Who was better?

• Matthew Richardson

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Brad Johnson

Votes: 0 0.0%

Had he played in a half decent side we might have been having some serious Carey v Richardson polls.....

Richmond made the finals twice in Richo's career, so a fairly crap team during that time.

Richo managed 1 B&F in his whole career.

Carey won 4 in far better teams.
Mathews won 8, Dunstall 4 in top teams.
Lockett 3 B&Fs & a Brownlow.

Skilton won 9 B&Fs in crap teams.

Top players, irrespective of position & quality around them win B&Fs.

Johnson won 3 B&Fs in a consistent team (10 final series), Richo one B&F.

I can understand that people might think Richo had greater brilliance, but over his career surely Johnno performed at a consistently high level far more often than Richo. I also think Johnson had far more footy smarts than Richo.

I remember for a while Richo was public enemy no1 for his onfield petulance and woeful goal shooting.

Poll currently 75%/25% in Richo's favour makes me think people have chosen to overlook the less favourable periods of Richo's career.

Richmond made the finals twice in Richo's career, so a fairly crap team during that time.

Richo managed 1 B&F in his whole career.

Carey won 4 in far better teams.
Mathews won 8, Dunstall 4 in top teams.
Lockett 3 B&Fs & a Brownlow.

Skilton won 9 B&Fs in crap teams.

Top players, irrespective of position & quality around them win B&Fs.

Johnson won 3 B&Fs in a consistent team (10 final series), Richo one B&F.

Matthew Lloyd never won one; Dustin Fletcher just the one.

With the obvious exception of James Hird, these are the two players that would be almost universally acclaimed as Essendon's best players at the very least since Tim Watson retired.

I think we would have clicked over 35 seasons combined, for one B&F.

B&F's as a team based award are next to useless in assessing the relative strengths of two players.

I can understand that people might think Richo had greater brilliance, but over his career surely Johnno performed at a consistently high level far more often than Richo. I also think Johnson had far more footy smarts than Richo.

I remember for a while Richo was public enemy no1 for his onfield petulance and woeful goal shooting.

Poll currently 75%/25% in Richo's favour makes me think people have chosen to overlook the less favourable periods of Richo's career.

Possibly, yes. With good reason though; his best was outstanding - and far better than Johnson's.

Dunno mate, more marks per game, goals per game at only a very slightly less conversion rate than Carey. Stick him in a better side, give him some quality delivery and tactical nuance to clear him some space....

BUT I think I've filled my quota for riling up North supporters this month - so we won't go there :D

Aaron Edwards took more marks and kicked more goals than Hurley in 2011 - Edwards must be better:rolleyes:

Richo is in a poll with Brad Johnson - if you think these players were at Carey's level then you really don't understand football.

What.

In no order:
1. Hird
2. Voss
3. Buckley
4. Goodes
5. Akermanis
6. Brown
7. Crawford
8. Lloyd
9. Tredrea
10. Black
11. Riccuito
12. Scarlett
13. etc etc I could go on...

Guess it all depends on how you value 50 goals and 500 disposals in a year.

Matthew Lloyd never won one; Dustin Fletcher just the one.

With the obvious exception of James Hird, these are the two players that would be almost universally acclaimed as Essendon's best players at the very least since Tim Watson retired.

I think we would have clicked over 35 seasons combined, for one B&F.

B&F's as a team based award are next to useless in assessing the relative strengths of two players.

Possibly, yes. With good reason though; his best was outstanding - and far better than Johnson's.

clubs definately look at the awards differently than the general public.

BUT I think I've filled my quota for riling up North supporters this month - so we won't go there :D

Aaron Edwards took more marks and kicked more goals than Hurley in 2011 - Edwards must be better:rolleyes:

Richo is in a poll with Brad Johnson - if you think these players were at Carey's level then you really don't understand football.

Geez, with the amount of superstars it has on it's list; I'm stunned North can't seem to perform.

Looks like I've got a little quota left for upsetting the little boys of the league.

Rather taken with Carey, aren't we North fella?

Reckon I might have another thread in me.....

People go to games just to see players like Richo, and this may sound biased but personally I wouldn't go to a game just to see Brad Johnson.

Many people did go to games just to watch Richo but not for all positive reasons. Part of the lure in watching Richo was you never knew what would happen next - for good or bad. Johnno may have not been as exciting but he was consistent, reliable and from a purist point of view used his body amazingly

I'd still take the guy who brings people to the game

So you would be happy if Richo was the biggest shit truck in the league, but people went to the game purely to laugh at him?

People go to games just to see players like Richo, and this may sound biased but personally I wouldn't go to a game just to see Brad Johnson.
The only reason i liked to watch Richo, was to see how long it took him to have a Sookly Lal at his team mates or at the umps.

Shit he use to make me laugh he would Sook so much it nearly made him cry.

This best was watching him line up for goal and so often kick it out on the full, could not hit the side of a ****'n barn door:eek:

The only reason i liked to watch Richo, was to see how long it took him to have a Sookly Lal at his team mates or at the umps.

Shit he use to make me laugh he would Sook so much it nearly made him cry.

This best was watching him line up for goal and so often kick it out on the full, could not hit the side of a ****'n barn door:eek:

I liked watching him kick ten goals against your blokes :thumbsu:

I watched Milne kick 10 one day,
Every dog has its day, that must have been the last time you guys beat us.

because in the last 7 years we haven't lost to you guys, big help Richo must have been over that time

Johnson and it's not really that close. Guy was a gun, had something like 6 All Australians. Shame about the way he left the game though, but still had a super career. Richardson would have been a better player at another club and could have been an all-time great if he played for someone else. But unfortunately, he never reached those levels, and really was a victim of circumstances getting selected by Richmond.
How did Johnson perform in the finals? One of the biggest front runners in the modern era. Overrated personified.

How did Richo perform in the finals?

Matthew Richardson v Brad Johnson