Roast Maxwell's big mouth

Maybe both Maxwell's and Scarlett's comments could be seen for what they are if you read them in context of what the players actually said and not in the context of what the journalists added and expanded on?

Bartel also made less then humble comments when you put them in print, but that's not to say it's what he meant.
Players are not diplomats and are put on the spot after games, while still in a competetive mindset.

The option is no player comment at all which would be terribly boring.[/quote]

please, never to hear from a Collingwood player again would be a dream come true.

You guys have short memories indeed!

I was sitting on the fence in that pocket and saw it clearly as did the Collingwood and Geelong supporters around me. I was furious at the time as that goal proved crucial in the final analysis. On the replay it DID look like Clemo pushed it out and a fair call by the umpire...so ultimately it was simply bad luck as the umpire can only go by what he sees or assume he sees.

Was it right in front of you?

I could see myself on the replay!

Right in front of me as I was sitting in that pocket. Mooney punched the ball out sticking his fist between Clements arm and body. On the replay you simply cannot see it and it looks like Clement pushed it out - hence why the umpire paid what looked to him an obvious free kick.

We were most displeased at the time, but from a different angle it looked different and it was understandable that the umpire made that mistake.

It was a remarkable game that night. No team really seized the initiative and it ended up in a heart stopping photo finish.

You guys went on to win the flag in a canter the following week thus highlighting even more so how close to a flag we had come. Port were simply hopeless in the GF.

Cheers.

You don't get to tell us how to behave on our board. That's how it works. If you don't like what's being said in here...**** off home!

I touched a raw nerve there have I?

I simply highlighted your handbag performances over the years.

I could have also thrown in the 1980 CATastrophe where you finished on top of the ladder at the end of the H&A season and then the handbags came out and you went out in straight sets.

I could also remind you of other finals diasters even before thenif you like...let's face it, Geelong is certainly one team that has a finals record far worse than even Collingwood's.

Thank Christ for a blind goal umpire last year eh?

After the burst blood vessels from Cats fans on Saturday night (quite rightly I might add), it is indeed a miracle of modern science that all Cats supporters have collective amnesia when it comes to remembering that you bribed a goal umpire to help you cheat your way to a flag.

That Frank Costa has everyone on the pay roll.

I can take my tongue firmly out of cheek now lest you uneducated hicks think I am serious.

Peace!

Saints choked almightily and barring a blatant poster by Hawkins, they still may have won it. You got over the line.
Funny how everyone is quick to point out Hawkins' kick hit the post and gained us six points instead of one behind, but these same people so quickly forget the worst GF field umpiring call against Milburn that gifted Saints a goal and the lead at half time. Kind of evened itself out, if you ask me. :rolleyes:

I simply highlighted your handbag performances over the years.

I could have also thrown in the 1980 CATastrophe where you finished on top of the ladder at the end of the H&A season and then the handbags came out and you went out in straight sets.

I could also remind you of other finals diasters even before thenif you like...let's face it, Geelong is certainly one team that has a finals record far worse than even Collingwood's.

Thank Christ for a blind goal umpire last year eh?

After the burst blood vessels from Cats fans on Saturday night (quite rightly I might add), it is indeed a miracle of modern science that all Cats supporters have collective amnesia when it comes to remembering that you bribed a goal umpire to help you cheat your way to a flag.

That Frank Costa has everyone on the pay roll.

I can take my tongue firmly out of cheek now lest you uneducated hicks think I am serious.

Peace!

MMmm statistics are a great thing buddy. lets take a look. If we want to talk about monumental failures lets go right back to your premiership in 1958. this is a good point as it is directly before both teams went on to struggle in finals post this date

Total finals played by Collingwood since 1958,- 67, Won 28 lost 39.
total finals played by Geelong since 1958, - 57, Won 28 Lost 29. marginally better than Collingwood.
Grand finals since 1958, Geelong played 9 won 3, not great but here is the kicker.
Collingwood played 11 and have won just the one. So before you winge about Geelongs recent history dramatically improving the figures, I say this. That's the whole point mate, we have rcently exorcised a lot (not all) demons) Collingwood need to do the same before you can claim you are not suspect when it counts because the stats clearly show you are and while we are far from perfect in that department you cannot lump us with you.
have a nice day.

I just find it incredible that Maxwell would provide us with even more ammunition to beat them than we would already have. He must have been at a different game to me in round nine because we controlled the tempo of the game for most of it and were worthy and deserving winners.

Haha, I enjoyed reading this. 'provide us with even more ammunition to beat them' as though footballers care about what other players think about games played half a year ago. Even Geelong players are professional enough to lift above that sort of nonsense. I also enjoy your use of the word 'we' as though you are doing more for the Geelong football club than swanning around on an internet forum having a go at Collingwood players who are infinitely more talented and wealthy than you.

