Speculation Matt Owies

Don't you guys need small forwards?

I know he isn't a gun, but it just seems a little odd to be shopping a player in a position of need when there isn't an obvious replacement.
Issue is Owies is like a garden gnome full forward. Doesn't really kick many of his goals from crumbing or snapping the ball in an opportune moment.

He's a lead up set shot specialist who runs hard but has no pace to apply pressure and really doesn't add anything up the field.

Also a poor field kick.

He has a place somewhere in the AFL, but given we need list spots and trade capital I think he's just a player we think we can afford to lose to get something better back in afterwards.

Don't you guys need small forwards?

I know he isn't a gun, but it just seems a little odd to be shopping a player in a position of need when there isn't an obvious replacement.
He is more a goal kicking forward I suppose then a creative or defensive minded one

I honeslty cant figure out who would want Owies. No team stands out. Maybe Port in any Houston deal?

From what I can gather looks like Houston + some quality draftees and maybe a cheap pick up in an area of need such as a Sam Wicks, Malcolm Rosas type.

Owies is an ordinary footballer who makes the most of what gifts he has. The rest of our smalls are far more talented but make a mockery of themselves every time they set foot on a field.

Would assume the club is backing them in to be better next season and the additions a trade unlocks to be a net positive overall.

Reward performance & boot the pasengers, anything less than that is pathetic list & people managment.

Durdin, Motlop, Williams & Fantasia all have to go, Owies deserves a contract extension.

Issue is Owies is like a garden gnome full forward. Doesn't really kick many of his goals from crumbing or snapping the ball in an opportune moment.

He's a lead up set shot specialist who runs hard but has no pace to apply pressure and really doesn't add anything up the field.

Also a poor field kick.

He has a place somewhere in the AFL, but given we need list spots and trade capital I think he's just a player we think we can afford to lose to get something better back in afterwards.
Adding to this, rightly or wrongly our list management team rate our young small forwards higher than Owies. I think they want to make room for them to have more prominent roles in the senior side while also selling high on an asset they don't rate that highly.

Empty list spots to rort the F/S system. They have worse players still under contract, should probably just do a Hugh Greenwood with someone like Fantasia.
Think a lot of fans would be happy seeing quite a few of our smalls delisted. Reality is though we want more picks and Owies is the only one worth anything.

Durdin and Motlop would be lucky to get a game in some teams VFL squads on this years form. Both have shown more ability in the past but you'd be selling at an all time low whereas Owies is arguably at his most valuable right now.

The problem is half of trade value seems based around intent of the seller. Carlton actively appear to not want him which means he'll be worth nothing. Clubs know they have you over a barrel.

A pick in the 40s, even later, at best. Not sure how that helps with anything aside from losing salary.

Really strange by Carlton. Their list management centres around paying 6 guys heaps.

I'd say geelong have the best fwd line, sit owies, motlop down and show them footage of miers, close, managh. None on their own were touted as superstars, but they hunt, run and play team first footy. I'd keep owies and motlop and add Rosas and then you've got a mosquito fleet under curnow and McKay

Really strange by Carlton. Their list management centres around paying 6 guys heaps.

I'd say geelong have the best fwd line, sit owies, motlop down and show them footage of miers, close, managh. None on their own were touted as superstars, but they hunt, run and play team first footy. I'd keep owies and motlop and add Rosas and then you've got a mosquito fleet under curnow and McKay
Would much rather Joe Berry in the draft and some trade targets. Motlop and Owies don't have the tanks or foot skills to play like Geelongs smalls. Both are basically forward pockets and nothing else, but neither have half of Stengles ability.

Rosas I agree though, would hope the Blues are right into him

He may have his limitations, but kicking out a guy who can consistently kick 30 plus goals a season, when Carlton desperately need more avenues to goal is hard to make sense of.

Sounds as if they are not managing their cap space well at all.

Hasn’t it already been touched on. Blues need list spaces to take advantage of the rort that is the FS matching process

Very limited footballer. Shocked he has kicked 60 goals over the last two years. Carlton would need to find someone that goes off the stats sheet instead of watches the games to get a usable pick.

Not shocking when you consider how much supply Carlton gets and that there is no one up forward other than Curnow and McKay to take goals off him. Thats not to say Owies is good.

Reckon there'd be many many small forwards around the league who could kick 30 goals at the feet of Curnow and Mckay.

I'm surprised anyone really thinks he's much chop.

It’s an interesting one because he doesn’t kick goals as a typical small forward anyway, and he is an actual forward 50 target very rarely. You could argue he gets goals because he gets space because of Curnow and McKay or that he may get more opportunities without them.
Personally I don’t think it makes a difference at all, he just bobs up once or twice a game in the right spots.
He isn’t dangerous in the air and lacks pace. If a club offers us a third rounder we are hardly going to walk him to the psd considering we don’t seem to care if he leaves. I team would be stupid to have a pick inside 40 on the table.

Well, the silly buggers keep predominantly kicking to the same two people. I mean, it makes sense to target your two best KPFs but time and time again opposition defenders then where to create congestion yet the mids and others keep kicking to them. Results in such a dearth in goals kicked after Harry and Charlie

I actually thought he took a step forward this year. Just seemed to be overall cleaner and tightened up his ball use
He has worked really hard to turn himself from a less than a 50% chance of kicking a goal from a shot to above 70% this year. You can actually see his conversion rate improve from year to year.

His ceiling isn't as high as some but he will work hard to get to his ceiling and has been pretty much injury free which makes him close to being a one off for us. I kind of understand the logic of testing the market but every year we hear that "player X " will overtake him next year but none of them have yet. Would prefer that we kept him.

Speculation Matt Owies