Maybe the Tuck rumors are true

Moo said:
Who is going to play on the opposition talls? Richo?
The way the game is played now has made the reliance shift from the big bodies to more creative 6 foot two types. Look at Joel Bowden and Tim Notting in key defensive posts last year. There are not many real gorilla forwards in the comp now (Lynch, Bradshaw), most key forwards now play up the ground and use their big engines (Richo, Pavlich, Riewoldt, Tarrant, Fevola). Even Brown and Hall work up to the wings. So it isn't like five years ago when you would want those big backman (Martyn, Gaspar, Jakovich). The best key defenders today are mobile to keep up with the key forwards (Glass, Scarlett, Barry). I've said it before- we finished ninth this season with a tough draw and a bad run with injuries. Next season we'll only be short Kellaway and will get Thursfield back and Shulz could finally play down back with a good run through the pre season. The situation isn't as bleak as some are making out. If we get a good tall defender- great. But it's not desperate enough for us to swap key players in the midfield like Tuck. Trust the boys we used last year to develop and use the draft to get the players we need.

Matt9 said:
The way the game is played now has made the reliance shift from the big bodies to more creative 6 foot two types. Look at Joel Bowden and Tim Notting in key defensive posts last year. There are not many real gorilla forwards in the comp now (Lynch, Bradshaw), most key forwards now play up the ground and use their big engines (Richo, Pavlich, Riewoldt, Tarrant, Fevola). Even Brown and Hall work up to the wings. So it isn't like five years ago when you would want those big backman (Martyn, Gaspar, Jakovich). The best key defenders today are mobile to keep up with the key forwards (Glass, Scarlett, Barry). I've said it before- we finished ninth this season with a tough draw and a bad run with injuries. Next season we'll only be short Kellaway and will get Thursfield back and Shulz could finally play down back with a good run through the pre season. The situation isn't as bleak as some are making out. If we get a good tall defender- great. But it's not desperate enough for us to swap key players in the midfield like Tuck. Trust the boys we used last year to develop and use the draft to get the players we need.

Good response and I agree to a certain extent.

However you will lose Gaspar soon and Polack can play back and not be disgraced - you dont know what you will get in a draft. ?could be better could be worse.

At the end of the day if you gave us Tuck, I'd be very happy ...if not and we lose Polly to the Blues - well thats football isn't it.

Moo said:
Good response and I agree to a certain extent.

However you will lose Gaspar soon and Polack can play back and not be disgraced - you dont know what you will get in a draft. ?could be better could be worse.

At the end of the day if you gave us Tuck, I'd be very happy ...if not and we lose Polly to the Blues - well thats football isn't it.

You're right mate. Because of the scrutiny and professionalism in footy now, you know virtually all the attributes of players at other clubs. Clubs have such great knowledge of all the players in the draft and the kids are ready to go from day one now. Look at Mundy and Drum at Freo who were taken in the teens or so and look ready made players. That's what Richmond are giving up if they offer up 2nd round pick. This year, players like Polak have very little currency.
This will be a quiet trade period and always was going to be. Nobody wants to give up picks as late as 30 because they know they will be getting a good player that late. And clubs don't want to give up a player like Polak who they have invested time and effort in (plus a number 4 pick) to recieve a later than 30 pick. It's admitting you got it wrong when you drafted him. Clubs will only do win win deals in the modern game because so much information is available about players. The smokey doesn't exist anymore.

By the way- I'm not suggesting Richmond will be top four next season or anything. Just that we are in the middle of a long term plan that is working. Don't get ahead of ourselves and screw up by speculating on a player who is struggling at his current club, when there is plenty on offer in the draft. If we get Polak and are able to stay in the drafts first three rounds- great. If we have to give up a player to do that- just make sure it isn't one like Tuck who has a lot to offer and should be about to play his best footy with just forty games under his belt.

Age reports that pick 8 for polak and pick 13 has been offered but as yet declined. Tuck now off the table. Me thinks that deal will surely be done close to 2pm tomorrow. Polak reportedly prepared to go to psd.... bring it on, though I doubt he'd make it through to us

UpTheGuts said:
Age reports that pick 8 for polak and pick 13 has been offered but as yet declined. Tuck now off the table. Me thinks that deal will surely be done close to 2pm tomorrow. Polak reportedly prepared to go to psd.... bring it on, though I doubt he'd make it through to us

Pfft what would the age or herald sun know. Its not like Miller has a reporter at his house listening into all his phone calls now is it.

1.47 pm Friday: picks 8 and 26 to Freo - Polak, 13 and 31 to the Tiges. No inside word, no whisper, just the way it will go - at least I imagine it will if the last however many trade weeks have taught me anything.

And I reckon it's not a bad deal.

Haggard H said:
1.47 pm Friday: picks 8 and 26 to Freo - Polak, 13 and 31 to the Tiges. No inside word, no whisper, just the way it will go - at least I imagine it will if the last however many trade weeks have taught me anything.

And I reckon it's not a bad deal.

Make sure the fax machine is working ;-)

Got a few more bits on this kid from East Burwood, apparently he is under the radar due to a pretty nasty broken leg but has fully recovered now.

jezza said:
Seriously, this guy is a star, I know recruiters won't be looking on here, but I can't risk his name getting out before draft day. I will give you a sneak peak though:

Tall, fast, good hands, fits the Wallace style perfectly.
Nice grab jezza. :thumbsu:

Maybe the Tuck rumors are true