You only won in round 9 because we couldn't shoot straight for goal. This time we still couldn't get it between the sticks and yet we won anyway. Chew on that toy, cat man.

You only won in round 9 because we couldn't shoot straight for goal.

Muppet the score was 12.14 to 6.14,so you could say your **** team was lucky not to lose by more had Geelong kicked straight.
Now run along and play on a busy highway.

Geez I love making Collingwood supporters seem even more dumber than they are :D

Muppet the score was 12.14 to 6.14,so you could say your **** team was lucky not to lose by more had Geelong kicked straight.

We were wasteful, and you weren't capable of doing any better. Your team of geriatrics, ferals and the gold coast golden boy will soon stop winning games. The 10s will be the decade of the pies.

MMmm statistics are a great thing buddy. lets take a look. If we want to talk about monumental failures lets go right back to your premiership in 1958. this is a good point as it is directly before both teams went on to struggle in finals post this date

Total finals played by Collingwood since 1958,- 67, Won 28 lost 39.
total finals played by Geelong since 1958, - 57, Won 28 Lost 29. marginally better than Collingwood.
Grand finals since 1958, Geelong played 9 won 3, not great but here is the kicker.
Collingwood played 11 and have won just the one. So before you winge about Geelongs recent history dramatically improving the figures, I say this. That's the whole point mate, we have rcently exorcised a lot (not all) demons) Collingwood need to do the same before you can claim you are not suspect when it counts because the stats clearly show you are and while we are far from perfect in that department you cannot lump us with you.
have a nice day.

A reasoned post.

Where have I (or anybody for that matter) claimed we are still not suspect?

I still think Geelong will probably have the experience and the talent to take out THIS years flag for what it's worth.

All I am saying is it is a bit tiring when on BF and SEN supporters of certain clubs get stuck into Collingwood:

"Collingwood have only won one flag in fifty years" from Saints and Doggies supporters. Saints have won one in 113 years and the Doggies one in 85 years. Just to name two. Yet they still go on and on.

We can go back to 1958 with stats, but in reality, Collingwood were never favourites to win any of the GF's they were in with the exception of 1970 (where the legend iof the Colliwobbles was born by Lou Richards).

Every other GF we entered as rank underdogs. Hardly surprisingly, we were NOT GOOD ENOUGH. Not unlucky. Not wobbling. Just not good enough.

Even 1977 when we last finished the H&A season on top, we were playing a North Melbourne team that had won a premiership only two years before. We had 'won" the wooden spoon the year before. Who do you think should have been favourites in that scenario?

Should we have been favourites in 79 when Carlton were the top team with stars on every line? Same in 81 where the Carlton champs already had premiership medals to go with their top dog status? In 1980 when we tried to steal a flag from fifth? In 2002/03 when the Brisbane Lions were touted as the greatest team in history?

Our success in winning tough finals matches and getting to Grand Finals we didn't deserve has been a rod for our own back in more ways than one. We cop it because we have lost many Grand Finals and many idiots at Collingwood over the last fifty years saw nothing wrong and saw no need for any drastic changes. So the cycle kept repeating itself.

You guys SHOULD have won at least 1992/94 and 2008.

Do you reckon Thomas, Goldsack etc who grew up barracking for Geelong, Sidebottom and Beams for Essendon etc care or worry about Collingwood finals failures not only before they were born, but for a club they didn't even grow up barracking for?

Do you reckon Stevie Johnson and Chappie who both grew as Magpie fanatics (Chappie wears #35 in deference to his hero Peter Daicos) suffered any kind of Colliwobble curse when they play finals?

Not a chance.

So if Collingwood plays the Saints or the Bulldogs in this years GF...who has a worse history? Does that play any role? If it does (in that case, I hope it does), "one in fifty" is better than one in eighty five and one in 113.

But it doesn't.

It is all fan generated crap and has no bearing.

If you are good enough and are well equiped, you will win a flag.

If you suffer injuries and suspension to key personel - you will not.

I am pretty certain I will see this generation of Magpies win a flag - the structures are all in place for that happen.

Whether it is this year, the next or the year after is what remains to be seen.

Anyways, best of luck for teh remainder of the season. As a footy fan I have enjoyed watching your boys play immensely over the last four seasons.

Cheers.

I could go on about Byrnes goal, and the 50 Harry "Ohhh" should given away to Johnson..

Instead I'll say this, it only took the 15 minutes of Geelong using the centre properly to cut your signficant lead down and get in front. You got the lead back and won the game by 22 pts, fair enough some credit deserved.

However, just remember when you play Grand Finals, sides find it a bit harder to chip it along wings. Does not matter how they have played all year, suddenly the game becomes a lot harder, faster, and longer with all the pressure.

