Last time we had a tall lead up was Cloke in 2011 ever since who ever has played there don’t lead enough
Sadly the best leading forward is Elliot and he's a midget.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Last time we had a tall lead up was Cloke in 2011 ever since who ever has played there don’t lead enough
Actually more in defence than forward unless I'm mistaken. And VFL, but hey, he can only be a forward, go figure.
I wasn’t aware that VFL was junior footy. People love to try and say he played all his junior footy as a defender that’s factually incorrect. So he would of spent about 5% max of his games played in the backline and this makes him a defender
Sadly the best leading forward is Elliot and he's a midget.
The stats stack up have you checked out the post on that thread?
The big point is j bring who has a huge rep wasn't that far ahead in a gun team
Pperspective
If he continues to take 4 contested per game like last week which he seemed to do on his ear against last years AA backman and another highly creditented , well simply put he's then talked up as the best big forward in a league that doesn't favour big forwards
Advantage pies
He's played 4 games this year , one in conditions that NO ONE was able to grab the pill
His job provide a target and a contest
Yawn. I never specifically said you did but anywayA direct response to my post above (quoted in full). and you talk to me about context. As I've said, where did I suggest he'd played all his junior footy as a defender? Just make shoit up as your going along.
He wasn’t when he could fly at the ball but when was the last time he was able to jump?Sadly the best leading forward is Elliot and he's a midget.
There were still a lot of times he dropped marks against the Hawks or brought the ball to ground against the Hawks what ever way you want to look at it.If you're a glutton for punishment, rewatch that Hawthorn game. He was so desperate to get front position that he kept running under the ball and the bloke third in line would take it uncontested.
I agree that he needs to get better at handling early body contact - the same goes for Moore. But is there a forward in the league who takes a lot of contested marks after the defender has initiated early body contact. If there is, I can't think of one. 3 contested marks a game would put you in the top handful of contested markers in the league and most of those taken by forwards are taken when the ball is put out in front of them and they have the opportunity to run and jump at it.
Well we should play in a spaceship in space, because there due to lesser gravity the spine expands a little..
Aah Gotcha. Players will get physically shorter during the game though. Gravity compressing spinal columns over the 3 hours will decrease everyone's height by a mm or so.. including Cox though. So technically he is getting shorter as the games progresses.
Astbury getting Cox?I think he's more likely to get Astbury, leaving Rance to try and exploit Reid.
Be interesting to see how that plays out.
We’ve kicked a 100+ three weeks in a row. It’s working.Darkyp let me post for the last time on Cox.
In 2018 everyone gets a clean slate with me.
Up until Anzacday I think Cox has been well below average.
Anzacday for me should be his bare minimum game.
He shouldn't be a decoy.......his primary role for me is to kick goals.
Secondary goal is to assist in the ruck.
As I stated last week the 5 possession game isn't up to standard for me.
By the way I was a lot more critical of Reid this week.
Why do we need a decoy or Cox to sacrifice his game when he is the tallest bloke in the league?
Lift both arms up and mark the ball......let's not complicate this game too much.
Cox is capable he now has enough experience it's time we started judging him accordingly.
There is still one vulture circlingCoxs output this year has been terrible. If anyone had that output everyone would want them gone. If the side wasn’t winning the vultures would be circuling
Fair callThere is still one vulture circling
There were still a lot of times he dropped marks against the Hawks or brought the ball to ground against the Hawks what ever way you want to look at it.
Agreed Moore has his floors and does find it hard when he gets checked but he has more ways to beat defenders and with our forward line being more open now he will be a lot more dynamic there
Look I think that’s a fair assessment of bringing the ball down. Although I still think to often he make good position and weakly drops themWhen I'm talking about bringing the ball to ground, I'm talking about situations where the forward is at a disadvantage, unlikely to mark and is effectively spoiling the defender. Since that Hawthorn game, I reckon Cox has done that as effectively as any forward I've seen - he's even at times appeared to direct his spoil to runners.
