Injury Max Rooke - knee surgery

Re: Rooke to consult specialist in the US

Just got a message from my Mum and she said that one of the doctors at her work (Geelong Private) told her that Max's knee is stuffed and it's unlikely that he will ever return.

Obviously this is just one doctor's opinion and I hope he's off the mark, but not a good sign anyway

not the thing I'd bet on, but we need to focus on the facts, and fact is , let's get him right for Bomber's last season, another odd year, the type of year we win flags. We do poorly in even years, but seriously, Max could not realistically be a chance this year. Only need to look at how much another favourite son Corey is struggling, and he's played a lot more than Max

I suppose they might have put a line through Max until next year. To be honest, while really sad for the big fella, I am relieved, because I was fearful we would send him out in the finals when not fit, to the detriment of both him and the team.

Both he and Smithy are worries, particularly because they seem to have degenerative type knee problems that can be 'managed' but definitely can't be made to go away, whereas when Otto and Kel missed heaps of footy last year, they are the sort of injuries that need time off, but they do fully fix.

I hope to see Smithy back for the finals and Maxy back in 11'.

"If he (Rooke) doesn't play this week because that's the end of the VFL season (for Geelong), he might find it a bit tough. But you never know, if he trains the house down and there's a few injuries, there's always a chance because of the type of person he is," Thompson said.

Nice to see that Bomber is backing away from playing Max a bit to 'unless there's injuries'. Still reckon he'll throw him in the seniors round 22 though if he can play this week.

There is a thread on the main board saying that Max has been ruled out of the VFL side for the game tomorrow.
Can anyone confirm this?

It was played today and he didn't come up after training. Sadly, any slim hope of Maxie playing this year is kaput. I hope it's not the end of his career but that's a possibility too. Was a gun for us in last years granny triumph.

Thanks for the info AM.
That's it for the year for Max I think is no way he can come back into the team now.
Just needs to give the knee plenty of rest now to get it cherry ripe for next year even if that means another visit to the US to get more work done to it we need to explore all avenues to get him back playing again for the hoops

I know there hasn't been much lately but Selwood interviewed on SEN just now said Max is pretty much ready to go and if we want him in the team he can play. Not sure what to expect here but the club keeps talking him up as a possibility - and gee you'd love a fit Max against the Pies next week!

It's tantalizing and frustrating but i hope we don't see the wild fella playing a final at this point. Match fitness and touch would undoubtedly be insufficient. I'll be looking forward to next year when he's up and firing.

They just showed footage of him (and Blake, Mackie etc.) in a training session today on WIN(Nine) news, he didn't look hampered at all by any knee problems.

In saying that, he'd still probably have as little impact as he did against Carlton coming back in. As much as it pains me to say that about my favourite player! Don't be surpised to see him named as an emergency this week though!

I think he'd be a better fit to come in against St Kilda if we were to make the GF, rather than come in against Collingwood. Getting it out of the back 50 will be our issue against Collingwood in which we need more pace, not keeping it in our own 50 through tackling.

It's too late...you cannot play a player in a final who hasn't played since round 5 and has had many aborted comebacks since...though I love Max, if he plays, it means our selection policy is an absolute joke.

Injury Max Rooke - knee surgery