the coffin for Trentham? Can't say a 50 goal drubbing would be too great for a club already on its knees.

Lets hope it won't be a 50 goal drubbing in order to hopefully ensure the future of Trentham FC.

localfootyguru said:
Could this weekend be the final nail in the coffin for Trentham? Can't say a 50 goal drubbing would be too great for a club already on its knees.

Lets hope it won't be a 50 goal drubbing in order to hopefully ensure the future of Trentham FC.

i think that trentham will play every team once and then they might fold instead of playing the second half of the season

dormboy said:
i heard from a mate that harcourt are resting a few main players but no doubht they will still win by about 50 goals.
i think newstead will win by 5 or 6 goals they are a good team and oliver will have a field day on maldon's ground if he plays much

I can't see Oliver playing more than a quarter if he plays at all, he only seems to play against the harder teams and rest himself against the weaker teams.

Simo

dormboy said:
i think that trentham will play every team once and then they might fold instead of playing the second half of the season

I hope they dont fold! Be good if we had some info on what is happening at the board level with Trentham and what their thinking is. I noticed that they have cleared a couple more players in in the last couple of weeks so hopefully they can keep going and be competitive. THe score against the brook last game indicated that they have gotten slightly more competitive which is a good sign.

But the trip to Harcourt is tough for anyone and they have a lot of depth in their 2s so I'm not sure it will matter overly much if they rest too many.

Rojer Ramjets tips are pretty much spot on I think.

Carisbrook v Maryborough Rovers 21 points - Carisbrook haven't lost to Rovers for a long time!
Harcourt v Trentham 40 goals - I'll say 40 goals at this stage.
Talbot v Campbells Creek 12 goals - Game to be played in Maryborough as Talbots ground is like a slab on concrete. Hawks resting plenty but will easily account for the struggling creekers.
Maldon v Newstead 36 points - Haven't seen Maldon as yet but Newstead are reasonably impressive and if Oliver plays the majority of the game should come away witha six goal win.
Dunolly v Royal Park 10 goals - Bushy are no good but will still thump Dunolly.
Avoca v Bye

i was updated today at work about harcourt and none of the players wanted to be rested. there are 4 out but thats due to injurie and on holiday. from what i hear there team for this weekend is better than the team agaisnt dunolly.

what does anyone think of c/creek do you reakon they will be around next year cos they are struggling to get ppl to play but not as bad as poor old trentham.

Carisbrook 16.14 (110) vMaryborough Rovers 22.14 (146) Harcourt 49.19 (313) vTrentham 1.0 (6) Talbot 20.15 (135) vCampbells Creek 5.7 (37) Maldon 21.10 (136) vNewstead 22.12 (144) Dunolly 9.9 (63) vRoyal Park 13.22 (100) Tips weren't too bad. The round has shown our top three to be Harcourt, Newstead and Rovers with everyone awaiting the top of the table clash. Maldon may be a force on their small home ground with their many big men. Royal Park disappoints against the weaker Dunolly. Lastly where are Trentham heading? Will they finish the season?

4/4 King Rich gotcha on the Newstead Maldon game.

localfootyguru said:

Doesnt help them to have vultures like Daylesford footy club picking away at their carcass. VCFL should have put a stop on clearances like they did for Illabarook last year to help them get through the year. Think they are doomed and its sad.

what does anyone think of c/creek do you reakon they will be around next year cos they are struggling to get ppl to play but not as bad as poor old trentham

Saw Talbot v Creek on the weekend and Creekers dont appear to have much talent around but their numbers were good. They have a lot of duds in the ones and most were just thugs. Entertaining match for the supporters nonetheless.

It has been disappointing to see Daylesford grabbing Trenthams better players but that doesn't surprise me at all. Thought they would have put in a slightly better effort than that but if Harcourt were near full strength than that scoreline was to be expected.

Maldon looked to have a good result against Newstead. I think Newstead can be exposed a little bit by teams that are hard at it and this may have been the case against Maldon. Maldon may be starting to live up to their pre-season predictions of being finals contenders.

Good round of matches coming up this weekend with a couple of games to really shape the final 5!

hi all, former trentham player here, from when they came back in the comp, just wondering what the hell is going on down there, is it a board level thing, not getting players, non commitment from players or just what is happening down there
sad to see they have become laughing stock of country footy
cheers

steikerocks said:
hi all, former trentham player here, from when they came back in the comp, just wondering what the hell is going on down there, is it a board level thing, not getting players, non commitment from players or just what is happening down there
sad to see they have become laughing stock of country footy
cheers

Its been spoken about quite a bit earlier in the thread. Players weren't happy with last years board and have left. Club has new board now but have no players. In a nutshell I think that is the problem.

bit of a shock about the newstead and maldon game didn't think maldon would have got that close.yeh heard about the creek game cos all the boys were talking about the fights in the pub. harcourt kicked 19 goals in the first quater against trentham and then they asked if they could play the next three quaters with no time on.

dormboy said:
bit of a shock about the newstead and maldon game didn't think maldon would have got that close.yeh heard about the creek game cos all the boys were talking about the fights in the pub. harcourt kicked 19 goals in the first quater against trentham and then they asked if they could play the next three quaters with no time on.

Fair dinkum??? Would have been a late finish either way!