I agree that if our forward line continues to remain as open as we've been able to get it in the last few weeks, Moore would be more effective than his previous seasons and more effective than Cox, but Moore is currently injured, a probable defender when he does recover and in the meantime Cox is doing a decent job and showing signs that he could become more than decent. To be honest, if Moore comes back as a forward, it'd be Reid that I'd be tapping on the shoulder. Whilst Cox and Moore may struggle with early body contact, Reid is rarely even attempting the whole reason why you play tall forwards - to present and jump at the footy or to threaten when the ball is bombed in. He gets in smart positions and he's had a few short bursts where he's looked switched on, but most of the time he's playing like a lazy flanker who just wants to work his opponent under the footy and turn onto it. We may as well be playing a better flanker like Fasolo.
Look I think that’s a fair assessment of bringing the ball down. Although I still think to often he make good position and weakly drops them
With Moore he comes back as a forward or he plays VFL. The back 6 are playing incredibly well and I would disrupt that and further more Moore hasn’t shown anything at AFL level to say he makes that back 6 better so for mine if he is to be a defender he has to go back and earn a game
I get what you are saying about Reid he drifts in and out of games and we need more from him. But I think either Moore or Cox benefit from his experience. Reid also has created a lot of opportunities but been wasteful. I would still have him infort of Cox but he is by no means safe in the 22
I think Moore has shown enough now to come straight back in when he went forward against the Hawks he gave us a spark and made you think maybe we can comeback. I don’t think there is to much to be gained by playing him forward at the VFL level unless the medical staff think that it is the appropriate course of action.When Moore returns, I've been saying for a while that I'd bring him back with a game or two in the VFL as a forward. Build up his confidence by giving him the opportunity to tear a VFL defender to shreds and then bring him in for whoever out of cox and Reid is contributing the least. I agree that they'd be mad to disrupt the current backline for a tall, our undersized talls are dominating tall forwards. If Richmond's small forwards run amok like Hawthorn's did, we may decide to adjust the mix to include another small defender, but a tall seems unnecessary.
With Cox's marking, he definitely spills a few that he should be all over, but he can probably afford to spill more than other tall forwards, as his height results in him getting his hands to more contested marks than most other tall forwards. If he plays a full season, I'm confident that he will be very high in league wide contested marking stats.
I think Moore has shown enough now to come straight back in when he went forward against the Hawks he gave us a spark and made you think maybe we can comeback. I don’t think there is to much to be gained by playing him forward at the VFL level unless the medical staff think that it is the appropriate course of action.
People now talk about the importance of forward pressure and that’s an area both Reid and Cox offer little before Moore was injured against GWS it was his pressure that created the goal he kicked. That was pleasing for two reasons he has the athleticism to do it and it’s not something we have previously seen a lot from him. I really think the way we are starting to play suits Moore down to a tee.
He has played two games this year and ended up forward both timesI agree with all of that, but I think Moore himself may benefit from the confidence gained from being dominant at VFL. While we've got two guys who I think are performing at a competent level, I don't see the harm. I also think that if it's Cox we decide to drop, he would benefit from a couple more games at AFL. Even if we decide Cox isn't best 22, there's a fair chance that we'll need him later on in the year for injury cover.
Regardless, I'm pretty confident that the club will stick to their guns and bring him back as a defender, injuries or form slumps to Reid or Cox aside.
Your argument is floored you have to admit that saying he should go back as the forwards are doing well when it’s the best the backline has functioned in years just makes no sense. You have a group of blokes in the backline playing well what do you do upset that by including a forward who you are trying to turn into a defender or leave it how it is
A game no one could grab the pill but Moore took 8 marks? Your post reads like you have drunk a slab
He doesn’t take marks all that tap stuff is bullshit. As a player you have to win your own ball and he doesn’t he drops too man marks and doesn’t kick goals. People have talked about the Adelaide game but the only difference between him and Jenkin’s in that game was the work rate of the midfielders around them. He is yet to stand up and do anything decisive when the pressure is on
First of all I would like to turn down any TV spots as my head would be better suited to radio.Mate you're been chipping away for months against mason
What is it
Him being American , him being out of the ordinary or are you just pig headed
Tell everyone what's your expectation cause so far you havent and perhaps it's surreal
Either you are right or the vast majority including opposition clubs players supporters and 98% of posters Are wrong
That's right everyone else is wrong ( sic) because you're right
Could you apply for a few tv spots so we can pick up a few more pearls or are you David king
He doesn’t take enough marks and the stats back that upYou have no idea
Brisbane says hello
Richmond Sydney and all other good teams that keep the ball going forward at all times