Geoff

Premium Platinum
May 13, 2004
W.A.
East Fremantle
I note the commentators during the Port game mention Steve McBurney constantly threatening Bella's with opposition free kicks. The same thing happened very early in the first qtr against the Bulldogs. In both of these games Hayden was quiet and not his usual pesky self. I am starting to think McBurney is intimidating Hayden from the outset and it is effecting Balla's performance. This is clear harassment and intimidation. If Hayden does something that warrants a opposition free or a report that what the umpires are there to carry out not threaten or intimidate. I hope the club keeps a close eye McBurney and if he persists with his attack on Balla's takes the appropriate action.

Pretty lame from McBurney, give a free kick or shut up. The "coaching" from the umps is over the top atm. Umpires need to pay the frees not give an explanation. Ignore the players' whining and they'll get more respect.

Yep. An umpire's role is to "umpire" the game, I'd have thought. Keep your bib out of the game unless its absolutely necessary.

Out of all the umpires I have listened to this season McBurney is the only one that makes a direct threat to Hayden all the rest either tell him to settle down or address both Hayden and his opponent.

It's a contact sport and players will always try and get in each others heads

Don't remember the umpires telling Phil Read to settle down before everything that happened in the demoltion derby

Don't remember the umpires telling Geelong to settle down a couple of years ago when they were blatantly and obviously making head high contact with our players. The result was the Solomon elbow

I call BS. Let the game go. As long as Hayden isn't actually hurting anyone illegally then get over it McBurney you sad excuse for an umpire

I noted that as well but did ignore it

By extension I think McBurney has an issue with Freo as well. Until Saturday's game, any game involving Freo and McBurney has seen a very lopsided free kick count and/or abysmal umpiring from all 3.

It's not a coincidence for mine.

McBurney needs to be banned from umpiring Freo games

I noted that as well but did ignore it

By extension I think McBurney has an issue with Freo as well. Until Saturday's game, any game involving Freo and McBurney has seen a very lopsided free kick count and/or abysmal umpiring from all 3.

It's not a coincidence for mine.

McBurney needs to be banned from umpiring Freo games

Heartily agree, we always seem to get this maggot umpiring our games and I'm sick of it. Would prefer that other bald flog Nicholls even.

The umpires are the God's of the game and they know it. They can do or say whatever they like and nothing we (the club) say or do will make a scrap of difference.

McBurney is a knob but he's got plenty of mates... Margetts, Dalgleish, Nicholls, Vozzo, Schmitt to name a few.

How could you forget Chamberlain :eek:
Razor Ray is the most egotistical and self-important of them all.

Agree Ray is egotistical - in fact I've never met an umpire at any level that hasn't been but the names I put above were more about an obvious bias against Freo.

I think egotistical and conceipted are pre-requisite personality trait of becoming an umpire!

My intention with this threat is not to put shit on umpires. The point I am raising is that here we have an umpire who uses his position to either harras or intimidate a player by using threatening behavior. As I have said if Hayden stuffs up he deserves the consequences but what he doesn't deserve is threats that may have in some way have an impact on his ability to deliver a lawful outcome. I would be interested to know if McBurney does the same to Milne when he umpires Saints Games?

Hope with the AFL looking into illegal betting in the AFL they shine a torch on the umpiring fraternity as well. They can influence a game more than a single player ever could. Doesn't matter whether we win by 40 or lose, whether first to the ball or not, some of our free kick counts when certain umpires are officiating are dodgey to say the least.

I remember a few years ago it was revealed a club put in a complaint because an umpire came into the rooms before the game and warned a player to watch how they acted out the ground that night (think it might have been Jono Brown, can't remember 100%).

The club complained, and rightly so, that it showed umps were umpiring on preconceived notions of players instead of assessing each incident on its own merits.

But what else can we expect under Gieschan's rule. I'm sure many of us remember the golden circle controversy of a few years ago when he willingly admitted that certain players were earmarked to be looked after by the umps. Who cares if Matt Deboer is held by the arm at a stoppage right? - as long as golden boy Judd isn't. Some men are more equal than others it seems.

Every football watcher can see that preferential treatment is applied to some players, but it was absolutely staggering to hear that it was an institutionalised policy directed from the top and I'm surprised more wasn't made of it at the time. The sooner Gieschan is sacked the better.

Freo should lodge an official complaint if they feel some umpire is harassing one of our players. If it's a free kick pay it, if it's not shut the f**k up until it is.