However the pies have nothing to worry about to do with nerves and pressure, even through they:
1. Have not played in a GF for yonks (When they did they were pumped by a side they had defeated 2 weeks prior) but who cares about GF expeirence.
2. Alongside this its not like you have had any nerves with kicking in the regular season, so the finals will be just as easy.
3. Geelong's expeirence of being in the last three GF's (Winning Two) and playing a Direct down the centre version of football will count for nothing if we make the GF.

Stop kidding yourself Pies, three points why you are long way away from home after winning on Saturday.

Just like in 2003 when Didak did his ear celebration agianst the expeirenced Lions in the Pies first win: how did that season end up????

Not in the least.
I am just pointing out that you are expected to behave respectfully on our board.
If you want to behave like an imbecilic, patronising, insulting ****, there is a perfectly good Collingwood Board you can piss off to.

Take a hint...

PS Enjoy your moment in the August sun.

I could go on about Byrnes goal, and the 50 Harry "Ohhh" should given away to Johnson..

Instead I'll say this, it only took the 15 minutes of Geelong using the centre properly to cut your signficant lead down and get in front. You got the lead back and won the game by 22 pts, fair enough some credit deserved.

However, just remember when you play Grand Finals, sides find it a bit harder to chip it along wings. Does not matter how they have played all year, suddenly the game becomes a lot harder, faster, and longer with all the pressure.

However the pies have nothing to worry about to do with nerves and pressure, even through they:
1. Have not played in a GF for yonks (When they did they were pumped by a side they had defeated 2 weeks prior) but who cares about GF expeirence.
2. Alongside this its not like you have had any nerves with kicking in the regular season, so the finals will be just as easy.
3. Geelong's expeirence of being in the last three GF's (Winning Two) and playing a Direct down the centre version of football will count for nothing if we make the GF.

Stop kidding yourself Pies, three points why you are long way away from home after winning on Saturday.

Just like in 2003 when Didak did his ear celebration agianst the expeirenced Lions in the Pies first win: how did that season end up????

Why the vitriol?

1/ We haven't played a final yet in 2010, let alone made a GF...so how is all this relevant? On 2003, we got "pumped" simply because Rocca was suspended - our most important player by far. He WAS our structure. If he played, the result would have been much closer.

2/ I am not certain what you are alluding to or getting at?

3/ I think you are sarcastically trying to say here that your recent GF experience will see you home no matter what.

I would tend to agree with that, but if I was to play devils advocate, it could also be read like this:

2007 - you played a Port side so inept that even the wooden spoon Dees would have knocked them off on the day.
2008 - you nervously capitulated to a Hawk side that had not played finals before and hasn't played any since.
2009 - you got over the line when the Saints choked big time. We are talking about a club that has won one flag in 113 years.

I will grant you that players with premiership medallions have a certain edge in a GF over those that do not, but it didn't help you against the Hawks, so how much of an "X" factor does it really provide...be it intrinsic value or real value?

As for Didak cupping his ear...it was at some Lions supporters on the fence who had been giving him shit telling him he was "shit and wasn't going to kick it" etc...not towards his Lions opponents. So when he kicked that long goal on the wrong side with a big swinging kick - he let those fat ****s know by cupping his ear at them and saying "What did you say...I can't hear you?"

Stop clutching at straws champ - you don't need to. You already have two premierships in the last three years and may very well see a third this year.

Cheers.

Hypocritical much?

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/hypocritical (for the benefit of Geelong illiterati)

I'm sorry us from Geelong with our University (Deakin), two APS schools (GG and GC), and numerous other private schools were unaware of what a centre of education Collingwood has become recently.

Is an academic robe from Collingwood Uni a Black/White adidas tracksuit top? Whilst an Phd a matching Jim Beam and Coke MEGASIZE can? and an undergraduate degree a same size High Energy Mother can?

Hypocritical much?

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/hypocritical (for the benefit of Geelong illiterati)

You're missing the point, idiot. This is OUR board. You don't get to be a smart-arse in here, no more than I should on your board.
We happily enjoy other supporters in here every week, and they put across differing opinions which we expect. But we don't tolerate sore winning, patronising ****-wits.
To make it perfectly clear, as you are obviously quite simple...
Your trolling is not welcome here.
**** off.

Now Darren Jolly has joined the "Why don't we get ahead of ourselves and give Geelong some more motivation" brigade!

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2010/08/10/199201_gfc.html

"Tom Hawkins' standing as a credible ruck option has taken a hit from one of the AFL's premier big men.

Collingwood's Darren Jolly had an absorbing battle with Brad Ottens on Saturday night but later revealed his delight whenever Hawkins moved to the centre square."

Dumb, dumb, dumb...

Revenge is best served in late September.