Masten

Disagree.

I think Masten will be pretty handy, but Kerr made an impact straight off. His breakaway pace was in evidence immediately.

It's not a big deal, but the "Kerr didn't do anything until his third season" line is BS.

In his debut season, Kerr was one of the stand-out rookies in the comp. Can't say the same about Masten this year.

stop making shit up

Statistically you'd be right to say that Masten is having a similar year to Kerr in 2001 but we were a different side then and touches weren't so easy to come by.

Consider this; the 2001 Eagles averaged 283 possessions per game while the 2008 Eagles average 349.

Anyway, here are the respective first year stats.

Daniel Kerr in 2001: 19 games, 15.6 disposals/game, 2 marks/game, 3.5 tackles/game, 0.4 goals/game.

Masten in 2008: 8 games so far, 15.4 disposals, 4.2 marks, 4.1 tackles, and 0.1 goals.

Kerr's 15.6 touches a game was 8th for us that year and 3.5 tackles per game was our best.

Mastens 15.4 touches is 14th this year and his tackles are 3rd.

For what it's worth, I remember Kerr having a far better year in 2001 than Masten this year but I guess it was easier to stand out back then and, to be honest, while Kerr and Masten are similar players, they seem like very different personalities to me and I think that's something which will help Masten surpass Kerr as a player.

Masten will be a gun, he's sneaking under the radar atm compared to some notable others but he has massive potential to improve from where he is.

Anyway not every player can come out guns blazing like Palmer, some take a little more time but the result is way worth the waite. So patients people, he'll show his true worth when its needed :thumbsu:

This is an EXTREMELY biased thread. Masten has progressed well and will be a good player for us. However, it is well known Masten was drafted because he worked for the club and has family ties with a recruiter.

It is very hypocritical to say Masten's season has been very similar to Kerr's then dog out Palmer when his season has been similar to Judd's first.

The only reason why people are calling Masten a future star is because he was drafted at No.3, there is simply no other explanation. Sure he will probally be good but people are basing his expectations on what number he was drafted not what he has shown so far.

it is well known we got masten 'cos he was best available, and i think he will be a star based on what ive seen not the pick he went at, dont speak for everyone else yarbs, some people actually know what their talking about.

I really dont like yarbs:thumbsu:

This is an EXTREMELY biased thread. Masten has progressed well and will be a good player for us. However, it is well known Masten was drafted because he worked for the club and has family ties with a recruiter.

lol

He worked in the team store on the weekends and he is the god son of the footy managers WIFE - these are not strong links.

He was recruited at pick 3 because he one of the hardest running, cleanest by hand and foot inside mids you could possibly ask for in the draft and once he puts on some mass and gets over his OP problems he will be a gun. He was the best clearance player of probably the last 3 seasons, he might not look special but he will grow on you after a while.

Him not dominating his first year is not an issue, if he still isn't up to scratch after 60-80 games then start to worry. Like Simon Black, never really bursts out at you but check out the damage he does over 4 quarters and you notice he is leading the clearances and getting the ball moving forward cleanly.

Palmer is ok, well known that he was an enthusiastic player but it was also well known that he struggles to clear the ball cleanly, hit a target while on the run or use his right foot or left hand under pressure.

For what it's worth, I remember Kerr having a far better year in 2001 than Masten this year but I guess it was easier to stand out back then and, to be honest, while Kerr and Masten are similar players, they seem like very different personalities to me and I think that's something which will help Masten surpass Kerr as a player.
I think it's the exact opposite.

That's why kerr is so good.

Masten is going to be a loyal and long serving member of the club.
It is to early to judge his performances and i think he will be a star CAPTAIN in the future.

I get a freakish feeling that when he is fully recovered from injury he will become a rising star. :D

Honestly (from an outsiders perspective) I find it a shame that these days supporters are willing to write off or start getting hot under the collar when young players don't 'do a Judd' in their first few years. There are a few knuckle heads on my own board criticising Jetta for not doing enough, yet he came to the club with OP and has struggled with his hamstring injury this season. Ditto Gumbleton, some no brainers are questioning his drafting because he has been injured a few times...anyone who has seen him play would agree that he has what it takes to become a fine player.

Masten primarily plays inside and simply gets flung around like a rag doll at the stoppages. Any one who doubts how good he is should watch the WA v Vic Metro game last year.

Once he puts on the muscle he will be a fine player.

I think is still finding his feet with the speed of AFL.
He didn't have a full Pre-season and is probably down a little.
His body size is small and he would be sore after every game.
He is still learning his role in the team as are the coaches.
The team is still not set on the plays and positions of each player yet.
He is like a Sammy Mitchell type player and how good is he know.
He has the ability to do freaky things- That pick up in the wet with 1 hand against Adelaide was exceptional for a rookie!
Has a great footy brain!
Knows how to apply pressure all over the ground.

This kid will be a star! I have no Doupts at all.
Palmer Will be a star just differant to Masten.
Oh and Palmer reminds me more of a Rhys Shaw, Busrt on to the scene with a couple of good perfomances but dropped off after a year and never really improved on that.:thumbsu:

You guys have poor memories, Masten's first season is in fact eerily similar to Kerr's. Very similiar impact in there first season.
stop making shit up
Check your facts, mate.

http://www.aflpa.com.au/index.cfm?menuid=D2B025FC-0158-3DFC-4F16358B8D4390B1

Scroll down to the bottom.

Kerr won the AFLPA award for best first year player in his debut season.

I reckon that suggests he was one of the stand-out rookies that year. I wouldn't say the same for Masten this year.

What shit did I make up?

I await your apology.

Simon Black has to be the example for Masten.

There's no guarantee that he will be that good, but he needs to be that kind of hard-tackling extractor with great hands.

yeah i agree gunnar. still battling injury i feel, he just needs to have a rest over the off season and get into a big pre-season and then i feel he'll be able to show us his true potential.

at the moment we're just getting glimpses, he'll learn a lot and become a greater player for it next season.

we are in dire need of a fresh start regarding everything: win/loss ratio, injuries, mentality of the team etc...

you'd hope so because the lad can't hit the side of a barn by foot. ;)

His kicking has significantly gone awry as the season wears on I'll agree.

In his first few games he was sublime.

Preseason, preseason, preseason.

Goal kicking is a worry though. :eek:

he's not a natural goal kicker .. i don't think? .. will eventually get better with experience .. i think he just freaks when he is in front of goal :p
Definitely an area he can work on... Has been good this year though. For those expecting he kills it for 4 quarters, get real! He is an 18 year old kid playing with men, I think the fact he can kill it for 3 quarters is a credit to him and no doubt the best of Masten is still to come! (after another pre-season or two that is)

I reckon that suggests he was one of the stand-out rookies that year. I wouldn't say the same for Masten this year.
I would say that to date Masten is one of the better rookies this year.

Had some shocking kicks on Friday but he sure wasnt the only one!
One thing for sure he does knows how to tackle.

Said it before but I reackon he'll be a late bloomer, is going nicely now but it will be a few years before we'll see the best of him.

Masten