Hope with the AFL looking into illegal betting in the AFL they shine a torch on the umpiring fraternity as well. They can influence a game more than a single player ever could. Doesn't matter whether we win by 40 or lose, whether first to the ball or not, some of our free kick counts when certain umpires are officiating are dodgey to say the least.
This is a fair point, but it will never happen. They have been elevated to a status that is beyond reproach. They could gamble to their heart's content, but the AFL will never investigate it.

One of the commentators made a good point the other day. The ump said "next time you do that I'll award a free kick" to someone. The commentator (can't remember who) said "Why is it a free kick next time but not now?" It's either a free kick or it isn't.

I heard that too. It's there or it aint. Pay the free or STFU.

Umpires do not hold a bias towards freo- or any other team for that matter.

every team in the comp can get a rough call every now and then and i reckon if every freo supporter took a look at footage subjectively they too would say theres a free kick there (if paid against freo). It just sounds like sour grapes blaming the umpires for losing games of footy like ive known supporters do in the past.

My buddy is a WAFL league umpire and he has seen the inner goings-on of AFL umpires. He said that AFL umpires are made to discard every piece of supporter apparel they own before they're admitted to the ranks as well as under going other tests. Alot of them apparently didnt even have a favourite team growing up.

I looked at the stats for the derby - after quarter time we only got 4 frees, whereas the eagles got about 20

I don't know if that's bias or not, but it's not in any way, shape or form close to a fair game - especially as we controlled much of the third quarter

Umpires will always have their say - my grandad knows an old VFL umpire and he said they were sometimes (not all the time) told who was going to win the game. Before proper methods of time-keeping the time-keepers would often alter the end time of quarters/games depending on who was going to win etc.

every team in the comp can get a rough call every now and then and i reckon if every freo supporter took a look at footage subjectively they too would say theres a free kick there (if paid against freo). It just sounds like sour grapes blaming the umpires for losing games of footy like ive known supporters do in the past.

My buddy is a WAFL league umpire and he has seen the inner goings-on of AFL umpires. He said that AFL umpires are made to discard every piece of supporter apparel they own before they're admitted to the ranks as well as under going other tests. Alot of them apparently didnt even have a favourite team growing up.

Like what I wonder?

Q."You are attending a friend's BBQ, you have the choice to wear a red and blue shirt, or a black shirt"

A. If individual chooses blue and red it may hint at an inherent bias towards the Fremantle Dockers.

Q. If i pick up a Fyfe (insert star youngster x17) voodoo doll and hold a pin to its head do you:
a. Scream F*** *** **** and proceed to grab the pin and bury in offenders head
b. Flinch and verbally attempt to halt the mutilation
c. Feign indifference while dying inside
d. Not care
e. Smile maniacally

A. a-Yeah..no, b- Gotcha..., c-Nice try, d-Lower leagues only, e-You're in

Q. When umpiring the -insert team- (x17) do you:
a. Sodomize them any chance you get
b. Subtly award the opposition free kicks in advantageous positions/times/places
c. Umpire following the principles of equity and honesty
d. Wish you could drive a monster truck into the oval and run over the f******

A. a-Maybe, b-You're in, c-Lower leagues only, d-Only if there is a shortage of umpires

I mean seriously what kind of tests would they employ and would they always pick up on possible bias?

The umpires do have their favourites though (in terms of players)

In terms of free kicks, looking at it subjectively, quite a few would be right HOWEVER if they're paying those free kicks one way and not the other, that's where the complaints about umpires and bias kicks in. Freo do historically seem to get the rough end of the stick and I'm not entirely sure why. Look at the recent Derby. West Coast had 27 free kicks to Freo's 14. That was barbaric and the common denominator there was Steve McBurney and if it's proven he's harrassing Ballas, I think we as supporters should be demanding his removal from Freo games.

Hopefully we don't have to be subjected to him anymore for the remainder of the year but if he gets a Freo game in Melbourne, I'll be by the fence giving him a reminder to leave Ballantyne alone and let him play the game his way (which 97% of the time is within the rules unless you're trying to sanitise the game and prevent harmless niggle)

I also respectfully call bullshit about umpires not having favourite teams when they grow up because that implies that they always intended to be an AFL umpire when they grow up and I have doubts of whether anyone would have that aim considering the abuse they get

McBurney v/s Balla