A few of those boys from Creek have a screw loose I think!

the creekers are only tough on the feild or so they think but off the feild they are harmless would even start fights.. the game started a bit after 2 and finished about 4.30. a guy said that if it didn't happen then the team wouldn't come back out for the second half

dormboy said:
the creekers are only tough on the feild or so they think but off the feild they are harmless would even start fights.. the game started a bit after 2 and finished about 4.30. a guy said that if it didn't happen then the team wouldn't come back out for the second half

19 goals in the first quarter is massive!! They would have been on target to kick at least 60 goals at that rate! With all due respect I dont think Trentham is in any sort of position to be demanding anything off the opposition and the league!

I think it would be like invoking the mercy rule for Trentham. i can't see much problem with that or the game would have been going into darkness. Really disappointing to see the current plight of Trentham, would be more than likely in my opinion to see them leave the MCDFL at the end of the season if they don't fold prior to that.

Much has been said about the Creek over the years but they always seem to be able to field two sides, despite juniors always being an issue. The Creek never seem to have too much success but always have teams year after year. Lets hope they don't become a another casulty of the declining state of country footy.

localfootyguru said:
I think it would be like invoking the mercy rule for Trentham. i can't see much problem with that or the game would have been going into darkness. Really disappointing to see the current plight of Trentham, would be more than likely in my opinion to see them leave the MCDFL at the end of the season if they don't fold prior to that.

Much has been said about the Creek over the years but they always seem to be able to field two sides, despite juniors always being an issue. The Creek never seem to have too much success but always have teams year after year. Lets hope they don't become a another casulty of the declining state of country footy.

Yeah I agree Local Footy Guru! They haven't been successful for a lot of years now! They find it tough to attract juniors from Castlemaine and Bendigo and when they get good juniors they seem to leave. This year they have had a massive turnover of players and aren't as strong as normal but still seem to have plenty of numbers. I think the Creekers can keep going.

As for the Trentham, this weekend would have been a hard loss to take.... Not sure how they will come back from that!

rich and boys
yr league is starting to look like a real shambles
in the vcfls list of top goalkickers for the weekend just gone four of the top 20 sharpshooters were from the mcdfl --- stone of harcourt (16 goals), smith of harcourt (14), elliott of rovers (13) and oliver of newstead (11) stone BTW with 78 in 8 rds is 3rd best goalkicker in the vcfl at this stage
its starting to tart tongues wagging

fifth quarter said:
rich and boys
yr league is starting to look like a real shambles
in the vcfls list of top goalkickers for the weekend just gone four of the top 20 sharpshooters were from the mcdfl --- stone of harcourt (16 goals), smith of harcourt (14), elliott of rovers (13) and oliver of newstead (11) stone BTW with 78 in 8 rds is 3rd best goalkicker in the vcfl at this stage
its starting to tart tongues wagging

Fifth Quarter, I think these stats are a little misleading! Elliott kicked 13 legitimately against a pretty good side in Carisbrook and the team only won by 30 points so that is just a good individual effort by a fairly handy ex-afl player. Olivers team only won by 11 points I believe so again it was just another good individual performance. As for the 2 Harcourt boys, well yes they were playing against Witches hats and as has been highlighted many times Trentham are in trouble and are getting whipped. There are 3 teams in our comp that are getting whipped at the moment with the rest of the comp being pretty even. Credit to Harcourt where it is due tho they are a VERY VERY good side and the supply to those 2 forwards is phenomenol!
Shambles is a poor description. We have a number of quality forwards in the comp and probably a lack of quality backman at the moment and we have 3 sides that are no where near Senior quality. I think Harcourt has something like 500 more points than any other side in the comp which only highlights their dominance.

I agree rich describing our league as a 'real shambles' has come from someone who is obviously not associated with our league and has picked out one stat from one week of play. Tongues should be wagging as stone to date is having a great season in front of the sticks.
My Tips this week are:
Maryborough Rovers v Harcourt 12 goals
Trentham v Avoca 25 goals (Should be very wet & cold)
Newstead v Carisbrook 6 goals
Royal Park v Maldon 25 points (Whiteheads against their old team)
Campbells Creek v Dunolly No idea just a guess 4 goals
Talbot v Bye
Question Did Oliver break his collarbone?

Rojer_Ramjet said:
I agree rich describing our league as a 'real shambles' has come from someone who is obviously not associated with our league and has picked out one stat from one week of play. Tongues should be wagging as stone to date is having a great season in front of the sticks.
My Tips this week are:
Maryborough Rovers v Harcourt 12 goals
Trentham v Avoca 25 goals (Should be very wet & cold)
Royal Park v Maldon 25 points (Whiteheads against their old team)
Campbells Creek v Dunolly No idea just a guess 4 goals
Talbot v Bye
Question Did Oliver break his collarbone?

Haven't heard.....Hopefully he didn't as they will need him if they are any chance against Harcourt this season.

My Tips this week are:
Maryborough Rovers v Harcourt 6 goals (Not sure tho it could blow out)
Trentham v Avoca 35 goals (Will snow!)
Royal Park v Maldon 6 goals (Whiteheads will go off their head and Maldon will take advantage of the ill-discipline)
Campbells Creek v Dunolly 2 goals (Toss of the coin job, Creek only coz they're at home!)
Talbot v Bye