Max Holmes will be the best player in the AFL in 5 years time

Read the Geelong board they reckon he’s a butcher too. Cause he is, you should watch footy more closely. I mean you bag Taranto for the same thing.
The Geelong board which voted him the MVP in a team that's made a prelim?

Read the Geelong board they reckon he’s a butcher too. Cause he is, you should watch footy more closely. I mean you bag Taranto for the same thing.

You telling people to watch footy more closely?

😂😂

That’s Jack The Ripper telling people not to go to Whitechapel in the late 1800s and not stalk, terrorise, and cut open prostitutes with a knife and become a famous serious killer.

The Geelong board which voted him the MVP in a team that's made a prelim?

Yep the very same one. That’s how dire the situation is at Geelong.

We are about to draft 3-5 players that will be better than Holmes this year bro never mind the next few years after that hahah

No you aren’t. You’re about to draft 5 players. No one knows how good they will be.

You’ve already told us where various teams would finish on the ladder and got it incredibly wrong and all that involved was a 50-50 guess as to whether we would finish higher than you or not, followed by whether we would make the finals or not, followed by whether we would make it last week one or not, so forgive us if we don’t trust your dogshit analytics in predicting the exact trajectory of a group of 17 year old footballers who could be impacted by development, lack of genuine ability that can’t be uncovered until they reach senior football, injury, attitude, poor coaching, falling in with the wrong crowd, and numerous other factors.

Hawks were really keen on him in 2020.

Holmes, Gulden and JUH have been a shining light in what is a very underwhelming draft.

Yet to see him really rip a big game apart and arrive in the same way some of the other young players have.

Nick Daicos, Errol Gulden, Jamara, JHF, Jai Newcombe, Walsh or Tom Green are all around his age and have had much bigger games.

Couple of Brownlow votes comparisons in their first 3 years:
  • N. Daicos - 39 Votes (Only 2 years)
  • J. Newcombe - 29 Votes
  • E. Gulden - 32 Votes
  • S. Walsh - 44 Votes
  • J. Horne-Francis - 16 Votes (Only 2 Years)
  • Max Holmes - 3 Votes

Yet to see him really rip a big game apart and arrive in the same way some of the other young players have.

Nick Daicos, Errol Gulden, Jamara, JHF, Jai Newcombe, Walsh or Tom Green are all around his age and have had much bigger games.

Walsh is more than 2 years older.

Unfortunately for Holmes in that sort of discussion he plays a role that to begin with doesn’t allow him to so much ‘rip a game open’ as much as some other positions as much as it maybe allows him to ‘set a game up’ for us. Our low possession style means he’s not going to record the same numbers as everyone else either; he’s won as much ball as any cats player this year and still only topped 30 touches 3 times. It just doesn’t happen for us that way.

Oddly his best games if you were to just look at them on paper have probably come in defeats. 32, 14 contested, a goal and half a dozen clearances against GWS.

• J. Newcombe - 29 Votes
  • E. Gulden - 32 Votes
  • S. Walsh - 44 Votes
  • Max Holmes - 3 Votes
73 coaches votes as a half back flanker in 2024 is a better guide for Holmes. It's a position neglected on Brownlow night so it wouldn't surprise me if he's fairly low again. He's been the best performed player in a team with a home prelim, so that is thereabouts for young players. Not at Daicos or Gulden level, but he's up there with any other 21-22 year old.

• J. Newcombe - 29 Votes
  • E. Gulden - 32 Votes
  • S. Walsh - 44 Votes
  • Max Holmes - 3 Votes

Not sure what more he could've done in the QF to rip apart that game. A final in hostile territory, put into the midfield to cover Stewart and he was BOG comfortably. When the game was there to be won in the first half he was utterly dominant.

He was a monster in the last game. If he can be a 2 way player, which I think he is?, then, he will be a terrif player forva long time. Best player, geewizz, the Afl is currently stacked with fabulous players, that's a big call.

Yeah this is fair. At any time there are 10-20 players vying for the title of "the best" and it's unclear who is. He hasn't got the body of work behind him to be in that group yet.

But he's clearly right at home among a group of young players who are threatening to take that step in the next few years.

Hawks were really keen on him in 2020.

Holmes, Gulden and JUH have been a shining light in what is a very underwhelming draft.
Traded up to get Holmes. We also bid on Gulden.
JUH was in our NGA zone up until 16yo.

I think he'll long be a gun, but don't see him becoming "the best" at any one time. Mind you that's not a knock, many players are never the individual best and are still greats.
That's the way I see it. He clearly has attributes few have with his running ability.

• J. Newcombe - 29 Votes
  • E. Gulden - 32 Votes
  • S. Walsh - 44 Votes
  • Max Holmes - 3 Votes
He has only really transitioned to defence and midfield after spending time on the wing. He was one of the best wingers in the game in 2022 before injury.

He has physical gifts that the other guys just don't have and he is trending in the right direction. I don't see him as ever being the best in the game but top 10 is certainly achievable.

We are about to draft 3-5 players that will be better than Holmes this year bro never mind the next few years after that

We are about to draft 3-5 players that will be better than Holmes this year bro never mind the next few years after that hahah
If this is true you need to be a List Manager. As a Lions fan I am happy to replace Dom Ambrogio with you.

Max Holmes will be the best player in the AFL in 5 years time